The White Swan

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
27 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Pub
The White Swan is a privately owned 600 year old pub & restaurant lovingly run by Val Lane and her fantastic team. The building has gone through many changes and has a wealth of history, Val has been actively involved with the business since 1994 and although there was a time lapse, she feels her roots belong here as her parents Pearl & Tommy Gough had the White Swan in the early 1950’s when it was a traditional ‘Courage’ house. Val was born in Ash and has lived in the village for most of her life.
What 27 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
j
Kent
8 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Ate at The White Swan last saturday evening. Food and servie was very good indeed. Will return very soon.

OT
1 review
Dined on February 25, 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Could not book any other time apart from 5pm as was booked up. May as well not have bothered booking a table as when we arrived, said we had a table booked and was told "just sit anywhere you like". No names taken, we could have just walked in. What's the point in having a booking service. Was not full either, so could have had the later time I originally wanted! Bar service very poor, seemed like they could not be bothered and didn't really want you there! No real atmosphere, or welcoming feeling from the woman behind the bar! Very rowdy 'regular' crowd. Has a very bad reputation, was told it had gone down hill, am sorry to say that it is true and is only getting worse! What a shame as used to be a lovely pub.

CM
Kent
3 reviews
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall5food4service2ambience4

Lovely helpful
Staff, excellent menu, food served lovely and hot, but if a wait as there was a large party of diners, but this didn’t matter to us! Was nice atmosphere so enjoyed the experience

ET
1 review
Dined on February 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely fabulous lovely friendly staff fab service

TB
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

food is always great here. the staff are so friendly. the young lad that served us couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome

KG
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I had booked The White Swan for my husbands birthday meal. On arrival we were greeted by a member of staff who showed us to our reserved table.

Lovely part of the restaurant.

We all enjoyed the food and our waitress was amazing considering how busy it was due to Beer Pressure playing (which were brilliant), nothing was too much trouble.

Would highly recommend.

Thank you for an enjoyable time.

A
1 review
Dined on December 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

every thing was just lovely a small pre chritmas lunch with friends could not fault it its always good at the white swan any time we use it a lot

LB
Hampshire
1 review
Dined on October 26, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

After reading some reviews we decided to book a table just in case it was busy. Well I am certainly pleased we did! It was very busy, mainly due to an afternoon Halloween party and some of the guests had stayed on. Because of this there were some very noisy and excitable kids ( and mums !) in the pub which made it very noisy.
Luckily for us this did not spoil what was a fantastic evening. The staff are brilliant, the service fantastic and the food utterly amazing. I would 100% recommend the white swan to anyone. Brilliant.

LM
Aberdeen
1 review
Dined on October 24, 2019
Overall4food3service5ambience5

I had been quite a few times for lunch with friends so I recommend your pub to another group. I’m am afraid I was embarrassed as one of the omelettes was burnt and had to be returned, two others had chips with their meal which were obviously not cooked fresh and we think were reheated also 1 had the curry which was dry round the edges. We didn’t bother to say anything about these as we had already had to wait for our friend to have her dinner recooked. I have to say our puddings were lovely.

DR
Kent
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was tasty and very well presented. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The whole experience was very enjoyable.

AB
Kent
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Outstanding value for the meal with a great atmosphere. Friendly staff and very efficient.

IA
Kent
3 reviews
Dined on August 22, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Superb food from an extensive menu served by very pleasant staff. Shamed to say that the servings were so ample that I had to leave some of the delicious crumble!

d
London
4 reviews
Dined on August 17, 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience3

Good "Pub" food, but perhaps a little too much "fry" stuff on the menu.

G
Kent
4 reviews
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Pre Birthday meal with my family. Food was lovely and couldn’t fault the staff, definitely recommend.

AP
Kent
3 reviews
Dined on June 2, 2019
Overall3food2service2ambience3

I was disappointed by the variety of choices on the menu, as were all my companions. Battered fish and chips, or fish pie were desired, and would have been chosen.

OT
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 30, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely pub for kids. Great food and value for money

LR
Kent
1 review
Dined on May 27, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Booked in for a last minute lunch on Bank Holiday Monday and was really impressed. Lots for our baby to play with in the garden, friendly staff and delicious food. Everything we want in a pub!

S
1 review
Dined on May 14, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Lovely pub and really friendly staff.
Thank you! :-)

JK
London
1 review
Dined on May 10, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent fiid and outstanding table service. Our Waitress was very helpful and cheerful. A pleasure

CS
London
4 reviews
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience4

My husband and I visited for a late Sunday lunch, roast beef had all gone. Chicken and lamb choice remained, my husband doesn’t like either so he went for the seafood platter. I had the lamb roast.
Seafood platter was huge and my husband enjoyed it.
Roast looked nice but was spoilt by loads of watery tasteless gravy which left the veg swimming and the roast potatoes which had been crispy all soggy. Would have been good apart from that.
Staff attentive and friendly, nice comfortable pub with a good atmosphere.

AP
Kent
3 reviews
Dined on April 14, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Just the place with plenty of parking for a reunion of old friends

j
Kent
8 reviews
Dined on March 9, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Booked a table for two last saturday night and very much enjoyed the evening. Our food was very good indeed. Service from Harry was likewise. We will return very soon.

m
Kent
2 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

They are spending a lot of money ,getting the pub better, some should be set a side for the car park, the pot holes are terrible,some thing does need to be done....................................................

AP
Kent
3 reviews
Dined on December 2, 2018
Overall5food4service4ambience4

Just what I needed for a reunion lunch, easy parking, varied menu, relaxed and informal .

The White Swan
Responded on January 20, 2019

Hi Anthony, Thank you so much for your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope we will see you again :)

Report
l
London
4 reviews
Dined on October 28, 2018
Overall3food3service3ambience2

Had a lovely roast, my only criticism would be that the gravy was a bit watery but the serving was a good size and the staff were plentiful. Typical country pub with young and old enjoying food and drinks.

The White Swan
Responded on November 24, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We have passed your comments regarding the gravy on to the chef, we are very sorry about that and appreciate your feedback. Hopefully we will see you again :)

Report
M
London
3 reviews
Dined on October 21, 2018
Overall2food1service2ambience2

Very disappointed with the meal. We both ordered a roast, they came out with barely any gravy, the Yorkshire’s were cremated, and my mixed roast consisted of a mountain of chewy beef, a tiny amount of chicken but no pork or lamb. After requesting more gravy and new Yorkshire’s we waited 10 mins for some lukewarm gravy and another round of burnt Yorkshire’s. After complaining to the manager she said the chef was having issues due to an over breaking. Even so, he has eyes so why serve something clearly inedible and why not out the correct meat on a plate? Won’t be going back

The White Swan
Responded on November 24, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, we are a family run pub and are very upset to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. I am very sorry that you weren't given the full assortment of meat, we try to our best to keep mistakes to a minimum. With regards to the burnt yorkshires & lukewarm gravy - the oven has been fixed - however as you said they should not have been sent out, I can only apologise again. We are very sorry for your experience, it is not our usual standard.

Report
CB
1 review
Dined on September 22, 2018
Overall1food1service1ambience2

We chose the White swan, as ate there 3 years ago, and enjoyed our meal very much, but this was a different experience, cutlery was thrown on the end of the table, then drinks were spilled over the table when put down heavy handed with no apologies, my daughter ordered vegetable bolgenase it was so dry, and asked for parmesan cheese, a bowl of grated cheese was brought up, the pastry on the steak and ale pie was undercooked, when asked how it was, we told the very young waitress, who replied ok I will pass it on. No apologies from management. Needless to say we won't be returning.

The White Swan
Responded on November 24, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry that your visit was not as good as it had been previously. At the time you visited, we were going through several changes in the kitchen. If you would give us another chance, we hope that you would have a more enjoyable visit. We are sorry for the experience that you had.

Report