Sawmill - Edmonton West

3.9
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1231 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
The Sawmill's Prime Rib and Steak House is Located in the Terra Losa Shopping Center. The Sawmill serves "AAA" Alberta Beef and has one of Edmonton's finest salad bar. Along with a regular lunch menu, it features a luncheon buffet Monday through Friday from 11am. to 2.00pm. Whether you choose a la carte or buffet, your lunch can be as quick or relaxed as you would like. This location offers a dining room and pub. Our dining room is divided into three different sections over two levels, for private and intimate dining. Sundays we offer a brunch from 10am until 2:00pm. and a evening buffet from 4:00pm until 10:00pm

Get it delivered

What 1231 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
3.9
food
3.9
service
3.8
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
71% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
R
Respectful
Edmonton
2 reviews
Dined on March 14, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The food was superb, the service excellent, the screaming child nit so good, but kids got to eat too!

M
Margo
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on March 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

All four meals were very good and our waiter was excellent! Our two guests were very happy with their meals.

CM
ChristineM
Edmonton
5 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Truly awesome, great food and drinks. We were seated by the fireplace, wonderful ambience. Fun server that was attentive.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on March 7, 2020

Thank you so much for the 5 stars! We appreciate the guests that take the time to let us know we are doing a great job. Looking forward to having you down again soon! We will let Adam know you enjoyed the visit as well! Cheers

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on February 27, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Much better experience this time. Staff was friendly and professional, meal was very good. Great overall experience that night.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on March 7, 2020

Thank you so much for the great review! We love having great people like yourself visit. Hope to see you again soon

Report
SH
SuzanneH
1 review
Dined on February 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great Place to Enjoy a Fabulous Meal with friends and family

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on March 7, 2020

Hello Suzanne! Thank you for the 5 stars and we are so happy we could make the birthday a special one! We look forward to hosting you again for the next one, and a few more times in between!

Report
F
Fran
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on February 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The waitress was extremely helpful. Food was super ...had steak and it was done to perfection.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on March 7, 2020

Thank you! thank you! thank you Fran! We love that Ashley did a great job and that you loved our Steak. Thank goodness because its in our name. We love having you down and will see you again very soon. Cheers

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Edmonton
2 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience3

We went with the buffet last night. Potatoes lacked flavour and prime rib was tough to slice. Disappointed with this visit because I have had better experiences there.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on March 7, 2020

Hello Anonymous, Very sorry to hear you had a lackluster experience with our Sunday Buffet. It's one of our more popular menu features so we will definitely take your comments to our chef so we can improve. If you would like to discuss more we would love to help.

Report
KB
KaylaB
1 review
Dined on February 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was delicious and the restaurant itself was very cute. Would make for a nice date night out! Will be back

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on March 7, 2020

Thank you Kayla! We would love to host you on a date night. When you book ask for Matt and we can set something special up for you. Cheers!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience3

Upon arriving, we did not have a drink menu on our table, we then sat for about ten minutes before a server came around, and then when we finally got a drink menu the server stood there while we attempted to quickly choose. The wrong whiskey was brought to the table. We ordered an appetizer, waited forty minutes, and then were finally told that we would not be receiving said appetizer. We ordered the 10oz filet and the 14oz rib eye. The filet that arrived was the 7oz, and the rib eye was half gristle and fat, with hardly any meat. The table next to ours was over abundantly loud to the point where we couldn’t hear each other. And the server did not come around after we got our entrees except to ask about dessert and bring the cheque. After paying over $100 for two steaks and two drinks, we were still hungry to the point of stopping at McDonald’s on the way home, so our late Valentine’s Day dinner turned from a fancy celebration to a complete disappointment.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on March 7, 2020

Hello Anonymous, We are very sorry to hear about your poor experience. Was the Manager able to help when you mentioned the concerns? We always try our best, and are usually able, to quickly fix issues so that you get a great meal and value for what you spend. We would love to discuss in more detail with you if you are able to reach out. Cheers and hopefully we hear from you soon

Report
EG
EmmanuelG
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We really enjoyed our anniversary at sawmill
The ribs were super good
We’ll be back again

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on March 7, 2020

Thank you Emmanuel! Your review means the world to us! We love anniversaries and any celebration and are honored you chose to spend yours with us. We hope to see you very soon!

Report
AS
AngelaS
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

We love eating at the Sawmill! Food is delicious and our out of town guest really enjoyed it! The prices are reasonable for the amount and quality of food - but it’s not a cheap meal. We go to the Sawmill for special occasions.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 18, 2020

Thank you Angela for the 4 star review on your last visit and we are glad your group of 6 enjoyed the food! We look forward to having you back again soon and providing a 5 star experience next time around! cheers

Report
MD
MarieD
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall3food2service1ambience4

Too many stairs. Waitress was terrible. Not attentive, forgetful, and didn't listen. Prime rib only
had very rare and rare. Knob broken on handicap bathroom. It wouldn't lock and I couldn't get out without someone opening the door from the outside. Could have overlooked most of it if the waitress was better.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on March 7, 2020

Hello Marie, We are sorry to see you're experience strayed from the high standards we hold ourselves to. There are sections available with no stairs if you wanted for a future visit? The door handle has also been fixed, thank you for mentioning it. We will follow up with the waitress about your experience as well. If you have any additional feedback we can give her that would help us. Thank so much

Report
CC
ChrisC
Edmonton
2 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We arrived a touch early for our reservation but they had the table ready for us. We sat and were served promptly. The food was great (my wife really liked the buffett prime rib and desserts). Our server was funny and engaging.

We will definitely come back!

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 18, 2020

Hello Chris, Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We will be sure to share your feedback with Adam and are very happy you had such a good time. Guests like yourself that take the time to fill out a positive review mean the world to us. Please ask for our general manager on your next visit down so we can thank you in person. Cheers!

Report
TW
TallWanderer
Edmonton
2 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Holding a birthday brunch for 12 at the Sawmill was probably the best idea. The menu allowed everyone to eat within their special dietary needs without hassle and had a plethora of choices. Our server was very efficient and friendly, let me say that all the we friendly and attentive. I would recommend this location for brunch in a heart beat!

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on March 7, 2020

Hello! Thank you for your kind words and great feedback. We love that Sydney did a great job and that you enjoyed our famous brunch! Next visit in please ask for Matt so we can thank you in person. Cheers!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, exceptional service, great value as we went there for brunch with the family to celebrate bday for a party of 7.
We highly recommend and will come back again for sure.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on March 7, 2020

Thank you for your review and the 5 stars! We love that you enjoyed our famous brunch! happy to have you back anytime, take care :)

Report
KF
KrisF
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fresh hot food in the brunch buffet, so much selection! Service friendly, clean and inviting atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 18, 2020

Hello Kris, Thank you so much for the 5 stars! Megan was your server and she will be thrilled to hear you had such a great time. We appreciate guests like you that take the time to fill out positive reviews. Next visit in please ask for our general manager so we can thank you in person. Cheers

Report
DC
DonC
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall3food4service1ambience4

I’ve been going to the sawmill for years and the food never disappoints, however the service is usually pretty spotty. Saturday nights visit the service was terrible. They put what I can only assume to be a rookie serving a very large table and several small table. The poor kid was so overwhelmed. We had no napkins, no water glasses, no drinks. When we finally got water we got a dirty glass that took nearly to the end of the meal to get replaced. I would normally be happy to recommend this place but the last visit was pretty bad. Work harder on training your staff and managing your tables. Food as always was great.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 18, 2020

Hello Don, Thank you for being a great customer of ours for years, we appreciate your loyalty! We will speak to your server about the coaching opportunities they missed and our apologies for it not being up to our usual high standards. Our GM has reached out to you regarding your visit and we hope to see you back soon. Cheers

Report
D
Duane
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Our night out for dinner Feb 15th had a few snags - service was slow; steak was not cooked to order; the restaurant was quite busy which was likely the cause of these issues.

However, the Assistant GM (Samantha) came by to check in and listened to our concerns. She was very polite and expressed a general concern to ensure our dining experience was great. After a brief conversation, she ensured everything would be fine and wished to have us back to earn our business. Thanks Samantha for taking the time to make things right - top notch customer service!

See you again soon.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 18, 2020

Hello Duane, Thank you for your feedback and review. We are so happy our management team were able to fix your issues quickly at the table. We love the opportunity to fix things in store and on the spot and are happy we could. We look forward to having you back soon and earning that extra star. Hope you had a great long weekend!

Report
DM
DavidM
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Our experience overall was very good. We had a group of 11 and we were celebrating my Mother's funeral that day. I stated on the reservation that it was a special occasion, but nothing was asked of us. I was a little upset that we were placed in the back corner by the exit when I had made the reservation over a week in advance. The food was great and Adam, our server, did a wonderful job taking care of such a large group.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on March 7, 2020

Hello David, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry for your loss. We did notice you had mentioned it was for a funeral so we had placed you in the back corner to give you privacy. We also did not want to upset anyone by bringing up the funeral so our apologies that no one asked about it. We hope the day went as well as it could have and that your family was able to have a great meal and socialize. We appreciate you and hope to see you again soon

Report
LS
LyleS
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall2food4service1ambience4

I hate to complain cause the sawmill is one of my favourite places to dine out. But the service was the poorest I have ever experienced there.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 18, 2020

Hello Lyle, It was great to speak with you and as a long time customer I appreciate that you understand the valentines day dinner was an anomaly for us. Our apologies for the longer wait times and missed steps. Looking forward to having you back on March 1st. See you soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience3

Last try , won’t repeat, gone downhill for years now

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 16, 2020

Hello Anonymous, We apologize that you had a bad experience on your visit on Valentines day. We love hosting big event nights and are sorry that your experience was poor. If you are able to contact us we would love to discuss how we could improve. As well, one of our management team always follows up with every booking and we encourage you to discuss with them how we can improve so we can continue to deliver a great experience and hold ourselves to the high standards we take pride in. Cheers

Report
WA
WALTERB
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

The meal of lobster and steak was over priced.$36.for a 6 ounce steak is awful and $21.95 for a lobster tail is also awful.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 17, 2020

Hello Walter, Thank you for your feedback on your visit. We have a steak and seafood night where they are on special on Thursdays if you wanted to join us and take advantage. Also half price bottles of wine to that night. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers!

Report
SC
ShannaC
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on February 11, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Celebrated my birthday here and it was great! Food was hot and fresh... we opted for burgers so we could stuff our faces with dessert too. Highly recommend the Decadent Dome dessert with is really cool presentation and awesome taste. It is definitely big enough to share!!! Great that we could make a reservation too.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 16, 2020

Thank you so much Shanna for your 5 star review! We are thrilled your birthday was great, we love hosting birthdays! Looking forward to having you down for your next one, and a few times in between too we hope!

Report
DP
vipDianneP
Edmonton
5 reviews
Dined on February 9, 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

As always, the staff were pleasant and welcoming. We felt that there were not enough staff, as some items such as the juice, and food labels were not ready on time. Also, there were too many stew type items on the hot buffet. We like to come every second Sunday, and I guess we have been spoiled by your usually great service and menu.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 16, 2020

Hello Dianne, Thank you for your review of your last visit. We love having you down every other sunday and appreciate you choosing us. Next visit in please say hi to our management team, we would love to hear the things you love about coming and where we can get even better. Cheers!

Report
s
sdwp
Edmonton
35 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

I love their cob salad and the steak is consistently good. It's a very relaxed place with excellent service. Great for friends to catch up without feeling rushed.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 11, 2020

Thank you so much Shirley for visiting with us! We enjoyed having you and look forward to hosting you again soon! Cheers

Report
TD
TracieD
Edmonton
2 reviews
Dined on February 7, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We had a good time at the Sawmill. The food was delicious and the service was good for the size of the party. I appreciated the complimentary dessert for my husband as it was his birthday. That was a nice surprise that I didn’t expect. Overall it was a nice evening with our friends and family.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 11, 2020

Hello Tracie, Thank you so much for leaving us a great review. We really enjoyed having you down and can't wait for your next visit. Cheers!

Report
BA
BrentA
1 review
Dined on February 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Have a great experience every time im at the Sawmill, great food, great service and the price is right 👍

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 9, 2020

Thank you so much Brent for your 5 star rating. We can't wait to have you back again, you are the reason we love what we do. Cheers!

Report
OH
OlaHun
Edmonton
3 reviews
Dined on February 2, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

We had a pleasant family dinner. I ate from the buffet. My husband and kids ordered from the menu. Great food. Our server was polite and friendly. The resultant is a bit weathered and in need of a make over. The booth seats were cracked and to run up. Takes away from the quality of the overall experience.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 4, 2020

Hello OlaHun, Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit! We are happy you were able to enjoy the buffet and our menu on your visit and that the service was great. We appreciate your comments about the chairs and have a plan in place to renovate those soon. Thank you and we hope to see you very soon!

Report
MJ
MikeJ
1 review
Dined on February 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The staff at this location were incredible from start to finish. They made our night wonderful!

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 16, 2020

Hello Mike, Thank you so much for the excellent review! We loved hosting your group and look forward to having you back. Cheers!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was great and food. Will book again for a group get together:)

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on February 3, 2020

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We look forward to having you back again and would love to host a big group for you! Cheers and see you soon

Report
RF
RayF
Edmonton
19 reviews
Dined on January 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service and dinner was excellent as always. We always enjoyed dining at the Sawmill.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on January 31, 2020

Thank you Ray for the 5 star review. We hope you both enjoyed your dinner and we genuinely look forward to having you back again soon. Please don't hesitate to ask for our GM Matt so we can thank you in person and meet you. Cheers!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Calgary
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Service was good and food was good! Overall a great experience.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on January 31, 2020

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! Its great guests like you that make us love doing what we do. We hope to see you very soon! Cheers!

Report
DL
DarrylL
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on January 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

i have been to this Sawmill many times for lunch buffet many many birthdays ..such a fantastic place to relax and enjoy a incredible meal myself i have the Prime Rib which is incredible ..every time ..perfect ..All my Guests have always asked to go to Sawmill ..they have Been doing it right for over 40 years ...trust me ..40 years they have perfection

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on January 31, 2020

Wow thank you so much Darryl for your kind words and comments! We are happy you enjoyed the Prime rib and we can't wait to have you back again soon. Please ask for our GM Matt on your next visit so we can thank you in person for being such a great and loyal customer of ours. Cheers and have a great weekend!

Report
EB
ElaineB
1 review
Dined on January 22, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

The service was excellent, prime rib was awesome. Would recommend this restaurant.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on January 31, 2020

Thank you Elaine for the 5 stars! We genuinely appreciate it and can't wait to have you back. Have a great weekend and see you again soon!

Report
CR
CrystalR
1 review
Dined on January 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We dined at the Sawmill to celebrate our son's birthday on Jan 20th. Everything was great. The food was really good, the menu had lots of great choices and the service was excellent. I'd never been to The Sawmill before and was quite impressed with the ambience. We will definitely be going back.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on January 31, 2020

Hello Crystal! Your 5 star review means the world to us thank you so much! We are happy your son had a great birthday and you enjoyed your first visit with us! We hope it will lead to many many more and to see you again soon. Cheers!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Vancouver
2 reviews
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Food was absolutely disappointing. Service was nonexistent. Had to call over the waitress for anything. Would not go back or recommend to anyone else. Manager was professional. However you couldn’t pay me to eat here ever.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on January 24, 2020

Hello Anonymous, We are very sorry to hear the food and service were not up to the high standards we hold ourselves to. We hope the manager was able to do everything in their power to make things right when you spoke with them. If you are willing to share your contact information with us we would love to discuss more and make things right. Cheers

Report
DG
DougG
Edmonton
3 reviews
Dined on January 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent night, food was very good, well cooked and service was excellent. A little pricey, but was worth it.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on January 24, 2020

Hello Doug! Thank you for the feedback and 5 stars! We will make sure Johnny knows he hit the mark and we look forward very much to seeing you again soon!

Report
H
Hawk
Edmonton
11 reviews
Dined on January 16, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

The prime rib in the prime rib poast roast was a bit dry but the separate prime rib was excellent.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on January 24, 2020

Thank you for the rating and recommending us! We will take your food comments to our chef so we can continually improve! We look forward to hosting you again very soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on January 12, 2020
Overall1food3service1ambience3

The server wasn’t talkative, the service was very slow for not being that busy, was hard to find from the chief what was gluten free and the server said that the chief that was working today was not a nice guy, just not a great experience overall

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on January 12, 2020

Hello, We are sorry to hear you experience wasn't up to the high standards we hold. Our Chef is always happy to help answer any gluten, allergy or dietary concerns. Our apologies if they weren't able to quickly answer your questions. We would love to help make things right and get more information on where we could improve but your profile is anonymous. If you are able to reach out to us at the store we would love to discuss more and ensure your concerns are heard and that we help fix them.

Report
SW
SteveW
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall2food1service4ambience4

Very disappointing ! Vegetables were cold and like rubber. Prime rib was edible but not medium rare as ordered. Server was very good it that can’t make up for poor food quality. Probably would not bother going back again.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on January 24, 2020

Hello Steve, We are very sorry to hear the food missed the mark and your comments have been shared with our chef and management team. Happy to hear Kristin did a great job and we will let her know. Hope to see you again, we know we can provide the great experience we are known for. Cheers

Report

FAQs

Sawmill - Edmonton West offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (780) 486-5866.

Sawmill - Edmonton West is rated 3.9 stars by 1231 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.