The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle

4.2
68 Reviews
£25 and under
British
The Pigs Nose Inn is a traditional english pub with lots of unique character and also the addition of being Devon’s most southerly independent live music venue. Located in a village of East Prawle, not far from Kingsbridge. The pub overlooks the charming village green where you can sit down in the summer days and enjoy a Walkers ploughman’s lunch, baguette or jacket potato.

Our new menu brings a selection of the best quality, hearty pub food featuring a regularly changing specials menu supporting our daily menu with dishes all sourced from local Devon farming and fishing produce. Our main menu has the satisfying classics like pub beer battered cod & chips or a beef burger, onion rings, chips and salad to tempt your tastebuds. Then have a sip of an ultra local beer from South Hams Brewery or Otter Brewery or a nice hot drink after a long walk on coast paths.

Sunday Roast Dinner - now serving a Sunday Roast every week & limited Sunday menu for people who don’t fancy a roast.

Support The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 68 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.0
service
4.2
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Energetic
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
k
karenl
Orlando
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Limited menu but lovely food and very good value. So pleased the chefs piping bags have arrived!!!!

CS
ChrisS
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Good quality food in lovely setting. Good stop for walkers.

PP
PoppyP
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Very under staffed, could not look after guests properly we felt ignored. Sat in a position to hear staff fighting with each other en route to the kitchen. Ran out of multiple dishes on a small menu and did not tell us until 10 minutes after we ordered. When food did arrive very small portions. Management needs work as those who were working did the very best they could when they were clearly out of their depth on a Saturday night.

S
Sandida
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food3service2ambience2

Due to a medical problem and having been sat at a table by the speaker, we asked for the music to be turned down. This was done immediately and we were very happy. However, later on the music was turned up again even though the football was on in the other room. The noise levels were unacceptably high with the clashing sounds of the TV and the music from the speakers. In addition staff could often be heard bickering with each other. and there seemed to be little communication between as were asked several times if we had ordered (I guess that's better than waiting ages). This is such a shame and I do hope that a manager can rectify things because the food we ate was good and I can see a lot of potential for the place.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Sandida, Very sorry you had a bad experience; you should have asked to see the manager, and if I’d known, I would have moved you to a much quieter table. It was extremely busy on Friday being the football on, and a few things do need to get sorted to stop the confusion with the staff. I hope this hasn’t deterred you from a second visit as I’m sure we won’t disappoint you.

Report
HG
HelenG
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great pub, lovely food, lively and friendly atmosphere- what’s not to love.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Berlin
1 review
Dined on June 15, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Best Chips ever, says the aficionado in our party. Enormous Haddock providing ample fuel for spectacular coast walk afterwards

JS
JohannaS
1 review
Dined on June 13, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Good food.
Had calamari, accommodating of different choice of chips. Great beer

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Arrived and seated very quickly, seating was at a table for 2 right next to kitchen door I was aware of the door and kept myself close to the table, a member of staff exiting the kitchen was quite abrupt and in no fewer words " I was in the way"
I didn't put myself there, you did.
The mains were ordered and arrived, pub was very busy and looked to me to be very understaffed, and overworked, staff were all over the place, no checking up on how food was, I was having to catch waiter/waitress to ask for another round of drinks, after finishing our main we waited about 20-25 to catch somebody to take our plates away and again prompt for dessert menu. On the menu there was at least 2 variations of the said menu, the main that I chose was on one menu as a cheddar frattata on another it was a goats cheese? Very confusing and embarrassing for all involved, like wise the dessert menu, 1 had a cheese board the other didn't very confusing 😕
Food was of a standard of ok pub food.
Very disappointed.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on June 13, 2021

I am very sorry you had a bad experience; if I'd known you had the menu of the day before on your table, I would have said that the menu you were viewing was incorrect. Someone must of given it to you by mistake. I’m sure it won’t happen again. Please visit again after Thursday as we will have a completely new menu.

Report
SH
StephenH
Derbyshire
1 review
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely atmosphere and excellent food at reasonable prices.
Perhaps not so good if you don't like dogs as it is a "dog friendly" pub. Not a problem for us as we are dog lovers!

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on June 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Perfect pub lunch!

m
markh
London
1 review
Dined on June 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great village pub with good food and a fantastic choice of real ales . Very friendly staff and interesting surroundings, loved it

j
jojo
Bristol
1 review
Dined on June 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Proper pub, top grub, great staff and a slice of happiness

JG
JillG
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Sour beer and not good food also look carefully at your bill for overcharging

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on June 6, 2021

Hi JillG, Sorry for your bad experience. We do remember you, there was a mishap on your bill as the new server had the wrong menu open on the tills system. There was a slight mistake which was rectified. Any complaints we were highly apologetic and we would of done more to resolve the issue if you let us.

Report
E
Ellieo
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere. Friendly staff and manager. Good good and lovely vibe
We'll be back!

CD
ChickD
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Good pub food, great beer, good service. A quirky pub coping well with the current Covid regulations.

N
Nick
1 review
Dined on June 3, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience5

The Pigs Nose never fails to make me smile. Great character fabulous beer and like so many establishments the staff are working so hard in such difficult circumstances. I’ve returned on many occasions over the last 40+ years and hope to do so for many more and perhaps catch a good band one day soon😎👍

S
Spin
London
2 reviews
Dined on June 3, 2021
Overall3food1service1ambience3

They were very apologetic about the menu, which was short but adequate. I’d rather a good short menu than too much, badly done.

They ran out five minutes after giving me my food to say it wasn’t gluten free, which was disappointing, because I’d asked for gf food as I am a coeliac and as I’d started eating. Luckily it turned out it was fine but an unnecessarily worrying start to a meal.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
1 review
Dined on June 2, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience3

The pub was far too busy for the number of staff. They were unable to accommodate everyone. Our food order was lost. We were there over 1 1/2 hrs with no food and in the end we walked out.

R
Roger
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 2, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We ate in the hall next to pub, Wednesday in half term, place half full and full of great nicknacks and band memorabilia from shows held there.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on June 3, 2021

Thank you, we are delighted you had a good time. Please visit us again soon!

Report
SL
SimonL
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on June 2, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience2

Lovely manager but not enough staff and too many menu options were sold out. The staff that were there were delightful though.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on June 3, 2021

You hit the nail on the head. It was quite a shock with table service. We have been closed for rather a long time and only just opened up on the 17th May. All teething problems that will get ironed out on hopefully your next visit.

Report
PM
PeterM
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 2, 2021
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Fabulous pub, lovely staff and cool punters. An eclectic oasis with an ‘off-grid’ feel. Perfect for us. But don’t expect a gastropub, it’s all about the left field ambience.

MC
MichaelC
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on June 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great pub, great food, staff friendly and coped well under pressure

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on June 3, 2021

Thank you for your kind review. Please visit us again soon once the pressure has been released.

Report
T
Trinny
Buckinghamshire
1 review
Dined on June 1, 2021
Overall1food4service1ambience3

Good pub, good food but chaotic. Staff under trained and expected to use technology which didn’t work! Had to wait a long time to be served despite booking a table.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on June 3, 2021

Sorry about your experience, please come visit us again soon once the pressure has lifted and I’m sure the experience will be much improved.

Report
S
Steph
1 review
Dined on June 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food in a relaxed atmosphere.

The staff were fab and couldn't have been more helpful despite clearly being rushed off their feet. The food was delicious - I had the frittata and it was great, my friend had a pulled pork brioche burger and the kids had gujons and scampi. What a hidden gem - will definitely be back!

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on June 3, 2021

Thank you for your kind words and splendid review glad you enjoyed our new pulled pork item. Please come visit us again soon

Report
HS
HeidiS
Dorset
1 review
Dined on May 31, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Would loved to have given a good review however, arrived haveing booked in advance. Stood around waiting for assistance. Very disorganised but eventually shown to a table. No menu's given. Drinks came after a short time. Waited 30 mins for a member of staff to come in and give us some menus. Could see it was busy so didn't want to appear impatient. Only to be told ...there will be a long wait for food...an hour at best. We were then told that they could only offer what was on the limited specials board as it was a Bank Holiday and they hadn't had a delivey? Also there was a lack of staff as due to furlough, staff not returning to their positions.
We decided not to stay, by this time it was 20.45. I can appreciate difficult times however the lack of communication either by telephone or text to give us the choice to cancel or even at the point of arrival would have been courteous. Many other's were disgruntled at having to wait a long period of time for drinks and food. Also other's only recieving half of their orders. Leaving the pub no choice to only charge for ther drinks.

Very hungry dissapointed family. 🙁

N
Neil
Bristol
1 review
Dined on May 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was manic. Bank Holiday Monday but the staff were terrific, the food was really good (cheeseburger / beef burger / pint of prawns) and the Otter was spot on.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 30, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Not great. We were one of the first customers indoors - the bar was pretty empty and we were escorted to some outbuilding where there was zero atmosphere. We asked to be moved to the empty bar area. Then we were sat with no service. It all looked a bit manic - more staff than customers but everyone was checking each others work. Still no service. Finally a drinks round and then the fun started - they were desperate to secure a tab (perhaps guests do a runner) but then they just took a payment for drinks (no tab secured) - I think that sent the other team members into meltdown. Food very average - open table advertising said Sunday Roasts were available. You guessed it - no Sunday Roasts were being served. All in all disappointing.

RM
RMling
1 review
Dined on May 30, 2021
Overall2food1service3ambience3

We were really disappointed in this place. The food is really bland, clearly frozen - shame when you have access to amazing local produce.
The waitresses we interacted with were lovely, can't fault them. But the (I assume) manager really ruined it for us: very loud, constantly micro managing the waiting staff. Even asking to pay the bill seemed to annoy him (but we no longer had a waitress since he asked her to go outside instead), not a smile or thank you.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on June 6, 2021

Hi RMling, It’s not normally like that, being table service with all the regulations we are finding it hard and being extremely busy and understaffed there was a lot of pressure. We are very sorry that you had a bad experience and very grateful for your custom. We do source everything on the menu from local farms, fisheries and suppliers andI hope you do visit again in future and have a totally different experience.

Report
L
Lucy84
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience5

Quirky, cool local pub with decent pub grub food. Busy on sunny days.

SI
SIMONM
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

We all enjoyed it and will be visiting again soon during our hols

TS
TeddyS
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic spot after a walk from Salcombe. Charming pub and fab staff, great much needed ploughman’s! Thank you. Can’t wait to come back, especially in the winter for some music fun I’ve heard about

VM
VickyM
London
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall3food5service3ambience3

Great food, lovely pub. Staff seemed a little bit hectic and pretty stressed!

D
julietteD
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A varied menu with lots to suit every appetite.
Very attentive staff.

C
Claireylouisa
1 review
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience5

Always a pleasure at The Pigs Nose, been coming here for years. The only issue was the new technology due to the pandemic, seemed to be internet problems and slight organisation issues; but I would say these are only teething problems. The food was great, and the staff were super polite and smiley 😊

MB
MalcolmB
Cornwall
3 reviews
Dined on May 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Chilled experience not often found in a pub.

s
sidero
1 review
Dined on May 26, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

A 'proper' pub - quirky and welcoming.
Great real ales (from the wood) and good food. What's not to like?
Will be back some time for their live music.

MB
MalcolmB
Cornwall
4 reviews
Dined on May 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Super food and casual non hassle experience. A great place to chill out.

MB
MalcolmB
Cornwall
4 reviews
Dined on May 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Local cider made I mellow

MB
MalcolmB
Cornwall
4 reviews
Dined on May 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service and food. Tasty & good value for money.

DV
DanielleV
1 review
Dined on May 22, 2021
Overall2food1service3ambience3

Staff were lovely and friendly, atmosphere was decent and we appreciated being able to sit inside post covid to take it all in as we had read it was a quirky pub. We booked for dinner knowing this would be your typical pub grub and not a la Carte dining which was absolutely fine and were all looking forward to some home cooked classics. Unfortunately we were left disappointed. The seating was not really the best but we chalked it down to the character of the venue and pressed on, the wine list was non existent with only 2 types of white wine on offer, we went for the Sauvignon at £22 a bottle and it honestly tasted terrible. The food was over cooked and tasteless. The baked Brie was so over cooked it went from a gooey state to rubber (something I didn’t think possible for hot melted cheese!) the battered cod was also over cooked so the fish beneath the extra crispy batter was dry, the chicken pies were rock hard and the gravy came out in a solid gloop from the jug!! The chips were verging charred and clearly had been over cooked and if not deep fried in old oil no other way to explain the colour and taste. There were a few mishaps with missing food and drink orders but we put that down to new staff and “post lockdown getting back into the swing off things”. After reading all the positive reviews we were a bit disappointed and really hope this was just an unfortunate one off.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle
Responded on May 24, 2021

Hi DanielleV, We are very sorry to hear about your bad experience with us. Honestly it's the first negative review we have had about out wine, we don't really have a big wine list because we are a traditional ale house. The food experience must be a one off.

Report

FAQs

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at 01548 511209.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle is rated 4.2 stars by 68 OpenTable diners.

The Pigs Nose Inn, East Prawle does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.pigsnoseinn.co.uk/gift-cards.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.