Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to Main Content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United States
  3. Charlotte
  4. Charlotte
  5. Uptown
Honey Dusted Fried Chicken - Tupelo Honey - Uptown Charlotte, Charlotte, NC

Tupelo Honey - Uptown Charlotte

4.3
4.3
1718 Reviews
$30 and under
American
Tupelo Honey is a revival of Southern food and traditions rooted in the Carolina Mountains we call home. We craft brunches, lunches and suppers that bring family and friends around the table and allow for conversations and cocktails to linger longer than usual. Always scratch-made, always responsibly-sourced.
Please arrive on time with all members in your party present. We will cancel reservations 15 minutes after the scheduled time.
In compliance with the NC mandate please wear a mask upon entry and when moving around the restaurant. Our patio is covered, but it is not heated. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Reservations recommended on the weekend.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 108 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Other options

  • Order online

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Cuisines

    American

  • Hours of operation

    Mon–Fri 11:00 am–8:00 pm Sat, Sun 9:00 am–8:00 pm

  • Phone number

    (980) 270-7268

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress code

    Business Casual

  • Executive chef

    Eric Gabrynowicz

  • Neighborhood

    Uptown

  • Parking details

    Street Parking

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Popular dishes

What 1,718 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.3
4.3 based on recent ratings
  • 4.3Food
  • 4.3Service
  • 4.3Ambience
  • 4.1Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Charlotte

    Great for brunch

  • Charlotte

    Most Booked

  • Charlotte

    Great for brunch

  • Charlotte

    Most Booked

Sort by

Filters

  1. GK

    GaryK

    Charlotte

    5 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    5 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall3food3service3ambience3
    chicken was dry and drink was weak. Had to ask for water 3 times.
  2. H

    Hilary

    Western NC

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    I had the avocado bacon sandwich with havarti cheese. Those blended flavors were very good. Others at the table had the pimento cheese fried green tomato sandwich which was good but very filling and the fried chicken with collards as the side was also very good Service was great. It’s a casual family restaurant so the noise level was high but not annoying.
  3. JW

    JosephW

    Charleston

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    Happy to finally get a Sunday reservation. Food and service were outstanding. Chicken and waffles still the best.
  4. f

    fastfreddieb

    Charlotte

    58 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    58 reviews

    Dined on November 26, 2022

    overall2food1service4ambience3
    Way over priced for what it is even in the city. 15.95 for fried chicken and it was so overcooked it was stringy and I had to chew forEver. I didn't have the heart to bother the waitress as she was so sweet and kind. My wife had the shrimp and grits and she said it was ok but at one point had to show me a shrimp and ask if it was cooked enough... Over and Under (pun intended) on Tuopy, save the 50 bucks for lunch and go to a mom and pop diner for half the money and better food.
  5. SH

    SarahH

    Philadelphia

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on November 25, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Stopped in for lunch and everything was great
  6. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 20, 2022

    overall2food1service4ambience4
    Food was tasteless, chicken was dry, the meatloaf was actually a meatball and tasteless.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded 7 days agoHello. I am sorry to hear about the unsatisfactory meal that you experienced during your visit. Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, so that we may share it with our kitchen Team and use it to improve.

  7. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 19, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Quan (or Was it Wan) was awesome!

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on November 20, 2022Thank you for your review and for shouting out Juan! We appreciate you.

  8. CC

    ChristopherC

    Memphis/West TN

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on November 19, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    It’s great. The grits were delicious!

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on November 20, 2022Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed our famous grits.

  9. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Charleston

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 14, 2022

    overall1food1service4ambience1
    Below average food. No ambiance.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on November 20, 2022Hello. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. We hope that you will visit us again and have a more enjoyable experience.

  10. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Phoenix

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 12, 2022

    overall3food5service2ambience2
    The food was amazing but the service was less than adequate. There was a cook that was coming in and out of the back room who used the F word three times with my six year old sitting right next to me. Not cool.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on November 20, 2022I am sorry that this was your experience. I agree that this behavior is not cool, nor is it acceptable. Thank you for sharing this with us, so that we may address the issue. Please know that this is something that we take seriously and will be looking in to.

  11. AH

    AngelaH

    Charlotte

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on November 11, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    I have seen recent reviews complaining about service and food temperature. We dined on a Friday night which is about as busy as it gets. Our server was attentive and accurate. I had the ol School breakfast bowl which was enormous for the price and delicious. Hubby had chicken and waffles. Both came out of the kitchen before we could finish our biscuits. We had a great experience. Would have no hesitation in returning at any time.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on November 13, 2022Thank you so much for your thoughtful review Angela! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your awesome experience with everyone. We hope to see you back soon!

  12. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Raleigh

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 11, 2022

    overall2food5service3ambience4
    Good food, rude hostess.
  13. W

    Winston03

    Charlotte

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on November 10, 2022

    overall1food4service1ambience3
    We had a reservation and was seated promptly. Waited 10 min to be acknowledged. After that service was poor. Server even reach across with a plate and bumped my husbands hand who was eating which caused him to spill all down himself. Oops sorry he said and just walked off. No napkins or empathy. We had to wipe the food off my husband. Won’t be back.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on November 13, 2022Hello. I am sorry to hear about the accident that happened during your visit. It sounds like we could have handled it much better. It is our goal for all of our guests to feel welcome and taken care of. I am sorry that this wasn't your experience. I will share your feedback with our team, so that they may learn from it. Thank you.

  14. d

    diner1

    Charlotte

    5 reviews

    3.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on November 9, 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience3
    The restaurant was out of their House Wine and also the Chocolate Cake dessert on a recent Wednesday night dinner. The reservation was at 6:00 and the restaurant was not very busy for a night when there were multiple activities going on Uptown. We were told they don't stock the House Wine as much as the other wine offerings which were limited. Also, were told the last piece of cake had been served right before we ordered dessert at 6:45. Again, with limited dessert options that seemed odd. Our meals were just average and not quite what we expected from this restaurant.
  15. RC

    RyannC

    Charlotte

    2 reviews

    1.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on November 6, 2022

    overall1food1service2ambience1
    The restaurant was filthy and poorly run. Will not eat here again.
  16. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Charlotte

    6 reviews

    1.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on November 6, 2022

    overall1food1service4ambience1
    Food was horrible. The biscuits were dry and salty. Generous size tho. My friend ordered the chicken and waffles. They brought the food out cold and maybe a half portion. He sent it back and didn’t eat. He said he would go without. I ordered the smothered chicken Mac and cheese and fried potatoes crackling. The gravy was bland as well as the Mac and cheese. They cut the potato in half and fried it. It was a terrible experience. I sent it back. The waitress was great. I went to Wendy’s after because I was so hungry. Terrible food experience tho

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on November 9, 2022Hello. Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. I hate to hear that you did not enjoy your food while you were dining with us. I will share your feedback with our kitchen Team so that these issues can be looked in to and corrected.

  17. SN

    SarahN

    Denver

    3 reviews

    2.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on November 4, 2022

    overall2food3service1ambience5
    We had in guessing an off experience. It first started with the drinks… The old fashions were made pretty poorly really sweet and our server didn’t know the difference between a Sauvignon Blanc and a red wine. Then our meal came out very sporadically sides came after we were almost finished with eating our meal and there was no apology or what was going on it was just here you go and pretty disappointing. Food was average.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on November 9, 2022Hello Sarah. I am sorry to hear about the service and food that you received during your visit. That is not our standard and I am sorry that you received a sub par experience. I hope that you will visit us again to see how great a Tupelo Honey experience can be. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

  18. JC

    JimC

    New York Area

    6 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on November 4, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Stopped by on a whim and fell in love with the restaurant. The service was superb and our waiter prevented us from over-ordering. The fried green tomatoes were legend. The Mac&Cheese loaded waffles were definitely inspired.
  19. JL

    JeffereyL

    Los Angeles

    20 reviews

    5.0

    20 reviews

    Dined on October 31, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We all had the fried chicken in one way or another. Delicious. The craft cocktails were very tasty too.
  20. AI

    AmyInCharlotte

    Charlotte

    23 reviews

    5.0

    23 reviews

    Dined on October 30, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Nice seat by the window. Server was friendly and made sure our water glasses were full and food was good.
  21. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Charlotte

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on October 28, 2022

    overall4food2service5ambience5
    Let me first say our server Austin was great! The food on the other hand was lacking, recently visited the Asheville location and it was so good we decided to take my mom here and she just was not pleased. Her mahi was over cooked and very dry, she ate her sides but did not enjoy her green beans. My Brussels sprouts were lacking in flavor, I had to switch them out for collards. Also I had to ask for extra gravy for my smothered chicken, definitely came out lacking the smothered. My wife’s shrimp and grits were very soupy than usual so she decided to stir them and take them home hoping they would absorb by next day. So in all the service was great and the fried tomatoes were amazing as always but the other food was not up to par as usual, this had to be a bad night for the kitchen. Will be awhile before my next visit but I’m not counting them out just yet.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 30, 2022Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for shouting out Austin! I am sorry to hear that your food was less than stellar. Please know that this is not our standard. We look forward to you returning so that you may have a meal that you will love. Thank you.

  22. EH

    ElizabethH

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 28, 2022

    overall3food3service4ambience4
    The bone in fried chicken was slightly on the dry side with too much crispy coating which was a bit dark likely as the oil hadn’t been changed in a while.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 30, 2022Thank you for your feedback Elizabeth. We will share it with our culinary Team.

  23. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Charlotte

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 27, 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    This was our first time eating here. The service was very good. The food was very flavorful but wasn’t hot.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 30, 2022Thank you

  24. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 26, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Birthday dinner
  25. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Charlotte

    8 reviews

    vip
    1.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on October 23, 2022

    overall1food1service2ambience3
    We had a reservation and waited about 15 minutes to be seated. We waited another 10 minutes for a server, only to be told we were seated in the bar area and that one of the folks manning the bar would take our orders. The food came out - the chicken looked like it was under a dimly lit warmer. It was hard, dry and Luke warm as if it had been sitting for a while. The Mac and cheese was barely warm. We ordered Brussels sprouts and found out later that they were out when we inquired as to why they were not delivered. We subbed for collard greens - they were delicious. The Mega mimosa was the same size as the water glass. Overall horrible experience and the sad part is that I’ve heard nothing but good things about the food. Why our experience was so bad, I have no idea

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 26, 2022Hello. I am sorry to hear that your experience was so far away from our standards and what we strive for. I appreciate your patience and consideration. I hope you will dine with us again to see that all of the wonderful things you have heard about us are in fact true.

  26. t

    teresat

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 22, 2022

    overall3food1service5ambience4
    The chicken was fried so hard on our plates that I only could chew it a little then spit it out because it was stringy from being fried so hard. Other food was cold. Collards were sweet but that is a matter of preference I personally hate any greens that taste sweet. The waiter was really nice so we didn't really complain except about the lack of temperature.
  27. CT

    CTFoodie

    New York Area

    58 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    58 reviews

    Dined on October 21, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    This was my first time at the Uptown location. I was pleasantly surprised at how big it is and nicely decorated it was. Very cool vibe. The waitress want all tha knowledgeable about the food or the drinks given she was pescatarian and hadn’t really tried much of the beverages…but that was fine. We enjoyed the honey siracha chicken and waffles. I will definitely be back.
  28. D

    Dinner

    New York Area

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 19, 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Delicious food as always. Wish they still had the vegetable dish that was a sample of their different veggi sides.
  29. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Houston

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on October 16, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    Great dining experience while visiting Charlotte.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 19, 2022Thank you for dining with us!

  30. CC

    CelticChef4Food

    Charleston

    11 reviews

    4.0

    11 reviews

    Dined on October 16, 2022

    overall4food4service5ambience3
    Came in on a business trip for dinner. Made my reservation through Open Table and was seated at the bar! The mixologist behind the bar, combined with the well orchestrated teamwork from the kitchen to server to table was nothing short of amazing! All of the food was delicious from the Margarita, to the Fried Green tomatoes (you really need to try them) although lacking some salt were delicious! Went on to my main course of Shrimp and Grits which was sublime and creamy, finishing with a mini serving of the pecan pie, which was just the right amount of sweet after the amazing southern comfort dinner! If you’re in Charlotte downtown for fun or business; I can highly recommend making a stop her for Lunch, cocktails, dinner or all three! The team at Tupelo Honey have it all going on and then some!

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 19, 2022Thank you so much for your detailed and thoughtful review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience.

  31. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Charlotte

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 16, 2022

    overall3food2service5ambience4
    We had to wait 20 minutes to be seated even with a reservation and multiple empty tables. My eggs Benedict were cooked well done vs medium and runny. Drinks and service were great though!
  32. E

    Eric66

    Baltimore

    16 reviews

    5.0

    16 reviews

    Dined on October 13, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Creative menu items, even a “fried cauliflower” for vegetarians. Good food, prepared well and brought on the table in a timely manner
  33. P

    Paul

    Charleston

    51 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    51 reviews

    Dined on October 12, 2022

    overall2food2service2ambience2
    I have been to Tupelo Honey before and remembered it to be much better than my time there this time. They were out of several items, the food really was not that good, and the server didn’t really seem to want to be there. I would not recommend going to this location and doubt I’ll go back.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 15, 2022Hello Paul. I am sorry to hear about your disappointing recent visit. It sounds like your visit was not up to our standards. I appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback. I will share it with our kitchen team and we will use it to improve. I hope that you do return, so that you may see that we have taken your feedback to heart. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

  34. NT

    NickT

    Charlotte

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 10, 2022

    overall3food4service3ambience1
    The fried chicken was good. Not as good as their Milwaukee location as I've been informed by my party. Not as good as what was Price's Chicken Coop and not as good chicken as a place like Gus' but, good. My suggestion to Tupelo Honey is 1) pour a larger cocktail. For $13, it was a lot of ice, garnish and simple syrup. The total liquid content (including syrup and bitters) was laughable & 2) dim down the lights just a tad to create some ambience. It felt like a brightly lit diner.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 12, 2022Thank you for your feedback Nick. We will definitely take it into consideration as we continue on our mission of improving everyday.

  35. B

    Brandi

    Calgary

    30 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    30 reviews

    Dined on October 9, 2022

    overall2food2service4ambience2
    On our visit on a Sunday evening after attending the Roval race at Charlotte Motor Speedway and the Carolina Panthers were playing in town it appeared that the goal that night was to get people in and out of the restaurant quickly. Our food arrived 5 minutes after ordering it - the food was average, portion sizes on the smaller side. The portion vs price of the item -- I believe you should get more food or the price should be lowered.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 19, 2022Thank you for your feedback on the portion size Brandi.

  36. KW

    KathyW

    Charlotte

    21 reviews

    3.0

    21 reviews

    Dined on October 8, 2022

    overall3food4service5ambience4
    Food was yummy but expedition of food was way off. First three of four dishes came out cold and had to be sent back. Fourth dish came out much later. Server was very nice though and working very hard to keep us happy.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 9, 2022Thank you for your feedback Kathy. I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your experience. I hope that the service you enjoyed will bring you back, so that you can see how great the food is.

  37. MR

    MaryR

    San Francisco

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on October 8, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Biscuits are a must and the specialty mimosas were on point!

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 9, 2022Thank you Mary!

  38. A

    Andi

    Chicago

    1 review

    vip
    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 8, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Excellent and creative twists on comfort food, beautiful and trendy decor and atmosphere.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 12, 2022Thank you so much! We love to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

  39. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 6, 2022

    overall4food5service5ambience5
    It was good food. The servers were very nice and its in the heart of the city so a wonderful place to view and walk around.

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 12, 2022Thank you for coming and checking us out!

  40. b

    bama

    Birmingham

    46 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    46 reviews

    Dined on October 4, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Excellent service with great food!!

    Tupelo Honey - Uptown CharlotteResponded on October 6, 2022Thank you!

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Tupelo Honey - Uptown Charlotte using the Order Online button. Tupelo Honey - Uptown Charlotte also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (980) 270-7268.

Tupelo Honey - Uptown Charlotte is rated 4.3 stars by 1718 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 108 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Other options

  • Order online
Google Map for Tupelo Honey - Uptown Charlotte

101 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28280

Additional information

  • Neighborhood

    Uptown

  • Hours of operation

    Mon–Fri 11:00 am–8:00 pm Sat, Sun 9:00 am–8:00 pm

  • Cuisines

    American

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Dress code

    Business Casual

  • Parking details

    Street Parking

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

  • Executive chef

    Eric Gabrynowicz

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo