Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach

4.6
758 Reviews
$30 and under
Southern
Tupelo Honey is a revival of Southern food and traditions rooted in the Carolina Mountains we call home. We craft brunches, lunches and suppers that bring family and friends around the table and allow for conversations and cocktails to linger longer than usual. Always scratch-made, always responsibly-soured, and always Southern.

Our Dog Friendly Patio is available year-round. Ask our host about our special dog menu! The patio is covered from the elements, but does not have heaters.
Reservations recommended.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 758 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
AC
AshleyC
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Quick service and waiter gave a lot of great options

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded 2 days ago

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!

Report
SK
SarahK
1 review
Dined on November 16, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Had a gin and tonic, which was tasteless, Beet salad was sub par.
Others said the fried chicken and cat fish were good. Nothing special.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded 5 days ago

Hi SarahK. We are sorry that you are disappointed, but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Jonathan was an amazing server. Drinks and food were delicious!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded 5 days ago

We are happy to hear Jonathan made your experience with us special. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
KS
KhalillaS
1 review
Dined on November 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Just came in for a quick dinner with my daughters. Everything was great. Social
Distancing was being practiced.

Food came out quick and was able to get HH prices on the apps- fried mac&cheese, green tomatoes, and pickles. All great!

I had the catfish. Yum
Daughters had chicken and biscuits and the burger.

Seasonal cocktails were great too. Pumpkin Martini and a fall sangria. Yum.

Finished with warm pecan pie.


The temps were perfect inside as it was a cold day. Overall would recommend!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded 5 days ago

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food, drinks, service and ambiance when you dined with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
JB
JessicaB
1 review
Dined on November 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

VA had just heightened restrictions again due to COVID the day we were there. We had a fairly early reservation, and location was pretty quiet. There were a few others spread out around the restaurant, and the patio was filled to it's (restricted by COVID) capacity, everyone appeared to be enjoying good food and good company. Once they can seat to capacity again I'm sure it will be buzzing! The service and food were excellent. The honey dusted chicken has a nice crunchy crust with a bit of sweet heat. The banana pudding was perfection!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded 5 days ago

Jessica, We are happy to hear you enjoyed the drinks and service when dining with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon for some more heavenly banana pudding!

Report
AL
AylahL
1 review
Dined on November 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I will recommend this place to anyone. I most certainly will be coming back for another visit.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded 5 days ago

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
J
Jordan
Richmond
1 review
Dined on November 15, 2020
Overall3food2service5ambience5

I personally was not impressed by the brunch I had. My boyfriend and I had trouble eating the biscuits it was very dry and the potatoes were burnt. The pimento cheese dip was great. But the Benedict i was not impressed with. It was our first time so we haven’t tried lunch. The server was very sweet and the drinks were good.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Jordan. We are sorry that you are disappointed, but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful experience.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on November 15, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
KK
KrisK
1 review
Dined on November 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Tupelo Honey really gets southern comfort food right! The Gouda Grits are phenomenal and a must have every time we go. We absolutely love this restaurant.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on November 13, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our goat cheese grits. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

All the food was delicious. The atmosphere was nice and quiet. The food was hot when we received it and our waitress answered all the questions we had; even mad suggestions. I definitely recommend.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on November 10, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon for Brunch, Lunch, Happy Hour, or Dinner.

Report
MM
MiMiY
1 review
Dined on November 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The atmosphere was so soothing and relaxing. We sat outdoors and it was lovely. The food was amazing and the staff was kind. We’ll definitely be back.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on November 1, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great food. My waiter Jake was phenomenal!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on November 3, 2020

We are happy to hear Jake made your experience with us special. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report
JH
JoyH
1 review
Dined on November 1, 2020
Overall3food5service3ambience5

I usually love coming to Tupelo Honey but my last visit left a lot to be desired. The hostess completely dismissed my husband’s concerns about people standing directly behind our table. It’s not unreasonable to be uncomfortable with patrons standing too closely in the middle of a pandemic. Isn’t that the reason you’re seating people every other table?! Our waiter was great but the hostess could use some customer service training

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on October 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food! Great drinks! Great service! Easy parking around back.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 31, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and drinks. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
CR
CherylR
Richmond
1 review
Dined on October 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were sending out our good friend and wanted to have a fun last evening with her. Our waitress was very patient with our various questions about drinks and dinner menu. The food was delicious and we would definitely come back again.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on November 3, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food, drinks, and service when you dined with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
MB
MontrellB
1 review
Dined on October 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The place was fantastic. It’s a restaurant that I will be visiting on a regular base for my cheat meals LOL. The people in there have a nice vibe and the food is to cry over.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on November 1, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to seeing you for your next cheat meal ;)

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Flew from Chicago to celebrate my birthday here...food and service is awesome...highly recommended!!!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 31, 2020

Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us. We hare happy to hear you enjoyed the food sand service!

Report
E
vipEliza
St. Louis
21 reviews
Dined on October 24, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience2

We had eaten at the Asheville location a few years ago and found it delightful. We were very excited to see a Virginia Beach location; however we were very disappointed. Service was average at best. Food was also average. Very few healthy options, as in not fried.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 26, 2020

Hi Eliza. We are sorry that you are disappointed, but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
E
Excellent
Richmond
7 reviews
Dined on October 24, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

We enjoyed the excellent comfort food for a birthday celebration.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 26, 2020

Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon for Brunch, Lunch, Happy Hour, or Dinner.

Report
JR
JeanR
Richmond
4 reviews
Dined on October 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As typical, the service and food was exceptional. Our server, Jeff was the perfect amount of attentive without being pushy or hovering. We sat outside and I felt perfectly comfortable. I had asked for an out of the way table in a far corner and that's exactly what they delivered.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 25, 2020

We are happy to hear Jeff made your experience with us special. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

Report
SB
StacyB
1 review
Dined on October 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a late lite dinner and was very impressed food and drinks were all great and service was amazing. Will definitely be a repeat customer.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 26, 2020

Stacy, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
BD
vipBarbaraD
New York Area
16 reviews
Dined on October 23, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

We split a large portion of the chicken and 4 sides. We also couldn't resist the pimento cheese appetizer and a side of biscuits. Loved that some of the biscuit proceeds go to charity. Portions were generous and server was attentive.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 25, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your food and service when you dined with us. We hope that we will see you again soon!

Report
LG
LGreen
1 review
Dined on October 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our first time here. We celebrated my mom's birthday. Everything was great - food, service, ambiance. We’ll definitely be back!!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 24, 2020

Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We came here for our anniversary. We had the butter chicken with potatoes, mac and cheese and everything was amazing. You have to try the biscuits, they were sooo good. We also tried the okra but that was alright, not my favorite.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 19, 2020

Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
MF
MichelleF
Richmond
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We've had very enjoyable experiences in Myrtle Beach and Virginia Beach. We would definitely go back again.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 19, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us in Virginia Beach. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.

Report
DG
DenisrG
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was great the service was great and the atmosphere was awesome

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 16, 2020

DenisrG, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. We cannot wait to have you back for Brunch, Lunch, Happy Hour, or Dinner!

Report
MV
MichelleV
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience3

The chicken wasn't the best and the okra was not good. The biscuits and the mashed potatoes were the best. Also, waited a long time for the food

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 16, 2020

Hi Michelle V, We are sorry that you are disappointed but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
ML
MichelleL
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience4

I came solely for the sweet potato pancake fried chicken platter because I had it once before (it’s been a while since ) the first time I got it, it was AMAZING. While it was delicious again, it wasn’t the same. It used to be one HUGE pancake topped with a HUGE piece of amazing chicken. This time they gave me a “stack” of 4 small pancakes and the SMALLEST PIECE OF CHICKEN imaginable. Like the size of a chicken tender. Just a normal case of a business getting stingy the longer they are open. Do better Tupelo.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 16, 2020

Hi Michelle, We are sorry that you are disappointed but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
DT
DonT
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had an outstanding time. The food was excellent.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 16, 2020

Don, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again for Brunch, Lunch, Happy Hour, or Dinner!

Report
DR
DebbieR
Richmond
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall2food3service3ambience3

I ordered a glass of Rose wine and even though they were not busy at 5:30 my wine was served in a martini glass. I ordered their version of a cosmo and it was horrible. Not sure what they had in it but I had to send it back. I would have thought the manager would have come by to see why I sent it back but no.
Also we sat outside on the patio and it was not hot but they had the fans on and when we asked them to turn them off, we were told they could not do it.
This was our 1st time there this year due to COVID19 and won't be back because they are not set up to have the patio area open year round.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 16, 2020

Hi Debbie, We are sorry that you are disappointed but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
AE
AprilE
Richmond
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service!!! We enjoyed the sweet potatoes pancakes!!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 5, 2020

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
K
Kellie
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Food and coffee was cold. Server forgot items asked for.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 5, 2020

Kellie, We are sorry to hear you experience with us was less than satisfactory when you dined with us. We would love to know more about your experience if you have a moment to send us a private message.

Report
SG
SethG
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2020
Overall2food4service3ambience3

We had a reservation for 2 people at a “standard table” (i.e., not a high top and not outside) at 8:00pm on October 2nd. We checked in right at 8:00 and were told they just needed to wipe down our table. Right after us a party of 3 checked in for their 8:15 reservation and were immediately taken to a 4-seat booth. At first I figured that meant they were putting us at a 2-top. Several minutes later we were escorted to a 4-seat, high top table near the bar that still had the previous customer’s receipt and was sticky.

First, if we were getting seated at a 4-top, why did they seat the 8:15 reservation at a 4-top before seating the 8:00 reservation at a 4-top. Second, on the reservation web site it specifically asks if we want standard, high top, or outside; however, our request was not honored. Not only did we get seated after a party who had a reservation after us, but we were out at the wrong type of table that had not been fully cleaned.

We then had to wait longer than normal for a server to check on us. Once Adam did come, the service was fantastic and the food was delicious. We do plan to come back again this Friday. Hopefully the host and reservation system will be back to the normal great service that we are used to at Tupelo Honey.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 5, 2020

We are sorry to hear your experience with us was less than satisfactory. We appreciate you giving us a second chance this upcoming week.

Report
MK
MichaelK
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere and we could bring our dog on the patio and they have a special dog menu. My dog recommends the beef and sweet potatoes.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on October 2, 2020

Michael, We are happy to hear you and your dog enjoyed your experience at Tupelo Honey. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report
M
Michelle
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place to have outdoor meals if you are looking to avoid being indoors during this time of covid-19! Waiter was very friendly and all staff were wearing masks and being respectful. We were seated with at least 6 feet distance from other visitors. The food is delicious, would recommend the shrimp & grits, the honeybee dust fried chicken (mac and cheese / mashed potatoes were delicious!), fried pickle and pimento cheese appetizers, and drinks (I got the peach lemonade tea with a shot of gin and it was great). Highly recommend as a place to eat for southern comfort food!

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 28, 2020

Michelle, We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food, service, and ambiance when you dined with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
NL
NolitaL
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and service. Will visit again. Staff was friendly

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 28, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon for Brunch, Lunch, Happy Hour, or Dinner!

Report
LW
LaraW
1 review
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

The waiter was awesome - love sitting outside the porch looks a little bit dirty- like it could be swept

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 28, 2020

We are happy to hear your server made your experience with us special. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Report
C
Celisa
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on September 23, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

I came here for my birthday. Not the soul food I was expecting. Wouldn’t recommend.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 26, 2020

Celisa, Thank you for providing us with your honest feedback. We are committed to providing you with quality Southern Fare and top-notch hospitality and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report
JM
JaniceM
1 review
Dined on September 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and good . Very. Lean and vivid complient. Enjoyed and will return soon

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 25, 2020

Janice, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Took my best friend for her birthday and loved it. It was our first time there and we both thought everything was delicious.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach
Responded on September 25, 2020

Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach using the Order Online button. Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach also offers delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (757) 264-4808.

Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach is rated 4.6 stars by 758 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Tupelo Honey - Virginia Beach