SAX Restaurant

4.2
292 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Every day dining with a relaxed, coastal vibe

SAX offers a delectable every day dining experience with eclectic fireside menus for breakfast, dinner and drinks. Designed with comfort and relaxation in mind, SAX menus are perfect for any meal or gathering. This coastal experience paired with a warm and welcoming atmosphere, offers a feeling of home for casual, family-friendly dining throughout of year.

With extensive appetizer selections including buffalo shrimp, fondue, fried calamari, steamed mussels and truffle mac ‘n’ cheese in addition to homemade flat-breads and SAX’s signature cornbread, a classic comfort food, guests can indulge in a variety of starters or pair them with a favorite entree and dessert.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast
Daily: 7am – 11am
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 5pm -9pm
Friday & Saturday: 5pm – 10pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(609) 368-0100
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Reeds offers a variety of private banquet spaces that can accommodate 10 to 220 guests. Please contact The Reeds Sales Department at 609.368.0100 for more information on private party menus and availability.
Open Google Maps
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
96th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Seasonal valet parking
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
State of the art music system - song writers
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The Reeds offers a variety of private banquet spaces that can accommodate 10 to 220 guests. Please contact The Reeds Sales Department at 609.368.0100 for more information on private party menus and availability.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine
What 292 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
70% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
TM
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 3food 5service 3ambience 3

Multiple entrees were not available and they were out of their specials at 7pm

Report
Helpful
KH
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2018
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 3

Drinks were very high priced. They were out of 4 of the entrees at a 7 pm seating. Food was flat, very little taste. Save your money.

Report
Helpful
JK
1 review
Dined on September 9, 2018
Overall 1food 1service 3ambience 1

Food was terrible worst lobster bisque ever , pasta bolognese inedible. Mashed potatoes the only good thing. Even filet was poor. For these prices you would expect so much better. We left a good tip, not his fault, and got pizza. Yuk

Report
Helpful
MM
Philadelphia
12 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2018
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 2

We were to meet our friends at 6:00 for a drink before our 6:45 dinner reservation. When we arrived, the bar was packed, as well as Sax for a cocktail hour for a wedding. I think when making a reservation, the restaurant should let us know if a wedding is scheduled that night. It was crowded, loud and we couldn't get to the bar to get a drink. Once in Sax, the rest of the night was fine.

Report
Helpful
OT
Denver
1 review
Dined on September 8, 2018
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

Our filet was overcooked! Was not the best meal we have had. It was ok, but.... for the price, should have been better!

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on September 8, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Dinner and especially dessert was delicious.service was friendly and efficient

Report
Helpful
j
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 2, 2018
Overall 1food 1service 5ambience 3

We went for our anniversary, and I was disappointed, The food was just ok. The waiter was great, and we got a free desert which was nice. I expected it to be better With the prices of the food. We eat out every Saturday nite so I think I have a good idea what it should be like.

Report
Helpful
OT
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great spot! Cool and easy to hang out with a little sophistication. Wonderful service, and great food.

Report
Helpful
JC
1 review
Dined on September 1, 2018
Overall 3food 4service 5ambience 3

When we got there they did not have our reservation. The front desk girl was not good.There was a giant wedding going on so we had to wait for food. The food was good. Service was very good. Then I did not get credit With OpenTable for my dinner.

Report
Helpful
MD
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Food was very good. Drinks even better.

Report
Helpful
SM
1 review
Dined on August 27, 2018
Overall 3food 1service 5ambience 4

Fried calamari was tasteless, had better in a dive bar.
Lobster Risotto was tasteless, needed slot of help !

Report
Helpful
IF
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on August 26, 2018
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

We are regulars at Sax. Although the first time having the entree salad with lobster, shrimp and scallops. This entree could have fed a family of 4. Entirely disappointed. Would like to see it half that size and more quality ingredients.

Report
Helpful
D
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

One of the best meals we’ve ever had. The ChinaTown Shrimp appetizer and short rib egg roll were delicious. The pasta Bolognese was likely the best I’ve ever had, and I take my pasta seriously - I’m 100% 1st generation Italian. The sauce was reduced perfectly and the homemade pasta was done to perfection. The Panna Cotta was outrageous, particularly enjoyed the honey marscapone on the plate. Our waiter, Tim, made the night perfect. He was fun, personable and professional and provided truthful and detailed recommendations about food options. We arrived early before any crowd, so we didn’t have an issue with noise. The only recommendation I could make is to make sure people know the valet is not free. Signage was not good and we had to get cash. Otherwise, incredible food and service. We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
t
Baltimore
17 reviews
Dined on August 24, 2018
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 2

Food & Service were very good. Several aspects were disappointing - The dining room does not have a water view even though situated on the bay; there was no handicap access from outside; no GF menu; small & very noisy; pricey.

Report
Helpful
F
1 review
Dined on August 24, 2018
Overall 1food 2service 2ambience 1

The hostess described Sax as "fine dining," but it was not. The location of Sax should be in the back of the Reeds hotel overlooking the beautiful waterfront, by the casual dining spot. Instead we looked at the street, construction, and the bar. This space should be a coffee shop or luncheonette. The Sax menu lacked focus, and little of the items sounded appealing. The dinner began with stale, supermarket white bread rolls. We asked for different bread, and our server told us there was nothing else except cornbread for an additional fee. The cornbread was microwaved: steaming hot on the outside and cold in the middle. The clams casino tasted rancid and were sent back. The crab cake was all bread and very dry. The bok choy was tasteless and oily. Sax is overpriced, lackluster and disappointing. This restaurant needs a total reboot.

Report
Helpful
N
Atlantic City
143 reviews
Dined on August 24, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The cheese fondue is amazing and lobster bisque was best I ever had; lots of chunks of lobster that other restaurants “forget” lol!

Report
Helpful
p
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on August 21, 2018
Overall 3food 2service 5ambience 3

Caesar salad dressing mostly water, no parmesan. Filet took three tries for correct temperature. Mashed “skidded” across plate.veggies fine.waitstaff did all they could. Unworthy of hotel and pricepoints

Report
Helpful
SF
Philadelphia
7 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had great martinis and well prepared and presented fish dishes. Best “room” in Stone Harbor for an intimate dinner, it was well served and at a price very comparable to other top restaurants on the island. Just feels higher end than other options, when you want a treat.

Report
Helpful
PC
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on August 12, 2018
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

Location is good and outside bar on Bay is nice. Sax is a nice atmosphere and the service was good but the food left a little to be desired. I have been to Sax several times before and the food was good.

Report
Helpful
VJ
Atlantic City
40 reviews
Dined on August 6, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

First time to Sax restaurant it was very enjoyable . Beautiful room, good food & service. I would go back to dine again in the future.

Report
Helpful
TO
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on August 4, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 3

Service was fantastic. Food was better than average but nothing to brag about. My wife and I both enjoyed our meal and the atmosphere. It was a little loud with the music being played in the bar outside but overall we had a good meal.

Report
Helpful
R
Philadelphia
43 reviews
Dined on August 3, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Food is very good. I highly recommend the cornbread.

Report
Helpful
BG
Atlantic City
4 reviews
Dined on August 2, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our waiter Tim was awesome. First time there. We will be back again soon

Report
Helpful
Q
New York Area
1 review
Dined on July 30, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 3

The noise level was above tolerable. Three of the people I was dining with had delicious dinners, the fourth person’s short ribs were 95% fat. That was a disappointment! Service was excellent!

Report
Helpful
CC
Philadelphia
3 reviews
Dined on July 28, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Never disappointed. Food is fresh and the staff is extremely accommodating. Our waiter, Tim was awesome and made my birthday dinner extra special. We will definitely be back before the summer season ends.

Report
Helpful
TH
1 review
Dined on July 20, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Had a lovely dinner. Great way to end a werk at the shote

Report
Helpful
KP
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on July 14, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had a great meal. Love the look of the restaurant , diverse menu, and wonderful servers.

Report
Helpful
KM
Philadelphia
6 reviews
Dined on July 6, 2018
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 2

Wanted to try Sax again after eating here a couple of times before both in season and off season. Upon arrival it was VERY loud due to music in bar area and the door remained open most of the time except when the hostess would push it closed...
No waiter greeted us and after 15 mins we went to the hostess asking for a server to come to the table for a drink and app order. This doesn’t count the water girl who was foreign and couldn’t speak English or understand our ask for drinks for our teens (soda and lemonade)...not discriminating here just thinking don’t put a non-English speaking employee in a customer-facing job when you’re short-staffed and if you do, be sure to train them to get someone to a table when a table asks for something they don’t understand (multiple times!).
now to the food since that is what we came for 😊
The apps were good: Mezze plate with hummus, Caesar salads, bread (one salad was missing the grilled chicken so this took a long time to find the waiter and then get the chicken).
Wine selection was fine but we had to be on our game to order quickly when we saw waiter whiz by!
Entrees were so-so especially for the price! Cioppino was lacking flavor and never found some of the seafood that was listed on the menu in this dish in the bowl?, filet had to be sent back since wasn’t cooked to the temp it was ordered and sauce was on top when ordered on side...steak was returned to table after all others in dinner party had finished their meal and sauce again on steak.
Truffle Mac and cheese, flatbreads, fries were all good for the teens.
We didn’t finish either of our meals due to it being so late and just wanted the check to leave at this point. we overheard 2 other tables ask for a manager to complain and the one gentleman stated he hoped the service got better but it didn’t. The female manager replied that she was new so couldn’t comment on the past. Hence we didn’t bother to ask for a manager...
Our waiter comped on last round of wine ☺️

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on July 5, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 3

We had a reservation. They sat us on time.
Some of the food was good. The lobster in my wife’s dish was dried out. Must have been old. The rest of her dish was good.
The noise level in the dining room was very high. Bad acoustics, I guess. It was very difficult to have a conversation.
We got a beer at the bar after dinner. Two bartenders who were very disorganized. Took an inordinate amount of time to get served. Once served, the bartender didn’t ring up the beers. He didn’t ask for money either. I couldn’t get his attention to pay. I had to leave cash for what I thought they cost.
We might have spent more time there but didn’t want to go through that ordeal again. So we left.

Report
Helpful
j
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on July 1, 2018
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

not as good as i was expecting for the price point.

Report
Helpful
s
Atlantic City
6 reviews
Dined on June 24, 2018
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 4

I expected much more from this restaurant. The food was tasteless. I had the Lobster Risotto which was very dry and contained a couple very small and almost nonexistent bits of lobster. My partner had a filet of steak that was dry

Report
Helpful
JJ
Dallas
64 reviews
Dined on June 23, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great beet salad. Branzino was fantastic! Great service!

Report
Helpful
TS
Philadelphia
33 reviews
Dined on June 12, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our waiter Tim was awesome. He was pleasant and engaged. the food and wine pairing were great we ate every bit from the appetizer(Beet salad) filets for entrees.. thru desert (toffee pudding) Cant wait to get back soon for dinner

Report
Helpful
G
New York Area
26 reviews
Dined on June 8, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

In the end the experience was sub par. Attentive staff faded at the end and had to ask bus person for check and dessert to go after waiting 20-25 minutes after finishing entrees with only one sighting of waitress - dining room was not crowded at all. When bill presented we were told there was no rush to process it - we had been sitting there forever and had to ask for our dessert to go - why would he think we wanted to linger longer? The Korean Bowl noodles were really inedible - way over salted. Fish was good and prepared well. Dessert was also good. Parking is a major negative. Told at time dropped car that valet was $8. That's fine for the convenience. Was not told until we returned to pick up car that valet staff cannot accept payment. Was told to go into the other Shelter Haven restaurant/bar to pay. The only people authorized to take payment were bar tenders in the back of the restaurant, who seemed perplexed when presented with the ticket. This ended up taking 5-10 minutes and I was charged tax on the $8 - I could have disputed that, but who knows how long that would have taken. Mind you, that while I am doing this, the valet is not retrieving my car because I didn't have a paid ticket. Return to valet and am then told I should have presented ticket to waiter and he could have charged it to my bill. In the end, it took 20 minutes to retrieve our car from the time we left the restaurant - the worst convenience experience I have had in a long time.

Last thought on noise level and inside experience. The banquet facilities are adjacent to the restaurant. Noise levels can be pretty high and you will encounter members of the large groups out in the foyer area and bathrooms. You may encounter a large number of people who are much further along their imbibing journey at dinner time than you are.

Report
Helpful
e
Philadelphia
5 reviews
Dined on June 8, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It's was a bit noisy with a wedding going on next door !!! But great spot

Report
Helpful
JC
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2018
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 2

We decided to try this restaurant during 7 mile island restaurant week. The restaurant week offerings were meager, as if to send the message that they participated grudgingly in the event. The food (roasted chicken--are you kidding?) was BLAH (seemed to be boiled with a dash of ketchup on top), the waitress had no personality, the only plus was the foreign bus girl who very politely served us bread and water. We would never spend the money to go back to this restaurant--we obviously haven't been missing anything at the Reeds!

Report
Helpful
JT
Orlando
24 reviews
Dined on June 5, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This was the first time trying this restaurant and what a surprise. It was Great. Great food, service and atmosphere. Will be going back again, for sure.

Report
Helpful
RP
Philadelphia
5 reviews
Dined on June 3, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really was happy with our server, meal and overall experience. The atmosphere is really great with only one exception... the noise level was just slightly higher than I would have liked but overall I highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
M
Philadelphia
5 reviews
Dined on May 28, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Sax has a cozy and comfortable atmosphere. The food is delicious with a wide variety of options. My husband and I visit this restaurant often and it has become our favorite at the shore.

Report
Helpful
OO
Philadelphia
32 reviews
Dined on May 27, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fondue appetizer is truly amazing. Menu is varied from casual to more formal dinner entrees. Service is excellent - ask for Jonathan - and setting is lovely.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8

Tweets by SAX Restaurant