Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Red Knot

3.7
146 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Gastro Pub
Perfect For:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Scenic View
  • Great for Lunch

Similar Restaurants

About

Red Knot is a Craftsman-style lounge located on the Galloping Hill Golf Course in Kenilworth, New Jersey. The restaurant serves gastropub fare in stylish surroundings and features a full-service bar.

Red Knot serves lunch and dinner daily and features an assortment of snacks, salads, shareable plates, pizza, artisanal sandwiches, burgers and main entrées on the menu. Snacks and shareable plates offered on the menu include root vegetable chips, zucchini fries, Cajun chicken tenders, Baja fish tacos and empanadas. Signature entrées featured at Red Knot include grilled flat iron steak, butterflied Cornish game hen, polenta bowl, breaded pork cutlet and fish and chips.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Gastro Pub, American, Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch

Monday through Sunday: 11 am - 5 pm

Dinner

Tuesday - Saturday: 5 pm - 10 pm

Sunday & Monday:

Closed for Dinner
Bar Open until 7 PM

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(908) 241-2211
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ralph Romano
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The Clubhouse at Galloping Hill second floor level accommodates up to 300 guests for private dining, special events, receptions, and on site wedding ceremonies. To schedule an appointment to tour our wedding and event venue, please contact Jennifer Lynn Forshee at (908) 884-5657 or email at jforshee@kempersports.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Market St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Red Knot has a large parking lot available for self parking.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music goes on during our Sunday Brunch service (Spring and Summer). Soft Rock and Blues favorites are played outside on our patio and can be heard from inside the restaurant as well.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 146 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.7based on all time ratings
3.8
food
3.8
service
4.1
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on August 17, 2016

My golf group has dinner at the Red Knot every week after our round. It's a very comfortable spot, with large, well-spaced tables. The staff is friendly and unfailingly accomodating, and everything that any of us has ordered has been really first rate. My personal favorites are the Red Knot Salad and the Fish Tacos. The Caesar Salad with Grilled Shrimp and the Salmon Burger are also big favorites with group members. They also have a terrific selection of beer, both on tap and in bottles. We always have a fun evening here, and it's definitely worth a try even if you're not playing golf at Galloping Hills.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 12, 2016

Hamburgers were not cooked as ordered

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 2, 2016

This was the 2nd time I reserved a table here. The first time was great hence the 2nd visit. I reserved a table for 4:30PM; it was a business meeting. Upon arriving I was told that the kitchen closed at 5pm!!! That we needed to get our order in before then. I never remember seeing that info when I reserved the table. When I was there a few months prior this was NOT the case. Maybe I'm being unreasonable but how could you accept a reservation for 4:30 and close at 5pm? This did not allow us to have a few drinks and talk before ordering and put a damper on our visit.
Apart from that the food and service were once again very good. A few more draft craft beer selections would be nice but not a deal breaker.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2016

I was meeting some friends and was looking for a restaurant that was close to the midpoint of our locations. I found the Red Knot and decided to try it. Because they had a private party that night we were given our own private room. The service was great, the food very good and the location awesome. Try the grilled octopus salad.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 6, 2015

I always enjoy going to The Red Knot. The food is delicious, the atmosphere is friendly and the view is really lovely. Set on a golf course you have the feeling of being away from it all yet we are in the heart of Union County and a stones throw from the hussle and bustle of it all. The food is delicious and the presentation is well thought out. It's not a huge menu but there is something for everyone. The staff are all very friendly. You get the feeling that they have a stake in the success of this restaurant, meaning they act very attentively, well informed, and enjoy what they do - very refreshing feeling in this bah humbug world. A quick bite, a nice get together with friends, a place for drinks and some appys, a fine meal - The Red Knot offers all of that.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 2, 2015

Extreme stomach problem 2 hours after meal!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 24, 2015

We have been going to the Red Knot since it opened. We have always been very happy with the menu and food quality. The last three times we have been there it has been a major disappointment. I would not recommend nor bring any friends to eat there. The menu has changed considerably and does not even describe the food. However, on the backside of the menu it sure gives a beautiful description of the specialty drinks. We thought we would give it one more try but three strikes and they are out. Really bummed because we were visiting at least once a week.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 9, 2015

Great food, but weird ambiance (like a chain hotel). The place was empty on a Friday night, and even though I grew up in Union I couldn't find the place, as there are really no signs. Place is on the expensive side for what you get. Given all of the other restaurant choices, we probably wont go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 3, 2015

We used to really enjoy meals here. The menu was innovative and even the Red Knot burger was excellent. Sadly, the service was too erratic so we took a hiatus for a few months. Now, the menu has been compacted (many of our favs are gone), and the quality of the preparation has decline to merely average. On the plus side, service is better. Too bad the excellent food quality could not have been retained AND service improved too..

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 26, 2015

We sat down ordered drinks. Seen the menu and left. Pizza and burgers. Really??

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 2, 2015

A group of friends and I went for the first time this week and I'm really confused in regards to the high to medium rating I saw on Open Table and Google Reviews...

Our waiter was extremely polite but not very attentive. When it came to paying the bill, the prices were wrong for two items we ordered. Apparently the prices in the computer are different than the prices listed on the menu, so if you go, make sure you pay attention to the bill. They changed the bill immediately so we did not have any problems, but I think the least that management could do is make sure the prices match up to what is stated on their menu.

The food was questionable. The nachos were basic and were slathered in a cheese sauce that was reminiscent of a slightly higher quality Cheese Wiz. I ordered a turkey burger and it was tasteless and dry. Positives: the bread and the fries.

Two things I can give this place credit for is the atmosphere and the staff. The indoor and outdoor spaces are very scenic and I think it would be a perfect place to have a drink or two before or after a round of golf.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 29, 2015

Very disappointed in service and food. We are frequent diners since opening. Would not recommend after tonight.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 1, 2015

This was our third visit to this restaurant, but the first time eating on their very expansive patio. Like the dining room, the patio is very well laid out and you are not sitting on top of the people next to you.
We had a magnificent view of the golf course and it was a very quiet setting.
Our server took our drink orders immediately and then brought over menus.
She took our orders when we signaled that we were ready, and the food came out in a timely manner. We ordered 2 appetizers to share for 4 people. I had asked for the lemon to be put on a separate plate ( I'm allergic) and it was right on top of the calamari. The calamari was very tasty but they arrived warm at best. The other appetizer tomatoe/ mozzarella was pretty but not much on the plate to share. Our entrees were fine and perfectly cooked.
Our server was great and made sure to check on us regularly.
They were not particularly busy, so we lingered for almost three hours on a beautiful summer evening. We closed the restaurant but never felt like we were being pushed out! A very lovely casual evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 18, 2015

This was our second visit to this restaurant. The dining room is very comfortable and the tables and chairs are placed a lovely distance away from each other! Their patio has an abundance of seating overlooking the golf course- just lovely!
We had reservation and were seated right away. Our server came over almost immediately to get our drink orders ( coincidentally the same server as we had on our first visit and she remembered us!)
The service was spot on. After our dinners arrived, she checked back a few times to make sure everything was ok or if we needed anything.the food, as I had remembered from our first visit, was perfectly prepared, tasty and pretty presentation. My only regret is that we did not save room for dessert- their pastry chef is very creative!
The manager was seen walking from table to table- very friendly, knowledgable, and obviously wanted everything to be perfect. She was absolutely delightful- went above and beyond for us.
This has definitely become our new favorite casual dining go to place!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 12, 2015

This was not our first visit and we wanted to go with friends. Was not aware it is a limited lunch menu all day Sunday. We all had burgers. Some of the desserts and apps were not available. A little disappointed we could share our previous experience with our friends. We sat a watched the beautiful sunset which was a bonus.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 11, 2015

Although the view is beautiful from the outdoor terrace, the server was not experienced at all and was not familiar with the menu or bar specialties. It was evident that she was either new to the staff or not well trained. The manager's response to an inquiry on the drink of the day was unsatisfactory. We were not happy with the drink and he suggested asking the waitress to add a shot to the drink that was almost completely consumed. The food was good but the menu descriptions were lacking. The restaurant has potential but we will not be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 14, 2015

We were a little disappointed this time. They didn't seem to know we had a reservation, gave us the dinner menu and when we were to order said Sunday evening is only the LUNCH menu! No changes or specials.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2015

We were going out for a casual dinner last week and found the perfect place. This USED to be a small hot dog cart and has been transformed into a lovely casual dining experience on one level and a large function room upstairs (I think a wedding might have been going on judging from the wide ages and style of dress).
The menu is very diversified- burgers and wood burning (delicious) pizza to steaks, lamb kabobs, chicken etc. The service was spot on and the food was very good. Kudos also to the pastry chef- we shared one desser which was more than adequate for three- very creative! We shared a campfire sundae complete with toasted marshmallows on a stick (our second choice would have been the banana triffle that we will definitely go back for!!)
A great new casual restaurant with a huge porch overlooking the golf course!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2015

Love Red Knot for outside dinning. Burgers are good. I ordered the skirt steak and it was cold. We have had better meals there. Will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2015

Live in the area but have never been. So we went there for Mother's day lunch today. I was impressed by the whole experience - the service was gracious, staffs were very attentive, the food is good, the ambiance is totally awesome! Definitely be back! Cheers!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2015

Liked the space, view, service, but the food was hit or miss.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2015

Perfect place to celebrate an early Valentine Day Dinner. Food and service are always spot on. Cozy near the fireplace. Perfect evening!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 14, 2014

Visited again with some friends who had not been to Red Knot and they thoroughly enjoyed it just as I always have. Food and drinks were very good and service the same. It is very convenient to get to...right off Exit 138 on Parkway so very accessible as well.

The only thing I would do to improve Red Knot is to remove the TV's from the dining area...they are fine in the bar but detract from dining room atmosphere and have the fireplace going in fall and winter.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 6, 2014

The service is better than the food and the menu is pretty limited for fine dining which they claim to be. It is much better for burgers, salad, and pizza when you can sit outside and see the view. We did have a great fireside marshmallow tower desert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 23, 2014

The servers are always excellent; the food seems to be a little hit or miss lately

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 20, 2014

We had a great lunch and the food was good. It was great because some came from south jersey and some from north jersey!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 9, 2014

Even though I had a confirmation from Open Table, Red Knot told me they didn't show any reservation for us. Luckily, they had room for us so we didn't have to wait.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 8, 2014

The food was mediocre; the appetizers were not hot but the burger was done correctly. The wait staff was pleasant and very attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 6, 2014

Great, quiet lunch. The weather was rainy so it was very quiet but that's fine with us. We each had the Artichoke and Kalamata Olive pizza. Delicious!! Perfect place to eat on a rainy day!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 2, 2014

Everyone enjoyed their dinner but I ordered shrimp and scallop pasta and their were no scallops in my meal. Why did the menu state shrimp and scallop pasta dish if I didn't recieve any scallops????????

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 1, 2014

My wife and I love going to the Red Knot and this time we brought friends and they were blown away by the place.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 18, 2014

It was a lot of hit and misses! While the flank steak was pretty good, the Cioppino was terrible. The appetizer sampler of spreads had two good ones and one was pretty bad. The soup was not good, but the desserts were excellent. We did not enjoy sitting right under the big screen TV that was shining straight into our faces, but if you want to watch a game, I guess it would be good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 17, 2014

This was our first time at the restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Service was great, cocktails were refreshing, most appetizers were good, and entrees were excellent. The only complaint would be the mussel pot, which was under seasoned.
I would recommend it to couples, families and groups.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 16, 2014

Outdoor dining with heat lamps so you can watch the sun set over the golf course. The service was really good, the waitress knew when to come and when to stand back and not interupt a good conversation. Food was great and they have a good happy hour bar menu. Will definitely be coming back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 15, 2014

Probably good for golfers and corporate lunches
The extolled scenic view was obscured by rows of golf carts

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the very inventive pub food at the Red Knot during our lunch on Sunday. While at first glance the menu may not look inventive, many items came with an unexpected and delicious twist. A very juicy lamb burger with tzatziki and feta, roasted cauliflower pie with caramelized onions, 3 cheese mac n cheese with pulled pork... all truly wonderful! Very generous portions for the price as well. The view was beautiful and certainly a draw if eating by the window or at the outdoor seating. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 4, 2014

Great dinner and evening. Crispy chicken is always a good choice. Husband had a bar pie which he loves.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 28, 2014

Service was good. Food was just average. I ordered the swordfish.. had a very bitter component to the flavoring.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 24, 2014

Gathered with 2 friends for lunch we really enjoyed Red Knot. I'm afraid I missed rating this restaurant at the time I visited but I do know that we enjoyed it very much.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 20, 2014

we were a party of 10. everyone seemed to enjoy the food. My entree was supposed to be prepared medium rare and it was served medium well. i sent it back and had to wait for a new dish. everyone else was finished eating by the time my meal was served.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4