Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. Australia
  3. Melbourne
  4. Inner City South
  5. South Yarra
The Stables of Como, South Yarra, AU-ACT

The Stables of Como

3.8
3.8
201 Reviews
$40 and under
Modern Australian
Blending an elegant fusion of past and present, ‘The Stables of Como’ is Melbourne’s best kept secret. The converted horse stables bring an architectural charm to our cafe, where we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and how they like it.

PLEASE NOTE - Standard Seating does not guarantee an inside table. During peak periods, trying to socially distance all our bookings while remaining compliant with Covid density limits can be like playing Tetris. As such we will make every effort to fulfil special seating requests, however they are strictly subject to availability on the day.

Due to the limited capacity and social distancing requirements, it is not always possible to accommodate prams in the main dining room. Please advise in the Booking Notes if you require a High Chair.

Bookings from 3-5pm are for our High Tea services only.

Credit card payments attract a 1.5% charge. Sunday and Public Holiday surcharges apply.

We do not permit balloons, confetti or displays.

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.

If you like, we'll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.


Is this your restaurant?
Claim this listing

Order delivery or takeout

There’s more to explore

Discover countless more restaurants like this one with our app.

Scan the QR code to discover countless more restaurants like this one with our app.

Open app

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Price
    $40 and under
  • Cuisines
    Modern Australian, Italian, Afternoon Tea
  • Hours of operation
    Mon–Sat 9:00 am–5:00 pm Sun 10:00 am–5:00 pm
  • Phone number
    (03) 9827 6886 ext. 1
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress code
    Casual Dress
  • Neighborhood
    South Yarra
  • Cross street
    Como Avenue corner Lechlade Avenue
  • Parking details
    Located in a residential area, limited street parking is available.
  • Public transit
    Hawksburn Railway Station (10 minute walk) Como Avenue/ Toorak Road Tram Stop (Route 58)
  • Additional
    Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Gluten-free Options, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What 201 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

3.8
3.8 based on all time ratings
  • 3.9Food
  • 3.6Service
  • 4Ambience
  • 3.6Value

NoiseEnergetic

201 Reviews
  1. SydetteR

    Melbourne

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on March 15, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    My second visit here & I brought 2 friends and The Stables certainly lived up to all expectations. The service & food was great, a lovely experience whether you sit inside or out. A lovely homely place to bring overseas visitors.

    Is this helpful?

  2. Winney

    Melbourne

    3 reviews

    2.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on December 26, 2022

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    I booked so the Open Table and they didn’t have my booking. We had to ask for cold water on a 38 degree day and had to ask 3 times for cutlery after the food came out. And when it didn’t come, we had to source it ourselves. Disappointing as my other visits here were great.

    Is this helpful?

  3. SueH

    Melbourne

    6 reviews

    1.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on October 20, 2022

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    We arrived at 1pm and left at 3pm without a meal ……. Our order was ‘lost in the system’. Granted it was a busy day , but other diners were coming after us and leaving before us . We did enquire several times re our order. We did get a bottle of wine !!!!

    Is this helpful?

  4. MissNici

    Melbourne

    26 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    26 reviews

    Dined on September 30, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A stunning breakfast in a stunning setting. Fresh flavoursome food and friendly service. A cabinet full of cakes for afternoon tea too!

    Is this helpful?

  5. VC2021

    Melbourne

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on September 27, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We did the High Tea and it was lovely. The table was set with a white table cloth and tea cups etc. The food was delicious and the champagne/Mimosas completed the day. We had a fun time

    Is this helpful?

  6. NikiK

    Melbourne

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 13, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We had a lovely High Tea experience at the Stables. The staff were very attentive and made the afternoon lovely for our special occasion.

    Is this helpful?

  7. OpenTable Diner

    Melbourne

    2 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on September 4, 2022

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Food was poor and over an hr

    Is this helpful?

  8. Hodds68

    Melbourne

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on August 28, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We had the picnic for two. The food was beautiful and plentiful & the bottle of French Champagne topped off a lovely afternoon.

    Is this helpful?

  9. KerrieD

    Melbourne

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 27, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The staff were friendly and helpful but new and possibly understaffed which made the service a little slow. (It wasn’t a problem given the congenial surroundings.) The toilets were wet but I’m not sure who is responsible for them. It was like they’d been mopped but there was no airflow or warmth to dry them.

    Is this helpful?

  10. DianneW

    Melbourne

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 14, 2022

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    The booking system was great. When we arrived we were seated under a music speaker which was too loud. We were able to be relocated. The meal was good but then we had cakes/coffee. The red velvet cake was dry, almost stale. Disappointing. The staff were pleasant.

    Is this helpful?

  11. MichaelM

    Melbourne

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 14, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent restaurant within the grounds of the Como Estate. Incredible atmosphere, delicious food and great service. A perfect place for Sunday brunch!

    Is this helpful?

  12. AnneBennett13

    Victoria

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on August 13, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Really great atmosphere. Good was great and fresh. Loved every minute being there. Thank you

    Is this helpful?

  13. HeatherM

    London

    7 reviews

    1.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on August 12, 2022

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 1
    Very disappointed with The Stables Incorrect high tea served Will not be going back
    The Stables of ComoResponded on August 15, 2022
    Hi Heather, Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your High Tea with us. Unfortunately the phone number you booked on with was a UK number that wasn't connected so we couldn't confirm which high tea you would like as we usually do. We therefor prepared our traditional High Tea for you otherwise we would have had to cancel your booking altogether. We understand that the high tea was to celebrate a birthday so we gave you complimentary drinks and had the staff sing you happy birthday. Thanks, Luke

    Is this helpful?

  14. Jeena

    Melbourne

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 29, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Sun was shining, great to be dining outdoors with friends, excellent food and fantastic service !

    Is this helpful?

  15. Cherry

    Victoria

    6 reviews

    4.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on July 27, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 2
    Ladies toilets need maintenance and are too far away from restaurant. Very poor. Spoilt what was otherwise a very pleasant lunch

    Is this helpful?

  16. RobynV

    Victoria

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 20, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Lovely ambiance except the music was too loud for dining conversation.

    Is this helpful?

  17. LaurenT

    Melbourne

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 16, 2022

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    Waited for service for over 20 mins. Lovely 'over worked' waiter took coffee order however after 30 mins when it hadn't arrived, we left. It didn't appear like they cared. I am understanding about staff shortages but they should be transparent about this before we made the effort of getting my elderly mother into cafe with frame.

    Is this helpful?

  18. DanielleJ

    Melbourne

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 15, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Food excellent Service was as good as circumstances allowed it due to Covid. would always recommend it

    Is this helpful?

  19. OpenTable Diner

    Victoria

    2 reviews

    2.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on July 9, 2022

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    Absolutely terrible service sat us down and didn’t give us menus we were seated for 25 minutes before they took our drinks order and another 20 minutes to come back and take our meal order. Staff were ignoring tables. Food finally came out after a long while asked for chilli and turns out they apparently didn’t have any but the waitress didn’t bother to come back to tell me asked another staff member and she brought some out. Overall food was okay nothing amazing or special. We use to love coming here but after that experience we won’t be returning for a while.

    Is this helpful?

  20. LeonoraR

    Singapore

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 8, 2022

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 1
    I sent a Facebook message direct to the restaurant with my complaints and they’ve not responded.

    Is this helpful?

  21. GregB

    Melbourne

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on July 2, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great place for brunch. Staf. We’re fantastic although servings were a little small.

    Is this helpful?

  22. MeredithF

    Melbourne

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 24, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Comfortable, inviting with great ambience.Staff friendly and attentive. Adored the minimalist flowers on the table,perfect! Great coffee and generous serve of lavender and lemon cake.

    Is this helpful?

  23. JennyD

    Melbourne

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 28, 2022

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 3
    Food baguette tough. Would have preferred bread. Not an option.I had to remove top of baguette and managed to chew my way through base with chicken waldorf. .steak had grissle on one meal. Needed steak knife but none offered. Different staff attending to our table & didn’t seem interested in our feedback.When paying our bill & giving feedback I was asked to please hurry up as there were 2 people waiting behind me.......All in all there didn’t seem any real interest in service and We certainly wouldn’t come again.

    Is this helpful?

  24. CatherineB

    Melbourne

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on May 15, 2022

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    A lovely setting for High Tea - a good selection of food and plenty for everyone. Very, very slow to be seated (10 min wait on arrival), very, very slow to get food (45 mins after being seated), and had to ask each time we wanted a drink… not all that busy so a bit surprising. But if you settle in for a leisurely, unhurried afternoon then it is very pleasant.

    Is this helpful?

  25. Lisa

    Melbourne

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 15, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    A picnic hamper in the gardens on a perfect autumn day was most enjoyable. Delicious and filling food. Would recommend.

    Is this helpful?

  26. Paris

    Gold Coast

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 15, 2022

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    Lovely space, unfortunately took an hour to receive our meals. The food was cold and disappointing for the extreme price.

    Is this helpful?

  27. PaulaH

    Melbourne

    4 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on May 8, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Thank you for a lovely Mother’s day event We had a lovely waitress and really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. We will see you all again 😊

    Is this helpful?

  28. OpenTable Diner

    Gold Coast

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 8, 2022

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    The venue is beautiful . The tables were set lovely but $90 per person for some scones and sandwiches ? We paid a total of $540 and recovered one 3 tier sandwich tray. When we asked for more as we were still hungry they said that was all that was allocated… for over 500$ you have got to be joking. Given it was free flowing sparkling although 3/6 of us weren’t drinking and there was no option for no alchohol. Pretty disappointing

    Is this helpful?

  29. HighTea

    Melbourne

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 8, 2022

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    We didn’t get seated until around 10:15 after arriving early. Staff forgot to serve our table any drinks when others had OJ, Champaigne and water already, and we had to ask. Staff were then responsive but not apologetic. Food was delicious and high quality! Would have been good if there was 5 of everything for 5 people.

    Is this helpful?

  30. LynR

    Melbourne

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 30, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Always enjoy eating at the Stables. The food is outstanding, relaxed atmosphere and lovely surroundings. The staff are very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Will be back as soon as we can.

    Is this helpful?

  31. OpenTable Diner

    Victoria

    4 reviews

    4.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on April 28, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    Nice place to linger and chat over a meal. I will return although it gets hot and stuffy with the clear curtains not opened up. A bit of air flow would be good.

    Is this helpful?

  32. HelenC

    Melbourne

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 25, 2022

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Gorgeous spot love coming here and I will return. It is very popular with dog owners and that's terrific if you're a dog owner to have such a great place to visit . If you're not that initially takes you by surprise. And for example tricky if you had allergies or a fear of dogs of all shapes and sizes. Could the doggies continued to be very welcomed but not sit under the verandah ?

    Is this helpful?

  33. KarenM

    Melbourne

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 25, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Having works done atm. Will be great when finished.

    Is this helpful?

  34. BBandHE

    Melbourne

    8 reviews

    4.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on April 23, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    It was a beautiful day and the sunshine helped! I enjoyed everything.

    Is this helpful?

  35. OpenTable Diner

    Melbourne

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 19, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Good place to meet for lovely food and good coffee and easy parking. Can go into the gardens too

    Is this helpful?

  36. EstelleG

    Victoria

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 16, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We heard about Stables of Como from a work colleague. So we thought to give it a go. We were so pleased we did! We chose to have the picnic on the grass for brunch. It was amazing! And what a novelty of having a picnic made for you and then to have it on the beautiful grounds of this National Heritage site. It was also a stunning sunny day. We throughly our enjoyed our visit here. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful also. The food and coffee was also amazing. We would definitely come back.

    Is this helpful?

  37. DagmarM

    Melbourne

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 13, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great friendly service even though they were understaffed.

    Is this helpful?

  38. SusanP

    Melbourne

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on April 2, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    The venue was quaint but very noisy. The high tea was on the sweet side with only 1 savoury sandwich finger. Free flowing champagne but waitress only offered once. I have had better for the price.

    Is this helpful?

  39. VintageGoddess

    New York City

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on March 23, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A unique and lovely place to meet friends, or take your Mum. The food was lovely with plenty of options. And the staff were helpful. Afterwards a walk around the beautiful Como House was a terrific way to end the outing.

    Is this helpful?

  40. Richa

    Melbourne

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on March 19, 2022

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 3
    Food was okay not so great. Delayed service, egg yolks in both our dishes were over and food was nearly was not warm enough. Ambience was good though.

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

The Stables of Como offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (03) 9827 6886 ext. 1.

The Stables of Como is rated 3.8 stars by 201 OpenTable diners.

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.

If you like, we'll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.


Is this your restaurant?
Claim this listing

Order delivery or takeout

Google Map for The Stables of Como

Cnr Williams Rd & Lechlade Ave, South Yarra, AU-ACT 3141

Additional information

  • Cross street
    Como Avenue corner Lechlade Avenue
  • Neighborhood
    South Yarra
  • Hours of operation
    Mon–Sat 9:00 am–5:00 pm Sun 10:00 am–5:00 pm
  • Price
    $40 and under
  • Cuisines
    Modern Australian, Italian, Afternoon Tea
  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Dress code
    Casual Dress
  • Parking details
    Located in a residential area, limited street parking is available.
  • Public transit
    Hawksburn Railway Station (10 minute walk) Como Avenue/ Toorak Road Tram Stop (Route 58)
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Additional
    Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Gluten-free Options, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
OpenTable
  • About Us
  • Blog
  • Careers
  • Press
More
Businesses
  • Restaurant reservation software
  • Industry insights
  • Hospitality resources
  • Marketing resources
  • Operation resources
  • How to open a restaurant
  • For restaurants
  • For restaurant groups
Join us on
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo