The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle

4.2
92 Reviews
£25 and under
British
The Pigs Nose Inn is a traditional english pub with lots of unique character and also the addition of being Devon’s most southerly independent live music venue. Located in a village of East Prawle, not far from Kingsbridge. The pub overlooks the charming village green where you can sit down in the summer days and enjoy a Walkers ploughman’s lunch, baguette or jacket potato.

Our new menu brings a selection of the best quality, hearty pub food featuring a regularly changing specials menu supporting our daily menu with dishes all sourced from local Devon farming and fishing produce. Our main menu has the satisfying classics like pub beer battered cod & chips or a beef burger, onion rings, chips and salad to tempt your tastebuds. Then have a sip of an ultra local beer from South Hams Brewery or Otter Brewery or a nice hot drink after a long walk on coast paths.

Sunday Roast Dinner - now serving a Sunday Roast every week & limited Sunday menu for people who don’t fancy a roast.

Support The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 92 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
R
Rvw6
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely plant burger, posh mac and cheese and 3 bean chilli. Really nice to have a good choice of vegetarian meals.

s
sallyhart
Kent
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A lovely evening with amazing hardworking staff and delicious food.
Vegi/vegan options outstanding. Fish pie yummy. Eddystone Ale and half n half cider recommended!!!
Great pub; great setting; it has all the elements for a top night.

VK
VikK
Cornwall
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Favourite pub for the past 40 years!
Excellent food and great atmosphere

TO
TOWG
London
1 review
Dined on July 11, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Pre booked but put in a dingy barn like structure outside.not in the main bar. Complained and taken through to main pub after a while.
Took ages to be served, food was undercooked and greasy. Looking around it was obvious the place was filthy, cobwebs everywhere and floor very greasy. I dread to think what the kitchen was like! I took a step down from the room we were eating in to go to the toilet snd immediately my foot slipped out from under me snd I fell and hurt my arm.
I was told sorry it’s a big greasy there! If they knew why did they not do anything about it? Tried to make it better by offering me a whiskey!
A sign appeared after about 30 minutes but no attempt to clean the grease off the floor
Most of the staff were pleasant but a young make who seemed to be in charge was very off with us.
Toilets were also filthy.
Needless to say I and everyone in my party will not be going back!

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on July 14, 2021

Due to the limited capacity with current Covid regulations, we use our function room as extra seating where previous famous bands have performed plus many weddings hires over the years. The majority of people do enjoy it. Other customers also overheard you, after you left they told us wonderful time they're having. The floor was not greasy; it was wet outside it’s a stone floor so gets slippery, first time in 20 years someone has slipped. Conclusion our cosy and eccentric pub isn’t right for you

Report
MG
MandyG
1 review
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall1food1service3ambience2

Very disappointed when we arrived. The place was scruffy ( although I do appreciate it is a very old building and some may consider this to be part of its charm ) .It was dirty, the cushion on my chair was so dirty I chose to move it , the cutlery holder still had rubbish in it from previous diners , there was writing on the walls. The food was awful , the fish was grey and the batter was overly thick and greasy, the macaroni cheese was tasteless and greasy. We couldn’t face dessert as we left at the earliest opportunity.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on July 11, 2021

Hi, We are so sorry you had a bad experience here, we didn’t receive any of this feedback when you were here so we couldn’t do anything to resolve your issues. Yes - the pub is very old and a bit shabby but thats how we like it, we prefer the term cosy and eccentric. As for the food - our fish is fresh every day and as you can see from our previous reviews people love our fish and chips. Sorry you had a bad time with us

Report
CB
ChrisB
Cornwall
2 reviews
Dined on July 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a great night in the Pigs Nose last night! The food was excellent and reasonable with excellent service. Thank you 😊

S
Star
Cornwall
4 reviews
Dined on July 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic night in the Pigs Nose!! Staff were brilliant, wore masks all the time and keep carefully to all the rules and regulations!! Well Done!!

RO
RichardO
1 review
Dined on July 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great little cosy pub nestled in the countryside. A welcome respite from the rain!

MB
MalcolmB
Cornwall
4 reviews
Dined on July 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Mellowing experience. Enjoyable every time. No hassle service.

S
Star
Cornwall
4 reviews
Dined on July 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always very good!! Great service great staff. Everyone really works hard in these difficult times.

NS
NicS
1 review
Dined on July 1, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience4

I know from overhearing various conversations and reading reviews that there is an issue with staff and new appointments have been made , our experience was not good we arrived at 8 pm our booked time and were shown to our table and advised our order would be taken shortly, after an hour I chased up getting served and an order was placed for food and drinks we were advised that the kitchen was about to close but our food would be OK. The drinks arrived quickly followed by our starter but with a few mins the mains course arrived when we were only part way though the starter which was not ideal as both were hot food which one do you let get cold!, we weren't offered desert. Not a great experience the staffing seems to be a problem in the hospitality industry at present which is a shame as we loved the quirky ness of the pub and plan to visit again when I’m sure the experience would be better and Covid is behind us.

TS
TobyS
1 review
Dined on July 1, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

All the staff at the Pig's Nose went to enormous lengths to be bright and friendly despite the complications caused by COVID and being very busy.

BB
BillB
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on July 1, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great meal with friends at my favourite pub in the world!

N
Nicky
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Visited The Pigs Nose with friends and we had both food and drink. We ordered a good selection from the menu and the meals arrived quickly considering how busy the pub was during our visit. Social distancing was not a problem and staff wore masks at all times.
The food was really tasty and good value and the pub has lots of character and a good few characters too!
Recommended to all.

S
Star
Cornwall
4 reviews
Dined on June 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent as always!! All the staff are working very hard to obey all the rules during the covid restrictions.

S
Sinrach
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

A quirky little pub.
Food was out of this world and I’d recommend the ham hock croquettes also the local burger with its charcoal taste.
Eddy stone was an amazing pale ale.
Staff done a great job as they were rushed of there feet with the high demand as it was packed so make sure you pre book!
Will definitely be returning 👍👍👍👍

JW
JamesW
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent value , love this pub !
Even though the weather conditions outside were awe full they found room inside with no fuss , created a great atmosphere and service was still greet !
Our dog even had plenty of space to stretch out after a long days walking !

OT
OpenTable Diner
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Staff were super friendly, welcoming and efficient.

Food was superb in all respects; flavour, taste and presentation. The menu is varied but not over extensive, products locally sourced & fresh, all dishes made in house and very well priced (as are the beers & cider) given the quality & quantity with the product being

The best fish n chips I’ve had since retiring to the UK, 10 years Avon.

Give the local lager and cider (Red Devon) a try, you won’t be disappointed.

I can’t believe I have never been here before. But we will return as monthly regulars now!

r
robertc
1 review
Dined on June 25, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great to find a proper pub with a lovely atmosphere, fab food nice ales and good value.

I
Iang
1 review
Dined on June 25, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Nice pub atmosphere, was looking forward to the burger but not available so had the steak which was very good my wife's gf fish was also excellent, apparently there was a specials board which we weren't shown pity as I would have tried the curry. Good that they can provide some gf options.

NB
NicolaB
London
3 reviews
Dined on June 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Another wonderful evening in my lovely local Pigs Nose. New menu is interesting and tasty. Ham & cheese croquettes were really good. The staff are coping really well with the demands of Covid compliance. Well done team. Thank you. 😊.

KM
KarenMac
1 review
Dined on June 24, 2021
Overall3food4service1ambience3

Food was good and reasonably priced but the service was pretty dire. It took half an hour for us to receive our first drink, my order was taken incorrectly which meant that I received a meal that I hadn't ordered, we were never offered any sauces or condiments and it took 4 attempts to give us the correct bill! But the food was good and we did enjoy our meal in spite of everything!

k
karenl
Orlando
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Limited menu but lovely food and very good value. So pleased the chefs piping bags have arrived!!!!

CS
ChrisS
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Good quality food in lovely setting. Good stop for walkers.

PP
PoppyP
1 review
Dined on June 19, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Very under staffed, could not look after guests properly we felt ignored. Sat in a position to hear staff fighting with each other en route to the kitchen. Ran out of multiple dishes on a small menu and did not tell us until 10 minutes after we ordered. When food did arrive very small portions. Management needs work as those who were working did the very best they could when they were clearly out of their depth on a Saturday night.

S
Sandida
1 review
Dined on June 18, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience2

Due to a medical problem and having been sat at a table by the speaker, we asked for the music to be turned down. This was done immediately and we were very happy. However, later on the music was turned up again even though the football was on in the other room. The noise levels were unacceptably high with the clashing sounds of the TV and the music from the speakers. In addition staff could often be heard bickering with each other. and there seemed to be little communication between as were asked several times if we had ordered (I guess that's better than waiting ages). This is such a shame and I do hope that a manager can rectify things because the food we ate was good and I can see a lot of potential for the place.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on June 20, 2021

Hi Sandida, Very sorry you had a bad experience; you should have asked to see the manager, and if I’d known, I would have moved you to a much quieter table. It was extremely busy on Friday being the football on, and a few things do need to get sorted to stop the confusion with the staff. I hope this hasn’t deterred you from a second visit as I’m sure we won’t disappoint you.

Report
C
Claire
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 18, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Tasty food. Great atmosphere. Staff friendly but drinks order took ages to arrive

HG
HelenG
1 review
Dined on June 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great pub, lovely food, lively and friendly atmosphere- what’s not to love.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
1 review
Dined on June 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and atmosphere

OT
OpenTable Diner
Berlin
1 review
Dined on June 15, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Best Chips ever, says the aficionado in our party. Enormous Haddock providing ample fuel for spectacular coast walk afterwards

JS
JohannaS
1 review
Dined on June 13, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Good food.
Had calamari, accommodating of different choice of chips. Great beer

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Arrived and seated very quickly, seating was at a table for 2 right next to kitchen door I was aware of the door and kept myself close to the table, a member of staff exiting the kitchen was quite abrupt and in no fewer words " I was in the way"
I didn't put myself there, you did.
The mains were ordered and arrived, pub was very busy and looked to me to be very understaffed, and overworked, staff were all over the place, no checking up on how food was, I was having to catch waiter/waitress to ask for another round of drinks, after finishing our main we waited about 20-25 to catch somebody to take our plates away and again prompt for dessert menu. On the menu there was at least 2 variations of the said menu, the main that I chose was on one menu as a cheddar frattata on another it was a goats cheese? Very confusing and embarrassing for all involved, like wise the dessert menu, 1 had a cheese board the other didn't very confusing 😕
Food was of a standard of ok pub food.
Very disappointed.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on June 13, 2021

I am very sorry you had a bad experience; if I'd known you had the menu of the day before on your table, I would have said that the menu you were viewing was incorrect. Someone must of given it to you by mistake. I’m sure it won’t happen again. Please visit again after Thursday as we will have a completely new menu.

Report
SH
StephenH
Derbyshire
1 review
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely atmosphere and excellent food at reasonable prices.
Perhaps not so good if you don't like dogs as it is a "dog friendly" pub. Not a problem for us as we are dog lovers!

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on June 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Perfect pub lunch!

m
markh
London
1 review
Dined on June 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great village pub with good food and a fantastic choice of real ales . Very friendly staff and interesting surroundings, loved it

j
jojo
Bristol
1 review
Dined on June 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Proper pub, top grub, great staff and a slice of happiness

JG
JillG
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Sour beer and not good food also look carefully at your bill for overcharging

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on June 6, 2021

Hi JillG, Sorry for your bad experience. We do remember you, there was a mishap on your bill as the new server had the wrong menu open on the tills system. There was a slight mistake which was rectified. Any complaints we were highly apologetic and we would of done more to resolve the issue if you let us.

Report
E
Ellieo
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere. Friendly staff and manager. Good good and lovely vibe
We'll be back!

CD
ChickD
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Good pub food, great beer, good service. A quirky pub coping well with the current Covid regulations.

N
Nick
1 review
Dined on June 3, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience5

The Pigs Nose never fails to make me smile. Great character fabulous beer and like so many establishments the staff are working so hard in such difficult circumstances. I’ve returned on many occasions over the last 40+ years and hope to do so for many more and perhaps catch a good band one day soon😎👍

FAQs

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at 01548 511209.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle is rated 4.2 stars by 92 OpenTable diners.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.pigsnoseinn.co.uk/gift-cards.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.