The Mouse Trap

3.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
12 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
The Mouse Trap was opened in 1979 by Bill Jerry and his lovely wife, Elizabeth. It has been a neighborhood oasis for over 40 years, serving generations of Columbians. George Floyd grew up going to the Mouse Trap, and went to school with the Jerry's son, Andy. When Mr. Jerry decided to retire, he had been talking to George for years about rebooting the Restaurant with George and Andy as the Owner/Operators. Andy has since moved on to pursue a career as a professional Carpenter. Check out the beautiful Bar... Andy built it!

George Floyd and Steve Gibson of Columbia are the Owner/Operators. George and Steve first worked together at Rockafellas, the legendary live music club in Five Points. Steve's family owned and operated the Peddler Steak House, The Hot Dog Peddler, and Gibson's Catering and Concessions. George has been affiliated with Gervais and Vine, Ruth's Chris, and Ristorante Divino's, among others. Together, they have well over 60 years experience in the Hospitality Field.
What 12 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.4based on recent ratings
3.5
food
3.6
service
3.5
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
50% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
AB
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall 1food 2service 4ambience 2

I’m sorry but the food here was ehhhhhh. Had the fish tacos and they were horrible, my daughter had the rib eye and said it was dry.. Very nice staff but wouldn’t come here again.

The Mouse Trap
Responded on October 2, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions. We are so sorry you had a bad experience. We do make a mistake from time to time, and occasionally, Folks just don't like something. We have passed your compliments along to the Wait Staff. Should you have an interest, please call me (Chef Steve) at 803 530 6705 to share specifics so I might share with the Kitchen Staff. I hope you will consider returning as our Guests.

Report
AB
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Made reservation through OpenTable, they seemed confused when we arrived but were seated quickly. Service was very slow. Then 1/2 hour after we placed our order I was told I had to pick something else because they messed up the pasta and did not have any more...pasta, really? Both my son and husband's dinner did not come out right. The food was okay. Then the check was slow. We were there Family Weekend and it's rather hard to find, both Uber driver's had difficulty figuring out how to get there. It's a bit far from downtown and certainly not worth the ride back. We won't be returning.

CR
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 3

Pedestrian food at best although the staff was pleasant.

The Mouse Trap
Responded on October 2, 2019

Charles, Thank you for taking a moment to share your opinion. Our philosophy is to take the best ingredients and prepare them simply and honestly. There are many restaurants in town where a Thesaurus is needed to read the menu. We are not one of those places. Our Menus are a work in progress, we are always striving to do our best. Should you have an interest, please call Chef Steve at 530 6705 to share details of your meal and let us know what disappointed you.

Report
A
Western NC
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Great place to meet with friends for good food, good service!

S
Richmond
4 reviews
Dined on September 13, 2019
Overall 1food 3service 1ambience 1

We had a group reservation and were not shy about our goal of having drinks and dinner. We had the slowest service possible. The people that came in after us (an 8 top) were not only served before us - I think they checked out before us. I love trying new places - if you haven’t been here, you might want to miss it.

P
Charleston
9 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

We made reservations on Open Table for Labor Day (website said they were open) drove 25 minutes to get there, place was closed. Previously 4 but n/a this time. Went back because food and service were good last time. Suggest updating their website

D
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

They were closed on Sunday and there was no information on their website or on Open Table about being closed. Someone else came by & discovered on their Facebook page that they were no longer open for Sunday brunch. I think they should have notified Open Table about this & posted it on their website, since not everyone is on Facebook.

RH
Charleston
15 reviews
Dined on August 30, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had a very good meal of chicken marsala. Creme brulee cheesecake for dessert which was also very good.

CG
Charleston
19 reviews
Dined on August 18, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great brunch!

D
Charleston
45 reviews
Dined on August 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Nothing pretentious, just EXCELLENT food and service! Thanks to Alex for taking good care of us!

JE
1 review
Dined on August 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Dinner with my bestie on a Tuesday night. Not a lot of customers which was surprising since the food was so good. Service was great. Place was clean. Prices reasonable. Had not been there in many years. Will definitely be going back.

PS
Charleston
1 review
Dined on July 13, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

Busy night. Singer & full tables.