Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to Main Content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Aberdeen/Aberdeenshire
  4. Aberdeen
  5. Aberdeen
The Spiritualist Aberdeen, Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire

The Spiritualist Aberdeen

4.1
4.1
211 Reviews
£25 and under
Scottish
Independently owned and designed, The Spiritualist is a far step away from anything ordinary. It’s enticingly elegant with a touch of cool. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, it’s a place to linger on your own any time of day over a paper and coffee; to relax with family and friends over lunch and dinner or for an evening of cocktails.

🐶 Dog-friendly
🏃 Walk-ins welcome
🍹 Bookings for food & drink and just drinks welcome
📅 Contact us directly for bookings of 8 or more

Make a reservation

2 people

9:30 PM


Booked 12 times today

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Cuisines

    Scottish, Tapas / Small Plates

  • Hours of operation

    Dinner Wed, Thu 5:00 pm–8:45 pm Fri 12:00 pm–8:45 pm Sat, Sun 3:00 pm–8:45 pm Brunch Sat, Sun 12:00 pm–3:00 pm Bar Wed, Thu 5:00 pm–12:00 am Fri, Sat 12:00 pm–1:00 am Sun 12:00 pm–11:00 pm

  • Phone number

    01224 587717

  • Payment options

    MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress code

    Smart Casual

  • Neighborhood

    Aberdeen

  • Parking details

    None

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Dog Friendly, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

What 211 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.1
4.1 based on recent ratings
  • 4.1Food
  • 4Service
  • 4.2Ambience
  • 3.9Value

NoiseEnergetic

Loved For

  • Aberdeen/Aberdeenshire

    Most Booked

Sort by

Filters

  1. CJ

    CourtneyJ

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 20, 2022

    overall2food2service2ambience3
    Service was a little bit poor, dishes were sparse for what it cost really not filling, we had to ask repeatedly for our drinks and they missed bits out of the deal like Rowies which they eventually brought out. Waitress seemed stressed/preoccupied despite being fairly dead. She did refund my main which they made wrong but it wasn’t overly great.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded 3 days agoCourtneyj, it is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great. If you are willing to give us another chance, please contact us on mikey.dobrzanski@signaturepubs.co.uk so we can try to make it better for you.

  2. S

    Suzie

    Aberdeen

    4 reviews

    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on November 19, 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience2
    It was fairly quiet when we arrived, the music could have done with being a little quieter considering it wasn't that busy. The service was good and found a favourite cocktail hollaback girl I think it is called. Would definitely return and try out the food menu. One thing we didn't agree on is a service charge on the table, we did as for it removed which the staff member did just because we were a table of 6. I can understand for a restaurant but not a bar.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded 3 days agoSuzie, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that the discretionary service charge only earned us 3 stars. If there's anything we can do to make it better, please let us know. Many Thanks!

  3. AM

    AileenM

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 5, 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Boozy brunch was value for money s great way to spend a few hrs with friends. Food delicious as were the cocktails. Will definitely be back

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on November 11, 2022Aileenm, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We hope we can earn that 5th star on your next visit. See you soon!

  4. JB

    JB553

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 3, 2022

    overall2food1service2ambience2
    drinks took ages to come and got over charged for one of the drinks

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on November 11, 2022Jb553, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. Please reach out to us at your earliest convenience via email at mikey.dobrzanski@signaturepubs.co.uk so we may further assist you in working towards a resolution.

  5. G

    Geral

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 29, 2022

    overall2food2service3ambience2
    The Spiritualist was way too loud in an annoying way. The food was overly salty and not of good quality. The place really makes a different impression from the outside.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on November 11, 2022Hi Geral thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. We regret that you weren't satisfied with your experience. We would love to know what you have found "way too loud in an annoying way" and what were the dishes you weren't happy with as to our knowledge no concerns have been raised on the day. To better understand your experience, please reach out to mikey.dobrzanski@signaturepubs.co.uk, so we can try to turn this around for you. Thank you and have a great day.

  6. RM

    RebeccaM

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 22, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Would definitely recommend! Drinks were incredible and staff were brilliant, great atmosphere!

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on October 31, 2022Rebeccam, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Spiritualist Aberdeen! Thank you again for letting our team know how we did! We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Take care!

  7. AM

    AndrewM

    Glasgow

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 21, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Fantastic staff, great night had by all, shoutout to Kieran behind the bar a wizard with the cocktails and Paul the manager running the show cheers lads x

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on October 31, 2022Andrewm, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Spiritualist Aberdeen! We'll pass your comment on to Kieran who definitely will be very happy to hear them! :) Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

  8. CF

    CatherineF

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 21, 2022

    overall1food1service4ambience3
    This is cocktail bar not a restaurant and they have recently changed their menu completely and not bothered to update their online details. It was a complete waste of our time.
  9. KT

    KarenT

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 8, 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience1
    We booked a dinner reservation for 21.00. When we asked waiter for a food menu, were told to our surprise that kitchen closed at 21.00. Extremely disappointed & cannot understand why online booking system allows you to book a time after kitchen is closed. We were visiting Aberdeen & did not know where to go that late on a Saturday night - found Six by Nicos who seated us at 21.45 and gave us a first class meal.
  10. RA

    RossA

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 8, 2022

    overall4food5service3ambience4
    Good cocktails but after being told its table service only then having a forced service charge felt OTT. Only for it the back bar service with no service charge.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on October 13, 2022Hello Rossa, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! 100% of the service charge goes to our team. It's discretionary and you are welcome to let us know to take it off the bill if you are not willing to tip :) We hope you have a great day!

  11. DD

    DD100

    Glasgow

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on October 1, 2022

    overall4food5service5ambience4
    The spiritualist is a great place, highly recommended. The welcome was warm and friendly and felt genuine. The cocktails were amongst the best we have tried. The food was high quality and delivered in a timely way. It was quiet, but we liked that, but I could imagine it could get busy, but again, I would still go. my only issue and its minor was the gratuity. I reiterate its a great place to go and we will certainly be going again real soon.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on October 13, 2022Hello Dd100, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! 100% of gratuities goes to our team. If you're not willing to tip, please let us know next time and we can remove it from your bill. We hope you have a great day!

  12. ES

    EdytaS

    Glasgow

    8 reviews

    5.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on September 30, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Amazing place. Fatanstic bar staff and waiting staff very attentive. Really like and often visit this place. Always recommend and would recommend to anyone.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on October 13, 2022Edytas, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day!

  13. DR

    DemiR

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 24, 2022

    overall2food2service3ambience3
    Drinks were very overpriced and a. 10% service fee was added without permission?

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on October 13, 2022Hi DemiR, We're sorry to hear you feel this way. We're proud to serve only quality ingredients, spirits and liqueurs in our cocktails, so you can always enjoy the best possible flavours. Regarding our service charge it is clearly stated on both of our food and drinks menus that "10% service charge will be added to your bill. If you would prefer not to pay it, please let your server know and it will be removed." Kind Regards, Mikey

  14. ES

    EoinS

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 18, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    Popped in for some early afternoon cocktails. Great service and delicious drinks.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on October 13, 2022Eoins, thank you so much for your high rating! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

  15. R

    Ryan

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 15, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Such a nice place for a quiet night with great varied cocktails.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on October 13, 2022Ryan, thank you so much for your high rating! Until the next time we meet, take care!

  16. RR

    RebeccaR

    Newcastle

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 10, 2022

    overall1food1service3ambience2
    Food took a long time to come and when it arrived it was burnt. The cocktails that were shown on Instagram weren’t available so ordered what was on the menu and was advised they couldn’t make a number of them ether due to not having the ingredients. Overall I was really disappointed and wouldn’t recommend.
  17. PP

    PenniP

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 3, 2022

    overall3food1service4ambience3
    Went for a birthday lunch but they weren't serving lunch menu so just had a drink and left. Bit disappointing
  18. EM

    EmilyM

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 27, 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience1
    Service was poor ignored and the family behind us were asked if they had a table booking before us despite us being there for a long period before hand … once sat down we were asked 10 minutes later if we knew what we were having to drink : we hadn’t even been given menus for a start when saying this the girl was visibly annoyed at us despite it being her who ignored us and then seated us without menus? Once given menus we ordered our drinks mine was absolutely over flowing with froth and was genuinely 95% foam she joked and said “slightly overflowing” for £9.50 that should of been served £31 for 2 cocktails and 2 shots which is absolutely ridiculous if your paying that it should be a luxury service which was not at all what we experienced left straight after and will most likely not be back. Plenty of other tables also frustrated by the service.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on October 13, 2022Hi Emily, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We value all feedback and especially when it highlights we have failed to deliver on our mission to exceed customer expectations. Please accept my apologies that you have not have the experience we aim to provide, and unfortunately had the one above. I would be eager to discuss this with you further and would be grateful if you can drop me an email to Nikk.stevens@signaturepubs.co.uk All the best, Nikk

  19. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 26, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great staff, lovely surroundings, fantastic choice. Can’t wait to go back again.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on October 13, 2022Opentable Diner, thank you so much for your high rating! Thank you again for the great review!

  20. R

    Rach

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 26, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Amazing! Staff were so helpful and all the drinks we had were amazing.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on October 13, 2022Hello Rach, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, The Spiritualist Aberdeen

  21. E

    Errolcat

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 21, 2022

    overall4food3service4ambience5
    We really enjoyed our evening and the venues decor is beautiful. Only qualm was that the food took 45 minutes on a quiet evening. Staff were attentive and very good.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on October 13, 2022Errolcat, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Spiritualist Aberdeen! I'm sorry to hear you've waited so long for your food! We'll try better next time and we appreciate all the feedback given. We hope you have a great day!

  22. S

    Sarah

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 20, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We came for the Boozy Brunch to celebrate our girls heading off for Uni. The food was delicious and there was a great choice of amazing cocktails- the cappuccino martini being a favourite. The staff were fantastic; friendly and efficient. We found the boozy brunch to be such good value for money. Only in Aberdeen would you get a rowie at brunch! Fabulous! We’ll definitely be back and recommend it to anyone who wants to go for a laid back and delicious brunch.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on October 13, 2022Sarah, we really appreciate your feedback! We always strive to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Spiritualist Aberdeen! We hope to see you back soon!

  23. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Glasgow

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 30, 2022

    overall4food4service5ambience4
    Went on a Saturday night for food and a few drinks. It is a busy place but has a nice atmosphere and you don’t feel rushed. Food was lovely and ordered the four pint tower which was decent. Would recommend

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on August 2, 2022Opentable Diner, thank you so much for the positive review! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

  24. AM

    AndrewM

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 30, 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience4
    Very disappointed seated very quickly and drinks order taken, food order taken 10 minutes later, however food turned up before drinks which we waited 20 minutes for. Had been in Aberdeen specifically to go to The Spiritualist as the few times we were there in 2021 it had been fantastic.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on August 2, 2022Hi Andrewm thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. I'm sorry to hear you waited 20 minutes for your drinks. We pride ourselves on elaborate, made to order amazing cocktails and sometimes it takes a bit longer than we would like to get them perfect and to your table. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

  25. SC

    SuzanneC

    Aberdeen

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on July 23, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience4
    Once again, we had a lovely lunch, this time doing the Brunch deal which was great value. We were served by the lovely Rianne, such a warm, friendly, yet efficient waitress who made us feel very welcome and well looked after. Thanks again, we’ll be back soon!

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on August 2, 2022Suzannec, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Spiritualist Aberdeen! We'll pass the positive feedback to Rhiann as we're sure she will be thrilled to hear it. We hope to see you back soon!

  26. SM

    StuartM

    Edinburgh

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on July 9, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great place to come, was a family night out. Welcoming staff and the drink selection was good. Will most certainly be back.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on July 18, 2022Stuartm, thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

  27. SB

    SarahB

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 9, 2022

    overall3food3service2ambience3
    Only there for cocktails which were delicious. Unable to comment on food

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on July 11, 2022Sarahb, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you soon!

  28. RR

    RebeccaR

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 9, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Never a bad experience at the spiritualist. Drinks, food and service is always top notch. Served by very lovely ladies. Will always return here for food and drinks.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on July 11, 2022Rebeccar, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Spiritualist Aberdeen! We hope to see you soon!

  29. JM

    JulieM

    Angus

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on July 8, 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Lovely fish and chips in a quiet wee location. Very friendly staff, service was excellent

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on July 11, 2022Juliem, thank you for sharing your positive experience! We’re delighted you enjoyed one of our favourite dishes too. Thanks for your kind comments on about our wonderful team. We hope you have a great day! And look forward to seeing you again. Best, Nikk

  30. HC

    HayleyC

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 1, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Brilliant service, very accommodating. Chef approached our friend who is gluten free and totally put her at ease! Fantastic food and drinks. Would definitely recommend! Staff couldn’t have been more accommodating.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on July 8, 2022Hi Hayleyc, Thanks for taking the time to provide your amazing feedback. It’s always nice to read comments about our team exceeding expectations. I will share these lovely comments with the team. We are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience! And thank you very much for sharing this feedback! We very much look forward to your next visit. Best, Nikk

  31. CJ

    CaitJ

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 26, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Lovely spot for a Sunday morning brunch in Aberdeen! Highly recommend the strawberry pancakes, delicious! Staff were friendly and attentive, plus the boozy brunch offer is great value, you will definately not leave hungry or thirsty.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on July 8, 2022Hi CaitJ Thanks for your lovely review, we’re delighted to hear when we’ve exceeded expectation. And we’re glad you like the pancakes as much as we do! We appreciate your kind words and very much look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Thanks, Nikk

  32. JS

    JonathanS

    Aberdeen

    2 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on June 19, 2022

    overall3food3service1ambience1
    Really slow service, clear shortages in the kitchen as we were the only table there to be served

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on June 24, 2022Jonathans, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I'm afraid in the current climate there's a national shortage of chefs and we're doing our best to resolve this issue. I hope you'll give us another chance in the future.

  33. CP

    CP01

    Glasgow

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on June 19, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Delicious food and great cocktails with our Boozy Brunch. Very welcoming staff.

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on June 24, 2022Hello Cp01, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this fantastic feedback! We hope to see you soon!

  34. CS

    CatrionaS

    Glasgow

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 18, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Lovely staff, really nice drinks and great ambience

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on June 22, 2022Hi Catrionas, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Spiritualist Aberdeen. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We hope to see you soon!

  35. K

    Kerri

    Aberdeen

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on June 18, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We was in yesterday and cocktails was amazing! Staff was so friendly and helpful and bar staff done a great job! Outside area is beautiful! Will defo be back :)

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on June 22, 2022Kerri, we really appreciate your positive review! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

  36. LS

    LauraS

    Milwaukee

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on June 16, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Lots of fun drinks to choose from and all of the food was very good. Loved the ambiance of the place and staff were very nice!

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on June 17, 2022Lauras, thank you for sharing your positive experience! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you back soon! x

  37. O

    Oliver

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 11, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience4
    They were very busy so food took a while and one item wasn't available, but the service more than made up for it

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on June 13, 2022Oliver, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Spiritualist Aberdeen! We hope to see you soon!

  38. LM

    LauraM

    Aberdeen

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on June 11, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food was delicious Drinks were lovely Staff really friendly and helpful

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on June 13, 2022Hi Lauram, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Spiritualist Aberdeen. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this information about your recent visit. Take care!

  39. FN

    FionaN

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 11, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Brunch was delicious and cocktails delightful. My Bloody Mary was spot on 👌

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on June 13, 2022Hi Fionan, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Spiritualist Aberdeen. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

  40. JS

    JanS

    Aberdeen

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 3, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    Great service and a lovely cocktail because I was the birthday girl. Sadly bacon was fatty and undercooked on the bacon pancakes so I could only eat the pancakes but overall a great afternoon

    The Spiritualist AberdeenResponded on June 13, 2022Hello Jans, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! I'm sad to hear you didn't fully enjoy your meal. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you; we are more than happy to help!

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitizing

    • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
    • Contactless payment available
  • Physical distancing

    • Distancing maintained in common areas
    • Extra space between tables
  • Protective equipment

    • Waitstaff wear masks
    • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
    • Diner temperature check required
    • Staff temperature check required
    • Contact tracing information collected

FAQs

The Spiritualist Aberdeen is rated 4.1 stars by 211 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

9:30 PM


Booked 12 times today
Google Map for The Spiritualist Aberdeen

67 Langstane Pl, Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire AB11 6EN

Additional information

  • Neighborhood

    Aberdeen

  • Hours of operation

    Dinner Wed, Thu 5:00 pm–8:45 pm Fri 12:00 pm–8:45 pm Sat, Sun 3:00 pm–8:45 pm Brunch Sat, Sun 12:00 pm–3:00 pm Bar Wed, Thu 5:00 pm–12:00 am Fri, Sat 12:00 pm–1:00 am Sun 12:00 pm–11:00 pm

  • Cuisines

    Scottish, Tapas / Small Plates

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Dress code

    Smart Casual

  • Parking details

    None

  • Payment options

    MasterCard, Visa

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Dog Friendly, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo