Square 1682

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1673 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Square 1682 presents a Modern American Kitchen menu thoughtfully and masterfully created by Executive Chef Mackenson Horebe. The menu features small & large plates, as well as dishes designed for sharing during dinner. With emphasis on local and organic products, Chef Horebe entices the taste buds with every bite, through his lens of culinary America. The bar showcases a pure wellness program of all natural ingredients, where fresh fruit and juices, infused spirits, and housemade flavored syrups are created daily from our new Lead Bartender Christian Diaz. Square 1682 invites guests to a full experience of dining, libations, and lively ambiance on every visit.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Special Thanksgiving Menu - Seasonal Drink Specials

Thursday, November 28, 2019

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Special New Year's Eve Menu - Champagne Toast At Midnight !

Tuesday, December 31, 2019

What 1673 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Good food. Very nice atmosphere. Very good service. Small menu, but unique items.

KM
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 4

Quality of food was less than expected and based on price.

OT
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was an amazing experience. Chef Mack was simply wonderful

Square 1682
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the kind words! We will pass them along to Chef Mack. Please join us again soon!

Report
DB
Philadelphia
83 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 2ambience 3

We arrived promptly for our reservation and were seated. After about 7 minutes of no one coming to the table, we asked the hostess for water. She brought a bottle promptly but it was room temperature, not chilled or cold. We asked for ice and it arrived shortly.
After 20 minutes, our waiter came to the table and very cavalierly offered no response or explanation for the delay. The restaurant was NOT full.

The $36 prix fixe menu was a great deal. The food did come out promptly and the first courses and the entrees were excellent.
We will go back, the food is always excellent.

Square 1682
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Bob - We apologize that your meal got off to a rocky start. We work daily to improve upon our service and are glad to see that your dinner continued at a better pace - and that you will be back! We look forward to providing you with better service for your future visits.

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Great food - lovely mix of flavor . Friendly service we were a fairly big group and our waitress was lovely and great. Was looking for option with something for everyone and not traditional fare, with a bit of fun/ Atmosphere thrown in .... it was a great choice!

Square 1682
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for this terrific review! We are thrilled to see you had a great time and tried some new cuisine!

Report
F
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2019
Overall 2food 4service 2ambience 3

I was so excited for our night at Square 1682 because we'd read they offered a prix-fixe $36 "chef's menu". including one cocktail, small plate, large plate, dessert, seemingly too good to be true. Alas, so it was. We were told we could select only one of two house cocktails--after we ordered others. Our server said conspiratorially , "I'll take care of it"--then didn't, we were charged. He then told us the "small plates" were smaller than usual for the pre-fixe--no explanation. "Large plates" also morphed into smaller plates (duh!). Tab for 4 diners with everyone thinking they chose from the $36 menu somehow ended up being $242 without gratuity. Miscellaneous gripes: Had to ask for the (free) truffle popcorn that was brought to every other table. After the first course was served fairly promptly, endured a 50-minute wait for main course so had to gobble dessert to make our curtain time. Honestly, I'm not a person who typically slams restaurants but we were there on my recommendation and I felt sorely embarrassed by the time we settled the check. Beware the chef's menu!!!!!

Square 1682
Responded 5 days ago

We are sorry to see that your recent visit fell short of expectations. We never aim to disappoint and truly, this is not the way we want our guests to feel. Thank you for your honest feedback - we do take it to heart.

Report
OT
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely spot

Square 1682
Responded on October 12, 2019

Thank you for the kind compliment! We look forward to your next visit!

Report
J
Orlando
7 reviews
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Square 1682 was a perfect spot for a date night or night out with friends. It is a lovely space and the food is amazing! Definitely start with the warm cornbread - it won't disappoint. The small plates were yummy - we had the cornbread, duck wings, Brussel sprouts and the Burrata. The main dishes were equally yummy and delish! We had the lobster spaghetti, pumpkin ravioli, salmon and the fresh whole fish (Branzino). Each dish arrived to ooo's and ahh's from our group. The Chef's Dinner option was perfect at a great price including a small plate, a large plate and either a glass of wine/cocktail or a dessert for one low price. The service was just as good as the food with wait staff that was as excited as us when the food arrived and helpful in guiding our choices. A perfect night!

Square 1682
Responded on October 12, 2019

Wow, thank you! We appreciate your thoughtful review and are so glad to see you enjoyed the Chef's Course dinner! Please come see us again soon - we will share your kind words with the team!

Report
J
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on September 29, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

The service was slow and we had to ask for water refill. We also had to ask to order. Our server may have been having a bad day because this isn't the service we experienced in other visits.

Square 1682
Responded on October 4, 2019

We are very sorry to have missed the mark during your recent visit. Thank you for your honest feedback!

Report
m
Philadelphia
6 reviews
Dined on September 29, 2019
Overall 3food 5service 1ambience 5

The food and drinks were delicious but the service was horrible. We sat there for over 10 minutes before even being acknowledged and we were 1 of 5 tables. We ordered drinks but didn’t even get them until after we received the food (they were sitting on counter). The waiter was disconnected and absent especially since the table next to us was done eating before we are when they arrived 20 mins after we did. Given the money we spent and service we received, we won’t be back.

Square 1682
Responded on October 4, 2019

We are sincerely sorry to hear that we fell short during your recent visit. This is not the experience we hope to provide, and we will continue to work with our team to improve. Thank you for your feedback.

Report
OT
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Service was quick. Meal portions were satisfying.

Square 1682
Responded on October 1, 2019

Thank you for the five stars! We certainly hope you come visit us again soon.

Report
G
Philadelphia
14 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 4

Good food.
Except the charcuterie it was not worth $20. The meat looked like something from a pack of Oscar Meyer's bologna.

Square 1682
Responded on October 4, 2019

We are so sorry to hear about your experience. We have just redesigned our cheese and charcuterie board, and think it is worth a second try! We hope to see you back to Square 1682.

Report
OT
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 3

Took someone 25 minutes to come up to our table and greet us/take drink order. Our first course came out before our drinks after waiting 45 minutes. Service was slow and horrible.

Square 1682
Responded on October 12, 2019

We are sincerely sorry that we missed the mark during your recent visit. We do take your feedback to heart and thank you for your honesty.

Report
ZH
Philadelphia
11 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 3

Food is good; drinks are overpriced. It got very loud. Unable to hold a conversation at the end (7:30 pm).

Square 1682
Responded on October 1, 2019

Thank you for the feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the food, but wish we could have provided a more conversation-friendly evening for you.

Report
a
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 1ambience 4

Our service was poor. We waited over an hour for our food. Once received, the entree was brought out before the first course and because we were on lunch, we had to take our first course and dessert back to work. I must say that the manager was very sorry and gave us a generous discount on our meal.

All that being said, the food was delicious.

Square 1682
Responded on October 12, 2019

We again would like to offer our most sincere apologies for your recent experience. We missed the mark and hope you will give us another try in the future.

Report
SS
Philadelphia
3 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Great atmosphere the food was absolutely delicious and The service was wonderful . However just one suggestion, please do not place package food to go on the floor

Square 1682
Responded on October 1, 2019

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent visit to Square 1682! Thank you for the feedback - we take it to heart and hope to see you again soon.

Report
RM
Philadelphia
17 reviews
Dined on September 26, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 4

I went here for restaurant week lunch. The service was incredibly slow considering there was a maximum of four tables while we were there, and three servers. Food was fine, but nothing is go back for. The one thing I would recommend is the chocolate bread pudding - it's like a mashup of brownie batter and bread pudding.

OT
1 review
Dined on September 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our experience. Food was great, the portions were perfect, customer service was superb. Overall we enjoyed our experience. Compliments to the chef 👌. Noise level was great nice intimate setting, music was at the perfect volume. Allowed for a very romantic setting for my lady and I. We will be back!

Square 1682
Responded on October 1, 2019

Thank you for this thoughtful review! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your recent visit. Please join us again!

Report
TR
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on September 21, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great place great food and great service. Although they were out of the duck wings which was a little disappointing.

Square 1682
Responded on October 1, 2019

We are terribly sorry we weren't able to offer our duck wings that evening. Please join us again - we would love to treat you to an order!

Report
OT
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on September 21, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My friend and I love this place. We can see ourselves coming back again but not just for Restaurant Week. The Roasted Carrot and Ginger soup was great. I asked if I can get the recipe for this dish. They gave it to me and I will be making it with my Fall meals.

Square 1682
Responded on October 1, 2019

Thank you so much for this kind review! We are big fans of the carrot and ginger soup, too. Please come see us again, whenever you would like to take the night off from cooking!

Report
AR
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 21, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

It's a nice restaurant to have a nice dinner. It's nothing out of the ordinary or spectacular. I had the strip steak. it was nicely cooked and tender. My husbands salmon was cooked beautifully and delicious. Drinks were yummy. All around a nice dinner.

Square 1682
Responded on October 1, 2019

Thank you for the compliments! We hope you will join us again to check out our fall menu additions!

Report
CW
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Dined on September 21, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Food was tasty. Specialty drinks were all excellent. Duck wing appetizer was exceptional. Service was attentive. Food was just a touch slow in coming which creates some stress when trying to make a show. One appetizer was to arrive warm — it definitely was not warm. Overall, though, a great meal. And the Restaurant Week menu was a good value.

Square 1682
Responded on October 1, 2019

Thank you for the feedback, Christine. We are glad to see you joined us for Restaurant Week, and hope you can visit us again soon to try our fall seasonal menu edit!

Report
q
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on September 20, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Awesome atmosphere, great lighting and service that was personable and you didn't feel rushed. Provided good recommendations and server had a positive attitude. Food was pretty awesome too, duck wings suburb and we will come again!

Square 1682
Responded on September 24, 2019

Thank you for this awesome review! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your recent visit. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on September 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Everything about this restaurant was amazing. I think I found my new regular Tuesday night dinner when I’m in town. Highly recommend this establishment.

Square 1682
Responded on September 18, 2019

Thank you for this terrific review! We look forward to seeing you again soon - until then, safe travels!

Report
CB
Philadelphia
3 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Place was great. Food was great. The service was outstanding. Convenient to get to and easy to leave from.

Square 1682
Responded on September 17, 2019

Thank you, Chad! We are so happy to hear your recent visit to Square 1682 was a hit! Please come see us again soon.

Report
SO
Philadelphia
14 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 3

I really wanted to love it given its sustainable focus. Very limited menu which is fine if a menu item blows you away. My niece and I had a hard time finding 4 different things to order between apps and main entree. We both decided on the strip steak, which was very well executed but I like to try different things when I’m out and neither of us found another entree appealing. The chef’s table is an excellent value, especially for the neighborhood. Do stop in if you’re in the area but no special trip needed.

Square 1682
Responded on September 24, 2019

We are sorry to see that you weren't wowed during your recent visit. We hope you will give us another try when our fall menu edit takes place, and thank you for your honest feedback.

Report
DT
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Good food and nice portions. Creative flavors with an excellent price for the quality.

Square 1682
Responded on September 17, 2019

Thank you for this kind review, Denise! We look forward to your next visit to Square 1682.

Report
OT
Philadelphia
5 reviews
Dined on September 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This was my first time here on a random lunch trip. I got the 1682 burger with a salad, and wasn't disappointed at all. Everything was fresh as well. I'll definitely be back.

Square 1682
Responded on September 12, 2019

We’re thrilled you chose (name of restaurant) and had a great time. Sending happy, shiny thoughts right back at you! -Holly, Restaurant Supervisor

Report
A
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and staff was very attentive. Will definitely be back!

Square 1682
Responded on September 12, 2019

Hi Arka! Thanks so much for your kind remarks – they’ll be shared with our staff. -Holly, Restaurant Supervisor

Report
PT
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

Great food. Their strip steak and cauliflower rice is a "must try". For appetizers, don't miss the Burrata. For an apertif, try their Kentucky Mule.

Square 1682
Responded on September 12, 2019

Hi Phillip! So glad you loved your dinner. Square 1682 is lucky to have Chef Mack in the kitchen grilling, frying, mixing, chopping and all of the other brilliant things he does. We look forward to having you dine with us again! -Holly, Restaurant Supervisor

Report
CL
Mexico City
14 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

Great service from an attentive staff! Highly recommended for brunch

Square 1682
Responded on September 3, 2019

Thank you for the kind words Chris! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and I will be sure to share your review with our team. -Holly, Restaurant Supervisor

Report
SR
New England
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 1

Food was horrible. Had to send a dish back because it was a pot of salt. They didn't charge us for it and the service was fine but would not recommend.

Square 1682
Responded on September 3, 2019

So sorry! The situation you encountered at our restaurant was pretty rare, but that doesn’t make it any more right. We always try to do our best and hope you will let us prove this to you during your next visit. -Holly, Restaurant Supervisor

Report
D
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Good food. Service was excellent.

Square 1682
Responded on September 3, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words! We look forward to having you dine with us again in the future! -Holly, Restaurant Supervisor

Report
a
Washington DC
8 reviews
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 4

My boyfriend and I visited Philly and stumbled upon this restaurant. We were immediately seated which was very nice. Our waitress was AMAZING! She was extremely knowledgeable, sweet, and patient with us! I wish I could give this place 4 stars, but the portions were too small to fill anyone up. For the amount that we paid, we should have gotten more food. On the plus side, the food was delicious! I had the Lobster Spaghetti and he had the Jerk Short Rib. Both entrees were seasoned perfectly and presented beautifully. Unfortunately, we had to go somewhere else to fill ourselves up

Square 1682
Responded on September 3, 2019

Thanks much for your honest feedback! We took your comments and are using them as a training tool with our kitchen team.

Report
k
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great time! Highly recommended. 4 people total.

Square 1682
Responded on September 3, 2019

Thanks for the kind words! We look forward to having you dine with us again. -Holly, Restaurant Supervisor

Report
KD
Philadelphia
7 reviews
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Had a nice meal. Service was the highlight. People watching out from the window tables is another highlight. Quantity of food is a little light for the price but the taste was good. The space isn't well defined on who it is they are trying to be but overall the experience was good. I had the braised short rib which was a very good recommendation from the server. Wife had the salmon also prepared very nicely. Dessert chocolate with espresso and biscotti was great finish.

Square 1682
Responded on September 3, 2019

We’re thrilled you chose Square 1982 for dinner and had a great time. Sending happy, shiny thoughts right back at you!

Report
s
Tampa
16 reviews
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Food was wonderful. Presentation was great. We just had to wait a bit long sometimes when we needed something. Otherwise it was great! Amazing Pinot noir too!!

J
1 review
Dined on August 23, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

While the servers were friendly, they were inattentive. We had to ask for things several times. The food was good, but not exceptional. I wouldn't classify the noise level as "energetic"; it was too loud and difficult to have a conversation.

Square 1682
Responded on September 3, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. We take honest comments from people like yourself very seriously. It pains us to hear the not-so-good stuff, but it helps us learn and improve!

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on August 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service and food

KB
Philadelphia
19 reviews
Dined on August 20, 2019
Overall 1food 2service 2ambience 2

I WILL DEFINITELY NOT BE BACK. STEAK AND LOBSTER FOR $25.OO WERE STEAK AND LOBSTER FOR $25.00.

WE NEVER GOT DESSERT BECAUSE THE AIR CONDITIONING STOPPED WORKING BEFORE IT ARRIVED, AND IT WAS MUCH TOO HOT AND UNCOMFORTABLE TO WAIT FOR THE DESSERT TO COME.

THE WAITER SEEMED VERY NICE AND EAGER TO PLEASE, BUT THE PROBLEMS WERE BEYOND HIS CONTROL.

Square 1682
Responded on August 24, 2019

So sorry! The situation you encountered at our restaurant was pretty rare, but that doesn’t make it any more right. We always try to do our best and hope you will let us prove this to you during your next visit. -Holly, Restaurant Supervisor

Report
1
2
3
42

Tweets by Square 1682