Stone Cliff Inn

4.5
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
2022 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Northwest
Beautiful log restaurant resting on a cliff, overlooking the beautiful Clackamas River and Carver Bridge. The Stone Cliff Inn invites you to indulge yourself in a truly unique dining experience. Offering the perfect setting for your next private dinner party, we will delight you and your guests with our tantalizing cuisine and intimate atmosphere.

avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details
What 2022 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
MS
Portland
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

A little spendy but I expected that...The only thing I had an issue with was the lobster bisque it was too salty and there was 0 lobster in it.

DP
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was so very nice and very knowledgeable. She was aware of our needs, happily brought our items and so very pleasant. Being our first time she made a wonderful impression. The food was very tasty and was prepared exactly as it should have been. I like steak well done and it was perfect. My wife's was medium and it was also perfect. The mashed potatoes were delicious and was just right made with care and thought. And the bread pudding was one of the best we had ever tasted. We will recommend this to anyone and will be coming back ourselves.

WW
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was amazing as always, been a wonderful date night now three years running for my wife and I.

OT
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Great Food & Service....The menu was overpriced....truly enjoyed the Ambience.

PS
Portland
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

We have recommended Stone Cliff to friends and we have enjoyed every experience we have had there.

JJ
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My husband and I decided to go to Stone Cliff for lunch to celebrate Valentine's day the day after. We had heard good things about Stone Cliff, so we decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the grounds and the restaurant were. We both ordered a Reuben sandwich, which is how we measure a restaurant's food quality and the Corned Beef was tender and flavorful, the mix of meat to sauerkraut was spot on, and it came within minutes of ordering. The wait staff was friendly and efficient and we enjoyed watching the line cook, who was visible to the dining room but there was no noise or distracting odors from what appeared to be a very busy line. They also had a number of gluten free options, so I was able to have a Reuben Sandwich for the first time in many years. We took the road form Oregon City, which is always scenic and a pleasant drive along the river. Overall, an exceptional experience.

GG
San Antonio
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

The atmosphere and cuisine were both absolutely phenomenal.

KS
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere and service. The food was absolutely wonderful. Will certainly be returning.

PD
Portland
3 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were seated immediately upon arrival. Our server was attentive and very nice. Our meal was delicious and the perfect quantity.

LR
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Service was great Chicken dish fantastic
Steak was 3/4 fat and gristle which made it $100.00 per pound for the meat, wasn't worth that.

CD
Portland
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food3service5ambience3

We have enjoyed Stone Cliff in the past so we went there on Valentines Day. We were seated at the worst table in the restaurant, one that should be saved for the last couple, and were given a menu that was much higher priced than their regular menu, and served food that was not as well prepared as their regular menu. I can see having a "special menu" and higher priced meals of a holiday, but you ought to get better meals for that price. This was not the case. We will not return on a holiday.

B
Portland
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Our Valentines' luncheon was very enjoyable, and we were really glad we made reservations - we thought a 2:00 pm time would be a quiet time, but others had the same idea as we did! Our waiter was kind and attentive, but not overly so (don't like hoverers) and the meal was delicious. We had the grilled salmon meal with Newburg sauce, which was very good. However, (and I quess I should have inquired) the sauce did have a bit of lobster for flavoring and I am allergic to shrimp, lobster and crab and did have a mild reaction (fortunately) when I got home and into the evening. Perhaps a small description of sauce would have been appropriate as I would have opted for something else.

OT
Portland
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience3

I’ve never had lunch at the Inn before. Dinner is definitely a nicer experience. I took my mom for a Valentine’s Day lunch. It was just ok

DJ
Portland
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Valentines Date for 2- An explosion of food flavors, our waitress was amazing, thorough, great with the suggestions and checked on us just enough without being intrusive.

DT
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food1service4ambience3

Waited for a long time to get our food and it was burnt. Kept it because we didn’t want to wait another 50 minutes to get it replaced.

c
1 review
Dined on February 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was great. I would like to mention when we left to leave, I had a flat tire. one of your employees came over to us and offered to change the tire.. Although we did not need it we had AAA coming, Please extend our sincere appreciation to this young man...thanks Charles/Judy

SW
1 review
Dined on February 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A beautiful and relaxing location! The food is amazing and the service is top notch!

CB
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was amazing! Great sense of humor, very attentive. Food was excellent!

NS
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on January 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

They went out of our way to make my birthday special! The waiter came to check up on us often, and it was a great environment for dinner. Family friendly and PHENOMENAL dinner!

BL
1 review
Dined on January 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our waitress was wonderful, made our dining experience exceptional!

LC
Portland
3 reviews
Dined on January 22, 2020
Overall3food1service5ambience2

It’s so dark inside, a bit more lighting would be nice. Food was just ok, for the price I was expecting spectacular. Our server was fabulous!! He was attentive and fun joking with.

KG
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Think "Claim Jumper with private ownership and a guy who went to cooking school running the kitchen". Went during winter so the river view was a non-factor sadly but it was okay. Great creme brulee!

A
Portland
17 reviews
Dined on January 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a wonderful dinner. The wine was great, our food was delicious and the service was top notch! The remodel is incredible! We’ll be back.

KD
San Antonio
6 reviews
Dined on January 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fabulous lunch with a view.

OT
1 review
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Nice table location near the fire for our group of eight. The service was great as was the food. One person in our group felt his steak was slightly under cooked for how he ordered it. Other than that, it was a perfect evening.

EN
Portland
3 reviews
Dined on January 10, 2020
Overall5food3service4ambience5

Love coming here. But 2nd time I’ve had to send a steak back for being undercooked.

MM
Portland
1 review
Dined on January 10, 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Our reservation experience was very good; the day we chose was the kitchen cooking exhaust vent episode; so the menu was very limited at the start at 2pm; after ordering and later the maintenance crew got the vent going and we were able to re-order; however the luncheon menu was still limited compared to a dinner menu. Service was excellent. Too bad the reservation service did not contact us about the issue and we would have canceled. We did get 3 reminders about the reservation but nothing about the kitchen issue!!!

RG
Portland
10 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

New Year’s Eve dinner with my husband.

BC
Portland
3 reviews
Dined on December 20, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is a go-to place for special occasions and rarely disappoints! Wonderful atmosphere for a cold rainy night...friendly and prompt service...delicious food...always a favorite.

KD
Portland
1 review
Dined on December 20, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

vibe is awesome, wait staff attentive and super fun. Love the onion rings and bread pudding!

D
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on December 19, 2019
Overall3food1service5ambience5

Service excellent, food horrible! At least the choices we made. Appetizers: calamari, more fried veggies than calamari. Salmon cakes were cold. Ribs: mealy, tough, dry, sauce was not as described on menu. sent it back. Kobe burger was not cooked to specification. Fries not even warm on either plate. Lavender drink amazing. Comped a creme brûlée that was very good. We arrived 25 min early,we mentioned it was our anniversary, no response from hostess or Person who appeared to be manager while they struggled to decide where to seat us. We were seated immediately very nice, but waited for a server to offer water or drinks for about 20-25 min. O well, we were early. We may have chose the wrong time of year to come. Christmas/work parties, place was packed with 2-3 big groups. Very loud. Our server did a great job. Put our meals in before the big party. We appreciated that. overall server did amazing.

JJ
1 review
Dined on December 19, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Great ambiance and the place is gorgeous. Wonderful special occasion restaurant.

B
Portland
17 reviews
Dined on December 14, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Stone cliff Inn never disappoints. I have eaten here multiple times. My friends were not familiar with this area nor the hidden gem of the Inn. Mitchell was a very attentive server and gave fabulous recommendations. We shared appetizers of calamari and crostini. The salmon soup was just as delicious as I remembered. We all had salads that were amazingly huge filling and flavorful. The three of us shared a chocolate mousse because we were all so full. My coffee cup was never allowed to get more than half empty. Although we were there enjoying each other’s company for nearly 3 hours, no one rushed or pushed us to hurry and leave.
I will DEFINITELY be back.

KC
1 review
Dined on December 12, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great view. Great service. We met clients for lunch and were very happy with the experience.

MD
1 review
Dined on December 8, 2019
Overall3food4service4ambience2

I don’t think I can recommend. I have made several reservations before, and also dropped in. Either way, there was always a reason why open window seats weren’t available. I think locals get the good seats. So be it. I have tried to make this a special place for my wife and I but I will go back to City Grill in Portland.

BB
Portland
2 reviews
Dined on December 7, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

The food was very good and the service, Schanae, was outstanding. We certainly would go again! Summer is even better being outside. The only negative was, after later looking at the bill, (we hosted a party of eight) we were charged for a bottle of wine we had sent back.

Stone Cliff Inn
Responded on December 9, 2019

Thank you for the feedback, Bernard! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience here. It sounds like this charge was an error on our behalf. Please contact us directly so we can make an adjustment to your bill.

Report
SS
1 review
Dined on December 7, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Birthday dinner at Stone Cliff Inn was wonderful. Excellent service, food, view and ambience.

FC
1 review
Dined on December 3, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It is one of our favorite restaurants! We brought a newlywed couple with us to celebrate.
Our only complaint is sometimes it is quite noisy indoors. Oh..and the lighting. It's a little difficult to read the menu. Still...we love dining at Stone Cliff!

OT
Portland
1 review
Dined on November 28, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

My family had a fine Thanksgiving dinner at Stone Cliff. One question: How could you possibly run out of roast beef by 4p.

Many kudos to the wonderful, efficient and cheerful servers.

Stone Cliff Inn
Responded on December 7, 2019

Thank you for the review here, I will share this with the staff that worked on Thanksgiving. We dropped the ball, ran out of some things and really have no excuse. We are taking steps to ensure that this does not happen in the future and I certainly hope we can retain your business and show you what we're capable of. We are definitely listening to our guests and making changes to our business to improve the dining experience for everyone. Thank you again.

Report
A
1 review
Dined on November 28, 2019
Overall3food2service5ambience5

What a beautiful place! The ambiance was great. We started off by flustering the hostess. I was told in my confirmation that we would have upstairs window seats. The hostess made it abundantly clear that they don't promise window seats with their reservations. So, no window seats were available. The wait staff was pleasant and attentive. The service was great.

The food was a major disappointment. The turkey was not "real" turkey, but a pressed turkey roll, and the garlic mash tasted like it was made from boxed rather than real potatoes. All the food was under- spiced, and no salt or pepper were available on the table. Even the salad dressing was bland. The hazelnut encrusted chicken looked like the crust was burnt on the outside and doughy in the middle. It also lacked flavor, and my son had to remove it from the chicken for it to be edible. He also had the garlic mash and had the same experience that I did there; they tasted like instant potatoes out of a box. We might fo back some time for drinks, but we will never eat there again. We hoped that the high prices for the food would be justified; it was not.