Wah Wah Gee
Here at Wah Wah Gee we’re passionate about creating quality, fresh, and fun sharing food at a great price, in a great location, with an even better atmosphere. And with Wah Bah just upstairs, you can even kick on and shake a few tail feathers after your feed.
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Contactless payment available
- Sealed or wrapped utensils used
- Limited number of seated diners
- Extra space between tables
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Bao (steamed buns)
Shredded pork belly with Asian slaw & hoisin; Shitake mushroom & water chestnut with spring onion salad
Butter chicken curry
with cherry tomatoes, coriander, fragrant rice & naan bread
with green chilli aioli
Our favourite place to eat !!! Never disappoints!!
Everything was fantastic! Great service. Tasty food
Food was great and staff are lovely just some small things. When we arrived there was no lighting on half the table, as in you literally couldn’t see. The Dow light was out which is fine but we had to request candles I feel this should have been thought of prior, and more candles brought our or the table moved. Also food took about an hour before it started coming out. A minor point as we were having a good time anyway and they did apologise for the wait and ensured we had drinks. Just minor things to nit pick. I would definitely recommend, delicious food and lovely people
Hi Huts, thanks for leaving us a review. It is always helpful to hear areas we can make improvements. We have passed on your feedback to management. Happy to hear you enjoyed your meals! Have a great week, WWG team.
Lovely lunch food was delicious. There were 4 of us and we all enjoyed our meals. Service excellent. Will be returning soon. Thank you
Thanks for the 5-star review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our yummy food & friendly service. Have a great week, WWG team.
My daughter and I loved the food and she especially loved the fairy floss mocktail. We were even lucky enough to watch some dolphins swimming right outside our window seat.
Hi Fiona, thanks so much for this 5-star review! So happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. How exciting you got to see a dolphin! It sure is a magical moment :) Hope to see you again soon, WWG team.
The LED lights shine straight in your eyes when you’re sitting at the table. Very draining after a long period of time. The food is incredible but the lighting is shocking.
Hi Rachel, thanks for rating our food a 5-star. Sorry to hear the lighting was draining on your visit. Please let the staff know next time and they would be happy to move you to a table away from the LED lights when possible. Enjoy your weekend, WWG team :)
Very quick, friendly service. Amazing food and drinks perfect spot for a casual lunch
Hi Amy, thanks for the 5-star review! Happy to hear you enjoyed our yummy food and funky cocktails. Hope to see you again soon! Enjoy your weekend, WWG team :)
Sat in the doorway of the restaurant and asked whether we could move to another table as the draft from the door was very cold, our waiter confirmed that they were fully booked even though there were 2 other tables that were not being used and weren’t used for the duration of our seating. Felt like we were sitting in the foyer of the restaurant and not involved in the ambience of the place. Our main meal was forgotten about and food was just average. Wouldn’t return.
We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Fortunately, we do book out Saturdays, unfortunately some people do not show, which does mean it appears tables haven't been booked but in fact, the customer just hasn't turned up. Please contact our restaurant manager, firstname.lastname@example.org if you have a change of heart and do decide to dine with us again and she can make sure your next experience with us is a much more enjoyable one. WWG team
I’ve had your feed me before and lunch staff were better (fantastic) than evening staff
Hi AlHan, thanks for the review! We love our Feed Me menu too :) Looking forward to seeing you again soon. WWG team
Our food was so delicious - delivered quickly! With such friendly & attentive staff 💕 The vibe is exciting & an experience while not tooo loud.
The only feedback I have is (being situated by) the front door which does not close behind itself, so I got up a few times to keep the cold air from freezing us 🤗
Hi EmilyC, thanks for reviewing us! So happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly service, delish food & funky vibe! We have passed on your feedback regarding the front door to management. Always helpful to hear ways we can improve the dining experience for our customers. Hope to see you again soon! :) WWG team
Terrible service, terrible food and very overpriced. Not real Asian food
Hi Julie, Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit. Sounds like our dishes are not for you. We claim to be inspired by Asian dishes, but put our own spin on them. Havev a good week, WWG team
Had a work catch up here, very good food and your meal comes out quick. Great customer service also!
Hi KristyP, thanks for taking the time to review us. Glad to hear you enjoyed our yummy food and friendly service. Hope to see you again soon! WWG team :)
Food was great . The service was good until a waitress dropped 3 drinks on my husband and son .. the straws, ice and liquid were just left on the floor . On leaving we had to be careful not slip on the ice and straws . My husband jacket needs to be dry cleaned . There was no offer of discount or free drinks..
Hi, sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit. If you could please email email@example.com so we can investigate this further. Thanks, WWG team.
I have left a detailed review on google.
Please read. I look forward to a response
Lovely view over the water and delicious flavours in the food .
The space is large and is at its best when mostly full
Easy parking and access
Hi Amanda, thanks for leaving us a review! Happy to hear you enjoyed our delicious food and water views. Hope to see you at Wahs again soon :)
We recently went to Wah Wah Gee for my son's 24th birthday. I booked online and it worked well. The staff were very good, just the right amount of attentiveness without being in your face. Our waitress's knowledge of the menu was good and I thought she did a good job.
My daughter is a vegan and she was happy with the options available and the meal she chose.
The ambience, being on the end of the pier with the lights of Geelong is lovely.
My only criticisms is the rather limited menu choices and the cappucino I ordered at the end of the meal did not have any froth - it was more like a flat white.
We were a table of five and it wasn't a cheap night. If you are looking for value for money choose somewhere else but for a special meal when you aren't counting the pennies I certainly recommend it. We were happy with the evening and more importantly so was our son.
Hi Anne, thanks for taking the time to review us. Happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly service, ambience and vegan selections. We will pass on your feedback regarding the coffee and pricing to management. Happy birthday to your son! WWG team
Great option for a group as food great quality and easy to share
Hi GailP, Thanks for the review! Hope to see you again soon! :)
Our table of six loved the food. Everything was amazing 10/10 and we will definitely recommend the food. Sound wise, it was a little too much. It’s not pleasant having to yell across the table to try and have a conversation. Also having split bills and having to calculate our own food and drinks was surprising. I can’t see why staff can’t do that for the patrons.
Restaurant was very clean and staff were very friendly. We will return.
Hi Tyana, thanks for the 4-star review. So happy to hear you enjoyed our yummy food! We have passed on your feedback regarding the sound and split bill to our service team. Have a great week :)
Amazing service, room, free cocktail served for my birthday, the only issue I had was when it came to paying at the end of the night they couldnt give me the breakdown of what hadn't been paid for which lead me to pay the remaining owing and I had discussed with my guests before hand to pay for there own meals.
Hi Dani, thanks for the 5-star review! Glad you enjoyed your birthday cocktail :) We allow for split bills by $ amount, not by menu items, therefor we ask guests to look at the printed receipt for the amount they owe. We will pass on this feedback to the service team. Hope you had a wonderful birthday!
Food is great, service is prompt. I do wish the wait staff wouldn’t use the term “youse” though! Maybe some staff training on this.
Hi JudithP, thanks for the review. We will pass on your feedback to management. Have a great week.
There is not much choices on the menu and the bao buns need more sauce, more flavour
Hi Melinda, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are very happy and comfortable with our range of dishes on our current menu, catering for all occasions and budgets. We have noted your feedback on the flavour. Have a great week, Wah Wah Gee
The venue is beautiful and very impressive views, drinks menu great and lots of non alcoholic options.
Food was a bit disappointing, I got pork bao and they were quite dry with not much flavour.
Food came out at weird times and dumplings came out after we had finished everything and needed to go.
Hi EliseT, thanks for taking the time to review us. Happy to hear you enjoyed our stunning views and drinks menu! We have passed on your feedback to the kitchen and service team to review. Have a great week.
We waited a long time for drink order to be taken then watched as our drinks sat on a bar for 20mins before being bought over to us. The staff moved slowly and didn’t seem to realise the importance of service.
Hi Thirsty, We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. This is not the level of service we expect from our team, we will investigate and provide further training where required. Warm regards Wahs management
Came with my wife for our anniversary dinner. Lovely food and it came out super quick. Great night!
Hi Alex, thanks for taking the time to review us. Happy to hear you enjoyed our delish food :)
Very good food and nice atmosphere, just a little slow sometimes but I can forget due to it being very busy
Thanks for the review, Charlie! Glad you enjoyed our food and atmosphere :) Enjoy your week.
Absolutely the best feed in Geelong. Meals are huge and reasonably priced. Service is fantastic.
Hi Andrew, thanks for taking the time to review us. So happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you at WWG again sometime soon :)
The perfect place to celebrate my wife's birthday. Excellent service, great food and pleasant surroundings looking out over the bay - We'll be back!
Hi Paul, thanks for the awesome 5-star review! Happy birthday to the wife :) Hope to see you stop by again soon!
We arrived at 8:00pm we were seated straight away
Front of house staff were knowledgeable and accurate
We had The feed me option A degustation only bigger I would definitely recommend Wah Wah Gee
It was amazing
Hi Smurf1970, thanks so much for leaving us this awesome review! Glad you enjoyed our Feed Me menu. See you next time. Have a great week :)
Too much pressure to be in and out to turnover the table. Appeared to be very canteen like with canteen bain marie food.
Fantastic choice of dishes, friendly staff, good value for money and great if you were starving hungry or just wanted a lighter meal
Hi Sherree, thanks for the 5-star review! See you next time :)
the food was great, & reasonably priced. Variety in the menu, staff were very friendly, & helpful, view sensational. Drinks were expensive.
Hi Pamk, thanks for your feedback. Happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly service and yummy food! Hope to see you again sometime soon :)
Beautiful location & ambience.
I thought food was pricey.
Food wasn't outstanding.
Fries need to be 1000% better.
I can not believe how bad it was. The only good part of the whole experience was the view and we weren't even sitting near it.
Firstly when booking I had specified it was a date, now you would think seeing as the restaurant was not fully booked they would have sat us either at a window seat to look at the water or in a booth seat so it was a little quieter. Instead that sat us at a table that was in the middle of what would be a walk way into the dining room which meant people had to keep slipping past our table.
Secondly the staff were pleasant but useless. They had little to no idea on how to actually wait a table, especially as the food and drinks are not cheap. We asked for sparkling water and when the bottle was brought to the table they couldn't even open the lid, let alone pour it. After entree's the waiter asked if we would like anything else, we opted for a shared main and our entrée plates did not leave the table. Even when the main arrived I had to call over a waiter to ask to clear the steamer from our entrée and to ask for bowls and spoons to eat our very watery "curry".
Thirdly the food was very very average we ordered flaky prawns and crispy chicken bao for entrée. The bao had no flavour and honestly the chicken and presentation is better at KFC and that is saying something. It came with a small piece of dry chicken, sad looking iceburg lettuce, one slice of red chilli and a small amount of bland mayo. The prawns were even worse. Dry, flavourless prawns coated in rice bubbles and half cooked 'green' tempura batter leaving them gluggy and sad. The garnish was meant to be sambal veganaise, which was missing the sambal, slice radish which I believe had been cut up the day before and unidentifiable herbs. The main just got worse, chicken massaman curry with jasmine rice which came to $32 was utterly disgusting. The waterist curry I have ever eaten, which lacked flavour and substance.
Don't even start me on the sorry excuse for a cocktail jug!
We enjoyed our experience and loved the food. Great ambiance and terrific service. Would definitely visit again.
Hi JennyB, thanks for the awesome 5-star review! See you next time :)
All Enjoyed the meal and not rushed ..............
Thanks for taking the time to review us CaryIN, hope to see you at WWG again sometime soon :)
I politely Ask for another table as our table was right next to the paying area and the door which made it very uncomfortable. I was told there where no other tables for 2 left and that everything was booked. Even though they didn’t check. And then for the rest of the night I could count 3 spare tables that where no occupied for the whole 2 hours I was there. Very poor service and very poor seating position, I booked 3 days in advance and if I had known that was the table I was getting I would have gone somewhere else.
On a positive the food was great.
Hi Jack, Thank you for your feedback, fortunately we do book out Friday and Saturday nights, unfortunately some people do not show, which does mean it appears tables haven't been booked but in fact the customer just hasn't turned up. If you decide to dine with us again, please don't hesitate to ask staff to sit you away from the entrance and we will do our best to accommodate this request. So glad to hear you enjoyed the food. Have a great weekend Wahs Management
Waitress who showed us to our seats did not make eye contact or speak. Visibly ill or extremely hung over.
Food was great! View too, but ring and request table by window as many tables have restricted or no view of water.
Hi ErinaA, Thank you for your feedback we are so glad to hear you enjoyed our food as much as we do, as you can imagine our window tables are on high demand. We do our best to honor all advance requests, unfortunately we can't get everyone on the window, but we do maximise it as best we can. We hope you have a great weekend Wahs management
Waited over 1 hr just to be asked if we wanted a drink extremely slow in service
Hi Trish, Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. This is not the level of service we expect from our staff and will investigate and provide further training where required. Have a great weekend Wahs Management
The restaurant was so under staffed it was ridiculous....we sat with dirty dishes in our table for nearly an hour when we finally got the staff’s attention to ask about the whereabouts of our next course and to please take the dirty dishes!
Hi CathyN, Thank you for your feedback, we could not agree more about that lunch service! We were lucky enough to have so many people want to dine with us on that day we just didn't have enough book so we could plan for it. We were caught out on that occasion and couldn't be as attentive as we would like and although dishes sat longer than they should have I hope the fresh food and great views well and truly made up for it. Thank you very much for your advance booking 🙂 Wahs Management
Had dinner here on Saturday night came half an hour early and they were happy to seat us, initially ordered 7 items, five of which came to the table. Pork and chive dumplings were the only winners of the night, great flavour and delicious sauce.
Chicken and mushroom dumplings had no flavour at all and the sauce tasted like oil.
The meatballs were dry and very luckily that they came with sauce.
Korean fried cauliflower just tasted like flour luckily the Saracho mayo was there to assist.
The two lots of bao buns that we ordered never came to the table, by the time we realised that they weren’t coming too the kitchen was about to close.
We also ordered the bao bun ice cream dessert and that was a experience I would never order again.
I’ve heard many good things about Wah Wah Gee and was very disappointed with how the night went.
Wah Wah Gee offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (03) 5222 6377.
Wah Wah Gee is rated 4 stars by 773 OpenTable diners.
Wah Wah Gee does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://wahwahgee.com.au/gift-vouchers/.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.