This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitizing, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach

4.6
741 Reviews
$30 and under
Southern
Tupelo Honey is a revival of Southern food and traditions rooted in the Carolina Mountains we call home. We craft brunches, lunches and suppers that bring family and friends around the table and allow for conversations and cocktails to linger longer than usual. Always scratch-made, always responsibly-soured, and always Southern.

Our Dog Friendly Patio is available year-round. Ask our host about our special dog menu! The patio is covered from the elements, but does not have heaters.
Reservations recommended.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
What 741 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Flew from Chicago to celebrate my birthday here...food and service is awesome...highly recommended!!!

E
vipEliza
St. Louis
21 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience2

We had eaten at the Asheville location a few years ago and found it delightful. We were very excited to see a Virginia Beach location; however we were very disappointed. Service was average at best. Food was also average. Very few healthy options, as in not fried.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Eliza. We are sorry that you are disappointed, but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
E
Excellent
Richmond
7 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

We enjoyed the excellent comfort food for a birthday celebration.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon for Brunch, Lunch, Happy Hour, or Dinner.

Report
JR
JeanR
Richmond
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As typical, the service and food was exceptional. Our server, Jeff was the perfect amount of attentive without being pushy or hovering. We sat outside and I felt perfectly comfortable. I had asked for an out of the way table in a far corner and that's exactly what they delivered.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded 4 days ago

We are happy to hear Jeff made your experience with us special. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

Report
SB
StacyB
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a late lite dinner and was very impressed food and drinks were all great and service was amazing. Will definitely be a repeat customer.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded 3 days ago

Stacy, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
BD
vipBarbaraD
New York Area
16 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience3

We split a large portion of the chicken and 4 sides. We also couldn't resist the pimento cheese appetizer and a side of biscuits. Loved that some of the biscuit proceeds go to charity. Portions were generous and server was attentive.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded 4 days ago

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your food and service when you dined with us. We hope that we will see you again soon!

Report
LG
LGreen
1 review
Dined on October 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our first time here. We celebrated my mom's birthday. Everything was great - food, service, ambiance. We’ll definitely be back!!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We came here for our anniversary. We had the butter chicken with potatoes, mac and cheese and everything was amazing. You have to try the biscuits, they were sooo good. We also tried the okra but that was alright, not my favorite.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 19, 2020

Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
MF
MichelleF
Richmond
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We've had very enjoyable experiences in Myrtle Beach and Virginia Beach. We would definitely go back again.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 19, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us in Virginia Beach. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.

Report
DG
DenisrG
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was great the service was great and the atmosphere was awesome

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 16, 2020

DenisrG, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. We cannot wait to have you back for Brunch, Lunch, Happy Hour, or Dinner!

Report
MV
MichelleV
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience3

The chicken wasn't the best and the okra was not good. The biscuits and the mashed potatoes were the best. Also, waited a long time for the food

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 16, 2020

Hi Michelle V, We are sorry that you are disappointed but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
ML
MichelleL
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience4

I came solely for the sweet potato pancake fried chicken platter because I had it once before (it’s been a while since ) the first time I got it, it was AMAZING. While it was delicious again, it wasn’t the same. It used to be one HUGE pancake topped with a HUGE piece of amazing chicken. This time they gave me a “stack” of 4 small pancakes and the SMALLEST PIECE OF CHICKEN imaginable. Like the size of a chicken tender. Just a normal case of a business getting stingy the longer they are open. Do better Tupelo.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 16, 2020

Hi Michelle, We are sorry that you are disappointed but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
DT
DonT
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had an outstanding time. The food was excellent.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 16, 2020

Don, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again for Brunch, Lunch, Happy Hour, or Dinner!

Report
DR
DebbieR
Richmond
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall2food3service3ambience3

I ordered a glass of Rose wine and even though they were not busy at 5:30 my wine was served in a martini glass. I ordered their version of a cosmo and it was horrible. Not sure what they had in it but I had to send it back. I would have thought the manager would have come by to see why I sent it back but no.
Also we sat outside on the patio and it was not hot but they had the fans on and when we asked them to turn them off, we were told they could not do it.
This was our 1st time there this year due to COVID19 and won't be back because they are not set up to have the patio area open year round.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 16, 2020

Hi Debbie, We are sorry that you are disappointed but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
AE
AprilE
Richmond
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service!!! We enjoyed the sweet potatoes pancakes!!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 5, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
K
Kellie
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Food and coffee was cold. Server forgot items asked for.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 5, 2020

Kellie, We are sorry to hear you experience with us was less than satisfactory when you dined with us. We would love to know more about your experience if you have a moment to send us a private message.

Report
SG
SethG
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2020
Overall2food4service3ambience3

We had a reservation for 2 people at a “standard table” (i.e., not a high top and not outside) at 8:00pm on October 2nd. We checked in right at 8:00 and were told they just needed to wipe down our table. Right after us a party of 3 checked in for their 8:15 reservation and were immediately taken to a 4-seat booth. At first I figured that meant they were putting us at a 2-top. Several minutes later we were escorted to a 4-seat, high top table near the bar that still had the previous customer’s receipt and was sticky.

First, if we were getting seated at a 4-top, why did they seat the 8:15 reservation at a 4-top before seating the 8:00 reservation at a 4-top. Second, on the reservation web site it specifically asks if we want standard, high top, or outside; however, our request was not honored. Not only did we get seated after a party who had a reservation after us, but we were out at the wrong type of table that had not been fully cleaned.

We then had to wait longer than normal for a server to check on us. Once Adam did come, the service was fantastic and the food was delicious. We do plan to come back again this Friday. Hopefully the host and reservation system will be back to the normal great service that we are used to at Tupelo Honey.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 5, 2020

We are sorry to hear your experience with us was less than satisfactory. We appreciate you giving us a second chance this upcoming week.

Report
MK
MichaelK
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere and we could bring our dog on the patio and they have a special dog menu. My dog recommends the beef and sweet potatoes.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 2, 2020

Michael, We are happy to hear you and your dog enjoyed your experience at Tupelo Honey. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report
M
Michelle
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place to have outdoor meals if you are looking to avoid being indoors during this time of covid-19! Waiter was very friendly and all staff were wearing masks and being respectful. We were seated with at least 6 feet distance from other visitors. The food is delicious, would recommend the shrimp & grits, the honeybee dust fried chicken (mac and cheese / mashed potatoes were delicious!), fried pickle and pimento cheese appetizers, and drinks (I got the peach lemonade tea with a shot of gin and it was great). Highly recommend as a place to eat for southern comfort food!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 28, 2020

Michelle, We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food, service, and ambiance when you dined with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
NL
NolitaL
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and service. Will visit again. Staff was friendly

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 28, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon for Brunch, Lunch, Happy Hour, or Dinner!

Report
LW
LaraW
1 review
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

The waiter was awesome - love sitting outside the porch looks a little bit dirty- like it could be swept

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 28, 2020

We are happy to hear your server made your experience with us special. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Report
C
Celisa
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on September 23, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

I came here for my birthday. Not the soul food I was expecting. Wouldn’t recommend.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 26, 2020

Celisa, Thank you for providing us with your honest feedback. We are committed to providing you with quality Southern Fare and top-notch hospitality and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
JM
JaniceM
1 review
Dined on September 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and good . Very. Lean and vivid complient. Enjoyed and will return soon

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 25, 2020

Janice, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Took my best friend for her birthday and loved it. It was our first time there and we both thought everything was delicious.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 25, 2020

Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Poconos
1 review
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My family’s favorite brunch spot the food is always awesome and so is the service.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 21, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
PM
PatriciaM
1 review
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience2

The food was good but they seated us in the terrace, it was pretty windy and cold morning, the coffee got cold, we asked being moved inside, we felt uncomfortable the day no. Disappointing because we couldn’t enjoy the brunch.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 21, 2020

Patricia, Due to the current COVID restriction we have to operate under we have limited capacity. When we are fully booked we are not able to move a reservation from the patio inside unless another guest cancels their reservation. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Richmond
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Everything was amazing!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 21, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Report
AJ
AkashaJ
Richmond
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome experience everytime I go go. Never disappointed.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 20, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
CR
CraigR
1 review
Dined on September 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great food
Super clean
Attentive staff
No reason people should not feel comfortable eating inside the restaurant

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 18, 2020

CraigR, We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food, service, and ambiance when you dined with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Richmond
2 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great food and drinks!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 12, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the drinks when you dined with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon for Brunch, Lunch, Happy Hour, or Dinner!

Report
RU
RebeccaU
Richmond
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Advise reservation. Busy for a reason. Food and service were wonderful.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 13, 2020

Rebecca, We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
PK
PenneyK
Richmond
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience3

The food was terrible! I got seared catfish with Mac and cheese and green beans along with a side of okra. The okra was cold and tasted like old grease. The catfish did not have a taste. The Mac and cheese was sent back because it was nasty. The green beans were just lumps on a log. Never will go back again. My friend had a salad with chicken breast and she said the chicken was dry. Second and last time going.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 12, 2020

Hi Penny. We are sorry that you are disappointed but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
PS
PamelaS
Washington DC
21 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Birthday celebration! Outdoor seating! Suggest making a reservation to guarantee outdoor seat.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 7, 2020

Pamela, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
AS
AnonymousS
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Went for brunch and the food was so good, recommend making a reservation the wait can be long but besides that overall a great spot

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 12, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food when you dined with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
J
Joy757
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The food was great. Our server did an awesome job. The temperature of the restaurant was on the cold side, but other than that, it was a very enjoyable brunch!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 7, 2020

Joy, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New England
15 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love this place! We had breakfast on Sunday Morning and it did not disappoint. My husband had the French toast, bacon and eggs and I had the blueberry mountain pancakes, they were delicious! I wished I had room for the heavenly banana pudding ( sounds amazing) but the pancakes were more than I could handle. Thank you again for another memorable meal

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 8, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your brunch with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon to try to heavenly banana pudding.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My friend and I say outdoors on the patio and it was perfect. Nice breeze and away from the crowd. The onlybad thing is that our coffee kept getting cold but that is the life of eating outside. The breakfast bowl was delicious hot and even when it got cold. Our server was delightful. I highly recommend the bowl with fried chicken and the sweet potato pancakes.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 6, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
4 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience3

We loved brunch! Food was amazing and mimosas were so good.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 5, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your brunch with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
l
lilbit59
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The waitress was extremely pleasant. Unfortuanately, I don't remeber her name however she was from Saipan and was once in the military.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 7, 2020

That sounds like Shayna. We are happy to hear she made your visit with us special. We look forward to seeing you again soon for Brunch, Lunch, Happy Hour, or Dinner.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New England
15 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My husband enjoyed the Shoo mercy griddle was sweet and savory breakfast and dinner combined , I had the mountain harvest bowl which was great, the fried Brussel sprouts added a good flavor and crunch.
Our server Mary was awesome and shared her southern hospitality. Enjoyed local craft brews

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 5, 2020

We are happy to hear Mary made your visit with us special. You can never go wrong with some great craft beers and a shoo mercy griddle. We cannot wait to see you again soon for Brunch, Lunch, Happy Hour, or Dinner.

Report

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach using the Order Online button. Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach also offers delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (757) 264-4808.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach is rated 4.6 stars by 741 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach