Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1459 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Ruth's Chris Steak House serves the finest aged, corn-fed USDA Prime beef. Broiled in a trademark 1,800° oven & served on a plate heated to 500 degrees, your steak is presented sizzling hot at your table.
Additionally, the menu includes select fresh seafood & other meat entrees, including seasonal specialties like foie gras, buffalo strip & scallops. A variety of fresh-cooked vegetables, including seven kinds of potatoes, salads, homemade desserts & an extensive selection of over 100 domestic & imported wines complete your dining experience.
Ruth's Chris never fails to please!
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details
What 1459 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
DB
Charleston
9 reviews
Dined 6 hours ago
Overall4food5service3ambience3

Continued problem with dress code not being enforced. This is a really upscale, nice restaurant, but I'm very disappointed in what they allow the other patrons to wear.

OT
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Over all experience was exceptional. The only thing I was not in awe of was the calamari. It was lumped together and batter didn’t cook completely.

WB
Charleston
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was outstanding and the service from Ken was excellent as always.

JP
Charleston
11 reviews
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always Great! Never have we had a bad experience! Love, Love, Love!

JW
New York Area
17 reviews
Dined on January 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Went to dinner to celebrate Army graduation. Joseph our waiter was outstanding. Food was perfect just an amazing experience .

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 19, 2020

Hi Joe! Thank you so much for your recent visit. We are thrilled to know that you had an excellent meal and that Joseph took such great care of you! Please thank your graduate for his/her service and we hope to see you all again very soon. Warm regards, Ryan Abbott - Assistant General Manager

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on January 14, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Service was slow. Waiter lacked knowledge of menu etc.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 19, 2020

Good evening and thank you for your feedback! I am very disappointed to hear that your recent visit fell short of our standards as well as your expectations. I would love to discuss your visit further to apologize and learn how we can improve in the future. Your feedback is invaluable so please don't hesitate to reach out to me at any time. Warm regards, Megan Cromwell - General Manager (803) 212-6666

Report
F
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined on January 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The menu had many options and the servers were wonderful! Friendly, efficient, and the wait time was based on us and not the kitchen. Our steaks were cooked to perfection, the sides were delicious, and we enjoyed taking our time to dine.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 19, 2020

Good evening and thank you so much for your 5-star review! We aim to treat our guests to an amazing dining experience and it sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of your visit. We appreciate your feedback and hope to treat you to another experience again very soon! Best wishes, Ryan Abbott - Assistant General Manager

Report
N
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and impeccable service!!! Outstanding!!!!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 19, 2020

Good evening and thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are very happy to know that your food and service were both stellar! We can't wait to see you again in the near future! Best wishes, Ryan Abbott - Assistant General Manager

Report
OT
Charleston
1 review
Dined on January 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went to Ruth's Chris for my girlfriend's birthday, and she enjoyed it. The food and service were spectacular!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 19, 2020

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear the birthday celebration was a huge success! We hope to see you all again very soon! Best wishes, Ryan Abbott - Assistant General Manager

Report
OT
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on January 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a great experience

B
Charleston
6 reviews
Dined on January 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

New Years Day lunch with my sons. Excellent food as always. Convenient location.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 19, 2020

Hi Barbara! Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope you will visit us again soon! Best wishes, Ryan Abbott - Assistant General Manager

Report
OM
New York Area
40 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Nee years eve. Very busy but excellent food & service. Wine list amazing. You never fail in this location

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 6, 2020

Octavio, thank you so much for your 5-star review! It means a lot to us that you appreciate our wine list, food, and service. We hope to continue exceeding your expectations in 2020! Best wishes, Ryan Abbott - Assistant General Manager

Report
OT
Charlotte
2 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Had to wait an hour past our reservation time to be seated, and the steaks were over cooked when send.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 7, 2020

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your experience. It's very disappointing to know that we fell short in both your service and the quality of the meal. Our sizzling steaks and hospitality have made us a leader in our industry and knowing that you experienced neither is most disheartening. I would love to discuss a second chance so we may leave you with a excellent impression of our restaurant. Warm regards, Nate Krueger - General Manager (803) 212-6666

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall3food5service3ambience3

We had a reservation for 7:15pm and were not seated until 8pm. Once seated, the waitress was very pleasant but it took about another hour before the food was ready after we ordered. We paid roughly $200 for this experience and I believe we could have went somewhere cheaper and enjoyed it more. Great food though

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 7, 2020

Good day and thank you for your feedback! I sincerely apologize about the wait time to be seated. We aim for nothing less than to exceed your expectations and I am disappointed that we fell well short of that mark on New Year's Eve. I'm heartened to know that you enjoyed the food and service. If you have a moment to spare, I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your visit as well as how we can win back your confidence in us. Warm Regards, Nate Krueger - General Manager (803) 212-6666

Report
J
Atlanta
9 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Lamb chops were excellent! All food was great. The only setback was poor service due mainly to overcrowded New Years people. Servers were apologetic, but nevertheless our meal was 50 minutes late.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 6, 2020

Hey Joey! Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy to hear the food was excellent and apologize that the food took longer than usual to be delivered. We hope it didn't put a damper on your evening. Your experience is important to us so please don't hesitate to reach out to us anytime! (803) 212-6666 Best wishes, Ryan Abbott - Assistant General Manager

Report
RT
Charleston
6 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall3food2service2ambience4

Very busy for New Year's Eve and not up to the standard as previous experiences here.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 7, 2020

Hi Rick! Thank you for your feedback. I am very disappointed that you left underwhelmed after you have already enjoyed positive experiences with us. It sounds like we fell short this time and we would love the opportunity to rectify that. Please give me a call at your convenience to discuss your visit so we can move into 2020 on the right foot! Warm Regards, Nate Krueger - General Manager (803) 212-6666

Report
AF
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall2food5service1ambience2

Service was lacking EVERYTHING the food was delicious

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 7, 2020

Hi Allie! I am extremely disappointed that the service you received fell short of our standards. We aim to treat our guests to a stellar dining experience and anything less in unacceptable. Please reach out anytime if you would like to discuss your visit so we can apologize personally and improve in the future. (803) 212-6666 Warmest regards, Nate Krueger - General Manager

Report
DJ
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As usual our Ruth’s Christ experience was outstanding. The service from start to finish was impeccable. Adam our server and his assistant Blake were awesome. They were friendly and accommodating. The room was busy, but they gave attentive, timely service to our table throughout our meal. Blake commented that my 92 year old mother reminded him of his mother. I thought that was kind, sweet remark and it made her feel special. The manager, Nate came to our table to ensure that we were satisfied and chatted with us for a few moments. Once again Ruth’s Christ knocked it out of the box. Phenomenal!!!!!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 7, 2020

Good evening and thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback! It's heartening to know that your visit was very memorable. Our goal is always to exceed your expectations and knowing that we have done so is the best Christmas gift for us and our team. Thank you for your repeated patronage and we hope to see you before the next holiday season! Best wishes, Nate Krueger - General Manager

Report
FB
Charleston
31 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were there for Christmas dinner. My wife and I split the 11 oz filet. It was cooked to our liking Rare +. Service was good as well. It was a bit noisier than usual, but it was packed, and I understand. We were not disturbed at all.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 7, 2020

Hi Frank! Thank you for your patronage as well as your 5-star review! Christmas Day is certainly energetic and I'm glad that the hustle and bustle didn't put a damper on your meal. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon! Best wishes, Ryan Abbott - Assistant General Manager

Report
CG
Miami
5 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

My family and I dine at Ruth Chris monthly, but the last two times, we have been fortunate enough to have Jen. Her smile and service leaves nothing to be desired, and you can tell that she genuinely loves what she does! Good food, amazing service and atmosphere! Thank you Jen for making our Christmas Day dinner special! We appreciate you!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 7, 2020

Good evening, Candace! Thank you so much for your recent visit as well as your 5-star review! We are thrilled that Jen has taken such great care of you. Working on Christmas isn't always ideal but knowing that it brightened your day just a little bit it what hospitality is all about - it makes it worth it beyond words. We'll make sure to recognize her for her accomplishment in our next team meeting. Cheers to a new year! Ryan Abbott - Assistant General Manager

Report
T
Charleston
11 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Our family enjoyed a Christmas Day lunch with superior staff and always very tasty food. We plan to return next year!

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 7, 2020

Good day, Trish! Thank you so much for spending your Christmas Day with our team. We are humbled to know that your service and meal lived up to your expectations! We would love to earn that 5th star from you the next time you join us. If you have any feedback on how we can continue to improve and set the standard in fine dining steakhouses, I would welcome such a discussion. Warm regards, Nate Krueger - General Manager (803) 212-6666

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2019
Overall3food2service4ambience2

I’ve been to Ruth Chris for the last 4 or 5 years for Christmas. I was very disappointed this year with the food.
Everyone’s steak was over done, we didn’t send them back because then people that didn’t get steak have to wait for you to get your food again. Also the corn wasn’t the same - it seemed to have a lot of vinegar in it and we ordered the sweet potato dish that turned out to be half white potatoes. It just wasn’t a good experience this year.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 7, 2020

Hello and thank you for your feedback about your recent experience. I apologize if your meal did not live up to your expectations and our standards. We are always looking for ways to improve. Please feel free to reach out to me personally if you would be willing to discuss your experience further. It's my utmost desire to correct any concerns and win back your confidence in our restaurant. Warm regards, Nate Krueger - General Manager (803) 212-6666

Report
I
Tampa
7 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2019
Overall3food2service5ambience4

Christmas Eve dinner. Service was very good. Steak was ordered medium rare came out medium well/well. The lobster was a bit under cooked.
They had replacement ordered , it took almost 15. Minutes. When replacement came it was over done as well.
I think they must have been very busy, it was not the typical quality by far.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 7, 2020

Good day and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent visit. It's disappointing to hear that your meal fell well short of our standards. We would love nothing more than an opportunity to make this right and restore your confidence in our restaurant. If you can spare a moment to talk, I would love to discuss your experience further. I hope to hear from you soon! Warm regards, Nate Krueger - General Manager (803) 212-6666

Report
W
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on December 24, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Food was just a step above ordinary. At times, I felt like our server was doing us a favor. I have had a better steak recently in another local restaurant at a much less expensive cost.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 7, 2020

Good day and thank you for your patronage! I apologize that your recent experience fell short of your expectations as well as our standards. Great food and warm hospitality have made us a leader in our industry and it's disappointing to know that we didn't live up to our reputation. I would love the opportunity to discuss your experience so that we may improve in the future as well as win your confidence back. Warm regards, Nate Krueger - General Manager (803) 212-6666

Report
DW
Charleston
1 review
Dined on December 23, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Ken was the best we have been to Ruth Chris a ton of times and this was the best and Ken made us feel like family !

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 7, 2020

Hello Darryl! Thank you so much for your 5-star review! It's very heartening to know that Ken has taken such wonderful care of you. We hope to see you again in the near future! Best wishes, Ryan Abbott - Assistant General Manager

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on December 22, 2019
Overall3food5service3ambience3

It’s was my Girlfriends birthday and no one from your restaurant recognized it after I played it on the reservation.

RD
Orlando
11 reviews
Dined on December 21, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service , great food and atmosphere

OT
1 review
Dined on December 20, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Anniversary

CF
Charleston
45 reviews
Dined on December 20, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great bartender. Filet was superb. Service was outstanding, really made us feel welcome.

OT
1 review
Dined on December 20, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great.
Have never had less than exceptional experience.

KS
1 review
Dined on December 17, 2019
Overall2food5service2ambience2

Food delicious but service very poor!!! We had to ask for tea 4 times before we got it. Myrtle Beach location was better and to noisy!

P
Charleston
12 reviews
Dined on December 16, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Seated quickly. Fairly attentive wait staff. However vegetables and mashed/baked potatoes were cold. Overpriced for food, the food here not as good as the other Ruth Chris’s we have been to. Disappointed

CF
Charlotte
3 reviews
Dined on December 15, 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience2

My wife and I took our daughter and boyfriend for a celebration dinner for my daughter's graduation last weekend. I told the restaurant when I made the reservation about the special event, and then reminded the hostess when I checked in. Never did the server acknowledge the special occasion, which wasn't the biggest deal, but it was a little disappointing. Next, the service was poor at best. We were constantly waiting for the server to come around. Once the food came, it was completely average. My steak was overcooked and tough. Usually when we eat at this level of restaurant, everyone comments on how good their food is when they start their meals. This time, everyone just ate their dinners and continued with the conversation. It was obvious that everyone enjoyed the time together, but the meal wasn't the experience that my wife and I hoped it would be. I also want to note that the restaurant was barely decorated for Christmas. A very disappointing experience overall. I won't be going back anytime soon.

NC
Greensboro
3 reviews
Dined on December 12, 2019
Overall3food4service4ambience4

Ruth Chris has been a favorite but this time not so. The sweet potatoes side was terrible. Couldn't eat it. Now, the apple pie dessert was probably the best I have had

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Responded on January 8, 2020

Good day and thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent visit with us to its maximum potential. It is heartening, however, to know that our Apple Crumb Tart is living up to its reputation! I would love to take a few moments of your time to discuss your visit and how we can improve in the future. Please reach out at your convenience. Warm Regards, Nate Krueger - General Manager (803) 212-6666

Report
JC
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined on December 9, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We were seated immediately and our orders for drink and food were taken shorty after we were seated.
Our steaks and sides were delicious and cooked as we had ordered.

KM
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined on December 7, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and service

OT
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined on December 6, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best service ever. Wish I had looked at our waiters name.

TM
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on November 29, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was excellent as usual, our waitress was outstanding. Great overall experience. We will be back.

m
1 review
Dined on November 29, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was Perfect! Customer service was excellent! Appreciated that the waiter called us by our last name!

LR
New York Area
7 reviews
Dined on November 28, 2019
Overall1food2service1ambience4

The worst service I’ve ever had at a 4+ star restaurant. It took forever to get cocktails from the bar. Food service was very rushed. Maincourse arrived five minutes after we got our appetizers. The waitress had to bring our entrees back to the kitchen and then we were served our entrée about 20 minutes later. My son’s turkey dinner for Thanksgiving was nicely presented. However, my turkey dinner was scraps of turkey. When I brought it to the managers attention she was shocked when she saw it. Although being very apologetic ,I lost my appetite and said I did not want anything else. To make matters worse throughout this entire episode, my waiter nowhere to be found. Never again!

Tweets by Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia