Vola's Dockside Grill
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
lemon-tarragon mayo, buttered new england style roll
peekytoe & jumbo lump blue crab, creole slaw, old bay fries, jalapeño tartar
Went to Viola's Dockside, but ended up eating in a former frame shop. I understand they were using the additional space due to seating restrictions, but those restrictions are no longer in place and they are still using a space with plastic green grass carpet. Either give up the extra space, or invest in it and make it part of the restaurant.
Spoke with the manager, he was a nice guy who seemed to understand the issue. Hope they sort it out.
We had a fantastic time celebrating a birthday. Please note that the happy hour advertised online is not accurate. Only oysters are on special for happy hour which was a surprise when we arrived. We spent more than we were looking to, but had a great time.
It was my 1st time at Vola. It was one of my selections for myself and family member to enjoy a day trip to Old Town for lunch. It's also a good feeling when a restaurant of your choosing turns out to be a positive experience for your guests. I chose Vola based on the ambiance it presented and hoping the food would be good as well. It was both food and atmosphere that won the day. It was a gorgeous day weather-wise and to be on the water was double the pleasure. The only complaint, if it can be considered complaint is that the reservation online does not stipulate that outdoor dining is "wait list" or "1st come/1st served". Reservations only apply to indoor tables. At least when we arrived (1 pm) we were able to get seats at the bar to wait for an outdoor table. We were told it was a 30-45 min wait but it was really only 15 or 20 min. All in all, it was a beautiful day spent in Alexandria and we met the most wonderful people . Will be returning.
Seating was provided 20 minutes before opening. Priced on the high side to match its location. Food preperation was good but not great. Service was good but again not great.
Seafood was mostly of the fried variety - think Calabash style. Just ok. Kind of over priced but you should expect that in Old Town.
Appreciate them finding us a place outside. Amazingly friendly staff! Could not ask for a better place to spend a day admiring Alexandria waters!
I had the coconut shrimp and loved it. I was very hungry and the 10 shrimp were very filling. My daughter had the salmon and was also very happy. Service was pretty good for a busy Saturday night! Ou server was helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back.
The peel and eat shrimp is fantastic! Drinks were also tasty. Servers was nice and explained the menu thoroughly.
Went here for the first time with my friend and will definitely be back. We made reservations and were promptly seated. The waiter was attentive and very friendly. He made sure we had everything that we needed and constantly checked up on us. The food (crap dip and shrimp po boy) was very good and the drinks (Painkiller and Strawberry Daiquiri) will get you right. The drinks don’t taste like they have much alcohol but will creep up on you. Definitely a good deal and overall bang for you buck.
I give this an overall three-star experience because I clearly asked for outdoor seating on the reservation. When my friend and I arrived at the restaurant we were informed all reservations we indoor seating and that for outdoor seating it would be an additional hour to wait. We decided to wait and provided my phone number to the matrie'd. I was supposed to receive a text to confirm that we were on the list and I did not receive the text. I had the matrie'd to verify the phone number which was correct and was told they would call us. Due to the attitude we received from the matrie'd, we decided to return at the 45 minute mark and were informed by the new from matrie'd that we were next on the list and ready to be seated.
I had a great dinning experience celebrating my Birthday 🎉🥳
poor/terrible service: theybcare more about packing new customer than taking care of the ones already sat up.
very low quality of food, oyster were bland and not so fresh…
Came on a very rainy day so nice to get inside to relax at Volas Dockside. Service was fantastic. The appetizers were good but was hoping for a better seafood experience as nothing was a Wow! The Fish and Chips dish was very good and overall had an enjoyable experience.
Fried calamari, with bit of spice, was delicious. But the oysters were tasteless, as were the sauces that came with them. The Caesar salad was boring. The menu advertised grouper in two dishes, but it was actually mahi-mahi. and the Po' Boy lacked interest.
The good news is - we were outside, right on the water, with a light breeze and the lovely splash of fish from time to time. So - ambience is good. But don't go hungry.
One of our favorite go-to spots on the water. Love the jalapeño- cilantro margaritas!
Food was great, service was wonderful! Thanks again!
Good food, amazing drinks alcoholic and non alcoholic, even better pricing. Come early, find a parking space and enjoy yourself.
Our server Alexander was wonderful. We were just going to have apps and a beverage and move on to another place but because of the service we wanted to stay.
Always great service and food!
Wonderful customer service, food and environment!!
We had a wonderful time. Great food & wine and excellent seevice. Thank you.
One of the worst dining experiences in many years. Service was truly abysmal. Slow, got at least 5 things wrong and would then disappear and take forever to come back. We were dying of thirst the entire time because they never came back with any water. It was my birthday and why ask when making the reservation if you are going to ignore it? Extremely loud environment so you can’t even have a conversation. Food was not really even ok. The have a great location right on the water but pretty much everything else was actually terrible. Plenty of other options in the area, don’t give this one your time as you are sure to regret it. Completely ruined a special occasion.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. We would like to apologize for this experience you had at our restaurant as we take great pride in making sure our customers leave more than satisfied. Would you mind sending us an email to arp@rockawaypr alongside a screenshot of your review and the subject line Vola's OpenTable Review so we can make things right.
Heads-up: Reservations are ONLY for inside (noisy), so if you want to be outside in main dockside patio, expect a wait. BUT they have TWO outside patios and were in the 2nd one farther to the right. Ask about that. Great service from Madison. Food was quite good but it could use a decent wine list and real glasses. Harborside is pretty view/venue but not tranquil w/ planes overhead etc and music. Better for a 2 person outing than a group. There were 4 of us and we couldn't talk as a group easily.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. We would like to apologize for this experience you had at our restaurant as we take great pride in making sure our customers leave more than satisfied. We hope next time you join us we turn your experience into a positive one.
This was our first trip (and won't be the last) to Vola's. Four of us went for lunch and associated drinks and we had a great time. Dalton, our waiter, made us feel at home and he shared all the info we needed to select good drinks (cocktails) appetizers and main courses for the group. We had a range from shrimp po-boy, to shrimp and grits to cobb salad with crab cake. All was good - AND - the view of the Potomac was great too.
We'll certainly be going back.
Vola's always does a great job. Been there many times and they continue to get it right.
Love the service and the food. Everything was amazing.
yummy food, great views but due to rain had to sit inside by bar and the noise level was super loud.
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the noise level indoors during your meal with us.
Excellent meal. Excellent Service. Excellent ambiance!
Friendly staff, seated promptly, very obliging.
Delicious seafood and wonderful ambiance!
We were both really happy with the location and the view. The wait staff and manager were very friendly and we both loved our food!
Thank you for reviewing our restaurant LeeAnn. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us as well as the service. Hope to see you again soon.
Good service. Great location. Good food. Glad to see the restaurant full again. This is one of my favorites.
Thank you for your kind words. It's a pleasure to hear that we're one of your favorite restaurants!
Service was subpar along with the food. Happy hour is only available at the bar and high tops which is not communicated on their website.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback with us. We want to apologize for the food and service not being stellar, as those are priorities at any restaurant, especially ours. Regarding Happy Hour, on our website in the menu section it states "Available in Hi-Tide Lounge and at Vola’s bar & cocktail tables" but we will inform management so it's stated on the homepage as well to make things more clear.
Birthday dinner inside. We had a ball!!!
I love Volas, but they will try to seat you in a weird dining room with green carpet separate from the entire restaurant. If you come with a res. I do not think this should be the case -- but it was for us. We luckily got a seat outside, but do better Volas its just bizarre. The restaurant has changed the menu for the better which is positive.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We do apologize for the seating situation, as this should not have happened.
Great spot for happy hour or a casual date! One thing to note is that the outside seating is first come. We were sat at the bar and had a lot of fun anyway!
Excellent venue, especially the dock side seating: view & ambience.
The waitress was wonderful -- she could not have been more helpful. Bbut nearly everything on the menu had old bay seasoning, even the salad dressing. The crab dip had old bay as did even the crackers that came with it. I got "grilled" shrimp added to a basic caesar salad but they were pan fried and greasy and covered with old bay-- so were the croutons. So even though I got balsamic and oil instead of the old bay caesar dressing, only the lettuce was edible which was very disappointing for $19. My husband ordered sirloin tips and they turned out to be shishkebob well done with rice. They did give him a very nice slice of bailey irish creasm cheese cake for his birthday. We sat in a separate room because the main room was incredibly noisy. It was too cold to sit outside. The best part of the meal was the wine. For lovers of old bay seasoning and jalapena peppers, this is a great place to go but I was very disappointed by the meal was was the birthday boy, except for the dessert.
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We would like to apologize for this meal you had with us as we take great pride in making sure our guests leave loving our dishes. We do hope you give us another chance so we can turn your experience into a positive one.
Vola’s was very noisy. Could hardly hear the person sitting across from you. Was surprised to see they let a dog inside the restaurant. Crab grilled cheese sandwich and the crab/clam chowder excellent.
Thank you for reviewing our restaurant Bob. We want to apologize for the noise level while you were dining with us, but we're glad you enjoyed our dishes.
Vola's Dockside Grill does offer delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Vola's Dockside Grill also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (703) 935-8890.
Vola's Dockside Grill is rated 4.5 stars by 1372 OpenTable diners.
Vola's Dockside Grill does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.alexandriarestaurantpartners.com/gift-cards.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.