Vola's Dockside Grill

4.5
1372 Reviews
$30 and under
Seafood
With one of the most coveted locations on the Alexandria riverfront, Vola’s Dockside Grill and Hi-Tide Lounge feature the best outdoor dining location in town. The menu at Vola’s Dockside Grill features fresh seafood, tacos and American cuisine favorites, alongside cocktails, beer and wine in a relaxed, family-friendly atmosphere. Hi-Tide Lounge is connected to Vola’s by a hallway. In just a few steps, feel transported to the swingin’ 60s and sip on classic cocktails served with midcentury-modern vibe. Open for lunch, dinner, and weekend brunch.

Support Vola's Dockside Grill during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1372 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
G
vipGary
Washington DC
10 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall2food4service4ambience1

Went to Viola's Dockside, but ended up eating in a former frame shop. I understand they were using the additional space due to seating restrictions, but those restrictions are no longer in place and they are still using a space with plastic green grass carpet. Either give up the extra space, or invest in it and make it part of the restaurant.

Spoke with the manager, he was a nice guy who seemed to understand the issue. Hope they sort it out.

H
viplindseyH
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a fantastic time celebrating a birthday. Please note that the happy hour advertised online is not accurate. Only oysters are on special for happy hour which was a surprise when we arrived. We spent more than we were looking to, but had a great time.

P
Pennythepearl
Baltimore
12 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was my 1st time at Vola. It was one of my selections for myself and family member to enjoy a day trip to Old Town for lunch. It's also a good feeling when a restaurant of your choosing turns out to be a positive experience for your guests. I chose Vola based on the ambiance it presented and hoping the food would be good as well. It was both food and atmosphere that won the day. It was a gorgeous day weather-wise and to be on the water was double the pleasure. The only complaint, if it can be considered complaint is that the reservation online does not stipulate that outdoor dining is "wait list" or "1st come/1st served". Reservations only apply to indoor tables. At least when we arrived (1 pm) we were able to get seats at the bar to wait for an outdoor table. We were told it was a 30-45 min wait but it was really only 15 or 20 min. All in all, it was a beautiful day spent in Alexandria and we met the most wonderful people . Will be returning.

RK
RobertK
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food3service4ambience5

Seating was provided 20 minutes before opening. Priced on the high side to match its location. Food preperation was good but not great. Service was good but again not great.

JW
JonathanW
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food2service4ambience3

Seafood was mostly of the fried variety - think Calabash style. Just ok. Kind of over priced but you should expect that in Old Town.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Appreciate them finding us a place outside. Amazingly friendly staff! Could not ask for a better place to spend a day admiring Alexandria waters!

MS
MaryS
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience4

I had the coconut shrimp and loved it. I was very hungry and the 10 shrimp were very filling. My daughter had the salmon and was also very happy. Service was pretty good for a busy Saturday night! Ou server was helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back.

MS
MariamS
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The peel and eat shrimp is fantastic! Drinks were also tasty. Servers was nice and explained the menu thoroughly.

CA
CarolineA
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Went here for the first time with my friend and will definitely be back. We made reservations and were promptly seated. The waiter was attentive and very friendly. He made sure we had everything that we needed and constantly checked up on us. The food (crap dip and shrimp po boy) was very good and the drinks (Painkiller and Strawberry Daiquiri) will get you right. The drinks don’t taste like they have much alcohol but will creep up on you. Definitely a good deal and overall bang for you buck.

EJ
EricaJ
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall3food5service4ambience3

I give this an overall three-star experience because I clearly asked for outdoor seating on the reservation. When my friend and I arrived at the restaurant we were informed all reservations we indoor seating and that for outdoor seating it would be an additional hour to wait. We decided to wait and provided my phone number to the matrie'd. I was supposed to receive a text to confirm that we were on the list and I did not receive the text. I had the matrie'd to verify the phone number which was correct and was told they would call us. Due to the attitude we received from the matrie'd, we decided to return at the 45 minute mark and were informed by the new from matrie'd that we were next on the list and ready to be seated.

AM
AndrelynM
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I had a great dinning experience celebrating my Birthday 🎉🥳

DG
DanielG
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on June 11, 2021
Overall2food1service2ambience1

poor/terrible service: theybcare more about packing new customer than taking care of the ones already sat up.

very low quality of food, oyster were bland and not so fresh…

JG
vipJoyceG
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on June 11, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Came on a very rainy day so nice to get inside to relax at Volas Dockside. Service was fantastic. The appetizers were good but was hoping for a better seafood experience as nothing was a Wow! The Fish and Chips dish was very good and overall had an enjoyable experience.

f
vipfoodandwine
Washington DC
9 reviews
Dined on June 9, 2021
Overall3food2service3ambience5

Fried calamari, with bit of spice, was delicious. But the oysters were tasteless, as were the sauces that came with them. The Caesar salad was boring. The menu advertised grouper in two dishes, but it was actually mahi-mahi. and the Po' Boy lacked interest.

The good news is - we were outside, right on the water, with a light breeze and the lovely splash of fish from time to time. So - ambience is good. But don't go hungry.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on June 7, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

One of our favorite go-to spots on the water. Love the jalapeño- cilantro margaritas!

AE
AmaraE
1 review
Dined on June 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great, service was wonderful! Thanks again!

SH
StephHW
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on June 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good food, amazing drinks alcoholic and non alcoholic, even better pricing. Come early, find a parking space and enjoy yourself.

DM
vipDavidM
Washington DC
17 reviews
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Birthday party

R
Robbie
1 review
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server Alexander was wonderful. We were just going to have apps and a beverage and move on to another place but because of the service we wanted to stay.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always great service and food!

LT
LizT
1 review
Dined on June 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful customer service, food and environment!!

MA
vipMaryAnn
Washington DC
12 reviews
Dined on June 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a wonderful time. Great food & wine and excellent seevice. Thank you.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on June 1, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience1

One of the worst dining experiences in many years. Service was truly abysmal. Slow, got at least 5 things wrong and would then disappear and take forever to come back. We were dying of thirst the entire time because they never came back with any water. It was my birthday and why ask when making the reservation if you are going to ignore it? Extremely loud environment so you can’t even have a conversation. Food was not really even ok. The have a great location right on the water but pretty much everything else was actually terrible. Plenty of other options in the area, don’t give this one your time as you are sure to regret it. Completely ruined a special occasion.

Vola's Dockside Grill
Responded on June 2, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. We would like to apologize for this experience you had at our restaurant as we take great pride in making sure our customers leave more than satisfied. Would you mind sending us an email to arp@rockawaypr alongside a screenshot of your review and the subject line Vola's OpenTable Review so we can make things right.

Report
DC
DCtravelingirl
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on June 1, 2021
Overall3food4service5ambience3

Heads-up: Reservations are ONLY for inside (noisy), so if you want to be outside in main dockside patio, expect a wait. BUT they have TWO outside patios and were in the 2nd one farther to the right. Ask about that. Great service from Madison. Food was quite good but it could use a decent wine list and real glasses. Harborside is pretty view/venue but not tranquil w/ planes overhead etc and music. Better for a 2 person outing than a group. There were 4 of us and we couldn't talk as a group easily.

Vola's Dockside Grill
Responded on June 3, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. We would like to apologize for this experience you had at our restaurant as we take great pride in making sure our customers leave more than satisfied. We hope next time you join us we turn your experience into a positive one.

Report
BC
vipBClarkeVa
Washington DC
33 reviews
Dined on May 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was our first trip (and won't be the last) to Vola's. Four of us went for lunch and associated drinks and we had a great time. Dalton, our waiter, made us feel at home and he shared all the info we needed to select good drinks (cocktails) appetizers and main courses for the group. We had a range from shrimp po-boy, to shrimp and grits to cobb salad with crab cake. All was good - AND - the view of the Potomac was great too.

We'll certainly be going back.

LW
vipLWALX
Orlando
4 reviews
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Vola's always does a great job. Been there many times and they continue to get it right.

DS
DeSiree
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the service and the food. Everything was amazing.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Savannah
1 review
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

yummy food, great views but due to rain had to sit inside by bar and the noise level was super loud.

Vola's Dockside Grill
Responded on May 31, 2021

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the noise level indoors during your meal with us.

Report
S
Sonya
1 review
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent meal. Excellent Service. Excellent ambiance!

m
vipmaryalex
New England
14 reviews
Dined on May 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Friendly staff, seated promptly, very obliging.

l
viplgpoet
Richmond
6 reviews
Dined on May 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious seafood and wonderful ambiance!

LA
LeeAnnJ
1 review
Dined on May 27, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We were both really happy with the location and the view. The wait staff and manager were very friendly and we both loved our food!

Vola's Dockside Grill
Responded on May 31, 2021

Thank you for reviewing our restaurant LeeAnn. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us as well as the service. Hope to see you again soon.

Report
VA
vipVASinatraLover
Washington DC
15 reviews
Dined on May 26, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Good service. Great location. Good food. Glad to see the restaurant full again. This is one of my favorites.

Vola's Dockside Grill
Responded on May 28, 2021

Thank you for your kind words. It's a pleasure to hear that we're one of your favorite restaurants!

Report
LP
LPerkins
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on May 26, 2021
Overall3food2service1ambience2

Service was subpar along with the food. Happy hour is only available at the bar and high tops which is not communicated on their website.

Vola's Dockside Grill
Responded on May 28, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback with us. We want to apologize for the food and service not being stellar, as those are priorities at any restaurant, especially ours. Regarding Happy Hour, on our website in the menu section it states "Available in Hi-Tide Lounge and at Vola’s bar & cocktail tables" but we will inform management so it's stated on the homepage as well to make things more clear.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on May 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Birthday dinner inside. We had a ball!!!

LM
vipLMAth
Raleigh
5 reviews
Dined on May 25, 2021
Overall1food4service3ambience1

I love Volas, but they will try to seat you in a weird dining room with green carpet separate from the entire restaurant. If you come with a res. I do not think this should be the case -- but it was for us. We luckily got a seat outside, but do better Volas its just bizarre. The restaurant has changed the menu for the better which is positive.

Vola's Dockside Grill
Responded on May 27, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We do apologize for the seating situation, as this should not have happened.

Report
B
Bogdan
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on May 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great spot for happy hour or a casual date! One thing to note is that the outside seating is first come. We were sat at the bar and had a lot of fun anyway!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on May 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent venue, especially the dock side seating: view & ambience.

d
disappointed
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on May 24, 2021
Overall3food1service5ambience3

The waitress was wonderful -- she could not have been more helpful. Bbut nearly everything on the menu had old bay seasoning, even the salad dressing. The crab dip had old bay as did even the crackers that came with it. I got "grilled" shrimp added to a basic caesar salad but they were pan fried and greasy and covered with old bay-- so were the croutons. So even though I got balsamic and oil instead of the old bay caesar dressing, only the lettuce was edible which was very disappointing for $19. My husband ordered sirloin tips and they turned out to be shishkebob well done with rice. They did give him a very nice slice of bailey irish creasm cheese cake for his birthday. We sat in a separate room because the main room was incredibly noisy. It was too cold to sit outside. The best part of the meal was the wine. For lovers of old bay seasoning and jalapena peppers, this is a great place to go but I was very disappointed by the meal was was the birthday boy, except for the dessert.

Vola's Dockside Grill
Responded on May 27, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We would like to apologize for this meal you had with us as we take great pride in making sure our guests leave loving our dishes. We do hope you give us another chance so we can turn your experience into a positive one.

Report
BD
BobD
Washington DC
10 reviews
Dined on May 23, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Vola’s was very noisy. Could hardly hear the person sitting across from you. Was surprised to see they let a dog inside the restaurant. Crab grilled cheese sandwich and the crab/clam chowder excellent.

Vola's Dockside Grill
Responded on May 24, 2021

Thank you for reviewing our restaurant Bob. We want to apologize for the noise level while you were dining with us, but we're glad you enjoyed our dishes.

Report

FAQs

Vola's Dockside Grill does offer delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Vola's Dockside Grill also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (703) 935-8890.

Vola's Dockside Grill is rated 4.5 stars by 1372 OpenTable diners.

Vola's Dockside Grill does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.alexandriarestaurantpartners.com/gift-cards.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.