Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to Main Content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United States
  3. New York / Tri-State Area
  4. Manhattan
  5. Midtown East
Lotte Gold Room A - Villard & the Gold Room, New York, NY

Villard & the Gold Room

4.1
4.1
297 Reviews
$31 to $50
Contemporary American
Linger over seasonal New American cuisine, graciously served in one of the city’s most elegant and refined dining rooms. From farmhouse breakfast to indulgent brunch fare, Villard Restaurant is an iconic setting for an elevated breakfast located within Lotte New York Palace. Villard is open daily from 6:30am - 11:00am. We look forward to welcoming you.

Make a reservation

2 people

8:30 PM


Booked 11 times today

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Elegant

  • Cuisines

    Contemporary American, Comfort Food

  • Hours of operation

    Breakfast Daily 6:30 am–11:00 am

  • Phone number

    (212) 891-8100

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress code

    Business Casual

  • Executive chef

    Cedric Tovar

  • Catering

    Private Dining: Available for evening and special events

  • Neighborhood

    Midtown East

  • Cross street

    Madison Avenue between 50th and 51st Street

  • Parking details

    On-site valet parking in garage.

  • Public transit

    E, M to 5th Ave/53rd Street<br />6 to 51st Street

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What 297 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.1
4.1 based on recent ratings
  • 4Food
  • 3.9Service
  • 4.5Ambience
  • 3.2Value

NoiseModerate

Sort by

Filters

  1. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Buckinghamshire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We had a wonderful brunch. The fluffiest, lightest pancakes I’ve ever had too! Ambiance was nice and quiet and the wood panelled room was absolutely beautiful. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion or treat!
  2. LJ

    LauraJeanL

    Atlantic City

    13 reviews

    3.0

    13 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall3food3service3ambience4
    We went here on my birthday for breakfast. The reservation said it was for bd but no acknowledgment at all.. price of coffee is absurd.. wanted a mimosa but they said they offer no alcohol while there is an empty bar outside the door. For the price I feel they should make a 3 egg omelette not 2. The quiche Lorraine was not a real quiche Lorraine as the bacon was sliced and on top. Food was ok. I feel it could taste better. Omelette was fluffy though.
  3. j

    jasminew

    New York Area

    4 reviews

    1.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on August 6, 2022

    overall1food3service1ambience2
    Rushed us out of there at noon because the kitchen was closing for brunch

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded 7 days agojasminew Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. Villard Weekend Breakfast service is from 6:30am until 12:00pm. We are not open for Brunch at this time. We are reaching out to you privately to get a fuller understanding of your service issue. We would appreciate learning more about this. Thank you!

  4. t

    tspray

    New York Area

    10 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    10 reviews

    Dined on August 5, 2022

    overall2food2service3ambience3
    Certainly a beautiful space - I ordered the shakshouka but I found it a bit disappointing. I expected it to be baked and have more than one egg -- it was soupy, which usually isn't the case with shakshouka. My son ordered the chocolate chip pancakes and they gave him plain pancakes - when it was sent back they just sprinkled chocolate chips on top. Given the caliber this place claims to be, it was a weak correction. I was not impressed.
  5. j

    jonlovesfood

    New York Area

    5 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on July 25, 2022

    overall3food2service3ambience5
    $200 for 3 people for breakfast is outrageous.
  6. TB

    TammyB

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 13, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    300 dollars for eggs and bacon for 4 was just way to pricey
  7. l

    lcarter

    New York Area

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on July 1, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Wife wanted to stay close to the hotel and eat. Glad I listened to her. Amazing room for dinner, tasty food and attentive servers. It made the night great and made wifey happy. Well done.
  8. FL

    FoodLover123

    New York Area

    8 reviews

    4.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on June 28, 2022

    overall4food4service3ambience4
    Beautiful restaurant Food was good. A little bit overpriced though.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on June 29, 2022FoodLover123 Thank you for taking time to rate us. we are so pleased that you enjoyed the ambiance and food. We do hope to see you again soon!

  9. JK

    JoshuaK

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 27, 2022

    overall3food2service2ambience5
    No butter w/toast food was bland very expensive bad value
  10. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 26, 2022

    overall2food2service2ambience4
    I have enjoyed Villard on several previous occasions and was very disappointed with our experience yesterday - starting with a surly hostess, pretty slow and inattentive service, lack of flexibility with substitutions (eg fruit for potatoes), no coffee refills and missing items from the order. While the ambience remains unique and beautiful, there are many other great options in NY, especially at Villard’s price point. I would need to see significant improvements before returning.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on June 29, 2022Thank you for taking time to share your comments. We will reach out to you privately to learn more about your experience and hope we can turn this around for you! Martin Mariano Hotel Manager

  11. C

    Clay

    New York Area

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 17, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Amazing food and service. Will be back soon

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on June 21, 2022Clay Thank you so much for taking time to rate us 5 Stars! Please join us again soon!

  12. RE

    RyanE

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 15, 2022

    overall3food4service3ambience5
    The restaurant is beautiful, but what isn't necessarily apparent when booking is that it is a hotel restaurant - so expect incredibly inflated prices. While the staff were very attentive, they were not always understandable. The one thing they had down very well was upselling, and not always in a transparent way. The end result was a breakfast for two where we each only had coffee, water, yogurt and berries and ended up with a bill of over $140 (inclusive of an added 15% service change which was surprising for a table of 2).

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on June 21, 2022RyanE Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business. I am reaching out to you privately to make this right for you. Martin Mariano Hotel Manager

  13. DM

    DenisM

    Los Angeles

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on June 8, 2022

    overall5food4service4ambience5
    Good food, pricy for breakfast, but excellent venue and great old New York feel.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on June 21, 2022DenisM Thank you for the 5 star rating! We are so happy that you enjoyed the Gilded Age ambience. Please join us again soon!

  14. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 25, 2022

    overall1food2service1ambience4
    So sorry to say service was awful repeatedly. So bad don’t want to write about it.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on June 7, 2022We are so sorry that we disappointed you. I would appreciate knowing more about your experience and will respond to you privately. John Gulinello Director

  15. FB

    FrankB

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 18, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    I had a business breakfast meeting and was immediately recognized as a returning guest. We ordered the Villard Omelette and I would say that it was the best Omelette I have had in the city to date. The room does not disappoint and the service was spectacular. Prompt and very friendly, never imposing. I will return to this wonderful restaurant in the near future. Needless to say my guest was very impressed as well. Cud's to the staff and culinary team!
  16. j

    jimmyc

    New York Area

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on May 17, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Amazing experience at the Villard!! Really felt like a luxury experience. The service was so good, very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. We had the pancakes and avocado toast!! Soooo good. The Gold Room is a beautiful place for cocktails at night !!

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on May 17, 2022jimmyc Thank you for visiting us again after such a long absence! We are so happy to welcome our local business clientele back to Villard! We appreciate you kind comments and are thrilled that you have enjoyed your breakfast. Please return soon for cocktails and light bites in our Gold Room. John Gulinello Director of Food & Beverage

  17. J

    Jabe

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 15, 2022

    overall1food1service3ambience2
    Anniversary brunch for my folks 59th anniversary. Mom asked for a simple Chardonnay, was told that since the pandemic we don't serve now. After I was told that what i had orderered was no longer vavailable. We asked for the bill, and we left for a nice, friendly, local diner!

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on May 17, 2022Jabe, I'm very sorry that we disappointed you and your Parents. I am going to reach out to you privately. Thank you for your patience, Martin Mariano Hotel Manager

  18. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Miami

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 9, 2022

    overall3food4service1ambience4
    Service was too slow, took forever to have a simple breakfast.
  19. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Philadelphia

    24 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    24 reviews

    Dined on May 7, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Beautiful Gilded Age ambiance. Perfect breakfast and friendly service.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on May 17, 2022Thank you for your comments. Please join us again soon!

  20. H

    Helen

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 3, 2022

    overall3food3service5ambience5
    Great service and gorgeous room and ambience. The food and drinks are overpriced, though, and the quality did not match the price in my opinion.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on May 6, 2022Helen, Thank you for sharing your comments! I am sending you a private message requesting some additional feedback! Thank you! John Gulinello Director of Food & Beverage

  21. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New York Area

    1 review

    vip
    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 2, 2022

    overall2food1service3ambience5
    The prices were extremely expensive and we didn’t think it was worth the quality and service. Too bad because the room is very elegant.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on May 4, 2022Thank you for taking time to review us. I can empathize that prices in midtown are high especially post-pandemic with rising costs. We strive to make your experience worth it with service, quality. and ambience. We will continue to focus on this to create am overall winning experience. Please, visit us again soon! Martin Mariano Hotel Manager

  22. RA

    ReginaA

    Miami

    215 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    215 reviews

    Dined on May 1, 2022

    overall3food3service4ambience3
    This is my 2nd time dining here, and first time during the pandemic. Previously we were seated in the carpeted ante room which I was expecting as I like that is cozy and brigthly lit, but this time we were led into the back dining area which my husband and I found dark interior wise. Reception was attentive. We ordered the Villard Omelette and the Shouzuka. Coffee was fine. I liked that they served the toasts warm. I had to ask for butter. The selection of 5 jams marmalade & honey was nicely presented, except the orange marmalade was already opened. We showed this to our waiter, who apologized and brought another bottle, which was also opened previously. We had to call the waiter again. On the 3rd try he brought a new bottle. My Villard Omelette was nice and fluffy but the potatoes that accompanied the plating were over fried which I mentioned to the waiter. He apologized but did nothing about it. Overall I was disappointed as expected a nice breakfast with my husband in a highly rated restaurant venue. I feel that it has gone down a lot and will not be returning here.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on May 4, 2022ReginaA Thank you for your candid review. I appreciate your positive comments and will address the concerning aspects of your visit. You deserve a top notch luxury experience. I will reach out to you privately to discuss your visit. I want to win back your confidence for you to return. Thank you! John Gulinello F&B Director

  23. SJ

    SJira

    Dallas

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on April 30, 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience5
    Good place but food is not that good for the price.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on May 6, 2022Sjira Thank you for sharing your comments! I am sending you a private message requesting some additional feedback! Thank you! John Gulinello Director of Food & beverage

  24. d

    dbbdf

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 28, 2022

    overall5food3service5ambience5
    Excellent (and one of the last surviving) place in midtown for a business breakfast

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on May 2, 2022Thank you so much for taking time to post a five star review! We do hope you'll visit us again soon!

  25. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 24, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Fui con mi esposo a desayunar por su cumpleaños. La atención excelente, desde la entrada hasta la mesa. El desayuno sobresaliente. El ambiente espectacular. Volvería solo para terminar de probar todo el menú.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on May 2, 2022Gracias por las 5 Estrellas!!

  26. JM

    JasonM

    New York Area

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 22, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Michael Gaal was a tremendous host. Thank you for making my daughters feel so special.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on May 2, 2022JasonM Thank you for your 5 star review! And, for taking a moment to highlight our Food and Beverage Manager, Michael, who hosted you during your visit. Please bring the family to visit us again soon!

  27. r

    raidersix2002

    New York Area

    169 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    169 reviews

    Dined on April 20, 2022

    overall3food2service2ambience5
    The venue is breathtaking but go for drinks only! We went for dinner and it was a hot mess, despite a very limited menu they "ran out" of two of the only five entres by 6 pm . . . really???? waiters brought the wrong water and language skills were so poor they could not even understand what I was saying about the water. The same food runner brought the wrong appetizer to our table - mass confusion it as for a table that arrived 20 minutes after we did! The apps we ordered were plain - shrimp cocktail and the crudete both unremarkable. The sea bass was reportedly just right but the rigatoni (choice I made 15 minutes after I ordered my first entre that was "out") was terrible, boiled rigatoni with a tini bit of manenara sauce and a large pile of shredded meat not in sauce - room termperature. just terrible - chef-borardee would have been ashamed. stick to drinks at the bar and enjoy the architecture

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on May 2, 2022raidersix2002 Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are disappointed that you did not have a good experience and would appreciate an opportunity to apologize to you directly. Do not hesitate to reach out to me directly. I'd like to make this right for you! John Gulinello Director of Food & Beverage

  28. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New York Area

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on April 17, 2022

    overall5food5service4ambience5
    The room is gorgeous and the food and drinks were great! My boyfriend and I had drinks and appetizers Easter evening, and while the price is steep The Gold Room is absolutely worth a visit every once in a while!

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on April 18, 2022Thank you for choosing The Gold Room to spend your holiday! We are thrilled you had the opportunity to experience a sense of the Gilded Age in our bar. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

  29. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Orlando

    5 reviews

    1.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on April 17, 2022

    overall1food1service4ambience5
    The dining room inside this hotel is beautiful and that's when the positives end. The staff were efficient at first but when I complained that my breakfast consisting of 2 fried eggs and breakfast potatoes and lettuce was missing the bacon no one came back to me, it was only at the end when I asked for the bill and mentioned about the bacon that it was offered, I politely declined. `The toast was cold and there was no butter. There was no top up on the coffee and my daughter decided she wanted a tea and no one came back to her. This was advertised as an Easter Brunch and yet there was nothing to make it seem that it was other than an overpriced flop. I do not mind paying the price for quality but this was abysmal. $175 for three people for breakfast 3 OJ's, 1 coffee, a burger & fries (my son did say his burger was very flavoursome) and two way below standard breakfasts leaves a bitter taste in your mouth. Shame because it has so much potential to be a wonderful place.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on May 2, 2022Thank you for taking time to post a review. I appreciate all of your detailed comments. I am so disappointed that you did not have a good experience over the holiday. I will reach out to you privately to personally apologize. I would appreciate an opportunity to turn this around for you. John Gulinello Director of Food & Beverage

  30. P

    Phil

    Raleigh

    46 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    46 reviews

    Dined on April 17, 2022

    overall3food3service2ambience4
    Beautiful room. Good food terrible service (and it wasn’t crowded when we were there). This was our second time having breakfast there (we were staying at the hotel) and the service was just as bad as the first time. No third try for us!

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on April 19, 2022Phil, Thank you for taking time to share your comments. Im so sorry we failed to meet your expectations on your overall experience. I will private message you in hopes that you will share more details. Martin Mariano Hotel Manager

  31. P

    Phil

    Raleigh

    47 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    47 reviews

    Dined on April 15, 2022

    overall3food4service2ambience4
    Beautiful setting. Good food; pricey, but perhaps not out of the ordinary for this location in manhattan. But the service was less than we expected. Not very attentive and almost flippant. They need to work on this.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on April 18, 2022Phil, Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed Villard overall, and we will continue to work on improving our service as business returns to New York City at a record pace.. Please join us again soon!

  32. EL

    ELC69

    New York Area

    18 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    18 reviews

    Dined on April 15, 2022

    overall2food4service2ambience2
    Un lugar muy malo para desayunar. Mal servicio y atención de meseros sin vocación ni oficio, equivocaciones en tomar la orden y en la elaboración de alimentos. Una pena de lugar. Los alimentos de buena calidad solamente pero no para el alto precio
  33. a

    annac

    Chicago

    2 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on April 8, 2022

    overall2food1service1ambience5
    Did not give us water, staff was rude.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on April 18, 2022Thank you for your candid feedback. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. Please reach out to me privately so I can welcome you back at another time to ensure that your experience is perfect! John Gulinello, Director of Food & Beverage

  34. TD

    TweedleDe

    Los Angeles

    27 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    27 reviews

    Dined on April 7, 2022

    overall2food1service1ambience4
    Complete disappointment. Fish was fishy and service was horrible- just go for drinks - not dinner

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on April 18, 2022TweedleDe We are so happy you enjoyed your Gold Room cocktails. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your meal over your visit. The Gold Room is a favorite New York destination and I'm disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations. I will reach out to you privately. Martin Mariano, Hotel Manager

  35. HS

    HeidiS

    Minneapolis

    11 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    11 reviews

    Dined on April 7, 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience5
    The Shakshuka was delicious. $113 for two breakfast dishes, a cup of coffee, a small glass of orange juice, and a small glass of grapefruit juice is on the shocking end of pricing.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on April 18, 2022HeidiS Thank you for the wonderful comments on your dining experience in Villard. I apologize for the "New York City pricing structure"...Please let us know when you are returning so I can personally look out for you. John Gulinello Director of Food & Beverage

  36. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New York Area

    1 review

    vip
    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 7, 2022

    overall2food2service2ambience3
    This place is terrible. Staff haven’t a clue and tables are packed into a stuffy room. Real shame!!!!

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on April 18, 2022I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience over your visit. I'm sorry you caught us at a challenging time. The Villard Mansion is a favorite destination for many of our guests. Please reach out to me privately so I can welcome you back at another time to ensure your experience is perfect! John Gulinello, Director of Food & Beverage

  37. AS

    AlexS

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 5, 2022

    overall3food2service2ambience5
    Very disappointing experience. I remember pre-Covid this was one of the best breakfasts in NY. Yesterday was very ordinary. And service was not attentive at all. For the price this was not good value.
  38. AD

    ADAn

    New York Area

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 3, 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience2
    The service is terrible, like a dinner in a busy day. I made the reservation for 11 am Sunday brunch and wondering to eat pancakes, no pancakes available and awful service.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on April 19, 2022ADAn, Thank you for providing candid feedback on your recent visit. I apologize that we did not live up to our reputation. I'm so sorry we ran out out of a breakfast menu item and disappointed you. I will private message you in hopes to get more feedback so you feel comfortable to return again. John Gulinello Director of Food & Beverage

  39. GA

    GAndO

    Los Angeles

    6 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on April 3, 2022

    overall2food2service3ambience1
    We were there for Sunday brunch…which turns out to be the same daily breakfast menu. It was chaotic. Maitre’d could not find our reservation but we were seated after a wait. Food has expensive hotel prices which we expected but the quality was terrible. The room is small but has a high vaulted, wooden ceiling and the maddening sound of a rushed breakfast service echoed badly. We were traveling and had only one Sunday to plan a special brunch. This was not it. Terribly disappointed.

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on April 19, 2022Thank you for providing candid feedback on your recent visit. I apologize that we did not live up to our reputation. We do not provide Brunch in the traditional sense. We have extend breakfast hours on weekends to accommodate our "late risers" so you are correct about the menu. I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy the historic Villard mansion ambience. I will private message you in hopes to get more feedback so you feel comfortable to return again. John Gulinello Director of Food & Beverage

  40. ES

    ErinS

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 3, 2022

    overall2food1service2ambience3
    The atmosphere of the restaurant made up for the lack of food that I received. I was hoping to have the pancakes and unfortunately they could not serve pancakes. I paid a whopping $29 USD for 2 eggs, 10 hash browns and a side salad. The coffee was also $9 USD. I had to track a server down to make payment for my meal and it was just overall not what I had expected :(

    Villard & the Gold RoomResponded on April 19, 2022Erin Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. I do apologize for the inefficiencies you experienced at the time of your visit while we experience such recent high volume as visitors return back to NYC. We have taken action to address the recent opportunities and assure you that our service opportunities and food quality is addressed on a daily basis. I will reach out to you privately for further comment.

FAQs

Villard & the Gold Room is rated 4.1 stars by 297 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

8:30 PM


Booked 11 times today
Google Map for Villard & the Gold Room

455 Madison Ave, New York, NY 10022

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Cross street

    Madison Avenue between 50th and 51st Street

  • Neighborhood

    Midtown East

  • Hours of operation

    Breakfast Daily 6:30 am–11:00 am

  • Cuisines

    Contemporary American, Comfort Food

  • Dining style

    Casual Elegant

  • Dress code

    Business Casual

  • Parking details

    On-site valet parking in garage.

  • Public transit

    E, M to 5th Ave/53rd Street6 to 51st Street

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

  • Executive chef

    Cedric Tovar

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo