Woods at Lambert’s Cove Inn
The Woods is a simply elegant (& elegantly simple) restaurant - totally renovated within the past of years, the feel of the place is rustic, yet modern, with a large stove fireplace & windows spanning one entire side of the room. We had a cozy comfortable corner table, where it was just the two us.
The meal was beyond compare: the mussels, fresh from the Vineyard sea; the vegetables, straight from the farmers market; the pasta & bread, homemade. The preparations of each dish had just the right amount of slices & herbs without overpowering the food itself.
The wait staff is warm, welcoming, & efficient. We also met the manager & the chef, who made the rounds of the tables to make sure everyone was happy with their meal.
We highly recommend the Woods Restaurant - & if you want to have a quiet, well-looked after weekend, you can stay at the Inn & have all your meals there. You’re in for a wonderful experience if you do!
Thanks so much for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your meal and experience at Woods and hope to see you again soon.
Delightful MV spot on the west side and worth the trip. Tucked down one of the islands many wooded roads, you end in a very tranquil spot. It is a 15 room inn with an impressive kitchen committed to a tightly curated menu of home made pasta (1st course), fresh salads, entrees of off-the-boat Fish, pork chicken or a burger. We had vegan and a gluten-free diners in our group and they accommodated us well. I had a home made pasta with pork shank ragu and sautéed spinach and garlic which was very satisfying. We also enjoyed a pan seared salmon with red pepper hollandaise and a very fresh watermelon salad.
Our very knowledgeable server who was willing to answer any question from our vegan member made the experience all the more enjoyable. The staff seem to be invested in the success of the inn and restaurant which makes the experience more familiar. Strongly recommend for family, group of friends or even a romantic get away dinner.
We are so happy you had such a great visit to Woods and hope you'll come back soon! Our staff works very hard to provide an excellent customer experience, and we're so glad they helped enhance your visit.
Great food and very quiet
Had to wait 45 minutes for our reserved table. Half of the entrees and desserts were not available once we were seated. Will no longer recommend to friends.
Hi FredK. We apologize deeply for your lengthy wait. We underestimated how popular the restaurant would be that night, and were unfortunately overbooked compared to our staff and food capacity. We have taken several actions to fix that, and do not anticipate it happening again. We hope you will reconsider and try us again - we would certainly appreciate the opportunity to make it up to you!
New restaurant (changed owners last year) that clearly needs to figure out their operation. Food was nice. Service and organization was pretty horrible but they were apologetic and I am sure will improve over time.
Dear Anonymous, Thanks for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed the food. The night you visited, we underestimated how popular the restaurant would be and were unfortunately overbooked compared to our staff capacity. We have taken several actions to fix that, and do not anticipate it happening again. We hope you pay us another visit - our staff are working hard to make sure that service and organization are constantly improving!
Food was pretty good, but two issues put a damper on the evening. First, our waiter informed us that the dishes were intended to be shared which seemed fine, but consequently, we should not expect the dishes to come out at the same time. guests should be aware of this ahead of time. It could be a wonderful experience for a group. Alternatively, it could be a real problem for groups whose individuals wish to enjoy their own meal at the same time as their friends. Second, there is no consideration given to dietary restrictions. For those of you who are celiac be forewarned that you will have a different experience than everyone else. I understand that a top notch menu would not be littered with symbols for dietary contents, but the chef and team should have strategies or alternatives for folks with dietary restrictions such as celiac disease.
Hi TheBigNight, Thanks for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our food, and appreciate your feedback. While our plates are generally served as soon as they are ready, our servers can certainly accommodate guests who would like to eat larger dishes at the same time. Our menu has many options for all types of dietary needs, but if you have a special request, our team is happy to do what they can to meet your needs. Please come back and we'll make sure you have an even better experience!
We have been to Lambert's Cove for special occasions in the past and looked forward to spending our anniversary there once again. I looked at the menu on open table and was excited at the selections. My husband called before we left to confirm that we would be allowed to bring a special bottle of wine and he was told yes. Sadly and disappointingly they had a 4th of July BBQ price fix and we were told that they no longer can charge the corkage fee and you must choose from their selection. We were seated outside and we were served on paper plates, plastic utensils and cups. The fried chicken and pulled pork were incredible salty. We were suppose to have "smores" for dessert but I guess the smore guy left before we finished our meal. Unacceptable.
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your anniversary dinner. We make every effort to tell guests in advance that Tuesday evenings are bbq nights, and apologize about the miscommunication about this and the wine. The corkage fee policy changed years ago when W. Tisbury stopped being a dry town. The s'mores were meant to be a fun treat to supplement but not replace the dessert options on our bbq menu, and we are sorry you did not get one. We hope you give us another chance to make it up to you!
They don’t let you know, but Tuesday night is “BBQ Night.” Nothing wrong with bbq, but a bit of a heads up when we made the reservation would have been appreciated. It was a limited menu and plastic utensils. Not the special night out at the Lamberts
Cove Inn that we expected.
Hi NilsD, Thanks for your review. You should absolutely have been informed in advance that Tuesday nights are bbq nights. These are meant to be informal and fun for the whole family, but certainly have a different feel than our regular restaurant experience. We apologize for any inconvenience, and will ensure that it doesn't happen again. Please do come visit us another time!
Quaint, secluded on a beautiful property.
So happy you enjoyed your restaurant experience and our property! We'd love to see you again soon.
Very flavorful and inventive cuisine and a big step up from past years in this kitchen. The small plates are, however, very small so it is not the most economical choice. But it was fun, and I will return again.
Hi Nancy, Thanks so much for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed the innovative new cuisine, which incorporates flavors from many cultures. Our shared plates vary in size - some are certainly smaller than others, and are generally priced lower than the larger plates. Some such as our burger and rib-eye are similar in size to a traditional entree. All of our pricing reflects the hand-made and island sourced nature of our ingredients. We look forward to seeing you again!
Loved the place! We had Nick for our waiter, he was excellent. The menu has something for everyone! I highly recommend the rib eye.
Hi smc111, Thanks so much for your review! We are so happy you had such a great experience. We look forward to preparing you another rib eye when you come back for a visit!
While the concept has its appeal the execution is lacking in both culinary prep and service. Menu features a lot of fusion style items which sounded great but lacked subtlety or nuance in preparation. Having dined in many sharing plate restaurants I am well aware of the idea that items come out from the kitchen when they are prepared not in the sequence in which they are ordered. In our case we ordered 8 items in total for three people. 6 of them, both hot and cold, arrived within 5 to 10 mins of one another. What was supposed to be a leisurely dinner felt like a race to the finish. The kitchen and wait staff should be able to manage the pacing of such a meal much more effectively. Frankly, it just seemed to reflect the lack of experience of all involved and given the relatively high prices does not make it a good value.
Hi Allen S, Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your experience at Woods. We appreciate your feedback on the pacing of the food, and will strive to make that as smooth as possible in the future. Our servers and bussers try their best to get the food to the tables as quickly as they can so they are served fresh. Our innovative and island sourced food menu has gotten a lot of positive feedback from our customers, and we hope you will give us another try.
Chef Alvarado and his staff are top notch,their extremely innovative menu is unlike any other restaurant in the Vineyard . The razor clams are the best i’ve ever had. Be prepared to share your dish choices ( my husband is not as adventurous as I am ) so I ended up with too much food. The long & winding road to the inn is beautiful,but be sure to allow enough time if you are coming from Edgartown.
Hi pumpkinlady, Thanks so much for your review! We are so thrilled you enjoyed the menu and the razor clams in particular. We certainly have some adventurous choices, but others such as the burger, ribeye and pasta options should hopefully work well for those who are less adventurous. We hope to see you again soon!
Delicious food in a farmhouse- inn setting away from the crowds. Lots of vegetarian options.
Thanks so much for your review! We hope you come back soon.
New concept confusing and disappointing. Menu items are suppose to be shared but portions are extremely small and very limited selections.
Thanks for paying us a visit. We are sorry you found our new concept confusing. The shared plates model, which has been adopted by many top new restaurants, is designed so you can try and enjoy many different items instead of limiting yourself to one entree. We are excited to offer a variety of choices including raw bar choices, smoked delicacies, pasta made by hand, a variety of seafood, cured and aged selections, and dishes from the grill such as our 30 day aged ribeye and Woods burger.
great food and wine. Service was very good. Bar was opening in a couple of days so we'll have to go back for a cocktail!
So happy you enjoyed your dining experience at Woods! We look forward to seeing you at our bar!
Beautiful location, lovely renovations in the dining room area and new bar lounge.
We are very happy you enjoyed our recently renovated restaurant and bar area. Hope to see you again soon!
Great food. Great service. imaginative cooking with very light but extremely flavorful preparations. Tuna crudo amazing
So happy you enjoyed the food and the service! We hope to see you again soon at Woods to enjoy another tuna crudo or try something new.
Went for our Anniversary dinner - wonderful experience! Food was incredible. Especially loved the Peruvian Ceviche and Brownie with Black Pepper Ice Cream. WOW.
We are honored you spent your special evening with us, and so glad you enjoyed the food! Chef Jimmy is a master at creative dishes with a twist, and we hope to see you back soon to try something new.
Beautiful setting. Fabulous food. Hosts that welcome you as family. I highly recommend.
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are very excited about and proud of our amazing new chef and newly renovated space. We hope to see you back at Woods again soon!
We dined here as it was close to our house. The food and service both exceeded our expectations. The crab cake first course was two generous cakes, perfectly done. Our entree was the cioppino, which contained local seafood topped by jumbo shrimp. A little under seasoned to my taste but fresh and nicely done. Our waiter and the reception were exactly right for the relaxed professionalism of the venue.
Enjoyed a great night dining at Lambert's Cove Inn. Very nice ambiance, great service and good food. Would definitely return for another meal.
The service was excellent. The food was very good but expensive. The surroundings appeared to have been recently refurbished, but they were somewhat plain. Overall is was a very good experience. We would recommend it for a special occasion.
Striped bass, chicken thighs, and steak were excellent. Ambiance was nonexistent. Main problem was the wait staff we’re very friendly but very disorganized. One of our party has a life-threatening allergy to sesame, which we told a server about. Five minutes later another server brings a cheese platter with sesame crackers. After half an hour waiting for the wine, we had to ask for it.
But, the food was great.
The food was well prepared but served only lukewarm.
Great great overall experience. Beautiful setting. Food was phenomenal. Service outstanding.
My wife and I go to LC every year while on vacation. It is usually one of our nice dinner nights. So, we made our reservation and took an Uber to get to the restaurant. When we got there, our table was not ready; no big deal. So, they told us to “walk around” while our table was set. This was the first sign something was wrong. Upon investigation, the room that used to be the waiting area with nice couches, fireplace, décor, etc. had been turned into a snack bar / gift shop.
Then they told us our table was ready and they sat us in what was essentially a spare room. This room used to be a nicely decorated library. Now it had as much ambiance as an Elks Hall. I can say that because I belong to an Elks and love the Elks. But, this was not the night we were going for. Not, when the average entrée is $39. It even had once of those service bars with the beers showing on it. You know, like they set up in an Elks hall for a function when they know the main bar will be busy.
I expressed my displeasure to the waitress who then got the manager. The manager was not helpful. He essentially told me to “take or leave it.” So, we left it. I was not going to spend $200 plus tip to eat dinner to eat in a place that as another review said, “had the ambiance of the waiting area in a dentist office.”
Upon further investigation, we found out the Restaurant and Inn changed hands in the spring. They are trying to make it less of a place for special occasions and more of an everyday place. That is totally fine. The new owners can do what they want. But, still having the same type of menu and chef for dinner, dinner is not an everyday place. They need to change the menu (would have told us) or find a way to keep some of that special occasion feeling for the dinner menu.
In a lovely inn in the middle of MV, secluded and nice. Food was overpriced and uneven in quality. Service was good, ambiance was very good.
Perfect spot for a great family friendly meal and good music. The ambiance was terrific and we really enjoyed ourselves.
BBQ , plastic plates, canned wine, oyster appetizer came 20 minutes after main course, no horseradish-very poorly planned
Great food and kind servers. The atmosphere is horrible though! So unfortunate.
I gather the current owners bought the property last spring, and have done extensive remodeling. It really came out lovely! Beautiful wood floors, open floor plan, nice view to the backyard and woods. The only pick I have is the music that's piped in. Pop music mostly, and too loud. It doesn't go with the ambiance.
The food was terrific. We split a Caesar Salad and Crab Cakes. I had the Haddock with fresh vegetables, my husband had the chicken thighs. Both were very good, not too rich. Dessert was Creme Brulee, also very good!
Staff was very attentive, without being obnoxious about it. The hostess was very accommodating, as my husband is hard of hearing, so we needed a quieter table (i.e. no where near the overhead speakers!).
We got there and it was a buffet outside by the pool. They ran out of chicken corn on the Cobb. No raw oysters clams or anything. Service was good. We had our family friends and had raved about it. Best thing was the outdoor S’mores. Also really expensive the lobster was $50. They really need to work through it as it could be great.
We went to a “pop up” dinner. The food was amazing as always but apparently the place changed hands; the dining room was redecorated, as were both the entrance rooms. One of which was a lovely lounge but now resembles a dentists waiting room (complete with kids games and “modern” furniture that looked like it was from the 1970s), the other is a gift shop. We had been going for several years but will be looking for somewhere else for next summer. The traditional classy atmosphere is gone and it just feels like any other restaurant now. Our waittess told us we we seated next to the new owners who had a large party which consisted of about half the total guests at the restaurant that night, as almost all of the tables were empty. They were loud, had several kids in the group, and were mostly dressed in shorts, t-shirts, and flip-flops. Not really setting the tone for the ambiance we’ve come to expect from the Lambert’s Cove, or, for that matter, any place at which dinner costs nearly $500 for three people.
I am a long-time customer of the Lambert's Cove Inn and have always enjoyed its good food and wonderful ambience. But, this summer something has gone terribly wrong. The food is the same and the service is fine but the ambience is not. We were seated in a busy room with wood tables squashed up against the wall. It felt like a lunch cafeteria and our drinks, appetizers and dinner were dispensed with in half an hour.
We had a very nice anniversary dinner. The scallop dish was the favorite for a main course (better than then halibut), and the cheese spread and crab cakes were both delicious appetizers. Several of the cheeses were local, and worth tasting. Atmosphere is fine dining, in a very comfortable space (not stuffy). Plenty of light. Service was very friendly.
Long time LC customer. Loved previous owners flair for atmosphere and ambiance. New atmosphere is pretty sterile, not too cozy and has little to nothing present that suggests Martha's Vineyard. The gift shop selling T's and gear was likewise unimpressive. Doubt I'll be back.
All of the staff and the food was fantastic. Ennie was our server and made us feel welcomed. This was our first time to the restaurant and the new owner was great. We came back a day or two later and had another great meal. (Summer 2018)
Unfortunately we did not enjoy our dinner here. The ambiance is sterile, plain and noisy but the real problem was it was outrageously expensive for the quality of food we received. Crab cakes did not taste fresh, the veal cheek & sea bass were over salted and we had to return the chocolate cake (unanimous by all 4 of us as terrible.) The waiter was pleasant but never brought bread, could not accommodate a request for a mixed green salad (which is offered under the octopus), did not address the salty dishes when we told him but he did remove the chocolate cake from our bill. However, for $100/pp the meal should have been spectacular but missed the mark significantly.