Vola's Dockside Grill
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
lemon-tarragon mayo, buttered new england style roll
peekytoe & jumbo lump blue crab, creole slaw, old bay fries, jalapeño tartar
Great shrimp, great food, great service! I will definitely be back.
Food was great. Server was perfect.
Cool restaurant with indoor and dockside dining. Good variety of items on menu
We were seating in what the hostess called a "private dining" area really it was just a hole in the wall area, very bland, distant from the main restaurant with no view/scenery, very uninspired location, the food was so so, my partner ordered the peal and eat shrimp which was ok, nothing special, then had the Salmon which looked good but didn't taste as good as it looks, I had the crab cakes which were average for the area. The drinks were also very weak. They also need to update their website, lots of entries pictured were not available anymore. Probably won't be back again.
Efficient and friendly staff. Service was excellent and food was delicious.
The oysters were exceptional. The waitress could not have been nicer. The dips and sauces were a bit on the salty side.
Thank you for your review Marta. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our dishes as well as the service. We hope to see you again soon.
They even welcomed our dog, who loved the pup menu. Superb birthday celebration for us! We go back to Vola’s whenever we can. ♥️♥️♥️
Great local oysters on a deck with a harbor view.
Great food and location. Unfortunately, the service was not good. In fact, the wait staff changed in the middle of the meal and our first waiter did not come over and tell us. It was confusing.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We'd like to apologize for this confusion when servers were changed as you should have been informed of this happening. We hope you join us again so we can turn your experience into an excellent one.
Went for Mother's Day Brunch. They could have had more brunch-y things on the menu but what we got was WONDERFUL and there was plenty of it (which I particularly liked)! I do recommend it and I will go again. If you haven't tried it by all means do so.
Our server, Dalton, was great!! Very accommodating.
Nice place to grab a bite down on the water that isn't super expensive. Limited dinner menu. Hit the oyster hour before 7.
Thank you for your visit Jay. We're glad that to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant as well as our happy hour.
Excellent food. Very noisy. Could not hear words from my companions.
Thank you for praising our dishes Gene. Having said that we do apologize for the level of noise at the restaurant.
We had a great night and dinner. The food was delicious and the drinks were great. The staff was very helpful and added to the experience. The only downside is everything on the table was a little sticky. I'll definitely come back!
Was looking forward to a great experience. Beautiful day. Waitress was friendly. Was not attentive to cleaning up table, glasses, plates, napkins, etc. We had to ask her to take things away, which she did.
Food was average. No one asked if we needed extras, mustard , etc.
Not pleased, overall. Did not feel special as a customer.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention Mary. We'd like to apologize for the meal you had with us. At Vola's we take great pride in making sure our customers receive excellent service alongside excellent dishes, making them want to return. This time it was not the case and we're truly sorry for this. We do hope you give us another chance to turn your experience around.
The food was delicious and the service very good. My one criticism is the coffee. The coffee was mediocre at best. It was not robust When I asked for cream, I was told they only had milk This is a small matter but prevented me from awarding five stars to Vola's
Thank you for reviewing our restaurant Chris. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our dishes as well as the service. We do want to apologize for the coffee not matching up to the rest of your experience.
The atmosphere was great, had oysters, crab cake and my wife had the fish and chips. I was disappointed they didn’t have the grouper as I was looking forward to trying the Cajun still dish. The crab cake made up for it though. Will definitely return again. The setting by the water is wonderful this time of year.
The service was great. The waitress kept the drinks coming and provided excellent customer service. The crab dip was good, but unfortunately, the meals did not taste good.
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We want to apologize for our dishes not wow-ing you, as that is our goal every day with our customers. We do hope you join us again so we can turn your experience into an excellent one.
It was our first time there (we live in Alexandria) and we went with another couple who were visiting Old Town for the first time. They had the crab cake sandwich and the mahi mahi sandwich, which they said were very good. My wife & I made a meal of the appetizers - calamari, caesar salad, seafood chowder. It was all very enjoyable.
We specifically reserved a table for happy hour and were told the specials are only available at the bar upon arrival. Other than that the food was good, the experience just wasn't what we came for.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us Leah. We're sorry for the specification for happy hour not being clear when you reserved your table, but we're glad that you enjoyed our dishes.
Really disappointed with how staff handled my reservation. It got so bad, I asked to speak to a manager and after waiting 15 minutes- I just left and went to a different restaurant. I won't be back.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Would you mind sending us an email to arp@rockawaypr so we can find out more about your situation?
Although he arrived on time, booked a table outside and there was no information about the impossibility of making the oyster happy Hour outside, after we had been directed to a part of the bar where there was no wine in the bottle and there was also no oysters for the low price as advertised to Happy Our, we were taken inside and we were very well attended by the waitress who saved our Happy Hour. But I was very disappointed with the service at the beginning. I suggest that the information about the places where Happy Hour discounts are accepted be clear on the restaurant's website that everyone can see it before making the reservation.
We used to love this place but the food has really gone downhill. Draft beers were out of order, no Grouper due to a long-term supply issue, tasteless fries, drippy coleslaw and an increased price for the already expensive lobster roll. It is sad because the staff and outdoor area is amazing. There are so many new places to dine in the area that have wonderful food so I don't expect to return anytime soon.
Overall good experience
Worth the visit
Thank you for your kind words Phil. We hope to see you again soon.
Great ambiance. Love hi tide lounge’s vibe. Happy hour is so good here!!
Great server, poor atmosphere of add-on dining area, all food way too much seasonings
Thank you for your review Denise. We want to apologize for the food not being outstanding, as it's what we strive for on a daily basis. We hope you join us again to turn your experience around.
I really enjoyed the restaurant and the food. The hush puppies are really good.
We had reservations for lunch. One laminated menu was on the table for the four of us or we could scan the QR code. We asked for more menus. The high top table we had had a beautiful view of the potomac and waterfront area. It was nice to be inside out of the wind. (outside seating is first come first served)
We ordered an appetizer which took 30 min. to receive, waitress took our meal order 5 min before the appetizers came even though we were ready to order earlier. When appetizer was brought, we had no napkins and had to find someone to bring us some. (hostess stand beside our table had 3 hosts who were talking to each other and just standing there). Food: crab cake had a good amount of crab and not much filling, nice flavor, everyone like the steak fries which had very little if any old bay seasoning as advertised, hamburger ordered medium was charred and tough on the outside and cold on the inside, bun was good, crab grilled cheese had a nice balance of crab and cheese. Nothing was so good we'd have to go back for. Slooow service but nice view. Under utilized employees (hostesses) who could have been checking in on tables or helping with overall efficiency of the experience. No one should be standing around during a busy Saturday lunch but that leadership comes from management.
Thank you for providing us with your feedback Kim. The service and dishes you were provided with should have left you wanting to return, but it was not the case and we apologize for it. At Vola's we take great pride in ensuring our customers leave more than satisfied. We hope you give us another chance for us to turn your experience into a positive one.
My family and I were celebrating my husband’s birthday. We arrived late so we were not able to eat in the main dining room. We were lead to another indoor space that had another small group in there. This didn’t bother us because we had a 7 yr old and a 6 month old. Our server was very pleasant and attentive. The other group left so we had the space to ourselves. The music was very nice so our daughter got up to dance. The food was delicious and the drinks were not watered down. I will definitely comeback, maybe with out the kids to enjoy happy hour.
Thank you for joining us for your friend's birthday. We're very glad to hear you and your party enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Incredible views pair wonderfully with well crafted cocktails, delicious local flavors, and incredible service.
Awesome food all of the time
We had a wonderful anniversary dinner at Voila’s dockside!
Great food. Server was fantastic. Great scenery. The Crab Hushpuppies were out of this world.
It was not what I expected in regards to menu, it was not a lot of choices for appetizers, maybe due to Covid and was disappointed that you could only take advantage of happy hour menu if you were sitting at the bar.
We we’re seated right away with are reservation which was great because we were on a schedule time and needed to eat within 1.5hr allotted time prior to catching the water taxi back home.
Very loud inside (including music), not good for conversation. Very busy so despite having a reservation for a regular table, only high tops were available.
This was the first time we ate here but will not be our last when in the area.
Very underwhelmed. The crab cake was something I would expect from a landlocked restaurant in the Deep South. I don’t know the reviews were so high for this place.
Thank you for your review Danielle. We want to apologize for your experience not being stellar, as it's what we strive for. Your dishes should have wow-ed you and left you wanting to return. We hope you join us again so we can turn your experience around.
Vola's Dockside Grill does offer delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Vola's Dockside Grill also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (703) 935-8890.
Vola's Dockside Grill is rated 4.5 stars by 1308 OpenTable diners.
Vola's Dockside Grill does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.alexandriarestaurantpartners.com/gift-cards.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.