Stella San Jac

4.3
599 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Stella San Jac invites guests and travelers alike to experience the warmth and character of Austin through a mix of genuine service, modern styling and a diverse menu with crafted cocktails, local beers, and handcrafted spirits.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Join us for Mother's Day Brunch for our featured menu served Family-Style! Come enjoy features such as Lobster Salad, Duck Confit, Beef Tartare, and Pecan Praline French Toast! Visit our website, stellasanjac.com, to view the full menu! $55 Adults / $29 Children.

Sunday, May 12, 2019

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Join us for Easter Brunch for our featured menu served Family-Style! Come enjoy features such as Alaskan King Crab, Lobster Salad, Charcuterie, Brisket Hash, and Crispy Ham Shank! Visit our website, stellasanjac.com, to view the full menu! $55 Adults / $29 Children.

Sunday, April 21, 2019

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Wed - Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM

What 599 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
A
Austin
30 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Really enjoyed the meat and cheese board as well as the beef short ribs. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
A
Philadelphia
19 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

We had reserved an outdoor table based on the photos but, when we got there, the outdoor seating was not very inviting. The host kindly moved us to an indoor table. Our servers were excellent. The food was good. We liked the biscuits and brussel sprout appetizers. One person ordered the pork chop, and it came with terrific kale and sweet potatoes. I ordered red fish. The fish was good but side did not have any color - I would have really liked to have the sides that came with the pork chop.

Report
Helpful
PF
Denver
2 reviews
Dined on April 12, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Good place for small plates and cocktails. Biscuits were excellent - rich but light. Salmon tartare was nicely seasoned and a generous portion. They took the "small plate" concept a little farther than was convenient - the plates we dined from were roughly the size of saucers and a bit awkward to manage. Great and personable waitress and we appreciated the visit to our table from the chef, but everyone disappeared when we were eager to get the bill.

Report
Helpful
NV
New England
3 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food, reasonably priced! The staff was very accommodating making an exception for pets indoors when it was pouring rain. The food was amazing!

Report
Helpful
Z
Dallas
8 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 2food 4service 2ambience 3

We had a 12:15p reservation. The waiter took our orders in a timely manner and then disappeared. 30 minutes later we went to find her. Either the wait staff or kitchen staff or both were understaffed for this peak time. Drinks were late, food was late. The food tasted good. We had a deadline for a graduation ceremony which made the experience stressful and thoroughly unenjoyable.

Report
Helpful
M
Chicago
6 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 4

Went for brunch. Ordered three breakfast entrees and waffles for table. Our waitress didn’t write down our order and when our food came out it was cold and the pancakes never came. We did not eat our meals and the waitress was nice enough to take the pancakes off our bill and my friends meal because she didn’t touch it. The hostess was also not even at the desk when we walked in and waited 10 minutes for her to come up. She didn’t even apologize and there were almost 15 people waiting behind us. Super disappointed, will not be coming back.

Stella San Jac
Responded on April 10, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our goal is to ensure a high level of service and food quality for each guest. I apologize that we fell short of that during your experience. I deeply apologize for the poor execution at every point in your visit. We are looking into the issue and have shared this review with all necessary departments in order to ensure this is an isolated incident. Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
DL
Austin
1 review
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 2

Made reservation. Table wasn't ready for 20 mns. Took an hour to get food. Bad service.

Stella San Jac
Responded on April 10, 2019

First and foremost thank you for dining with us and taking the time to share your experience. I apologize that your quality of service fell below our standards when you joined us. I have shared your feedback with our waitstaff department to ensure that this is an isolated incident and our quality of food is upheld. Please let us know if you ever wish to join us again so we can make sure you have a great second experience. Sincerely, Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
MM
Dallas
56 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

Based on the reviews on OpenTable and Trip Advisor, I really expected more. The food was really mediocre and the service was just okay. Always had to ask for more water and coffee. Their signature chicken fried steak was dry and rather tasteless. Wish I had gone somewhere else for brunch.

Stella San Jac
Responded on April 10, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our goal is to ensure a high level of service and food quality for each guest. I apologize that we fell short of that during your experience. We are looking into the issue and have shared this review with all necessary departments in order to ensure this is an isolated incident. Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
ED
Austin
1 review
Dined on April 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great atmosphere, great staff, great food and priced right.

Stella San Jac
Responded on April 10, 2019

First and foremost, thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to serving you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
1
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on April 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our experience here was excellent! We had a fabulous waiter, Ben, who went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. We were celebrating our anniversary and were given two complimentary glasses of champagne for the occasion, how thoughtful! The food was deliciously modern and creative that left us satisfied and full. This establishment overall was above and beyond our expectations!

Report
Helpful
OT
Austin
2 reviews
Dined on April 4, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 3ambience 2

Food was decent but not overly creative. I ordered redfish and subbed out the quinoa for the grits. So the fish was displayed naked on the plate. No lemon wheel, no color to dress it up. Nothing. Then waitress charged me for the grits like they were an add on. Not a substitution. Had fun with my friends but I doubt I will go there again.

Stella San Jac
Responded on April 10, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is our goal to provide all of our guests with exceptional experiences through our quality of service and food. I apologize that your visit didn't live up to our standards when you joined us. I have shared your feedback with both our culinary and waitstaff department to ensure that this is an isolated incident that won't be repeated with another guest. Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
OT
Dallas
1 review
Dined on March 31, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 3

Burnt chicken and waffles. Portion for shrimp and grits is small. Not enough servers, service was slow.

Stella San Jac
Responded on April 9, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our goal is to ensure a high level of service and food quality for each guest. I apologize that we fell short of that during your experience. We are looking into the issue and have shared this review with all necessary departments in order to ensure this is an isolated incident. Please let us know if you ever wish to join us again so we can make sure you have a great second experience. Sincerely, Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
DE
New England
1 review
Dined on March 31, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 5

The food was pretty good and the ambiance was nice! The service was beyond strange. Apparently the wait staff doesn’t have sections for their tables so we had two waitresses serving us. They clearly didn’t communicate at all and we found ourselves repeating ourselves every time. For instance, one one take our drink order and a few minutes later the other would come over to take our drink order and we’d have to tell her we already put it in with the other waitress. This happened for EVERY single interaction we had with the waitresses. Then, they didn’t bring some of the things we asked for (creamer for the coffee, the side of toast we asked for, etc). Overall, the service really turned me off from this place despite everything else being good.

Stella San Jac
Responded on April 10, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is our goal to provide all of our guests with exceptional experiences through our quality of service and food. I apologize that service fell below our standards when you joined us. I have shared your feedback with our waitstaff department to ensure that this is an isolated incident and the high quality of our service is upheld. Please let us know if you wish to join us again so we can ensure you have a great experience. Curren Sakumoto

Report
Helpful
BR
Dallas
1 review
Dined on March 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 3ambience 5

First time trying this place and the food was amazing! The service was a little slower than we were expecting but they did seem pretty busy that day! Would definitely go back!

Stella San Jac
Responded on April 10, 2019

Thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac and I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. I'm very glad you enjoyed what our culinary team was able to prepare for you. We can't wait to serve you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
A
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

Nice Menu, a bit busy. We arrived 30 minutes early to our reservation and were seated within 10 minutes which was great.

Stella San Jac
Responded on April 9, 2019

First and foremost, thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to serving you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
OT
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 4ambience 4

The food was soooooooo bad. Most of it was left on the plate by the end of our dinner. The salad we ordered was not good. Could have bought a bag of lettuce from TJs and added random ingredients to make it. The chicken was also dried out. It was a mess. We ordered the salmon tartare and it tasted like onions. I wanted to like this place but I wont be going back.

Stella San Jac
Responded on April 10, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our goal is to ensure a high level of service and food quality for each guest. I apologize that we fell short of that during your experience. We are looking into the issue and have shared this review with our culinary department in order to ensure this is an isolated incident. Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
W
7 reviews
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

It was good but not great. Biscuit appetizer was awesome though.

Stella San Jac
Responded on April 7, 2019

First and foremost, thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Glad you enjoyed the biscuits and we look forward to serving you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
LB
1 review
Dined on March 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I've been here a few times and they never fail to deliver - good food with options that even the pickiest eater can find something. The service is always excellent. Highly recommend.

Stella San Jac
Responded on April 7, 2019

Thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac and I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. I'm very glad you've enjoyed what our entire team was able to prepare for you. We can't wait to serve you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
BS
Austin
5 reviews
Dined on March 24, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Anniversary

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 29, 2019

Thank you for dining with us. We can't wait to serve you on your next special occasion! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
OT
Austin
3 reviews
Dined on March 24, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 2

This was our first time here. We came for brunch since the biscuits looked delicious on Yelp! My husband ordered the chicken & waffles and the chicken was raw. Not pink. Raw. We alerted the waitress and she apologized. My husband didn't want to wait for a different dish to be made so he ended up eating off of everyone's plate. Everyone else's food was ok (not great). Overall, I will not be back. The biscuits were better at Fixe anyway.

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 29, 2019

First and foremost thank you for dining with us and taking the time to share your experience. I apologize that our quality of food fell below our standards when you joined us. I have shared your feedback with our culinary department to ensure that this is an isolated incident and our quality of food is upheld. Please let us know if you ever wish to join us again so we can make sure you have a great second experience. Sincerely, Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
L
Austin
1 review
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 3

This is in the Westin hotel so it has that faux ambience wannabee feel. But the food is really good. We tried several dishes and appetizers and loved everything. The signsture cocktails are overpriced but good. The servers are nice and friendly. Not as stuffy as one would expect judging by location and decor. Just a little more expensive than it should be.

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 29, 2019

Thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac and I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. I'm very glad you enjoyed what our team was able to present to you. We can't wait to serve you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
VP
Austin
2 reviews
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 2ambience 5

Service was slow. Waitress didn’t check on us very often. We wanted to order more food and we had to flag her down. She seemed bothered by us.

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 29, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is our goal to provide all of our guests with exceptional experiences through our quality of service and food. I apologize that your level of service fell below our standards when you joined us. I have shared your feedback with our culinary department to ensure that this is an isolated incident and our quality of service is upheld. Sincerely, Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
LR
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on March 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had the Lamb Meatballs, Lobster Mac & Cheese, and Crab/Shrimp Roll. Everything was delicious. The Lobster Mac was my favorite. It was more of a pasta dish than your typical Mac and cheese. The sauce was excellent!

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 29, 2019

Thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac and I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. I'm very glad you enjoyed what our culinary team was able to prepare for you. We can't wait to serve you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
OT
Austin
3 reviews
Dined on March 12, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 3ambience 5

Great hostess and server! Biscuits and gravey had a nice twist!

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 18, 2019

Thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac and I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. I'm very glad you enjoyed what our culinary team was able to prepare for you. We can't wait to serve you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
FW
1 review
Dined on March 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great place. Food was excellent. On my list to visit again when I return to Austin!

Report
Helpful
OT
Austin
1 review
Dined on March 9, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Food and service exceeded expectations. Will definitely go back again.

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 12, 2019

First and foremost, thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to serving you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
k
Austin
4 reviews
Dined on March 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 3ambience 5

This was my second time going to a group brunch at Stella and the food and ambiance is so great! However this time, the service was just a little lackluster. We were a group of 8, not rowdy or picky, but were treated as if we were a bad or obnoxious group, which is really unfortunate. :( Other than that, the brunch was fantastic!

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 12, 2019

First and foremost, thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac! We appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that the service didn't live up to your expectations. We have shared this with our restaurant team to ensure this is an isolated event. I am however glad that you enjoyed the food and ambiance. We hope we get the opportunity to serve you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
j
Austin
34 reviews
Dined on March 3, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

I like SSJ sometimes the service is very spotty very nice waitperson but getting food to table seemed slow. That said Sunday brunch is busy and they are making dishes fresh from scratch so some leeway is to be given. Drinks were Greatttttt. All in all very good.

Report
Helpful
MS
1 review
Dined on March 3, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Did not get seated until 20 minutes after our reservation time. Had to wait another 10 minutes for our server to even acknowledge us. Table and chairs were filthy. Our beverages came out after our food order. Our food was cold. The toast we ordered was cold sourdough bread that had never been toasted.

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 12, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is our goal to provide all of our guests with exceptional experiences through our quality of service and food. I apologize that our team failed to hit any of those points when you joined us. I have shared your feedback with all necessary departments to ensure that this is an isolated incident. Please let us know if you ever wish to join us again so we can ensure you have a great second experience. Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
LT
Austin
4 reviews
Dined on March 3, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We always have a memorable meal when we come to Stella. Service is fantastic.

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 12, 2019

First and foremost, thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to serving you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
JS
1 review
Dined on March 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

This is a 5 star restaurant hands down!!! They accommodated my party which was originally for 11 and ended up being 6....no questions asked! The food was exquisite and the mimosas just topped it off! Thank you Stella San Jac!

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 12, 2019

First and foremost, thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to serving you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
JL
Dallas
1 review
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

I truly enjoyed my recent two trips to Stella San Jac. The service is professional and customer service oriented. And the food was fantastic all the way around. It is a sure bet.

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 12, 2019

Thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac and I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. It is our goal to provide all of our guests with exceptional experiences through our quality of service and food. I'm very glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to serving again!

Report
Helpful
j
Austin
10 reviews
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Our server Sage was terrific from beginning to end! CX as it should be. Friendly, knowledgeable, professional, accessible, attentive without hovering.

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 12, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write the review about one of our staff members. Sage is a very valued member of our team and we are very glad you had a wonderful evening dining with us! Sincerely, Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
OT
Austin
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Great food and service!

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 12, 2019

First and foremost, thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to serving you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
a
Portland
1 review
Dined on February 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

We had a somewhat spontaneous group of 11 want to have dinner and Stella San Jac was a great choice! The food was unique and very fresh. The service was friendly, prompt, and managed a big group that arrived in drips and drabs really well.

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 12, 2019

Thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac and I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. I'm very glad you enjoyed what our culinary team was able to prepare for you. We can't wait to serve you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
L
Seattle
35 reviews
Dined on February 26, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 3

Typical loud, modern restaurant with lots of glass, hard floors and open kitchen attached to the Westin. Cocktails were unexpectedly a bit on the sweet side. The lamb meatballs are highly recommended and the jalepeños in the roasted Brussel sprouts was a nice touch of heat. The redfish on quinoa was okay, kind of one note. Could have used some acid. And the scallops were perfectly cooked. Drinks, appetizers and entrees for two under $100, which is pretty good. The service was very good, although it was hard to communicate with the waitperson because of the high level of decibels. The manage came by to inform us one of the appetizers was delayed for some technical reason. We weren't in any rush, but he insisted on taking the item off the final bill. They are clearly interested in exceeding expectation.

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 12, 2019

Thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac and I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. It is our goal to provide all of our guests with exceptional experiences through our quality of service and food. I'm very glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to exceeding your expectations again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
CL
1 review
Dined on February 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic food! Great ambience! The perfect place for an upscale dining experience without being too expensive! Even split the apps & desserts for us too!

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 12, 2019

Thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac and I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. I'm very glad you enjoyed what our culinary team was able to prepare for you. We can't wait to serve you again! Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
JT
Austin
5 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

I had the Salmon Tartare and the Diver Scallops. The tartare was prepared well and the scallops were cooked perfectly. It was a great evening!

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 12, 2019

First and foremost, thank you for dining with us at Stella San Jac! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I'm very glad you enjoyed what our culinary team was able to prepare for you. We look forward to serving you again!

Report
Helpful
V
Austin
1 review
Dined on February 23, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 4

Service is awful. We arrived, with reservations, only to stand around waiting for 10 minutes before a hostess showed up to the stand to seat us. We should have walked away then.

Next our waitress was unavailable. We waited nearly 20 minutes for a bloody mary and a mimosa from the bar, with not even an apology when they finally arrived after we had to ask where they were. For $12 a drink, you would expect a little hustle.

3 of the 4 meals that were ordered were delivered improperly prepared, including runny egg whites in the poached eggs. A friend removed those from her plate and when the waitress came over, seeing the eggs discarded, she did not even as much as ask if everything was okay. We saw our waitress maybe once throughout our meal, then had to wait an additional 10 minutes after asking for our check. Several items from the checks were put on the incorrect tab, but we figured that out amongst ourselves because it wasn't worth the hassle of trying to get the wait staffs attention again.

The space is beautiful, but a waste if the service doesn't get any better. It's worth noting that this was our second trip here and both were equally disappointing.

Stella San Jac
Responded on March 12, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our goal is to ensure a high level of service and food quality for each guest. I apologize that we fell short of that during your experience. We are looking into the issue and have shared this review with all necessary departments in order to ensure this is an isolated incident. Please let us know if you ever wish to join us again so we can make sure you have a great second experience. Sincerely, Curren Sakumoto Restaurant Supervisor

Report
Helpful
k
St. Louis
2 reviews
Dined on February 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great atmosphere, and the short ribs were amazing. Service was personable and attentive.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15

Tweets by Stella San Jac