Also serving Persian food on special occasions, it is an incredible passport to Middle Eastern Cuisine. Our goal is to create an unforgettable experience every time you dine with us. Welcome to Rain Uptown!
Book your next event with us
Monday Half Off Wine by Bottle!
Every Monday, enjoy Half Off Bottle of Wine from our selected menu!
Terms and Conditions:
Valid For: 1 - 20 people
Starts: February 26, 2019
Ends: February 27, 2118
Availability: Mon 11:00AM-10:00PM
Food good but seemed somewhat expensive. Nice young waiter & place quiet so our party could visit, but this may have been due to there being only a few patrons dining on a Saturday night?
I had to rate food to submit survey even though I never was able to taste any much less get a glass of water or a nod after being seated 20+ minutes... even after asking. Large table around us said they had been there 3 hrs and had not gotten their food. We just left. Busy is one thing but complete lack of service is another.
Terrible service. Long wait for our food and drinks. Ordered dinner salads that never came and bad presentation of main course. We basically had bread and olive oil for appetizers , no vegetables, and a steak for our main course. Server was not attentive at all. We had to get up and find him to be waited on. Cool atmosphere inside but will not return to eat there.
After waiting at table for 10 mins, asked if we had a server. hostess acted like she didn’t understand me then told me I was going to have to wait because they were busy and short handed.
Very nice setting. Good service. The Rain Salad & pizza was delicious. The Shrimp Scampi pasta was not delicious. No taste. No lemon. Bland. And the most expensive item. We added table salt to eat. Disappointed with a $24 pasta that tasted like nothing but dry, bland pasta.
Wine was good!
Great service. Great Atmosphere, the music was outstanding...,
There was a huge birthday surprise party n adjoining private room . Because we don’t go out for dinner on a Saturday night...we had forgotten how noisy it could be. My fault.
Loved my poke bowl. Wish they had Italian Moscato .
Friends with me happy with their order.
Fantastic pasta, but not worth the price. Mixed drink was horrible.
Awful!!! Don’t go- find a different place.
The pasta was undercooked. The fried cheese was gooey- not melted gooey but just a mess.
The pasta on the shrimp scampi had an odor to it. Waiting 15-20 minutes for drinks is understanding when it’s packed but only 5-6 tables were busy.
It was terrible.
I would recommend based on the food; however, I would not recommend for customer service. The door greeter needs some help on how to greet customers. It was terrible. Facial expression is important; a warm, heart-felt greeting important; and finally, how you address customers is important. I recommend retraining the greeters.
Young guy running bar, bar area and restaurant service. Not a skilled bartender . I asked for a lemon drop martini. Served too warm. Asked if he could shake with more ice. Think he got mixed up and put salt rim on it.???
Food was ok, but I asked for Aloli or something other than marinara for my delicate fried squid....no an do.
We really miss Pierre who was an incredible REAL chef.
It was a quiet meal with a friend. The food was excellent and the ambience was very nice. The waiter was very attentive and personable! I will definitely use this restaurant again!
Delicious food and amazing ambiance!
Bread is a winner. Their martini can’t be beat and my escargot was delicious. The penne Roberta was disappointing.
Open Table allowed me to make a reservation to Rain Uptown on Monday, June 3rd. The problem is Rain Uptown is closed on Monday’s. Open Table sucks. I will give Rain Uptown another try sometime when they are open for business.
We apologize for our miscommunication between our team and opentable. We are truly sorry for causing very inconvenient afternoon for you! We would like to invite you back to our restaurant in the near future and serve you a great dinner! When you make your reservation please make a guest note to remind us, we would like to offer you complimentary appetizer, and couple of glasses of champagne to welcome you back! Best Regards, Rain Uptown A.S.
We got the gnocchi and it was very underseasoned. The tables were also very wobbly and annoying. The bread was good
Food was not good, we were the only table there and one person in our party didn’t get his steak until we were all done with our meal. When we told the guy about it he said “i just deliver the food. You need to speak to someone else”... after $300 tab and no one happy with the food or service. We ended up having to drive thru a place to actually eat.
I called the speak with the manager and they had me leave my name and number. The hostess said the owner would give me a call in the next hour or so. 24 hours later haven’t heard from anyone.
While the food at Rain tastes quite good, it is definitely overpriced. The ambiance is nice, but it is not quite as fancy as I would expect for a restaurant pitching itself as upscale with prices to match that marketing.
My primary issue with my experience, though, was that the menu was very limited the night we went due to graduation at Texas Tech, though that was not our reason for dining there. We made reservations through Open Table after going to Rain's website and we saw no mention of a limited menu on there. Had we seen what the menu was, we would have made other plans since none of the items I wished to order were on the reduced menu.
I realize that the higher demand puts a higher strain on the staff, but if a restaurant cannot utilize its full menu while it is serving at dining capacity, then it seems to customers that its menu is either too large or it needs to rethink its cooking strategies. Nonetheless, if a reduced menu is to be used, it should be stated so clearly on their website so that potential diners can make their dining decisions with more complete information.
I would certainly be willing to dine at Rain Uptown on another occasion so that I could order off of their full menu because many of the dishes on it sound very good and I would like to try them because they may very well be a much better value that what was available when I went, but I may only think to go again if friends or family wished to go there rather than suggesting it myself.
Food was great and the server was very knowledgeable and helpful.
We normally love the brunch menu here. I’m not sure because it was Mother’s Day that the menu was stripped down, but not a lot of options. The service was slower than normal, which is understandable due to the volume of people. The food was just ok. Hash browns were barely done, eggs undercooked, and sausage room temp. The other orders eggs Benedict (overcooked egg) and pancakes (they were good). I’m sure we will be back there and hope for a better experience next time.
We eat at Rain A LOT, one of our Top Five for sure. But this was our first time for the Mother's Day Brunch and we loved it. Had choices of breakfast meals or lunch items, was a great experience.
Waiter obviously not enthused to wait on our table. Food took 45 minutes to get out even though we had reservations and very few people in the restaurant. Food was not of good quality (undercooked), nor was it cooked to the way it was ordered. Waiter was hostile and unapologetic. A huge fail for Mother's Day Brunch. We won't be back nor will we tell anyone to try this restaurant. The other waitstaff were goofing around in the kitchen and rarely seen out on the floor. No one apologized for our poor experience, and no manager was aware of how bad it was.
We were seated upon arrival, no wait. The service was fine, food was good. I had shrimp scampi, my husband ordered an Italian sausage dish with rigatoni. It was more than we could eat. There were only a few other people there when we were. Nice and quiet so you could hear each other which was nice.
It was Persian night which was fine, we wanted to try something new. My wife (pregnant) ordered the chicken kabob because everything has to be fully cooked due to her pregnancy. Her chicken was not even close to fully cooked. Bloody raw chicken. For a preggo. We didn’t get the salads included in the course either.
Hi, we would like to give you our apology. Our goal is to create a great experience for our customers, however we failed to meet some standards during your dining experience with us, and we received one star from you! We tried our best to correct our mistake by replacing your chicken dish immediately, and we made sure not to charge you for those entrees! Also, Shirazi salad was served with every entrees! Again, we are very sorry, and we hope to see you soon to serve you the best!
A local's favorite. Excellent choice for a Romantic Evening.
We sat in the bar area and I ordered their newest dish. It was amazing and the service was even better!!
We are delighted with the changes they are making. The noise level is a big concern for us and it was perfect. The food was delicious and nicely served
Good but not as incredible as we are used to. The bread is almost sweet. Not crusty.
Martini was perfection.
Chicken, fettuccine could have used a few more dried tomatoes.
Spinach soup in past was thick and creamy. The soup was not good.
Excellent food with wonderful ambiance. I especially love their monthly Persian Night! Highly recommend :)
It was way over priced and half of the menu was not offered! They were out of lobster, out of squash, out of steak medallions and the place was dead! We have dined there for years and will not be back
Great food, Great service
Food, special dishes , reserved table, nice waiter knew us. Pricy, yes.
We always have a great experience at Rain Uptown. One of our FAVORITE “go to” places for drinks or drinks and dinner. Tonight was especially nice with live music.
We went there for our anniversary and our overall experience was ok. The food was really good, but we were surprised to not get a salad with the entree, given the prices they charge. The waiter had no personality at all. When we mentioned it was our anniversary, he didn’t say anything that you would normally say, like “Oh, Happy Anniversary!”, or “How many years?” He did his job, no more. For the price, the experience fell short.
Wish there wasn’t a set menu on Valentine’s Day but I understand the necessity. Great food, great atmosphere, service not quite up to par with the price.
Enjoyed everything about the evening, with the exception of live music in the bar area being uncomfortably loud making it difficult to have conversation at the table.
We ate here for Valentine’s dinner and were very disappointed. The salad was more than wilted, the filet kabobs were tasteless and we suspected not actually a filet, the rice was barely cooked and bland, the “creamy” risotto was not creamy at all. The highlights of the meal were the cheese tray, green beans, and a truffle on the dessert tray. The other desserts were probably good, but one of us is allergic to peanuts and wheat so that eliminated the other two desserts! We wish we’d known it was going to be a prix fixe menu ahead of time, but that was not posted on the website when the reservation was made. Upon being asked how the meal was and giving a polite but honest response, the server replied “everyone makes mistakes” sometimes!! We won’t be back.
We arrived at 6:38pm for our 6:30 reservation on Valentines Day. I reserved on Open Table a couple of days before, and confirmed our reservation the day before. I never got a call or inquiry from RU as to whether they thought we were missing our reservation. When we arrived, our waitress calmly stated that they would not honor our reservation because we were 10 minutes late. I thought she was joking. We looked at our watches, which said 6:38. She said “I’m sorry, you’ll have to go on the 2 hour waiting list”. The restaurant was mostly empty, which I can assume were reserved tables. An apparent manager walked up as I was laughing at the joke, and reassured us that we had no table and would need to be put on the two hour wait list. They weren’t kidding, even though we still weren’t yet 10 minutes late. We didn’t want to cause a scene, but could not believe it! Open Table policy says they can turn us away after 15 minutes, which I completely understand. And I can’t even argue with the 10 Minutes on Valentines Day... but, honestly, we weren’t yet 10 minutes late. We are frequent customers. I go there approximately on average once a month for lunch with girlfriends and once a month in the evening for dinner with friends. I feel like we were wrongly treated. We left, went to PF Chang’s, had a glass of wine then were seated very quickly and courteously. Also booked on open table at the last minute.
Came here for an early Valentine’s Day date and was highly disappointed. The cheese antipasto appetizer is very good, but doesn’t include enough meat for the amount of cheese, and there are no cheese knifes with the dish. The rack of lamb was overcooked, and the server was too busy entertaining some of her friends to check on us. This wouldn’t have been so bad if it were at a cheaper price but this isn’t the service expected for a $100+ dinner for two. Overall, I’d recommend another place such as Las Brisas or another place.