The Mockingbird Nashville

4.6
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1408 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Modern Diner. Global Fare. Delicious Fun. This is The Mockingbird. Led by talented culinary duo executive chef / partner Brian Riggenbach and front-of-house extraordinaire / partner Mikey Corona, The Mockingbird offers a menu of comfort classics with a global twist and an ambiance of art deco diner whimsy. Walls are covered in beautiful custom-made wallpaper, painted tin tiles on the ceiling, windows open to two patios as weather allows and a larger-than-life mirrored bird sculpture overlooking the dining room. And then there’s the food and drink! Munch on a Mockingburger or Mac N Cheese (aka Feeling Grate!) while sipping an Old-Fashioned-ish or a Punchin’ Bag (ask about it – they are famous!). We also love hosting group events! We have a private dining room, an upstairs dining room and an enclosed patio, all perfect for bridal showers and bachelorette parties plus business lunches and corporate dinners. Y’all come see us!
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details
What 1408 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food!!!

EZ
EricZ
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on June 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The entire experience at The Mockingbird was fantastic. Great location, amazing vibe, decor was fabulous & that was even before we had the cocktails, apps & entrees. The staff was attentive & the co-owner came to the table & spoke with us. Highly recommend!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 25, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great experience. Can’t wait to come back for the full menu!!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Houston
2 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was delicious, the patio was perfect, and the waiters and servers were very friendly. We enjoyed the punch bags, tatchos and shrimp pasta.

v
vipvinoman1
New England
17 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Incredible food and service. Mikey and Sierra were incredible

C
vipCfpetro
Indiana
25 reviews
Dined on June 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great experience. Loved the interior and the staff was very attentive. We had the duck, short rib and 1/4 chicken. All were excellent. Grilled cheese and spinach/ hummus appetizers excellent as well. Not lively like I think it is when there’s no silly COVID but had a great experience overall.

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on June 13, 2020

Thanks for the love! We CANNOT wait to get back to the bustling days! Hope to see y'all again soon!

Report
AD
AlexD
Nashville
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I love this place! Been coming since it opened. I encourage anyone that visits or moves to Nashville to come here.. we all get small plates and all share together and it’s perfect!

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on June 13, 2020

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your loyalty and patronage, truly means the world to us. <3

Report
S
Scout
Nashville
1 review
Dined on March 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and service! Highly recommend!

g
vipgoodfood4me
Nashville
7 reviews
Dined on March 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic food and great service. Great taste and artistic food.

LS
LikesSomethingNew
Nashville
13 reviews
Dined on March 11, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

This was my first time here and I came for lunch to celebrate a friend's promotion. The menu provided a lot of fun variety for all kinds of tastes. I had a small plate and their soup. There were not a lot of people but the music playing on the speakers was right above us so it was loud and it was hard to hear my friend at times. There was no street parking when I arrived around 11:30AM so I had to pay $10 for 2 hour parking next door. I paid about $35 total for my friend and my meal including tip which isn't bad but with parking fee, it was more than I would have liked to spend for a lunch outing. I would come again but only if I can find free parking.

E
Eric
Nashville
4 reviews
Dined on March 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

There is no better restaurant in town for as far as service and atmosphere go. If you’re looking to impress, look no further. The menu is whimsical and delicious. Different, but not pretentious. It’s chic without being obnoxious. Think Gay Best Friend made into a restaurant (which is also kinda true).

You’re going to love it!

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on June 13, 2020

Looooooooove this! We're sharing this review with the team to make their day as this is so.spot.on! You rock and we cannot wait to have you back in here!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Nashville
2 reviews
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food , wonderful service !

N
Nashies
Nashville
15 reviews
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had an excellent time! Service, food and atmosphere were awesome. Would highly recommend the Tequila cocktail and the grilled cheese app. I opted for the fried chicken and fell in love. It’s kinda noisy, but it was busy so it was not their fault.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Nashville
1 review
Dined on March 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely superb!

JA
JA1775
Nashville
6 reviews
Dined on March 3, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Dining out is not just about the food and service but about the whole experience. I’ve been there twice and will not go back. The first time the food was good for three out of four of us but the table was Awful with a capital A. The second time the table was great but I wanted the chef’s “sampler” with a minor substitution due to a food allergy and the waiter said “No”. That was the wrong answer. The first time there I was able to park on the street but the second time I had to park in the lot next door for a minimum charge of $13. Not worth it!

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on March 8, 2020

Hi Jo Ann Staples, We agree, dining out is about the whole experience. Apologies that the parking situation has left you displeased. We understand your frustration and are apologetic we are not able to offer free parking for our diners. It is financially not feasible for us as the new owners of the lot are charging enormous rates. Also,sorry we couldn't modify the chef's special as that dish is difficult for us to modify since it is a special and we cannot risk putting the guest at risk.

Report
AL
vipArthurL
Nashville
1 review
Dined on March 2, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Food was awesome. Staff were very nice and engaging.
The only negative was the noise level. There is nothing to dampen overall sound so I found that I was having to speak fairly loud to be heard and noticed other tables were doing the same. I will definitely go back and try more dishes.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Nashville
1 review
Dined on March 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I had the prettiest date in the city and the food was good too! :) Seriously though, the food was great. Annie & Chris were the best servers. One of my new favorites restaurants.

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on March 8, 2020

Yaaaaaas! Thanks for the 5 stars!

Report
BB
vipBentleyBoo
San Antonio
24 reviews
Dined on March 1, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience4

We went for brunch per locals recommendations. Not impressed at all. I didn’t get the breakfast that had 4 eggs because I thought that was too much so my husband got it instead. There couldn’t have been more than 2 eggs hardly any. I ordered the Belgian waffle but it was cold and dry. Surely not worth $13. I also asked if the Bloody Mary could not be spicy and they said no. I won’t go back there.

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on March 8, 2020

Thank you for giving us a shot BentleyBoo. We wish you and yours the best.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Raleigh
2 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience3

The staff were very friendly and professional. Just seemed disorganized and a bit overwhelmed. We made a reservation for 2pm (they closed at 3pm). We were 7 minutes late. And then it took another few minutes for them to find and bus a table for us. We finally had food by 2:45pm - minutes before they closed. Service was adequate - again very nice, very friendly, but food was slow to get to the table and once the water bottle was empty - no more water. I would have asked for more, but didn’t see the server again until we were finished the meal and she checked to see if we were ready for the check. They have a limited vegetarian/vegan menu (one item) and little ability to customize any menu items to make something vegetarian. Overall, not a bad experience, but not great either. With so many great places to eat in Nashville, spend your time exploring those before you waste time coming here.

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on March 8, 2020

Hi David Stratton, Thank You for the review and although we def. strive for 5 stars, we thank you for the honest feedback. We are bummed we were not able to win you over as a fan. We will bring this review to the attention of the server you had in the vein of improving the overall standard. We are not a full veg. restaurant and have created a menu that has a little something for ALL guests. Our menu is online for anyone reading this that has special dietary restrictions so you can plan ahead.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Nashville
1 review
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We made a reservation for brunch prior, and were seated right away. There was a great vibe and ambience to the restaurant. We all ordered Bloody Mary’s, and those didn’t taste great. The waitress also asked if we wanted a double shot in our drinks, not realizing that a somewhat small Bloody Mary was going to cost $21... will never do that again. I will blame myself though for not asking the cost. On a happier note, the food was OUTSTANDING. I got the taco brunch entree and it was huge and so flavorful. My friend got the breakfast burger... i stole a bite... so good. The waitress even brought out a free dessert for my friends birthday. Definitely want to go back, we will just try a different drink choice next time.

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on March 8, 2020

Oh no! The waitress def. should have told you a double would also be double charged. Sorry!! Please let us know next time you are in so we can get you a round of drinks to make it up to you. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and for the stellar review! We are very appreciative!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Austin
1 review
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I had a friend in town and we wanted to eat lunch on a Saturday afternoon. This was the perfect place to go if you didn’t want one of the super trendy hyped up restaurants where your waiting literally an hour to eat a $20 biscuit. This place is definitely a tad overpriced for what you get however the location and ambiance is great! So it’s kind of your paying for that as well. I hope this place stays low key and I don’t have to fight the tourist masses anytime I want to come have a chill meal with a friend.

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on March 8, 2020

Thanks for the feedback! We are glad you enjoyed yourselves while with us! p.s.- Your are right, it is expensive rent here in the gulch! ;)

Report
AH
AnnabelH
Memphis/West TN
10 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall3food3service1ambience2

We were there for brunch and it was a busy time. The brunch menu was pretty limited. We had two servers. The first guy said he and his co-worker were training. The girl that came to see if we wanted dessert and took our payment made several mistakes which caused even more delay. It took a long time to get our bill and then pay and the bill was not divided up correctly. This caused us to be late for our conference. And the food was not that good. So we will give Mockingbird Nashville a miss next time we are in town.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I get the “Adult Caprisun” every time I visit, and it surely did not disappoint!! Quick service, cool aesthetic, reservations are a must!

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on March 8, 2020

Thank You for the kudos!!! We are stoked you are a fan!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined on February 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved everything we tried! There were 6 of us and we shared 5 of the small plates and 3 of the large and it was perfect! Belly of the feast was a crowd fav along with the when kale cheese over salad! Also the punch was so fun and delightful!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Birmingham
6 reviews
Dined on February 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great experience and really appreciated the multiple flavors that accompanied all selections. My only negative would be the noise level - very loud.

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on March 8, 2020

Thank you for the kudos! Apologies on the noise level (weekends can be pretty rambunctious!). We look forward to having y'all dine with us again in the future!

Report
r
robinnf
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on February 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were seated upstairs; opted for upstairs bar seating, for happy hour. We planned to move to a table for dinner. Amanda took such good care of us that we remained at the bar to eat. Exceptional service, ambiance, and food. Would definitely recommend!

T
Trae
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on February 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The small plates were a great way to sample a lot! The braut corn dog was amazing😋

H
Haley
1 review
Dined on February 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food! The punch was awesome. Service was great!

DZ
vipDavidZ
Chicago
14 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great brunch! Had just the eclectic Nashville ambience and unique southern inspired menu for us visitors to Nashville

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on February 25, 2020

Thanks for the love, Davidz!

Report
J
Juli
Nashville
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was our first time at The Mockingbird and I don’t think it could have gone any better! We got sat immediately, and I couldn’t help but notice the aesthetic in the restaurant. Gorgeous and fun! Our server was friendly and prompt! We ordered drinks and appetizers, and they came out so fast, followed shortly by the piping hot food. We were sat at 7:30 and done eating by 8:10! Wow!! Everything from beginning to end was fabulous. I texted 3 friends and told them right away to get here ASAP! Thank you for a wonderful experience. I’ll be back as soon as I can!

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on February 25, 2020

This. Is. Everything. Thank you, Juli for taking the time to write this (and for spreading the good word!). This is what we aim for here and am so glad you got the experience you deserve. Thank you for the kudos!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Louisville
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience3

We had no silverware or napkins, our server never asked if we wanted more to drink and wasn’t very attentive in general

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on February 23, 2020

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. I will reach out to you on a separate correspondence to get further details. Apologies for dropping the ball with your table. We wish you the best.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Denver
5 reviews
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food and service were great! Thanks Annie!

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on February 25, 2020

Yaaaaas! So glad Annie gave the service we strive for! We think she's the tops as well! Thanks for the review :)

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Austin
1 review
Dined on February 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fun cafe. Food was really good.

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on February 25, 2020

Thank you! Stoked we showed you a great time! Come back soon!!

Report
s
sherriw
Nashville
1 review
Dined on February 18, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Parking was terrible. I tried to park in the unpaved lot at the end of the street but couldn't find the box to enter info and pay. So I paid $10.00 to valet park, which is ridiculous, but it was raining and people were waiting on me in the restaurant. There weren't any signs to tell me there was parking right next to the restaurant. Service was slow and we had to ask about several of our small plate orders, seemed like they lost track of what we had ordered. The grilled cheese needed more cheese and the pork belly was over done and portion size was too small. The mac and cheese was some of the best that we had ever eaten. The Rye Not? was wonderful. This was my second visit and the first time was much better.

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on February 25, 2020

Hi Sherriw, Thank you for the review. We are bummed we didn't show you as great as time as your first visit. The parking downtown has gotten so bad and limited and we have done everything in our power to try to keep our guests from that sting. The best we could do is offer valet at $10 (which is cheaper than the parking lots next to the restaurant). We are truly sorry and hope that you'll come back so we can redeem ourselves. We wish you the best and hope to get back in your good graces soon.

Report
D
vipDawn
Las Vegas
8 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Great atmosphere and service! Food was not hot, seemed like it might have sat a while., but overall tasty. Wish the wine list was better. The housemate hot sauce is wonderful!

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on February 25, 2020

Hi Dawn, Thanks for the feedback. We thank you for your visit and are stoked our service was top notch! We will reevaluate our current wine offerings in our next beverage menu revamp for Spring/Summer 2020. Hope to see you back soon!

Report
H
Heaven
Indiana
2 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall4food5service2ambience5

yes! amazing food, awesome vibe, + a decent price (for downtown nashville)! service wasn't the best but easy to look past with their amazing food + atmosphere.

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on February 25, 2020

Thank You, Heaven (love your name!). We appreciate the feedback and will share your feedback with the team to better ourselves in the areas you mentioned. Have a wonderful day!

Report
M
Maurie
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience5

Great ambiance. Service was a little slow. Owner is amazing and made us feel at home. Would like to explore the menu more so I'll be back.

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on February 25, 2020

Thank You for the kind review! Our goal is to make everyone feel at home and am so glad that was your experience. Sorry about the lag in service, it is definitely not what we strive for, we promise to fine tune that area!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
3 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is an incredible spot. I highly recommend. The food and drinks were delicious, staff was wonderfully attentive, and the entire place is beautiful decorated!

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on February 25, 2020

Thanks for the love! We are stoked we showed you a great time! Please do not be stranger!

Report
KR
KRWhite
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience2

Honestly I was ready to leave before we even got our food. I made a reservation several days in advance - but when we arrived, our table was not ready. Second, we ended up being seated in some dinky table in a random corner in front of the fire hydrant. It honestly looked like they pulled that table out of the back and slapped it there right before they sat us down. Third, we tried to order a pastry and they told us that they had already run out (they had been open for 1.5 hours at this point) - and then we tried to order another pastry in its place only to be told that they had also run out of that one. We ended up staying only about 45 minutes start to finish. I would not be likely to return.

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on February 25, 2020

Hi KRWhite, I am sorry we didn't give you the experience we strive for. We truly want each of our guests to have a fantastic time while with us and we are sorry we ran out of two items so early into our shift. It was valentines weekend paired with a holiday (prez day) and we were bombarded early on in the shift. We anticipated it being busier, but not to the extent that it was. Not that it's an excuse, just some insight. Bummed you won't return, but we thank you for the visit. Wish you the best

Report
d
vipdbenfield
New York Area
18 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall2food3service2ambience2

Sometimes I think service staff is clueless. We made a reservation for two plus our baby, who was in a carseat/stroller. Bypassing the downstairs tables, they took us upstairs (we had to carry the stroller and baby in carseat) and they sat us at a small two top in the path of the kitchen runners. I asked for a different spot to make it easier on the kitchen and to avoid any possible liability on their part. They obliged after we stood in the center of the upstairs restaurants for a few minutes looking around aimlessly.
We went for vegan food (we noticed the chef when he was on GGG and promoted vegan options at the restauant), but unfortunately their brunch is far less vegan friendly. After ordering and splitting the only dish they had that we could eat, we left and found another place to eat that worked better.

The Mockingbird Nashville
Responded on February 25, 2020

Thank you for the review. The team wasn't clueless, your reservation was for 2, so we had your reservation plotted at a table for 2. When you showed up and said you need a table that can accommodate your stroller, etc we put you at table we thought was best. You didn't think so. Also, our brunch menu is on our website for guest to peruse before their visit so there are no surprises. Apologies you thought our dinner menu was available at that time. We are truly sorry and wish you three the best.

Report

FAQs

The Mockingbird Nashville is rated 4.6 stars by 1408 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.

Tweets by The Mockingbird Nashville