The Potting Shed

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1032 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$40 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Modern Australian
The Potting Shed is a place to meet, eat, drink, relax and chat your day and night away – where hanging plants, terracotta pots and timber beams meet brass, brick and iron. Where you can plant yourself down on the swing seat, bench or at the bar and feel like you are on your family’s porch. It’s a lively place where you can hoe into fresh, locally harvested produce, delivered by our shed-hands. The same hands that will deliver you good-natured banter, craft beers on tap, great tasting wines and unique cocktails. The menu offers cozy share options for groups, three course substantial meal choices for those wanting to make an evening of it and a fun selection of nibbles for people wanting a light after-work snack with their cocktails or a share jug amongst friends.
What 1032 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
MG
MartaGC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

all excellent, i loved, food and green atmosphere in there

LJ
LeeJ
New York Area
14 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Stunning surroundings and wood menu selection

The Potting Shed
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, Lee! We really look forward to having you and your guests back again! Kindest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
NS
NataliaS
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Music was pretty loud. Waited 10 minutes to be sitted and ended up next to a table full of kids who were jumping almost on me with their dirty shoes. Waiter hardly understands English. My broccolini was burnt but when I comlained apparently it supposed to and I still was charged for that. Kids supposedly for free but we were charged anyway and had to point that out. Never again.

The Potting Shed
Responded 2 days ago

Hello Natalia, I'm sorry that you felt disappointed with your experience and let down by some issues - I would love to discuss your comments further, if you would like to reply back to this message. While we have been adhering to government policy to the 1.5 metre social distancing rule, I am sorry to hear that the other table was a distraction. At The Grounds we believe in diversity and your comments are an unfair projection of our staff. Looking forward to hearing from you. Catherine. VM

Report
J
Jenna
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food5service3ambience5

It seemed like there was a bit of a staffing issue as we didnt get a clear server and lots of little requests (eg. another drink) took a very long time to be resolved. However, the staff were as attentive as they could be considering they seemed under the pump.
Wonderful food and drinks.

The Potting Shed
Responded 3 days ago

Hello Jenna, We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and apologise that service was not up to speed. Hope this does not detour you from dining within The Potting Shed for future reservations. Glad to hear you enjoyed our menu and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager

Report
KB
KiriB
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

have been to the Potting Shed many many times. Food was always ok. Staff always fantastic. This time after all this Covid the food was amazing, its like they really stepped up. Everything was so delicious. Well done.

The Potting Shed
Responded 3 days ago

Hello Kiri, We are so happy to hear you are a returning customer and thank you for leaving a lovely review. We will pass this onto our team and look forward to your next dine in experience with us. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager

Report
SO
SarahO
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great night, great staff, awesome food and drinks!

The Potting Shed
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Sarah, Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience dining within The Potting Shed. We hope to see you again sometime soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager

Report
J
Jemma
1 review
Dined on July 4, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

It’s a great vibrant place for dinner. We went here for a date night and we had an amazing night with delicious food and a beautiful lively atmosphere

The Potting Shed
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Jemma, Thank you for your lovely review, we are happy you had an enjoyable dining experience for your date night. We will pass your kind words to the rest of the team. Hope to see you back sometime soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager

Report
A
Alan
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on July 4, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Good service was very slow, took 30mins to get an entree and another 35mins for the main to come after chasing it. Was was average and was not very warm. It was not very busy there as it was at the end of lunch (2.15-3.45pm).

The Potting Shed
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Alan, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Potting Shed. I am so sorry to hear you had a less than brilliant experience. We have taken on board your feedback, and aim to improve on the issues you have raised. We look forward to having you back, so you can enjoy the true Potting Shed experience. Warm regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
C
Cham
Sydney / NSW
3 reviews
Dined on July 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely amazing! I had missed The Potting Shed, was so glad to be back there for a wonderful lunch. Great food, cocktails, service & atmosphere. We were even sat next to Fluffy who was a pleasure to hang with. I've already made another booking for next week! My favourite place to go in Sydney!

The Potting Shed
Responded 3 days ago

Hello Cham, We are so thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience at The Potting Shed. We can't wait to have you back and look forward to seeing you again! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
TT
TinaT
1 review
Dined on July 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was perfect from the moment we arrived. The atmosphere, the fairy lights held a kind of mystery, our host, Joanne was amazing and the food, I had the swordfish was magnificent. Thank you for creating a perfect Friday escape from everyday reality.

The Potting Shed
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Tina, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience at The Potting Shed, and will certainly share your feedback to your server, Joanna. We really look forward to having you back again. Warmest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
D
Dlovely
1 review
Dined on July 3, 2020
Overall4food4service1ambience5

Great place, good food, good vibe, it’s a bit slow to get your food and the menu seems to change a lot.

The Potting Shed
Responded 3 days ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere of our venue. We are sorry that the service was not up to our standard speed. Our menu changes twice a year we keep classic favourites and add a variety of new cultural dishes. We hope to see you back sometime soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager

Report
LP
LauraP
1 review
Dined on July 3, 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience4

The waitress was very nice, helpful and friendly. The food was a bit overpriced, I asked for a veggie burger and Sweet potato fries and they didn’t have any, both are on the menu. When we finished our food, the waitress told us about the 1.5 hour policy, she was very embarrassed to ask us to leave. I noticed it was the manager who told her to asked us to leave. Even if we wanted to order drinks we were not allowed to stay. The restaurant wasn’t full. Very rude manager.

The Potting Shed
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Laura, Thank you for your honest response. I am sorry you felt like you were not allowed to say and disappointed with your options being unavailable. Since The Potting Shed reopened, we have changed our dishes, so the veggie burger and sweet potato fries are not on our new menu. Due to government policy, unfortunately, we cannot allow anyone to stay past 1.5 hours on a table. I do hope this clears everything up, and we look forward to having you back. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
a
amyw
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

could not fault it.
great company
nice added marshmallow on a stick as you left was great.

The Potting Shed
Responded 3 days ago

Hello Amy, Thank you for leaving a lovely review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience within The Potting Shed with our special marshmallow roasting treat. We look forward to seeing you dine with us again. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager

Report
D
Donna
1 review
Dined on July 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I thoroughly enjoyed my last visit and will definitely go back again.

The Potting Shed
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Donna, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time dining with us. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
TM
TaraM
1 review
Dined on March 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a quick early dinner and from the moment we arrived felt welcome and cared for. The food was tasty, fast and fun.

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 21, 2020

Hi Tara, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourselves at The Potting Shed. We look forward to having you back. Warmest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
AK
AnaghaK
1 review
Dined on March 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This place never fails to amaze! Beautiful and cosy place to hangout with family and friends. And the barramundi and squid pasta was delicious!

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 18, 2020

Hi Anagha, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear you had a great experience, and we will definitely pass your comments on to our team. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we really look forward to having you back in the near future. Kindest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
E
Ellen
1 review
Dined on March 15, 2020
Overall2food3service3ambience3

Great venue however there was a super loud wedding going on next door and no sound barriers. Was quite unsettling

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 18, 2020

Hi Ellen, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are currently looking into ways we can avoid this issue from occurring, and we very much appreciate your feedback. We do hope to see you again. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
L
Lizzie
1 review
Dined on March 15, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Loved the setting and the mccaw parrot!! The drinks took only 15 minutes to get to our table and my Gurnard tempura battered fillets with lettuce, crispy chips And chunky tartare sauce was scrumptious!! My family ordered vegetarian dishes like Green pea Gigli pasta but unfortunately, no more in kitchen, so they had to choose a vegan burger.
Hopefully, more vegetarian food in stock next time!

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 18, 2020

Hi Lizzie, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us at The Potting Shed, and look forward to having you back. We apologise for not having one of the favourites available - hopefully next time you visit we will have the pasta back. Fluffy and I wish you warm wishes, and look forward to having you back. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on March 15, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Overprice. Slow service. Food was fantastic. However I did ask the waitress to let me know whether we ordered too much as I did not know the portion size. She made it seem like they were small and we ordered 4 dishes between 2 people. 2 dishes would have been enough or 3 at maximum. Waited 50 minutes for the food to come out. Not ideal.

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 18, 2020

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to get in touch. I am so sorry you felt let down by the service and wait time. We will certainly pass this on to our team, as all feedback is really important for ways of training. We do hope to see you again, and provide you with an even better experience. Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
RC
RebekahC
1 review
Dined on March 15, 2020
Overall3food2service2ambience4

Pretty but food wasn’t great and coffee was less than average

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 17, 2020

Hello Rebekah Thanks for taking the time to write to us. I am sorry that we let you down, if you would like to respond with some more detail so we can look into this further it would be much appreciated. Regards Gareth Restaurant manager

Report
EN
EmmaN
1 review
Dined on March 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food for both adults & kids, fantastic ambience and attentive staff.

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 17, 2020

Hi Emma So happy you enjoyed your time with us! I will definitely pass this onto our team. We look forward to seeing you soon. Gareth Restaurant Manager

Report
LL
LaurineLC
1 review
Dined on March 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a pleasure to eat at this lovely place and the team is always warm and kind.

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 17, 2020

Hi Laurine, We appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback! So glad you enjoyed your time with us, I will ensure to pass on your comments with the team. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again Gareth Restaurant manager

Report
RW
RichardW
1 review
Dined on March 13, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Food was excellent, appeared sometimes to be an unusual combination for some dishes, but the taste of our choices was wonderful. Excellent choice of wines as well.

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 17, 2020

Hello Richard Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, I will pass the good words on to our team. Thanks again Gareth Restaurant Manager

Report
BP
BarbaraP
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on March 13, 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience4

I have had most of the cocktails here which all seem to be lacking in alcohol but this time we opted for the Cocktail Bowl which looked really pretty but however it was mainly Ice we couldnt taste any alcohol at all and it was very watery. I think I'll stick to wine next time as the cocktails are very overpriced for what you get. Love the Place though!

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 17, 2020

Hello Barbara Thanks for taking the time to give us this feedback, We are currently working on new cocktails and will keep this feedback in mind. We hope to see you again Gareth Restaurant manager

Report
P
Peter
1 review
Dined on March 10, 2020
Overall1food4service1ambience3

Asked for an extra plate. Waiter walked away, in sight of table grabbed a plate that had money on it, wiped it with a napkin and brought it back over. We refused it and ask for a clean one. Not cool.

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 14, 2020

Hi Peter, Thank you for your feedback. I am really sorry for the experience that you received - this really sounds like such unusual practice and I would love to get a bit more information from you so I can investigate into the matter further. Again, please accept our apologises and I look forward to hearing from you soon. Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
SP
StephanieP
1 review
Dined on March 9, 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience3

I would like to see more vegetarian or vegan main meal options.
There was only 1 vegetarian main meal on the menu!

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 11, 2020

Hi Steph, We appreciate your feedback on our menu. At The Potting Shed we try to cater for all dietary requirements, so I apologise you felt let down by our vegetarian options. Next time you visit us make sure you try our Vegetarian Burger which is on our Main Menu and is one of my personal favourites. We look forward to seeing you again. Warm Regards, Cathetine, Venue Manager

Report
DN
DraganaN
1 review
Dined on March 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

That waiter Connor was amazing he was so accomodating and so nice.

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 10, 2020

Hi Dragana, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback about our waiter, Conor - we will certainly share your comments to him and the rest of the team. We really look forward to having you back. Warm regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
CN
CharmainN
1 review
Dined on March 8, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

First time at The Grounds and loved it. The Potting Shed was lovely and decorated so well .

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 10, 2020

Hi Charmain, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourselves, and we look forward to having you back. Kindest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
NS
NaomiS
1 review
Dined on March 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful place with delicious food (especially dessert!) Lovely service—thanks to Vanessa!! Had a great birthday at the Potting Shed

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 10, 2020

Hi Naomi, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear your experience was a memorable one. I will certainly pass your feedback on to Vanessa and the rest of the team. We really look forward to having you back! Kindest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Perfect n love it

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 10, 2020

Hi there, We are so happy to hear you loved your experience at The Potting Shed. We look forward to your next visit. Warm regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Birthday party . But service was really slow and they apologised but over 1 hour to bring food

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 10, 2020

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were let down by the wait on food. I would love to be able to get a bit more information, so I can discuss where we went so wrong with the related team. I look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience. Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
AH
AnneH
1 review
Dined on March 6, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

This is a unique place to dine with family or friends. Relaxed atmosphere with quality food & friendly service.

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 11, 2020

Hi Anne, Thank you so much for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed your experience here at The Potting Shed. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager

Report
N
Nat12
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on March 5, 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience4

As always great location. Staff were polite but a bit scruffy!! Food was delicious, but wouldn't mind seeing a few more options on the dessert menu. Thanks again

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 14, 2020

Hi Nat, Thank you very much for your feedback - we are glad you enjoyed our food. I am sorry you felt let down by the options on our dessert menu. We change our menu seasonally so do visit us again! Lastly, I would love to learn more about what you mean by our staff being scruffy. Please do get in touch so I can investigate this matter further. Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
JC
JaneC
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on March 1, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

All good but far too crowded on a Sunday

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 10, 2020

Hi Jane, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. We'd love for you to come along during weekdays, when it is less crowded. Kindest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
DB
DonB
1 review
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Absolutely great food and a fantastic atmosphere let down by a couple of really bad issues.
1. The drinks service is abysmal. Ordered a couple of Ciders at the bar prior to seating as we were waiting on the rest of our party. At least 15 mins to get a drink. Wine ordered for dinner when eating entree did not arrive until after we finished our mains. Multiple reminders, just didn't happen. You can get this at a place that makes a lot of cocktails. The bar staff are way too busy.
2. The toilets, Men's particularly, at the end of the night were disgusting. Overflowing urinals, the works. Really bad. It was at a Pub level, which a restaurant set at this price range should definitely be a step above.

It really is a shame. Wait staff were very friendly and tried their best, really good buzz about the place, but probably won't go back.

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 3, 2020

Hi Don, Thank you so much for your honest review. I am so disappointed to hear you were left waiting for your drinks - I can imagine how frustrating this would have been. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We are reviewing the issue with the men's urinals and have our maintenance team onsite, as it has proven to be a bigger issue than we anticipated. We really hope this experience hasn't deterred you from visiting us again, as we would love to make it up to you. Kind regards, Catherine.

Report
D
Dons
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great ambiance food staff fluffy cocktails inner city fun night Hanks to Ricky and Lily Cheers Recommend its a must 🌻🌻🌻

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 3, 2020

Hi Donna, Thank you so much for your beautiful review - we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit at The Potting Shed. We have passed your lovely comments to Ricky and Lilli, and we very much look forward to having you back. Kindest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
M
Mitchell
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Took visitors to Sydney and my parents everybody loved it, excellent friendly service and great food

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 3, 2020

Hi Mitchell, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us at The Potting Shed. We really hope to see you again. Warmest, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
ER
EricaR
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was so delicious and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. It was my friends birthday and they surprised her with dessert going above and beyond to make her feel special. Will definitely be returning and recommending to everyone.

The Potting Shed
Responded on March 3, 2020

Hi Erica, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback - it is very much appreciated. I will definitely pass your comments to your server, Bronie. We really look forward to having you back again. Warmest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.

Report
NP
NataliaP
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on February 23, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

We ordered a veal and lamb . Both dishes were not so good. But Atmosphere, service, desserts and the place are amazing!!

The Potting Shed
Responded on February 26, 2020

Hi Natalia, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed the rest of your experience with us but I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your main meals. I'd be grateful if you could give me a bit more information as to the issue with them so that we can address it. Warm regards, Sarah, Potting Shed Supervisor

Report
DK
DarrenK
1 review
Dined on February 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a lovely experience visiting the Potting Shed , our meal was beautiful especially the delicious desserts! Service was excellent and we were very impressed with Fluffy !

The Potting Shed
Responded on February 26, 2020

Hi Darren, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We're glad you had such a great time with us and Fluffy, and that you enjoyed our delicious food. We look forward to seeing you again next time! Best regards Sarah, Potting Shed Supervisor

Report

FAQs

The Potting Shed is rated 4.3 stars by 1032 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.