True Food Kitchen - Hackensack

4.3
238 Reviews
$30 and under
American
True Food Kitchen is a restaurant and lifestyle brand inspired by the philosophy that food should make you feel better, and that great tasting food and thoughtfully crafted beverages can serve as the foundation for a life well lived. From nutrient-dense staples and carefully sourced proteins to little-known superfoods, True Food Kitchen is committed to sourcing the most responsible, creative, in-season ingredients.

True Food Kitchen in Hackensack is currently open with dine-in and carry-out service. As always, we will continue to prioritize the health and safety of our guests by following the guidance of the CDC and local health officials. We appreciate your patience and understanding as we navigate this new normal together.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 238 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
m
mpnp
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food was absolutely delicious. Interesting options and creative combinations. Each of the four of us ordered a different meal and we all loved it. Will definitely go back!

DE
DanielE
New York Area
1 review
Dined on November 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good food, great service, nice experience

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for the 5 STARS Daniel!

Report
f
vipfoodtaster
New York Area
16 reviews
Dined on November 27, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

There seemed to be much confusion between the bartender and waiter. Ordered a special drink and wanted vodka instead of tequila and was told that it wasn’t possible ordered a second drink and was told they didn’t have it anymore. The waiter did escalate to his manager so at one point came back and said they are going to make the drink they way I requested. Then the burgers were delivered but another waitstaff he didn’t know which was med well and was well. My burger was over cooked not very tasty but I did not want to be late for movie.
I have been here several times last night was off point.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded 6 days ago

I want to personally apologize about your experience with us. At your convenience, please contact the restaurant directly, i would love to turn this experience into a five star. I look forward to hearing from you. Mitch Jamnik General Manager

Report
AB
AmyB
Miami
4 reviews
Dined on November 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food and great ambiance! I highly recommend True Food.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on November 29, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 STARS Amy!

Report
NJ
vipNJgourmet
New York Area
64 reviews
Dined on November 24, 2021
Overall4food4service2ambience3

I came here twice since my first impression was so good. Then, it was ruined as not delivering food for nearly 30 minutes. They brought us the appetizer free in the meantime, but we couldn't finish our main meal either as a result. We didn't receive little pita plate in the beginning when ordering two bowls of squash soup either. It could've been better, and I was not impressed by the attentiveness from waiter. My parents changed their mind that they don't want to go back to the restaurant.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on November 27, 2021

I want to personally apologize about your experience with us. At your convenience, please contact the restaurant directly, i would love to turn this experience into a five star. I look forward to hearing from you. Mitch Jamnik General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on November 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food . Great staff

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on November 24, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 STARS!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on November 20, 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Food was delicious.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on November 22, 2021

Thank you for the feedback! Mitch Jamnik General Manager

Report
R
amyR
New York Area
7 reviews
Dined on November 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great lunch with friends. Lots of vegetarian options. Everyone liked their meals and the service was excellent

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on November 22, 2021

Thank you for the 5 STARS Amy! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
J
Joyce
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on November 17, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

True Foods is a lovely restaurant. I usually enjoy the food and the fact that I can find so many gluten free items on the menu. Yesterday my friend and I had a delicious soup, followed by the shrimp tacos, and later dessert. We were surprised that the corn salad and the cauliflower side were both too spicy for us even though it wasn't marked spicy on the menu. The taco was delicious and so was the flourless chocolate cake with ice cream and the ginger iced tea.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on November 21, 2021

Joyce, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. I am sorry to hear that the cauliflower rice and corn were too spicy for you. Next time your in, please let us know and we'll be happy to guide you through the menu to ensure we stay away from the spice. We look forward to serving you again soon! Thank you, Mitch Jamnik General manager

Report
JF
JenF
1 review
Dined on November 14, 2021
Overall2food5service1ambience5

Amazing food and ambience. Awful waiter with an attitude.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on November 17, 2021

Jen, I am so sorry to hear about your experience with our server. If you could please call the restaurant i would love to discuss this further. Thank you, Mitch Jamnik General manager

Report
C
Cliff
1 review
Dined on November 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was my 1st time at the restaurant .I thought it was excellent! My parents wanted to go somewhere different before they headed to Florida for Thanksgiving. Thank you again

M
Momo2
New York Area
19 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience3

A better lunch place than dinner. Healthy assortment of dishes. Service was lacking - waiter was slow and inattentive.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on November 8, 2021

Momo, I want to apologize about your experience with us. Slow and inattentive service is unacceptable and not our standard of service. At your convenience, could you please call the restaurant to discuss further. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you, Mitch Jamnik General Manager

Report
V
Vicki
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on November 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Several vegan options!!! Great selection, delicious drinks too!!

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on November 7, 2021

Thank you for the 5 STARS Vicki! We look forward to serving you again real soon! Mitch Jamnik General Manager

Report
MC
MichelleC
1 review
Dined on October 30, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience3

Atmosphere a little too much like a cafeteria, but the food was outstanding! I’m vegan and I was beyond delighted to try this restaurant! (Edamame dump,I gave were divine!)

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on November 1, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 STARS Michelle! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you back real soon! Mitch Jamnik General Manager

Report
KA
KimA
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on October 30, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Very good experience. Very clean, quiet, friendly environement. The food was very good. I only rated it a 4 out of 5 because I need to visit it a few more times and have more experience with the menu but what I had was high quality and tasty.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on November 1, 2021

Thank you so much for the review Kim! We look forward to having back real soon! Mitch Jamnik General manager

Report
SA
SusA
New York Area
23 reviews
Dined on October 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great as always!

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on November 1, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 STARS!

Report
LB
vipLindaB1kanobie
New York Area
12 reviews
Dined on October 28, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience2

This was our 6th or 7th time at this restaurant, all previous visits were excellent dining experiences.

This time, the service could not have been worse. It took almost half an hour to get our cocktails. They even had the audacity to bring our appetizers and entrees BEFORE we finally got our drinks. The manager was hard to find, when we finally located her, she did apologize, gave us a lame excuse for why the drinks were delayed and at least had the common sense to comp the drinks. During the meal, dirty appetizer plates were not cleared until the entrees arrived, no one came by to ask how we were enjoying our food, our dirty entree plates were never cleared and they brought the check before they asked us if we wanted dessert. Our waiter totally disappeared during the entire meal. This was an unmitigated disaster on a weekday evening when the restaurant was only about 20% occupied. WE WILL NOT RETURN AND WILL MAKE SURE WE TELL AS MANY OF OUR FRIENDS AS WE CAN ABOUT THE UNPROFESSIONAL AND INATTENTIVE SERVICE WE EXPERIENCED.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on November 1, 2021

Linda, I am very sorry to hear about experience at our location. Based on your feedback,i have followed up with my team to ensure an experience like this will no reoccur in the future. I know that you may not want to revisit our restaurant again but I do hope you will reconsider. I would like to personally invite you back and give you the experience you deserve. I hope that you will accept my sincerest apology and if there is anything else I can do, ill be happy to do so. Thank you, Mitch

Report
DK
DavidK
1 review
Dined on October 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

If you’re looking for delicious vegan food options in a pleasant atmosphere, True Food Kitchen deserves your attention. From starters through dessert, my wife and I enjoyed everything we ordered. We are looking forward to our next visit to experience other dishes.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 26, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 STARS David! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
T
Travelingdiva
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on October 23, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Food was good, ambiance was nice and service was good. Grateful they can accommodate for allergies.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 25, 2021

Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great server, explained everything. Was kind about the oat milk!
All good! Highly recommended! We’ll be back! Thank you!

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 25, 2021

Thank you so much for the feedback! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 23, 2021
Overall4food5service1ambience5

Great food but very poor service

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 25, 2021

I am so sorry to hear about your experience with us. If you could please give me a call at the restaurant to further discuss i would greatly appreciate that. Thank you, Mitch

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on October 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food is amazing

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 19, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 STARS!

Report
L
Linds
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Large space so can spread out and excellent food with a great variety for various palates!

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 19, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 STARS!

Report
F
Fudie15
New York Area
33 reviews
Dined on October 16, 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience4

Ok. Nothing much to rave about

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 19, 2021

I am so sorry to hear that we did not give you a 5 STAR experience. If you could please give me a call at the restaurant to further discuss i would greatly appreciate that. Thank you, Mitch

Report
F
vipFoodie
New York Area
22 reviews
Dined on October 16, 2021
Overall2food2service5ambience3

There was nothing memorable about this meal. When you go out to eat at a restaurant the food should be delicious. You return to a restaurant over and over because you have ordered some food items that taste so wonderful you are drawn back to that restaurant. You crave that starter or entre or dessert but not here ! True Food Kitchen needs to up their game or they will be gone in 1 year from now ! Sorry to be so harsh.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 19, 2021

I am so sorry to hear about your experience with us. If you could please give me a call at the restaurant to further discuss i would greatly appreciate that. Thank you, Mitch

Report
BD
BrittD
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on October 14, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Love that TFK serves healthy fare. However, that doesn’t always translate to flavorful food. Drinks were excellent as were apps: especially the cauliflower. However, entrees were bland and dry. Seabass fir $30 was uninspiring and spaghetti squash casserole was dull. Strange that the only milk for coffee is oat milk when there is plenty of dairy on the menu-why draw the line there? Overall good but not dying to go back

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 19, 2021

Britt, I am so sorry to hear about your food experience with us. If you could please give me a call at the restaurant to further discuss i would greatly appreciate that. Thank you, Mitch

Report
LS
LynnS
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Great food with a healthy bent. Atmosphere seems to be geared toward young families. Wait staff very friendly and helpful. Great to have such healthy options when I’m not in the mood to cook.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 19, 2021

Thank you so much for the review Lynn! Very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience.

Report
j
vipjersey111
New York Area
170 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Fortunately we were able to sit outside, excellent menu choices

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 19, 2021

Thank you so much for your review!

Report
MS
MollieS
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food and great ambiance. Very sanitary too

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 19, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 STARS Mollie!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience4

Service was inattentive. Had the sea bass. It was overcooked and very dry. We were six and entrees didn’t all come out at the same time. Waiter cleared half the dishes and never came back for the rest or to ask if we wanted dessert etc. had to flag down the manager just to get a check.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 19, 2021

I am so sorry to hear about your experience with us. If you could please give me a call at the restaurant to further discuss i would greatly appreciate that. Thank you, Mitch

Report
IR
IronRach
New York Area
17 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience4

Our server was in a very hot hurry and seemed to not have time to take our food and drink order; really disappointing.
Also, disappointing was staring at the lipstick stain on my glass.
I hope this isn't going to be one of the cases when a restaurant starts off strong and goes downhill....

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 19, 2021

I am so sorry to hear about your experience with us. If you could please give me a call at the restaurant to further discuss i would greatly appreciate that. Thank you, Mitch

Report
s
smiley422
New York Area
24 reviews
Dined on September 30, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

New experience! Six of us had mixed reactions. Too much fennel, too much cilantro, for some. Perfect for others.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on October 19, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 STARS!

Report
c
carriew
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2021
Overall2food1service2ambience3

Our waiter and his assistant who is training could not have been more lovely and warm. The food however was almost an hour of all the hamburger was burnt to a crisp the cauliflower had absolutely no flavor and tasted like it was thawed out from frozen we ordered sparkling water and got flat it was a disaster and they only charged us for one meal I would never go back the only redeeming quality was the lovely waiter his name was Leo

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on September 29, 2021

Carrie, I am so sorry to hear about your experience with us. If you could please give me a call at the restaurant to further discuss i would greatly appreciate that. Thank you, Mitch

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
12 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience5

Not the waiters fault. But the bartender was slow. Our appetizer came before our drinks. And don't alter the menu!!! They don't understand that. And as for a cocktail not on the menu, forget it. I think maybe everything is predate and the just pour as needed. I wanted one drink and they couldn't do it, because they out of nutmeg. So I said skip it and he said that can't be done. What?

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on September 27, 2021

Dominik, I am so sorry to hear about your subpar experience with us. If you could please give me a call at the restaurant to further discuss i would greatly appreciate that. Waiting that long to a beverage is not our standard and i would love to turn this experience into a great one. Thank you, Mitch

Report
C
Chelli
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2021
Overall3food2service3ambience5

I’ve been here a few times and always gave you 5 stars. This time I was bringing people to your restaurant and didn’t have good experience. There was hair in one pizza, couldn’t make two drinks because was missing one ingredient and waiter was not like the past I’ve had. Sorry to say I was very disappointed this time.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on September 27, 2021

Chelli I am so sorry to hear about your subpar experience with us. If you could please give me a call at the restaurant to further discuss i would greatly appreciate that. Thank you, Mitch

Report
T
Tiffany
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on September 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food is great! I was told that it's good for people who have an anti-inflammatory diet. It's my second time here and I have never felt bloated after eating. Also, get their cookie dessert.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on September 27, 2021

Thank you for the 5 STARS Tiffany! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
LG
LisaG
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on September 21, 2021
Overall1food1service3ambience4

I decided to give this place another try after having a bad take-out experience. I liked the menu and the outdoor dining option so I met my friend here for dinner. I ordered the skinny margarita which came without salt and was heavy on the cucumber. Maybe that works for some but it tasted more like a cucumber cocktail than a margarita.

For dinner, I had the grilled chicken parm. The chicken came in two round circles (not flat like most chicken parm) with burnt cheese on both ends. The chicken was chewy and very hard to cut with the cutlery provided. We also didn’t have cutlery when we got our meals.

Overall this was another disappointing experience at the True Food Kitchen, especially since I met a friend here from out of state and was trying to take him for a nice dinner. I don’t anticipate returning here for a third let-down.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on September 27, 2021

Lisa, I am so sorry to hear about your experience with us. If you could please give me a call at the restaurant to further discuss i would greatly appreciate that. I look forward to hearing from you Thank you, Mitch

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
12 reviews
Dined on September 20, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Food needed more flavoring. Everything was bland

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on September 23, 2021

I am so sorry to hear about your experience with us in regards to the taste of food. Please contact the restaurant so we can discuss this further. Thank you.

Report
A
Antonius
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Waiter Elvis was excellent and the Manager solved a little issue the right way. Customers are valued and remarks are recognized.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on September 23, 2021

Thank you for the feedback Antonius. I am happy to hear that we were able to recognize and address the issue right away and turn your experience around. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
JC
JenniferC
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and service. Also, great drink menu! Can’t wait to go back.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack
Responded on September 23, 2021

Thank you for the 5 STARS Jennifer. We hope to see you again soon!

Report

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from True Food Kitchen - Hackensack using the Order Online button. True Food Kitchen - Hackensack also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (551) 295-7401.

True Food Kitchen - Hackensack is rated 4.3 stars by 238 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.