The Yard Kitchen/Bar

12 Reviews
€30 and under
Contemporary European
The Yard Kitchen/Bar is the perfect choice for eating out with friends, celebration special occasions or entertaining corporate clients. Our Chefs Jason O’Neill and Norbert Vamoser are at the top of their game. Both bring a passion for really great food showcasing the very best of ingredients. The menu has been created with the best of ingredients, high-quality Irish meats, locally sourced vegetables and local fresh seafood. Everything, from the sauces to desserts to cocktails are made fresh in-House and The Yard Kitchen/ Bar offers a wide selection of vegetarian and gluten-free dishes.

Tantalise your taste buds with some of our daring dishes like the Margarita marinated prawns or the Sherry & Soy glazed chicken wings. Making up a diverse menu of temptations, such as the Tian of Crab or the Cod and Crab Burger are sure to be a Yard favourite.

Our ethos is, Nights out are precious – spend yours wisely!

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 12 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2020

Very spacious and airy, the food was good. Of note was the Calamari - starter very generous and perfectly cooked. Service friendly and professional. Ideal for a quiet leisurely lunch treat.

1 review
Dined on August 21, 2020

Lovely food, polite staff. Only down on ambience because of covid. Very clean also.

1 review
Dined on August 14, 2020

Food was delicious but the staff service was fantastic, made the evening!

1 review
Dined on August 8, 2020

We were told only after ordering that we had to spend €20 before alcohol could be purchased. This was reduced after we complained this was reduced to €9.50 as per government regulations (which should be €9 but we didn’t complain). Atmosphere was non existent as we were the only people there. Service was decent but food was bland and extremely overpriced. €18 for fish and chips and there were about 10 chips. Will never go back

1 review
Dined on August 2, 2020

Enjoyed my stay at the house hotel. Evening meal at The Yard Kitchen was outstanding. Service was very efficient and staff members Luke and Tom were friendly and made us feel welcome. I highly recommend the ice cream sandwich for dessert.

OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 25, 2020

Had an amazing trip to galway and this restaurant was so lovely to sit down and to just enjoy a meal, waiting staff where amazing and we weren’t long waiting on service everything was perfect.

1 review
Dined on October 28, 2019

Had a fabulous afternoon tea here with my friend. Food was lovely, staff were really friendly, excellent quality for money. We had loads to eat.

11 reviews
Dined on October 27, 2019

We made a reservation and arrived to chaos so we hunted downs server to see if we could seat ourselves.

The restaurant management does not seem to be doing their jobs-not enough servers and servers not trained well. The server did not know the menu well-could not answer basic questions.

We ordered and the food took forever to arrive. One of the meals was missing altogether and several of the sides were missing.

There was no offer for comped food but since we had waited so long,we didn’t want to risk waiting 30 plus minutes for the rest of our meals. My husband gave our friend half of his burger and fries.

We are accustomed to being given some kind of compensation when such egregious errors are made but this was not the case.

When I went to pay (finally walked up to ask for the bill and paid there because we could afford another long wait), we had been charged for a burger, drink, and salad we had not received.

This was a disappointing experience and I would not recommend this restaurant.

2 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2019

All the breakfast and dinners were excellent. The presentation and food preparation are second to none. The dinners were as good as any 5 star restaurant in major cities.

3 reviews
Dined on July 23, 2019

Had a wonderful meal at the The Yard Kitchen. The food was mouth watering. Fabulous service.

New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on July 20, 2019

We wanted to get a bite after a performance, so it was quite late when we arrived. Due to the hour, I guess, there was a DJ spinning music that was quite loud, making it difficult to have a conversation. Didn’t seem like anyone was really there for the music, but they were insistent that the volume stay high. Otherwise, service was terrific.

1 review
Dined on May 26, 2019

the service was lovely and the hotel itself is very nice but the afternoon tea was not good at all. the scones and the sweets were fine but the middle section was terrible. the edge of the breads were slightly hard, like it was sitting there for a while. the tomato in the filling was old. the focaccia was dry. would not recommend this hotel for afternoon tea.

The Yard Kitchen/Bar
Responded on June 1, 2019

Dear Louise, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent AT experience. I was disappointed to read that your experience was not entirely positive on this occasion, for which I apologise. Its unfortunate that you did not make us aware of your dissatisfaction at the time as we would have done our utmost to rectify any issues you had as we would not wish for any guest to leave our hotel unhappy. Thank you for your kind words on our staff. Regards Maura O'Donnell, General Manager



The Yard Kitchen/Bar is rated 4.1 stars by 12 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.