RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS

4.1
563 Reviews
$30 and under
Japanese
RA Sushi is rolling up an exciting dining experience for all. Located off Nall Ave, in Park Place, RA Sushi Leawood serves up a fresh, creative, Japanese menu. Join us for a casual lunch in the afternoons, a night out in the evenings or a RA'ckin Happy Hour offered twice a day Monday through Saturday and in the evening on Sundays.

Located by some great shops and boutiques and an AMC Theater, we’re a perfect destination before or after your flick or shopping outing. Guests can dine al fresco on the spacious patio, along with their dog, or take a table in our dining room, sit with our sushi chefs at the sushi bar or sip and socialize casually in our bar & lounge area.

Whatever you choose, it’s all served with a big side of anything can happen. So bring your friends or make new ones; you’re in for a great time in the RA.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
Physical Distancing
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 563 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.3
food
3.8
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
S
Steenie
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food! The service was awesome. We will definitely be back.

k
vipksbaroness
Kansas City
47 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food2service1ambience3

Terrible service- absolutely terrible. We showers up for 4:45 reservation, the place was empty. Had to wait for 45 min for our order, my husbands order showed up , I had to sit and wait for mine and watch him eat.
Half is by the glass wine wasn't available. Not a server or manager apologized for wait or inconvenience. Very disappointed. Very.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded 4 hours ago

Dear ksbaroness Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report
PK
PerlaK
Kansas City
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything we tried was absolutely delicious. The service was fantastic. Such a beautiful atmosphere. Was really loud in there though but nothing that was off-putting

OT
OpenTable Diner
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on January 8, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It had been a few years since I’d been to RA and it was just as good - if not better - than I remember. The food was incredible, the service was amazing, everything was just great overall. Plus, it is not overly expensive. I highly recommend!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on January 8, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Such a nice place to have some fun cocktails for a girls night! Great sushi! Super fun!

TP
TheProf
1 review
Dined on January 7, 2022
Overall2food2service1ambience2

Had high hopes after hearing good things from others and the solid reviews online.

Sushi was overall unremarkable. Fish was fresh, but not much sushi with the exception of tuna and lots of fake crab. Ambiance was more bar than restaurant which was fine, but the service was sloooooooow. Suffice it to say, I doubt we’ll be back.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on January 11, 2022

Dear TheProf We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Finland
5 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

New Year’s Eve was amazing with the live music and amazing food! Thank you for a really fun evening!

SL
SdoowL
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience4

Delicious sushi and hibachi! They were very kind and accommodating when I changed my reservation from 4 to 6 at the last minute. Went on NYE so busy, but it also seemed like our server was responsible for too many tables, and our food took quite a long time, as well as not coming out at the same time. Otherwise, fantastic!

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on January 4, 2022

Dear SdoowL On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

Report
P
Patrick
1 review
Dined on December 28, 2021
Overall3food3service1ambience3

Service was terrible. Got our appetizers and food before the drinks we ordered then half the order was incorrect.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on January 3, 2022

Dear Patrick On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we sincerely apologize for your experience and understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so that we can further address this matter. 

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on December 27, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience1

Our sushi rolls took an hour and a half to come out. They were also not very good. It was very loud. All around bad experience.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on January 3, 2022

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report
AP
AdamP
1 review
Dined on December 26, 2021
Overall3food5service1ambience5

I know restaurant are short staffed at the moment and I greatly appreciate all the effort wait wait staff put into creating great dining experiences. With that being said, I unfortunately did not experience that on my visit. There were many opportunities where they simply missed the mark on providing even a somewhat satisfactory dining experience. Appetizers being forgotten, lack of utensils and standard condiments. At one point they gave the the table next to us that had just ordered an item that we were waiting over 40 minutes for. I tried to get our servers attention and the other table heard me trying to ask about the dish. Apparently, they hadn't even ordered it and she apologized to them saying that the kitchen must of had it out and she missed it. I've never had someone forget about a table and then give the table right next to them their order. Although we had issues I think it might of just been our particular server. They could of been having an off night or something ,I'm not sure. The manager was apologetic and did try their best to fix the situation and I appreciated that. Even after they manager spoke to us there was an issue with pricing on our bill and we decided to just let it go so we could leave. Reflecting a full day after, we are really just saddened and disappointed. We have eaten here many times over the last 5 or 6 years we've been patrons and have never experienced service like this. We are going to go back so we can update this review. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was great like usual. Hopefully this is just a one off night and next time will be amazing like usual.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on January 3, 2022

Dear AdamP on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

Report
D
Disappointed
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Nothing about Ra was worthwhile. Our server took forever to come by, and none of the tables around us were ever bussed so we looked at other peoples leftovers the entire time we were there. Only one food item we ordered (Ponzu Yellowtail roll) was decent. The Panko Shrimp was overcooked; the spring rolls were greasy and full of mush; the tempura shrimp were small and the teriyaki sauce tasted watery. We won’t go back and would definitely recommend somewhere else to friends looking for good sushi and atmosphere.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on January 3, 2022

Dear Disappointed We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

Report
SD
SeaDub
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Good food but rude service. The waitress argued with me about how we didn't care for the salad (the full table.) Understandable they were busy due to the holiday, but did not feel welcomed at all.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on January 3, 2022

Dear SeaDub Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report
j
jackiep
Kansas City
4 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Jackson was the best server,lots of drink and menu suggestions, smiles, entertaining, polite. Made Christmas Day very special!

JC
JamesC
St. Louis
4 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Christmas Eve dinner with the family -superb service and food! Always on our go to list.

TH
ThoH
1 review
Dined on December 23, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience1

This was our first dining experience at RA, although other family members had previously dined there. Overall, it was pretty disappointing. We made a reservation two days earlier, arrived at our reservation time and was told there would be a 45 minute wait because other people had made reservations earlier that day and "got there first". What?? That response from the hostess staff definitely warranted a conversation with the manager and while we did not end up speaking with management, we're pretty sure the stares he was getting hurried the situation along. We were seated just shy of 20 minutes after our reservation time but then it was even longer before wait staff greeted us at our table. The food was okay; kind of like Kona Grill only in slow motion. We doubt we will feel the need for a repeat performance of the evening.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on January 3, 2022

Dear ThoH Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on December 23, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience2

Our service was terrible, it truly might have been the worse dining experiences I’ve ever had. It was busy and the food was backed up, which is understandable. But we waited two hours to get our appetizer that we order when we first sat down. Our server never brought us water or any silverware, only came to our table 3 times in two hours we were there. I had to go get our own waters and dining wear from the bar after an hour of waiting for our server to come back. We ordered cocktails and the server brought us the wrong ones. But the server didn’t come back for 30 mins so that we could tell her. Ended up cancelling our food order and leaving.

EM
ElizabethM
1 review
Dined on December 23, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Short staffed. Took 20 minutes to get water/wait staff to the table, after getting up and asking for service. Food was sub par. A bowl of chicken fried rice over priced, appetizer size at serving size prize. Rice in my roll was hard/crunchy.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on January 3, 2022

Dear ElizabethM On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

Report
P
Pete
1 review
Dined on December 21, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience3

There was no white wine available on the happy hour menu. Waitress said they were out of stock. Same with hot sake, waitress said they were out of stock, yet customer near us was served hot sake long after we requested it. There was a $3 uncharge for garlic edamame, waitress should have advised there was an uncharged for added condiments.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on December 27, 2021

Dear Pete On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on December 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service was great!!

LR
LRoy
1 review
Dined on December 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our server was brand new and we were crazy impressed by how attentive he was and how well he remembered our very specific order!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on December 17, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Got us in early for our rezzie, which was very nice. Took a good 30 min to get a drink order in and never got app. Servers were very nice and trying hard tho and that was much appreciated.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on December 28, 2021

Dear Guest On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

Report
L
vipLee02
Kansas City
9 reviews
Dined on December 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My husband’s first time and I was using my half bday coupon!! He really enjoyed the yakisoba!! We had a nice time but it was pretty noisy !!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Kansas City
2 reviews
Dined on December 10, 2021
Overall2food4service2ambience2

One entree came out before the appetizer. We spoke with the manger and he looked at us like we were crazy when we asked to send it back so we could enjoy our apps first (and not have the entree get cold). He didn’t do anything to help the situation. That is unacceptable for me at this price point. The noise level was also very loud- I had to nearly scream to converse with my wife.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on December 10, 2021
Overall2food5service1ambience1

My fiancé and I went to RA sushi Friday night for a date night. We made a reservation and were seated on time, but it took the wait staff 15 minutes to ask for our drink order, and then another 15 minutes later they came back and said they were all out of the red wine. I ordered another red and it came in a champagne flute… they said they were all out of red wine glasses.

Our food was also very delayed, other table’s orders were incorrectly delivered to us, and our edamame was sent to another table.

Multiple wait staff bumped into our table when trying to get to other tables, which was very irritating.

The sushi and edamame were delicious as always, but we will not be coming back to RA sushi due to the terrible service.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on December 13, 2021

Dear Guest on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Kansas City
12 reviews
Dined on December 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love this spot for sushi! Brought my parents and they enjoyed their sushi rolls and fried rice. Music is loud, so beware if trying to have intimate convos! If not, 10/10 experience.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on December 8, 2021

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on December 4, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

We loved RA cool vibe, great service from Jackson. Sushi rolls were small ish but very tasty. We will be back!!! Overall excellent experience.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on December 8, 2021

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience.

Report
JW
JeremyW
Kansas City
4 reviews
Dined on December 1, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Food was good, service was ok. Looked like they didn't have enough servers for the amount of people there. The servers that were there tried to take care of everything. It was really noisy though, seemed like the music playing was too loud, you had to almost yell to the person across the table from you to hear them.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on December 7, 2021

Dear JeremyW Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience.

Report
CG
CarrieG
1 review
Dined on November 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We made a reservation and the table was ready when we arrived. Great service by our server!

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on December 2, 2021

Dear CarrieG thank you so much for your feedback, we hope to see you back again soon!

Report
S
vipSsrooo
Kansas City
24 reviews
Dined on November 26, 2021
Overall4food3service3ambience5

Service was slow, looked like just one waitress for all tables. Food wasn’t as good as in the past, asked for meat in steak bowl to be medium rare and it was practically well done. Didn’t complain but didn’t enjoy it like in the past.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on December 3, 2021

Dear Ssrooo We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the dining experience!

Report
FC
FrancescoC
1 review
Dined on November 20, 2021
Overall2food4service1ambience3

The food was OK. Some of the worst customer service I have ever had. They forgot several menu items that we ordered. As well as having empty drinks for most of the evening

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on November 22, 2021

Dear FrancescoC We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

Report
G
Gigglybits1219
1 review
Dined on November 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was great. Service was fast. The waitress was helpful, very polite, and fun. Everything was a reasonable price and the food was delicious!

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on November 19, 2021

Dear Gigglybits1219 We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the dining experience!

Report
a
angelab
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience2

Would help if there was more light in the place. Food is great though.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on November 18, 2021

Dear angelab We appreciate you dining with Benihana, thank you for the kind words!

Report
G
Garrett
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Great food, great prices, and good service. Thanks

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on November 17, 2021

Dear Garrett We appreciate you dining with Benihana, thank you for the kind words!

Report
AP
AshP
1 review
Dined on November 6, 2021
Overall1food4service1ambience2

Our table was not ready when we arrived even though we had a reservation. The service was poor at best.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on November 9, 2021

Dear AshP We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

Report
LW
LukeW
Kansas City
8 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience5

First time going, and we will definitely be back! The food was fresh and delicious.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on November 12, 2021

Dear LukeW Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience.

Report
B
Birthday
Kansas City
3 reviews
Dined on November 5, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Went for dinner last night at RA Sushi and was very disappointed, restaurant did not seem very clean, food was NOT good and the service was just ok.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on November 9, 2021

Dear Birthday We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

Report
JK
JessicaK
Kansas City
4 reviews
Dined on November 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Spectacular service, food prepared perfectly. Very good evening!

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on November 10, 2021

Dear JessicaK We appreciate you dining with Benihana, thank you for the kind words!

Report
k
vipkitoriley
Kansas City
11 reviews
Dined on October 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great selection. Loved happy hour prices. Food was top notch and service was great!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Kansas City
8 reviews
Dined on October 22, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Are server spent more time on her phone than taking care of her tables. The live music was terrible and to loud couldn’t have a conversation with people at the table.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS
Responded on October 25, 2021

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS using the Order Online button. RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS also offers delivery in partnership with Postmates and Uber Eats. RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (913) 850-6260.

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS is rated 4.1 stars by 563 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood, KS