Union Café - Mount Merrion

3.6
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
77 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€31 to €50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Modern European
Our restaurant is a bright and airy, designed dining space lying at the very heart of Mount Merrion. It is a local gathering place for family and friends, neighbours and colleagues.
Our Head Chef, Darren Matthews, has created an innovative menu that brings together old world flavours and contemporary international cuisines.
Each and every plate is packed with fresh, honest, tasty food, created with the very best Irish produce.
Try one of our juicy homemade burgers, wood fired pizzas, fresh pastas, fish specials and much more.
We’re open seven days a week, serving hearty and healthy breakfasts from nine in the morning and in the evening, we offer a beautifully crafted dinner menu until ten. Enjoy a great lunch Monday through Friday, and at the weekend come and relax in our comfortable new booths to enjoy a fresh cooked brunch and crafted cocktails or a bottle of wine with family and friends.
What 77 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.6based on recent ratings
3.6
food
3.7
service
3.8
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
65% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
SA
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 27, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went as a family for a family birthday. Food and service was excellent. I had put a note that it was granny’s birthday on the booking and the staff came over after our meal with a birthday cake singing happy birthday. A lovely touch. Thank you x

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on October 28, 2019

Hi Samantha, Thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We absolutely love having families in to celebrate such important occasions and get a huge kick out of giving great service to such a lovely group. We hope to have you back with us again soon. Best, Aimee.

Report
OR
Dublin
1 review
Dined on October 6, 2019
Overall2food2service3ambience3

I visit union cafe in church town regularly so we expected the same level of high standard but sadly it doesn’t live up to the mark .The portion sizes were smaller .The food was poorly presented and my own dish was cold .The burger bun felt like it had been in the fridge !

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on October 9, 2019

Hi OrlaR, Thank you for your constructive feedback, please be assured the concerns you have raised are being addressed by our kitchen management team so as to ensure consistency across our brand. Please feel free to provide a few details like date. time, items purchased etc. to us at merrion@unioncafe.ie, so we can look in to it in more depth. My sincere hope is that you have not been deterred from another visit with us here in Mount Merrion, Kind regards Dave

Report
E
Dublin
1 review
Dined on October 6, 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience2

Unfortunately, it did not live up to expectations. At first we were seated next to children who where screaming so incredibly loudly it was crazy, almost as if they were having a screaming competition. Not the restaurants fault, but we had to ask to move as the parents thought their children screeching was ok. Once we moved it improved but everyone around us was waiting a long time for drinks - ours arrived cold. However, food arrived quite fast. My Irish breakfast was tasty but quite pricey (and if I am being picky, soda bread is a bit odd to have with it, regular toast would be much better) and my partner's "buttermilk pancakes with crispy bacon and maple syrup" were very bland - pancakes with definitely not crispy bacon on the side with syrup in a plastic bottle, with quite a high price tag.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on October 9, 2019

Hi Emilie, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am sorry to read of your cold drinks and of the loud atmosphere at the time of your visit. Please feel free to mail us at merrion@unioncafe.ie with a few more details so I can investigate the reasons in more depth and ensure a repeat occurrence does not happen again. Be assured I have passed on your feedback concerning the food to the kitchen management team whom I know are taking it into consideration. Best, Dave

Report
OT
Dublin
12 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Nice place and friendly staff. The food was nice, good portions, and not pricey.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on September 10, 2019

Hi, Many thank for your rating and review. I have passed your feedback on to the team who were delighted to read it! We hope to see you in again with us in the near future. Warm regards Dave

Report
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Can we try not knock it down ? That would be nice

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on September 10, 2019

Hi, Thank you for your feedback, Regards Dave

Report
G
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience2

For evening dining it’s not great, lighting way too bright and not good atmosphere, very quiet . Waiter wasn’t great just plonked drinks down on edge of table didn’t hand them out. Handy location next to the pub though

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on September 10, 2019

Hi Grabar71 Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your visit with us last night. Please be assured we are taking the concerns you have raised on board and will make every effort to address. Much appreciated Dave

Report
D
Dublin
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Went we went for a romantic meal and it didn’t look like a restaurant Evening .... no candles or knife and fork’s on the table I wine glasses
I just like a brunch place for the day lovely evening .
So we walked out

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on September 10, 2019

HI David72, Thank you for your review. Please be assured we take all feedback very seriously and we view it an opportunity to improve our guests experience. In the evening we do not put candles or wine glasses on the tables as we provide the glass with the wine as ordered. I am quite alarmed to read that there was no cutlery on the table however, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you again and my sincere hope is that you might visit us again in the future, Warm regards Dave

Report
NE
1 review
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall2food1service2ambience2

Its a shame the food isnt better. It is a nice location and the staff were ok. I had what was described as a southern fried chicken burger but it was very disappointing. My mums sirloin was the worse steak weve ever had in a restaurant. I suppose the amount of empty tables at peak time saturday night tells the story.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on September 30, 2019

Hi NealE, Thanks for leaving a review, and we are sorry your food wasn't up to scratch. We take the feedback seriously had have passed this onto the Kitchen. We hope you might come back and have a better experience as we have put great effort into making improvements here. Thanks, Aimee.

Report
B
New England
3 reviews
Dined on August 14, 2019
Overall2food3service1ambience3

Waited 45 mins for a lunch order. Very disorganized

Not recommended for lunch unless you have plenty of time

OT
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on August 11, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Staff ever so friendly and kind. Thanks

EB
Dublin
1 review
Dined on July 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for lunch and the menu had great choices.We had a little girl and she got colours and paper to keep her busy.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on July 17, 2019

Hi EllenB, Thank you for your feedback, hope we will see you back soon. Vladimir

Report
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on June 16, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Father’s Day

MN
New York Area
1 review
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience3

The venue was very loud with a lot of children running around. The food was nice but not at the same standard as the Beacon restaurant.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on May 20, 2019

Dear MaryN Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your recent visit. We are a child friendly restaurant and with the park & playground directly across the street we do get a lot of little visitors with their families. I'm happy you enjoyed the food, and my colleagues in The Beacon will be very glad to hear you say they beat us on standards this time round. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Fiona

Report
NH
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall1food1service4ambience3

Miniscule steak in the cold steak sandwich. Pity as the service was good.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on April 29, 2019

Dear NH12 We appreciate getting feedback on food and service here at Union Cafe. As your waitress got you a new Steak Sandwich and a complimentary pint to wash it down with, we hoped this might have made up for the below-standards sandwich. We do weigh every steak at 6oz but will pass on your feedback to the kitchen and hope to see you again soon. Fiona

Report
JS
Dublin
1 review
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience1

Overpriced food - empty restaurant but took 40 mins to serve us, a small group.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on April 23, 2019

Dear JaSS Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to Union Cafe. I am sorry to hear it took 40minutes to serve, we had an unexpected busy weekend, usually Easter would be a quiet time for us. This is not the service that we strive to achieve here and for this I apologise. Although the restaurant may have looked empty, we had 32 full tables of people sitting outside in the sunny weather also ordering food & drinks. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Fiona

Report
CC
Dublin
1 review
Dined on April 13, 2019
Overall4food3service1ambience4

Family friendly atmosphere but service was too slow with small children. There were plenty of servers but food was lukewarm when it finally got to the table.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on April 23, 2019

Dear CCR19 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit. I apologise that the service was slow on the day you visited us and hope you brought it to the attention of the manager on duty who would have dealt with this immediately. This is not the standard service we aim to provide and hope that we can prove this to you if you give us another chance. Hope to welcome you back sometime soon. Fiona

Report
m
London
1 review
Dined on April 11, 2019
Overall2food1service2ambience4

I was meeting some friends in the area, so we all met up for lunch. Two of us ordered the lasagne, and both lasagnes arrived half-filling a metal dish - which looked odd, but they hadn't apologised for anything, so we assumed that this was standard. The lasagne itself was not great, but the main issue was that the lasagne is normally an entire dish (confirmed by a friend who ordered one for lunch two days later and sent us a photo of it filling the dish). So the Union Cafe split single a lasagne between two of us without telling us. Disgraceful behaviour.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on April 23, 2019

Dear mixtwitch Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to Union Cafe. I am sorry that the food you had ordered didn't meet your expectations. We have currently changed a few items on our menu and I can assure you we would not cut portions in half as we have strict serving portions. If you would like to send me an email directly I can look into this matter further. I will await your email and hope to hear from you soon fiona@unioncafe.ie Fiona

Report
EM
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on March 31, 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Happy to recommend as food was very tasty and fresh. Very expensive for what it was though. Service was a bit slow which was a surprise given that it wasn't all that busy when we were there.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on April 8, 2019

Dear EoinM Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit to Union Cafe. I'm sorry to hear the service was a little slow and I am currently looking into why this was. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the food and we hope to welcome you back again sometime soon. Fiona

Report
PM
Dublin
4 reviews
Dined on March 18, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great brunch great price

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on March 19, 2019

Thanks for your lovely feedback, hope to see you again soon. Fiona

Report
F
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on March 10, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Food too slow to come, it was only bacon and eggs so not complicated . Coffee cold by then.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on March 11, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit. I apologise that the food took some time and hope you mentioned it to the management who was on duty on the day. They would have been happy to deal with the situation and replaced your coffee for a fresh one. We do hope to welcome you back again sometime in the near future. Fiona

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on March 10, 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Breakfast with friends

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on March 19, 2019

Sorry your visit didn't live up to expectations, if you want to pass along further details please email me directly fiona@unioncafe.ie Fiona

Report
SM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on March 2, 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Busy, but very friendly service and great atmosphere. Family friendly.

MB
Dublin
1 review
Dined on February 25, 2019
Overall3food2service3ambience3

Pasta with chicken was disappointing. Chicken was dry. Pasta was also dry with no flavours coming thorough. The area was also on the cold side.

B
London
3 reviews
Dined on February 17, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Lovely family dinner as always. Kids options should always come with vegetables as standard to create a balanced meal.

L
Dublin
1 review
Dined on February 17, 2019
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Arrived for our booking and friends had brought their toddlers so our numbers were increased. We told the manager we were happy to wait until a bigger table became available. Staff seemed very stressed and a bit short so we waited outside. One of our group suggested we sit in unions adjacent bar area which was warmer and quieter for the kids and are served by the same staff, so we did. We went to tell the staff where we were and that they could release the table for six, and were told despite being given menus by the bar staff the kitchen might not serve us. The manager was extremely dismissive saying they were busy, don’t have a table for us and we’d have to wait to see if the kitchen would allow us order at all. The bar staff however were very helpful and we got sorted in the end. I’ve been to union very regularly and despite a few of the staff being very attentive the management is inconsistent, distracted and on this occasion rude. Tables are often left uncleared, the outdoor area is often unclean and depending on who your server is you can be waiting an eternity to get there attention even when they’re not busy. It’s such a pity as the venue is nice, food is good and it’s in a great location!

AO
Dublin
1 review
Dined on February 10, 2019
Overall3food1service1ambience2

I booked this for Saturday to have a nice brunch with my boyfriend as we heard good things about it. Granted we were stuck in traffic we arrived a bit late. When we got our food (which took a long time), the eggs were freezing cold but we had no time to order new ones as we had a booking to get to after. Nobody approached us and asked how the food was and getting eggs that were cold and a bit undercooked just wasn’t satisfying. Overall, wouldn’t recommend it to a friend

JJ
New England
2 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2019
Overall4food5service3ambience5

Lovely food but the staff had closed and locked the front doors by 8.50pm so we had to go through the bar to get in. Then we were questioned as to our reservation but seated none the less. We were handed the bill at 10.30 and asked if we needed a card machine. Not exactly a welcoming experience unfortunately, I think the staff were looking to go home early. Food was excellent as always, lovely venue for two friends to catch up on a Friday evening.

AM
1 review
Dined on February 3, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a very pleasant meal here. It's very spacious and comfortable. Food was delicious. Service was very friendly.

JT
Dublin
18 reviews
Dined on February 3, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Had breakfast here and it was lovely. Nice spot and busy as well

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on April 23, 2019

Hi JibinT Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and and will be sure to pass along your kind words to our kitchen team. Hope to see you here again soon. Fiona

Report
S
Dublin
1 review
Dined on February 2, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Happy with everything except for the fact it’s the second time I’ve ordered Eggs Benidict and the eggs keep coming out over done. Normally I’d expect them to be runny but they’re not. It doesn’t take away from the great taste though:)

FM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2019
Overall3food1service4ambience4

Good atmosphere, relaxing venue and very friendly staff. Food presentation and ingredients poor

OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on January 19, 2019
Overall2food2service1ambience3

Menu- basic
Service -under staffed and waiter was rude

OT
1 review
Dined on January 12, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience3

- Host could not find our confirmed “open table” reservation.
- the dining area was in semi darkness (lights were on but on fade)
- plenty of staff around the place but an air of general disorganisation
- cappuccino very poorly made (no froth, it was like a latte)
- server was quite impatient with children.
- simple enough food order took an age to arrive and then there was a five minute delay between the first plate and last plate being served.
- server refused a nine year old’s request for a small caesar salad , when mother explained the child had had the caesar here before and the portion was way too big, the server replied the salad cannot be made smaller! (An enormous Caesar salad was served and half was wasted)
- all toast on every brunch dish was cold
- plates were cold
- poached eggs were on the cold side warm
- avocado was deeply chilled
- the avocado did not taste fresh
- I wasn’t asked if was enjoying my brunch
- on the positive side the location is terrific and despite the service delays and the poor food quality we all enjoyed each other’s company.

OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on December 23, 2018
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Meetup reunion of old school gang from around the world

C
1 review
Dined on December 22, 2018
Overall1food1service4ambience3

Family brunch was a poor experience. Food of 2 eggs Benedict, 1 royale, 1 pancakes, plus full Irish. Barely warm plus the rashers were fatty scraps, no back bacon. Totally overpriced and could not stay longer than required to eat and get out.

SC
Dublin
1 review
Dined on December 21, 2018
Overall3food3service5ambience3

Really nice place but I booked well in advance for a table for lunch and we were sat by the main entrance and it was freezing every time the door opened which was annoying in the middle of winter. We all kept our coats on and to be honest it made us want to leave ASAP 😕. Great service, food and friendly staff though so it was just the cold aspect annoyed us.

A
Dublin
4 reviews
Dined on December 8, 2018
Overall3food4service4ambience4

It was twins birthday and staff were nice, no special effort made but we had a nice meal and nice service.

T
Dublin
1 review
Dined on December 8, 2018
Overall4food3service3ambience5

Menu a bit limited and very "eggy". Ambiance and decor overshaddow mediocre food. Lovely and spacious. Friendly staff.

J
Dublin
1 review
Dined on December 8, 2018
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Very relaxed dining experience. Prompt friendly service. Good wholesome food- not overly pretentious but very nice tasty meals.
Casual and it’s a feel good experience.

KF
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on December 7, 2018
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Our service was horrendous.
There was a party in the function room upstairs that was painfully loud.
The food was ok