Toro Toro

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1084 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Toro Toro offers a twist on the contemporary tapas experience, blending Pan Latin flavors and creative sharing plates. The Acclaimed Chef Richard Sandoval has brought his latest concept all the way from Dubai to the nation’s capital. Guests can anticipate a spin on South and Central American ingredients and flavors through a variety of hot and cold small plates including arepas, ceviche and savory sweets all meant for sharing. Parties will also be able to enjoy Toro Toro’s unlimited tapas experience, with endless eats and the option of free-flowing cocktails. An extensive buffet will take center stage every Saturday and Sunday during the restaurant bottomless brunch. We welcome you to Toro Toro. Buen Provecho!
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details
What 1084 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.1
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
B
Washington DC
35 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

The food was delicious and wait staff was attentive and accommodating. My friend and I didn’t care for the fried dill. He asked if we wanted French fries instead. And we got fries. The tres leches dessert was outstanding.

OT
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was amazing

F
Washington DC
15 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great place to enjoy tapas withnfriends. Delicious food, friendly staff, open, hip ambiance. We will be back!

PM
Washington DC
13 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 2

Not impressed. Over cooked salmon, appetizer served after the main course, could not get the server, gave salt that does not work, and they do not have either tea or sparkling water! Bad.

Toro Toro
Responded a day ago

Dear Peter, I am sorry to hear we were not able to provide you with desirable level of service and food expectations while dining at our restaurant. I will make sure to address your feedback with our entire Toro Toro team during our daily pre-shift meetings. We appreciate your feedback and will take this as an opportunity to continuously improve our operations and hospitality. If you would like to further discuss your experience, please email me at guestrelations@richardsandoval.co m

Report
OT
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Birthday Family Brunch

OT
New Orleans
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food, selection, and service are all excellent. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable way to end the day.

e
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on September 10, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

The food was good. However, it was very noisy. We needed to shout to each other to talk. My voice was almost lost after the dinner!

BW
Portland
1 review
Dined on September 8, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

The last time I was at Toro Toro for brunch they had a buffet style which was amazing. The food was as delicious, however it is brought to you now plated. The problem for me is I have celiac disease so it was not always easy to identify what I could eat. It was so loud when I asked the server what the product was I often could not hear him. A few things I found odd: The Cevice came with one tostone, seriously, only one. No chips, not more tostones -- odd. It was unclear whether we could ask for additional plates -- our group of three really enjoyed a couple of the dishes, but not so much of some others. It would have been nice to get more of what we preferred and less of the rest. I'd recommend it, but i believe I preferred the bufffet option. The drinks were fabulous, though.

RD
Washington DC
11 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food was delicious. Get the bottomless brunch!

OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I love the waitress that I always get, she is kind fast and very good at her job! The bar is awesome very fast and fun! Rebecca

EP
New York Area
7 reviews
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 2ambience 2

We booked Toro Toro for a dual birthday thinking it would be great for a big group and man were we wrong. We got there around 9:30, we all did the familia style table, and upped win skewers. We we at first happy that they said some of us didn’t have to pay the skewer upcharge since some of the group are vegetarians.
The food started coming out right away, but mostly empanadas and ceviches. A few of us ordered drinks which came out, but then didn’t see the server for almost 20 min. When she reappeared we ordered more drinks which never came out. Skewers barely came out. We finally talked to a manager who sent out a round of food and comp’d a round of drinks but by that point we were pretty done with the experience.

They sent out a dessert which was nice, as was the round of drinks, however the check had everyone at the table down for the skewers, so what they had said at the beginning the meal was not acknowledged. Though the manager did his best to fix things, and the runners were friendly, it was def not worth the money and not how I’d hoped to spend my birthday.

Over all, too expensive for empanadas and ceviche, they are cheap with the better food items like skewers and really - who wants to have to get managers involved to get basic service?

Would not recommend. Would not return.

A
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 1

We went at 7pm on a Saturday and it was dead. They barely had a fan or AC (it was mid 80's outside). We tried 3 different small plates and 2 types of cocktails and they were nothing special nor good enough to finish. I have NO idea why they have a high rating on yelp...but it is VERY misleading!!!

Toro Toro
Responded a day ago

Dear Andy, I am sorry to hear that you did not like your meal at Toro Toro. We pride ourselves on excellent food and service, and our team clearly let you down. I will be meeting with our chef, so that we may always ensure only the best quality ingredients and value are served to our guests. If you have any specific feedback that could help us improve our offerings, please email me at guestrelations@richardsandoval.co m. Best, Molly Guest Experience Team

Report
OT
Washington DC
8 reviews
Dined on September 2, 2019
Overall 1food 4service 1ambience 2

Tasty food but 3 items which we wanted to order were unavailable. 3 of our party of 4 had their water glasses filled. I had to call the waiter back for mine. Cocktails were overly sweet and took long to arrive. Service attentiveness slipped from time to time. Too bad it was an anniversary celebration.

Toro Toro
Responded on September 5, 2019

I am sorry to hear we were not able to provide you with desirable level of service expectations while dining at Toro Toro. We pride ourselves on excellent food and service, and our team clearly let you down. We will meet with our service team to ensure something like this does not happen again. If you would like to further discuss your visit and ways we can earn a second chance, please email us at guestrelations@richardsandoval.co m

Report
BC
Chicago
1 review
Dined on September 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food. We enjoyed the variety of the family style. We enjoyed our visit.

Toro Toro
Responded on September 5, 2019

Dear BoCo, Thank you for the 5-Star review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your experience and appreciated the variety. We hope to welcome you back at Toro Toro soon.

Report
S
Central Texas
1 review
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall 1food 3service 1ambience 3

After previously enjoying food and drinks at this location for happy hour, I decided to make a brunch reservation for myself, my partner, and two friends visiting DC after viewing your menu that offered bottomless tapas and drinks. I am writing to ensure that future patrons do not encounter the same issues. Overall, we had a poor experience with the service, food, and drinks. We got seated 10 minutes after our reservation time at 2:00pm, which would be fine, but was an ominous precursor to the pace of service to follow. We did not leave our table until 4:45pm, which normally I would not complain about as there was technically a two hour time limit for brunch, however, it was due to the sluggish pace in which we continued to receive food and drinks throughout the meal. Starting with the antojitos and throughout the meal, four portions (except for the empanadas) were never brought out at the same time. Significant time would pass when two portions were brought out followed by two more. As we sat there waiting for food, our glasses were empty and we would have to ask for refills repeatedly. I finally asked for a manager to address the situation; no one came to our table. I then asked a second server to bring the manager over; yet again no one came to our table. I finally got up to ask the one of the hostesses to have a manager come to our table. When the manager finally came over, he offered no apology, no explanation, other than the reason we kept waiting for margaritas was they “had to squeeze the limes”; he simply asked what we ordered. The manager never returned to the table to see how things were. For a bottomless brunch, Toro Toro doesn't live up to what it promotes. In a city where numerous establishments offer bottomless brunch, I regret our decision to patronize Toro Toro and will not recommend to others

Toro Toro
Responded on September 5, 2019

Steven, I hope you will accept my sincere apology, as I am very disappointed to learn about your experience at brunch. We pride ourselves on excellent food and service, and our team clearly let you down. We are working with our staff to better handle high-volume times so this won't happen again. I am also upset by the way the management handled things, and have spoken to my management team directly. We would like a chance to make it right, please email me at guestrealtions@richardsandoval.co m

Report
EM
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

They didn't do well with the large party we had. Some of the food items didn't come out to the end of the two brunch.

Toro Toro
Responded on September 5, 2019

Dear EricM, We're sorry to hear about this experience. We truly value the feedback from all of our guests and will use your review to improve our service and quality, moving forward. If you would like to discuss the details about your visit further, we encourage you to reach out to us directly at guestrelations@richardsandoval.co m so we can find a way to make things right.

Report
MA
1 review
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 3

I used to love this place. New menu sucks! Food upset my stomach.

Toro Toro
Responded on September 5, 2019

Dear MArB, I am sorry to hear that you do not like our new menu. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please email me at guestrelations@richardsandoval.co m and maybe we can figure out what made your change your mind about our food.

Report
D
Yosemite
1 review
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

Delicious food small bites for sharing tapas style which is perfect if you want a little bit of everything
Fantastic dinks

Toro Toro
Responded on September 5, 2019

Dear Debbie, Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Toro Toro. We hope to welcome you back soon to try more of a little of everything soon.

Report
OT
Orlando
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Everything was wonderful except our chicken skewers came out undercooked. The manager was very apologetic and she took it off our bill as well as giving us a round of drinks on the house. The food was still very good besides the one mishap and we enjoyed the experience.

Toro Toro
Responded on September 5, 2019

We are sorry to hear that your food was under-cooked, but I am glad that everything was handled properly and your experience was not ruined. We hope you will come back soon and we will be sure to cook everything correctly the first time.

Report
RP
San Antonio
2 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Myracle our server was great!!!

Toro Toro
Responded on September 5, 2019

Thank you for the feedback RyneP. I have passed along the compliment to Myracle and her managers. We appreciate your review and hope to see you back at Toro Toro soon.

Report
H
Los Angeles
18 reviews
Dined on August 27, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Unusual menu. Great octopus and salmon ceviche. Was there on Monday evening so restaurant was empty. Sever was very good, but all the food arrived at once and there was not enough room on table.

C
Washington DC
54 reviews
Dined on August 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The $20 lunch special is a great deal, I typically get the ceviche or mahi mahi tacos, but today I tried the beef empanadas and they were outstanding. The mahi mahi sandwich was prepared perfectly and the fries are always spot on delicious.

MB
1 review
Dined on August 26, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 2

Sat down at 6:00, waited 10 minutes for our wine, waited for an appetizer and served dinner at 7:00. The waitress was marginal, not too attentive.

We were in from out of state. For us we wouldn't go back if we were in town again, there are too. many other places to go that are way better.

b
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on August 25, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 2

I can't recommend this place until the noise level comes down. Food was good when servers got order right. my friend kept asking for her eggs scrambled but they seemed to ignore (or maybe couldn't hear). Our waiter seemed to have issues with running the promotion I was given and had to get a manager to fix. He also wouldn't let us try other brunch cocktails (we had one at that point, okay?) until we "finished the ones we had"-what? never had that happen and we quietest ones in the place.
Some dishes were meh, but by end just felt stressed out by the scene and constantly needing to correct things, or ask for missing things.

ML
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall 4food 2service 5ambience 5

The all you can eat menu used to be a lot better than it is now. It's still a good time, but it's not as great of a value or experience without the meat items on the all-you-can-eat menu any more. Otherwise, no complaints

G
Las Vegas
3 reviews
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Came for brunch on a Saturday. For me the waitress made me love this place. She was attentive and accommodating with our different dietary requests. Very kind. Food was great! There was just one dish I definitely didn't like. All others were ok to really good. The tres leches was surprisingly a little dry, but all in all great time and atmosphere, great customer service! Food came out quickly.

SF
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on August 21, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 3

We did a business lunch- nearly everyone at our table doing the Pick 2. Checks were VERY slow, multiple meals were wrong, and service was spotty all around. Wouldn’t go again

Toro Toro
Responded on August 26, 2019

Dear SmallFry, I am sorry to hear we were not able to provide you with desirable level of service and food expectations while dining at our restaurant. We pride ourselves on excellent food and service, and our team clearly let you down. If you would like to discuss the details about your visit further, we encourage you to reach out to us directly at guestrealtions@richardsandoval.co m so we can find a way to make things right. Best, Molly Guest Experience Team

Report
JR
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on August 18, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Upon arriving we experienced a number of glaring service errors starting with the host interrupting his taking other people to a table to ask if he could help us and then not being able to find our reservation, needing help from another host who was standing around talking to another worker. The place was packed.
We, a table of 2, were seated in a back room with 4 tables of 10 or more people screaming their heads off.
We could not understand anything our waiter was saying and had to yell our orders at him. Then the plate runner brought what we thought we ordered, put the food on our table and got yelled at by the waiter from across the room. The runner went over to talk to the waiter and then came back and removed the food from our table and put it on another table. We hadn't eaten any of it but had touched the plates to move them closer to us. This has got to be a Health Code violation. Our actual food finally arrived - Chilaquiles with fried eggs on top. It was cold; even he eggs were cold. We didn't eat much of it. We couldn't get the waiter's attention to try to send it back. We decided to leave and still could not get the waiter's attention.
We managed to hail down another waiter to ask for the check. We waited and waited. Finally - and this is the only good thing to happen in our experience at Toro Toro - a manager noticed us and said he didn't know what went wrong but he could tell we were upset and apologized. We still didn't have our check.
So he went to get it and brought it to our table and said he would take care of it and we did not need to pay. It was not a large amount since we had only ordered appetizers. We would have stayed longer and ordered more food but for the poor quality of everything (except for that one manager). The bathrooms were disgusting also.

Toro Toro
Responded on August 28, 2019

Dear JanR, The employee in question was let go before we received your review, so this is not on your conscience. We made a choice that was right for our business based on performance over time, not an isolated event. I am sorry for giving you the wrong impression, I was just attempting to let you know management is taking the issue seriously. We used this as an opportunity to continuously improve our operations and hospitality. Again, I am sorry for any implications in my response.

Report
AP
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on August 18, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Toro toro hosted my birthday brunch and it was fantastic! The staff was great and allowed me and my family to really enjoy a great time! The staff even helps us add a couple unexpected guests.

Toro Toro
Responded on August 21, 2019

Hi AlfonsP, We are so glad that we were able to help make your birthday celebration memorable. We hope that you and your family will come back to dine with us at Toro Toro again soon. Thank you for your review and happy belated birthday. Warm Regards, Molly Guest Experience Team

Report
LC
1 review
Dined on August 18, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 5

I was disappointed because they switched up and no.longer have the brunch buffet. You have to order through your server and since everything is small plate, you have to keep ordering and ordering to get enough food. Sometimes the food comes out quickly, sometimes not. The brunch drinks were refilled quickly and they were delicious. That is the draw. Wait staff was friendly and patient. Almost everything on the food menu is drizzled in something sweet. More diversity is needed.

Toro Toro
Responded on August 22, 2019

Dear Lydia, I am sorry to hear that our change in format of brunch has given you a negative impression of Tamayo. We appreciate our guest feedback and will let our chef know what you said about an excessive amount of sweetness on the menu items. We hope to welcome you back to Tamayo soon so we can reinforce our superior standards that should have been met in the first place. If there is anything else you would like to discuss about your visit please email guestrealtions@richaradsandoval.co m

Report
TS
Washington DC
20 reviews
Dined on August 18, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

The brunch was great. Just a little too expensive for the quality of food. Everything was delicious but nothing was great about the food. They do give you a good amount of food so if you do make it for brunch, just make sure you come hungry.

AB
Washington DC
17 reviews
Dined on August 16, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

I really enjoyed it. The ambiance was fantastic for me and the decor quirky. My friend seemed to have trouble seeing in the lighting, and I noticed that another customer had to use her phone's flashlight to see the menu, so keep that in mind if you are going with people who prefer better lit. For me, that was perfect lighting, though. Food presentation was great, very pretty. The portions were good. We went for Restaurant Week. I loved the desserts and the main dishes were delicious. I loved the passion fruit ice cream with the tres leches (which wasn't too soggy) and the churros were crispy on the outside but soft on the inside, super fun! I ordered the fried rice and it was a HUGE portion, so keep that in mind, and flavorful. My appetizer was the ceviche, and while it was beautifully presented, it wasn't overwhelming with flavor and had a lot of veggies and juice in it, so it was almost like a cold salad-soup. Still good, but not amazing! Our server was very attentive and helpful with all of our questions, which I appreciated.

The HH is also good, with nice options and reasonable drinks. I'd go again. Thank you for a lovely evening.

OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on August 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was very good and our server made sure we were taken care of.

TS
1 review
Dined on August 11, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

This restaurant was nothing short of amazing. We did a friends brunch here and all left super satisfied. The only thing that prevented 5/5 in all category areas was that many of us do not eat pork, but pork dishes kept being brought out. Aside from that, we loved it there. We loved it so much we will be returning in the near future. Definitely worth the trip and the price is affordable, too.

Toro Toro
Responded on August 21, 2019

Dear Tara, Thank you so much for the review! Sorry for the abundance of pork, but we are glad that you enjoyed everything else. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Toro Toro soon! Warm Regards, Molly Guest Experience Team

Report
F
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on August 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This was my first bottomless brunch and I can definitely say this was worth every penny! Our waiter was such an energetic person and would always check up on us. The plates were perfect sizes because if they were full meals then we wouldn’t have been able to order as much food as we did. Also, I’m glad they offered more than just mimosas. The atmosphere was welcoming and the music wasn’t too loud that we couldn’t hear each other speak. I’m definitely going back!

Toro Toro
Responded on August 21, 2019

Dear Fatima, We are thrilled that you had such a positive experience dining with us. So glad you like the portion sizes and drink selections. We will keep the atmosphere ideal and the food delicious and hope that you return to Toro Toro soon. Thank you for the review. Warm Regards, Molly Guest Experience Team

Report
B
1 review
Dined on August 10, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 4

Wish the waiter was more attentive and faster with ordering our meals

OT
Atlantic City
1 review
Dined on August 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Bottomless brunch is amazing! All the food was delicious and well worth the price tag. The bottomless drinks were equally delicious.

EM
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on August 3, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

Menu de la familia (tasting menu) was wonderful and a great value.

OT
Oklahoma City
3 reviews
Dined on August 3, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had a group of 13 veterinarians in town for convention. We had the family style all you can eat small plates and ceviche. All the food was really tasty. The beef empanada, croquettes and short rib tacos were the groups faves. Service was fast, courteous and kept the food coming. Would do it again!

KM
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on August 3, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very good good. The wait staff was a little slow, but overall the food was great

Toro Toro
Responded on August 21, 2019

Dear Kayla, Thank you for the review! We are sorry that service was slow and will work with our staff to address the issue so we can improve in the future. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, however. We hope to welcome you back at Toro Toro soon with faster service. Warm Regards, Molly Guest Experience Team

Report
1
2
3
28

Tweets by Toro Toro