Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to Main Content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United States
  3. Boston / New England
  4. Boston
  5. Cambridge
Over the Charles Rooftop Bar - Over the Charles, Boston, MA

Over the Charles

4.0
4
139 Reviews
$31 to $50
American
**Boston’s Locally Crafted Rooftop Bar**
Set on the 16th floor of the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, enjoy a laid-back atmosphere while taking in stunning views of the scenic Charles River and Boston city skyline at this outdoor rooftop bar in Boston. Grab a locally-crafted microbrew from Jack’s Abby Craft Lagers or sample a tasting of their award-winning lagers featuring locally-grown ingredients, and American innovation. Trivia night returns every Thursday (weather permitting).

So get the most of your Boston rooftop season at Over the Charles with our locally crafted rooftop experience and we’ll see you on the roof!

A selection of wines, cocktails and lite fare are also available.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 11 times today

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Cuisines

    American, Pub

  • Hours of operation

    Dinner Thu–Sun 5:30 pm–10:00 pm

  • Phone number

    (617) 222-0788

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress code

    Casual Dress

  • Owned/operated by

    Black/African American, Latinx or Hispanic, LGBTQ+

  • Executive chef

    Scott Bakutis

  • Catering

    Contact (617) 562-4151 for more details on Boston private event options at Over the Charles Rooftop.

  • Private party facilities

    Contact (617) 562-4151 for more details on Boston private event options at Over the Charles Rooftop.

  • Neighborhood

    Cambridge

  • Cross street

    Cambridge Street

  • Parking details

    $5 discounted parking with checks over $50.00

  • Public transit

    MBTA Bus 64: Cambridge St @ Mass Pike

  • Additional

    Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Offers

  • Trivia Night

    Jun 8 - Nov 1, 2022
    Wed - 8:00 PM - 8:00 PM
    Phrenology Trivia Night Phrenology Trivia presents Trivia for Phrends! Join us each week for a fun, interactive night of trivia! Bring a team of up to 8 people, and show off your skills in various categories. With visual aides and song hints, you’re bound to have a good time with a great view of the city! Phrenology Trivia is at Over the Charles Rooftop Bar every Wednesday at 8 PM. Guest must book in order to ensure that they get a spot at the door. 1st and 2nd place winners every week. #phrenologytrivia #OTCRooftop

What 139 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.0
4 based on recent ratings
  • 3.7Food
  • 3.8Service
  • 4.5Ambience
  • 3.4Value

NoiseModerate

Sort by

Filters

  1. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Greensboro

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 18, 2022

    overall1food2service1ambience3
    Horrible service. Waited an hour for our food and never got the appetizer we ordered.
  2. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 17, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Wonderful view and delicious food.
  3. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New England

    2 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on September 17, 2022

    overall3food4service2ambience5
    View was great. Service was suboptimal. It took 20 minutes before anyone came to our table. There was a mixup with our drink order and our appetizer came out with our entree. Also, there was a mixup with our burger orders. My husband’s was cooked medium and mine well done even though we asked for medium and medium rare, respectively. We didn’t make a big deal about this given we were hungry and didn’t want to delay our food any longer. This rooftop bar is a nice location for drinks given the ambiance but the service needs improvement.
  4. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New England

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 16, 2022

    overall5food5service3ambience5
    A little cold probably could have heat lamps especially for the price they charge but overall I had a great time
  5. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 10, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We had a great time. Came here to celebrate my parent's anniversary. Delish food, excellent drinks and what a view. Mind-blowing!
  6. NB

    NicB

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 3, 2022

    overall3food3service1ambience4
    Honestly, the atmosphere was awesome. It was a nice view over the river and city. But, our server was horrible. We never had our waters refilled, took 15 minutes to get the check, and it wasn’t busy. Food was dry, expensive, and frankly underwhelming. I hate to leave negative reviews but they need to do something to pick it up there.

    Over the CharlesResponded on September 8, 2022NicB, thank you for your honest and valued feedback on your most recent experience at Over the Charles. We sincerely apologize that our service level and food offerings missed the mark during your visit, and appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we can follow up with the Management team for further follow up.

  7. CP

    CindyP

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 2, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We celebrated my daughter’s 16th birthday at Over the Charles. They met our expectations and beyond. I was hesitant after reading all the bad reviews but very surprised by the great experience. The host was friendly and accommodating when we had to add an extra person at the last minute. The waiter and waitress got our order in quick and food came out hot and delicious. Overall the service was amazing. And the view was spectacular. Highly recommend!

    Over the CharlesResponded on September 8, 2022CindyP, thank you for thinking of Over the Charles to celebrate your daughter's 16th birthday! We are delighted to hear that the staff were able to provide you with an amazing and memorable experience for such an extra special day. Thank you for the wonderful recommendation and we hope to help you'll think of us again for your next special celebrations.

  8. AS

    AmieeS

    Tampa

    5 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on September 1, 2022

    overall5food2service5ambience5
    Really good drinks but the view is the pick here. Very limited food options. Good but not many choices.

    Over the CharlesResponded on September 8, 2022AmieeS, thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your visit to Over the Charles Boston Rooftop Bar. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the drinks and especially the city skyline views! We'll be sure to share your food option comment with the F&B team and please feel free to direct message us if there is anything in particular you would like to see on the menu. We appreciate any and all of our guests' comments!

  9. JS

    JenniferS

    Chicago

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 1, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Beautiful view, great food, awesome beer. Would definitely come back again.

    Over the CharlesResponded on September 8, 2022JenniferS, we're so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to our Boston rooftop bar! We love being able to partner with local brewer - Jack's Abby - to offer great tasting beers, as well as being able to offer a great view of both Boston and Cambridge. We hope you'll be able to visit us again soon!

  10. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New England

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 31, 2022

    overall5food5service4ambience5
    The views were great. The food was excellent. Dinner music and ambiance was also wonderful when I arrived at 6:30 pm. It was busy but not overly crowded so the waiter was attentive. I happened to be there on a trivia night starting at 8:00 pm which was fun but it did get more crowded. I did enjoy the trivia night so I stayed till the end as did most people. Would definitely go back. I dined alone but would be great fun with a group especially for the trivia night. Visited on 8/31/22

    Over the CharlesResponded on September 8, 2022Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent visit to Over the Charles. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the views, food, ambiance and the trivia challenges! We look forward to welcoming you again soon, and remember, trivia nights have now moved to Thursdays for the Fall season.

  11. J

    Julia

    Caribbean

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 26, 2022

    overall3food2service2ambience5
    Patio and views are beautiful, food and service was not great. Our server read back our entire order, yet messed up a bunch of things, forgot appetizers for 40 mins, etc. Drinks were very overpriced even for Boston.

    Over the CharlesResponded on September 8, 2022JuliaC, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your most recent visit to Over the Charles. While we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view, we apologize for the level of service provided during your visit and the mix up with your order. We will be sharing this with the Management team for further follow up and again, appreciate you sharing this with us.

  12. s

    simcoh

    New England

    57 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    57 reviews

    Dined on August 19, 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience5
    Beautiful view. Worth going just for that. The server was polite but overwhelmed which made for slow service although we didn’t really care. The burger was good. We didn’t order cocktails as the $19 was a bit high but a pleasant visit to the lovely 16th floor patio

    Over the CharlesResponded on September 8, 2022Simcoh, thanks for taking the time to rate your Over the Charles Rooftop Bar experience. We're so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the view and apologize our server seemed a bit overwhelmed and you chose not to partake in our cocktails due to the pricing. We appreciate honest feedback like this and will be sharing this with our Management team for further follow up. Thank you for visiting us and we hope you'll visit us again soon.

  13. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New York Area

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 15, 2022

    overall4food3service5ambience5
    We only went for drinks but they seemed a little overpriced and a little watered down. I probably wouldn’t go back only because the view is nice but i can get a good view for better drinks elsewhere

    Over the CharlesResponded on August 15, 2022We apologize our drink offerings did not meet your expectations and appreciate your honest feedback from your most recent visit to Over the Charles. We will be sure to share this will the F&B team for further follow up and to help identify additional areas of improvement.

  14. KL

    KesiaL

    New England

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 13, 2022

    overall3food3service1ambience5
    Service was terrible for a #2 top roof tops in boston

    Over the CharlesResponded on August 15, 2022KesiaL, we are so sorry to hear that our service level did not meet your expectations during your most recent visit. Would you be able to send us any additional details on what we can improve on via direct message here on OpenTable? We truly value your feedback as we seek to consistently improve on our offerings.

  15. M

    Mimibsch

    New England

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 12, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    I didvnot eat there. But must be surely good. Best regards

    Over the CharlesResponded on August 15, 2022Thanks for the five-star rating Mimibsch and we hope you'll visit us again soon at our Boston rooftop bar - Over the Charles.

  16. m

    mayrat

    New York Area

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 7, 2022

    overall2food3service4ambience3
    Honestly this roof top bar is tiny! It has a great view of the Charles River/Storrow Drive. The music is so low an faint you can barely here it the cocktails were overpriced slightly a little more than the rooftops in seaport. We had a friend visiting from NY and I made these reservations over 2 weeks ago and all the other rooftops were full or wanted a $200 deposit that you had to use towards your drinks. The view was great but the place was pretty boring. If you’re looking for a more quiet setting with a nice view this is it. If you want a more lively younger crowd I suggest seaport and booking well in advance.

    Over the CharlesResponded on August 15, 2022Mayrat, we apologize we did not meet your expectations during your visit. We do offer trivia on Wednesday nights and our OTC Sunset Sounds series offers live music on Thursday nights through August 28th for those looking for something a bit different than a chill night overlooking the Charles. We will be sure to share your comments with our Management team to see if there is any additional programing opportunities.

  17. d

    deborahh

    New England

    12 reviews

    5.0

    12 reviews

    Dined on August 6, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    This was our first time visiting Over The Charles. My husband and I decided to try it for a weekend date night. The view of the Boston and Cambridge skyline from the roof top patio was spectacular as the sunlight glowed against the buildings as we transitioned from late afternoon to evening. The staff were gracious and fun! Claudio took great care of us - being attentive but not pressing. My husband and I shared a goat cheese and fig flatbread pizza and the tuna tartare. Both were sizable and excellent. Instead of desert - we actually shared a second plate of the tuna tartare (It was that good). The rooftop breezes kept us cool on a very hot day…. As did yummy beverages from the bar! We had a great time and will visit again soon!

    Over the CharlesResponded on August 15, 2022Deborahh, thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy to hear that Claudio took great care of you and will give us an opportunity to recognize them for their outstanding service. Our Chef will also be happy to hear how much you liked the tuna tartare that you had it twice! Thank you again for visiting our Boston rooftop bar for a fun date night out and we hope to see you again soon!

  18. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Los Angeles

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 5, 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience2
    There were large spiders on the wall by our table and one on our table.

    Over the CharlesResponded on August 15, 2022Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we will be following up with our facilities team for further follow up.

  19. PF

    PauletteF

    New England

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 4, 2022

    overall4food3service4ambience5
    This was my 2nd time visiting Over The Charles. The service is very good - understandably understaffed but take in the view, it's worth waiting a little longer for service. Beverages are quite pricey as you are in the city. The food selection is simple - assorted simple apps, salads, sandwiches, flatbreads. However, overpriced for the quality. I asked the waiter if they offered a 'side salad', without hesitation, he said 'yes'. So, I ordered the lamb app as my meal with a 'side salad'. Much to my surprise, the "side salad" was a full salad plate for $18. The waiter could have mentioned the size and price. Speaking from chef and catering experience; the lamb appetizer - although tasty, was certainly prepared ahead of time and held. It was not worth the $34. My friend ordered the hamburger well done. It came almost rare.

    Over the CharlesResponded on August 15, 2022PauletteF, thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your experience & we appreciate you visiting us for a second time. While we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our city skyline views, we sincerely apologize for the confusion on your side salad request and under-cooked hamburger, and will be sharing all of your comments with the Management and F&B team to do our best to improve on the guest experience. Again, we appreciate your thoughtful and honest feedback!

  20. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New England

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 1, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    the staff were really sweet and friendly! they brought out dessert for my boyfriend and i’s anniversary, it was great!

    Over the CharlesResponded on August 15, 2022Thank you so much for choosing Over the Charles Rooftop Bar to celebrate your anniversary. We are so happy to hear that the staff could help make it a special night for you both and hope you'll visit us again soon.

  21. JJ

    JoJo

    Calgary

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 31, 2022

    overall5food4service4ambience5
    Really great experience - spectacular views of Boston

    Over the CharlesResponded on August 15, 2022JoJo, thanks for sharing your comments with us regarding your most recent visit to Over the Charles. We're happy to hear you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed our sweeping city skyline views!

  22. KC

    KamilaC

    New England

    9 reviews

    1.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on July 30, 2022

    overall1food1service2ambience4
    This place has a wonderful view, but everything else is pretty bad. Food came cold, the beer hot and the drink tasted terrible. We decided to order a wine to try to save our night, but it looked like the wine had come out of the oven and they didn't have a container to cool up. Unfortunately we spent more than $100 in 90 minutes as it is the maximum time allowed for 2 people to occupy 1 table.

    Over the CharlesResponded on September 8, 2022KamilaC, we sincerely apologize that the food and beverage service was not up to our standards during your visit. We will be connecting with the Management and F&B team to ensure they follow up on this. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

  23. KB

    KristenB

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 24, 2022

    overall1food5service1ambience5
    This was fairly disappointing. My boyfriend and I came for date night and right out the gate we didn’t feel welcome (even though we had a reservation). The woman who sat us barely spoke other than to tell us they would be closing early. Then it was another 15-20 mins to get a drink. The server brought our drinks over which the alcohol was missing in one of them and the bartender had to bring over the shot of liquor to add to it. There was no ice in either drink. After an hour of being there, our food finally arrived. Which was pretty good, but we got half of it to go before even trying it because we were over the whole experience. Our server dropped the check when bringing it out to us and didn’t even make the attempt to pick it up for us. Just walked away. And no one thanked us for our business as we left. Over all, definitely a waste of money.

    Over the CharlesResponded on July 26, 2022KristenB, we are so sorry to hear that we missed the mark on what should have been an enjoyable evening for you and your date. We appreciate you bringing these shortcomings to our attention so that we may circle back with our team for further follow up and training. It is our goal to make all of our guests feel welcomed from the moment they arrive to the moment they depart and we sincerely apologize for our deficiencies.

  24. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New York Area

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 22, 2022

    overall2food3service1ambience3
    Poor service

    Over the CharlesResponded on September 8, 2022Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your most recent visit. We are so sorry to hear that the service we provided did not meet your expectations. Could you please direct message us some additional details on your visit so we can do our best to improve on the guest experience?

  25. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New England

    1 review

    vip
    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 21, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    Great view of the city and the river! Food and drink definitely overpriced but worth the view

    Over the CharlesResponded on July 26, 2022Thanks for sharing details with us on your most recent visit to Over the Charles. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the view and appreciate you visit our Boston rooftop bar.

  26. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Charleston

    4 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on July 21, 2022

    overall3food1service4ambience5
    Food was bad and seriously not worth it. Tiny portions and very expensive. Atmosphere and drinks are the reason to go. Could be the best view in Boston. Also have a killer cocktail menu…. Just do t waste your money or calories on their food. Not worth it

    Over the CharlesResponded on July 26, 2022While we are glad you were able to enjoy our city views and our cocktail menu, we are so sorry to hear you did not enjoy our food offerings, and appreciate you taking the time to sharing your candid and honest feedback. We have shared your comments with our F&B Team for further consideration as we are constantly evaluating our menu offerings.

  27. RO

    RenaeO

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 17, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    They were very accommodating to work us in. View of city is nice. Food is good and reasonably priced.

    Over the CharlesResponded on July 19, 2022Thanks for visiting us RenaeO and we're glad we were able to find a table for you to enjoy our Boston rooftop bar. We appreciate you visiting Over the Charles and hope you'll think of visiting us again soon.

  28. MM

    MelissaM

    New England

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on July 16, 2022

    overall4food4service1ambience5
    A truly gorgeous location! Our server was very attentive and the food was good (if a bit pricey). My complaint comes from our after-dining experience when somebody from the restaurant called our hotel room (we were staying in the Doubletree) at 10:30pm to verify that my husband was staying at the hotel. It turns out that he gave his credit card to pay for our meal but they opted to wake our family up with a phone call more than 2 hours after we had left the restaurant to confirm that he was staying at the hotel and bill the meal to our room instead of his credit card. At no point did we ask for the meal to be billed to our room and it was only by chance that we mentioned to the hostess that we were even staying at the hotel. We brought this up with the front desk staff at the hotel upon check out and they were not able to provide any insight as to why this was done. The whole thing felt a little creepy, to be honest. And certainly unprofessional.

    Over the CharlesResponded on July 21, 2022MelissaM, thank you for visiting us at Over the Charles. We’re so happy to hear our server took great care of you during your visit and that you enjoyed the food! However, we sincerely apologize for the disruption in your evening and appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. We take this matter seriously as this is not a practice we employ at the hotel and are working to investigate this internally.

  29. SD

    SueDash

    New England

    54 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    54 reviews

    Dined on July 16, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    We loved our evening Over the Charles - we were warmly welcomed by the hostess, attended to graciously by our server, and enjoyed fun & yummy sips and nibbles throughout while enjoying great views of the Boston skyline! We'll be back!

    Over the CharlesResponded on July 19, 2022SueDash, we're so happy to hear you loved your visit to our Boston rooftop bar - Over the Charles. Our team will be so happy to hear we provided a warm welcome as well as yummy bites and drinks to enjoy throughout the night. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

  30. KW

    KWBoston

    New England

    17 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    17 reviews

    Dined on July 14, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    Had a wonderful night and our server Bobby was awesome. Very attentive and friendly. The views are amazing.

    Over the CharlesResponded on July 19, 2022KaraW, we're so happy to hear you had a wonderful night at Over the Charles and that Bobby took great care of you. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we can recognize them for their outstanding service. Hopefully you'll visit us again during the season!

  31. HG

    HeatherGingerCooper

    Washington DC

    12 reviews

    5.0

    12 reviews

    Dined on July 4, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Jamal Massengale and the team at Doubletree were terrific! We had waited to do this for three years, and ir was worth the wait! Food and service were terrific and the view was incredible!

    Over the CharlesResponded on July 7, 2022Thank you so much for the five-star rating HeatherGingerCooper and for visiting us for our July 4th rooftop party. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed this special event as well as the views from the rooftop. On behalf of all our staff, thank you for choosing Over the Charles and we hope to see you again soon this summer.

  32. JM

    JakeM

    New England

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on July 3, 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience5
    Cocktail menu/execution could be improved but the view is spectacular and the food was great!

    Over the CharlesResponded on July 7, 2022JakeM, thank you for the candid feedback regarding our cocktails. We'll be sure to share this with the bartenders so that we can further improve on the guest experience. Happy to hear that you still enjoyed the food and of course the view!

  33. JC

    JenniferC

    New England

    4 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on July 3, 2022

    overall2food2service2ambience4
    We were told we couldn’t have a table with a view because they were all booked with reservations, but we also had a reservation. And then nobody was sat at those tables the entire time we were there. We waited over 15 minutes for our first drink and then 25 minutes before our food order was taken. And the entire time we were continuously reminded than there was 90 minutes max for the reservation. I feel badly giving a terrible review, but we were there for a special occasion and it was not a good experience. It was like a dive bar with a nice view. It was the worst espresso martini I’ve ever had and one of the most expensive (over $20). If you’re looking for a restaurant or bar with a view, you should skip this one.

    Over the CharlesResponded on July 19, 2022JenniferC, we apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience at our rooftop bar especially since you were celebrating a special occasion. We will be following up with our Management team to find ways for us to evaluate our reservation practices and service levels for our guests. We will also share your comments with the F&B team regarding the espresso martini as we are constantly looking to update and improve our menu offerings where possible based on important feedback like yours.

  34. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 3, 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience5
    Great view.

    Over the CharlesResponded on July 19, 2022Thank you for taking the time to rate our Boston rooftop bar on OpenTable and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed the great city views. We would appreciate any additional feedback you can provide on how we can improve on our food and value scores as we continuously seek to improve on the guest experience. Thank you again for visiting us at Over the Charles.

  35. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 29, 2022

    overall2food3service2ambience4
    Service was very slow. Food overpriced for what it was

    Over the CharlesResponded on July 7, 2022We appreciate your honest and candid feedback from your most recent visit. It is our goal to consistently improve the guest experience and will be sharing this information with our team internally for further follow up.

  36. JV

    JulieV

    New York Area

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on June 26, 2022

    overall5food5service2ambience5
    Was not enough staff for the amount of people, they seemed quite overwhelmed. Food and drinks were good. Beautiful view.

    Over the CharlesResponded on July 7, 2022JulieV, thank you for taking the time to rate us on OpenTable. While we are glad that you enjoyed the food, drinks and view, we are sorry to hear that the staff appeared overwhelmed and will be bringing this up internally with our Management team for further review.

  37. J

    Jedi

    New York Area

    7 reviews

    3.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on June 23, 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience3
    Nice view but very slow service which is an issue when you’re only given 90 minutes for your meal.

    Over the CharlesResponded on June 28, 2022Jedi, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the view, but that the service we provided fell short. We will be following up with our team internally to investigate ways to help improve our service. Thank you for your honest feedback and appreciate you visiting Over the Charles Boston Rooftop Bar.

  38. SR

    SkarlynR

    New England

    5 reviews

    4.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on June 17, 2022

    overall4food3service4ambience4
    Go here for the views! Food and drinks were on the pricier side given the quantity. But for sure worth for again the views. Would recommend for a date spot.

    Over the CharlesResponded on June 23, 2022SkarlynR thanks for the date night recommendation, and we're so happy to hear you enjoyed our Cambridge and Boston city skyline views. We do appreciate your honest and candid feedback and will be sure to share your comments with the Management team for further review.

  39. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New England

    5 reviews

    3.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on June 16, 2022

    overall3food3service5ambience5
    Small menu, food is “ok”. You really go for the view. Prepare to pay a lot of $ for alcohol though. Even compared to surrounding Boston bars and restaurants.

    Over the CharlesResponded on June 23, 2022Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at Over the Charles Rooftop Bar. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the view, and appreciate your candid feedback regarding the menu and pricing. We will be sharing this with our team for further review, and please let us know if there are any items that you would like to see us add to the menu as well so that we may continuously improve on the guest experience.

  40. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New England

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 11, 2022

    overall3food2service3ambience5
    Food is a bit over priced for the quality.

    Over the CharlesResponded on June 23, 2022Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your most recent experience at Over the Charles. We apologize our food options did not meet your expectations and will be sure to share these comments with the team for further review so that we may work on improving the guest experience.

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitizing

    • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
    • Contactless payment available
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

FAQs

Over the Charles is rated 4 stars by 139 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 11 times today
Google Map for Over the Charles

400 Soldiers Field Rd, Boston, MA 02134-1805

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Cross street

    Cambridge Street

  • Neighborhood

    Cambridge

  • Hours of operation

    Dinner Thu–Sun 5:30 pm–10:00 pm

  • Cuisines

    American, Pub

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Dress code

    Casual Dress

  • Parking details

    $5 discounted parking with checks over $50.00

  • Public transit

    MBTA Bus 64: Cambridge St @ Mass Pike

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

  • Owned/operated by

    Black/African American, Latinx or Hispanic, LGBTQ+

  • Executive chef

    Scott Bakutis

  • Additional

    Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo