The Grumpy Rabbit

4.6
88 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary Southern
Our vision for The Grumpy Rabbit is to serve both Lonoke residents as well as people from surrounding communities and visitors passing through town. We want Lonoke to thrive and be prosperous and believe that leading by example and running a successful business will attract others to the area and inspire similar investment. Our hope for The Grumpy Rabbit is that as an anchor for revitalization, it will become a central location that draws foot traffic to historic downtown Lonoke. Additionally, as we employ both full-time and part-time staff, we are excited to bring new families to Lonoke, and know they will love the area as much as we do!

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 88 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
S
Stephanie
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience5

I love this wonderful restaurant. The food was amazing and our server was great. I ordered the Blackened Redfish and was blown away by the flavor. Dining room includes 2nd floor. I reserved seating for 3 but didn't know that 2nd floor was an option. Not good for someone who cannot walk up or down stairs. Had an elevator but would have preferred to remain on 1st floor. The hostess was not friendly, could tell her smile was forced. Everyone else was super friendly.

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded a day ago

Hi Stephanie! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and service with us. In the future, do not hesitate to ask to be seated on the first floor...this is no issue to us whatsoever! You an either make a note of it in your reservation or just give us a call. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
AR
ARvisitors
Chicago
15 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Really impressed with the overall quality for a small town in AR. My blackened redfish was excellent. My husband’s meat was a bit undercooked, but they took it back and it came out perfect the next time. Will definitely go back.

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded a day ago

Glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to fix your meal. We always want our guests to leave happy!

Report
BK
BethK
1 review
Dined on July 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent quality products make great meals! Filet steak cuts with butter knife. Best redfish we’ve had in a few years! Small roasted carrot was tasty.

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded a day ago

Thank you, Beth! We truly appreciate your kind words, and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you will come see us again soon!

Report
H
Harold
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall2food5service1ambience4

Great food and atmosphere. Service was lacking. After we ordered our meal we never saw are waitress. We were upstairs with 19 other diners besides my wife and myself with only one wait staff. Poor girl ran her kegs off.
Drinks weren't refilled, didn't have proper utensils. When i pay $130. I expect better service.

DA
vipDATE
Little Rock
4 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

EVERYTHING IS OUTSTANDING. SO GLAD TO TRAVEL TO LONOKE, AR FOR SUCH OUTSTANDING FOOD AND SERVICE. WORTH YOUR DRIVE, YOU DEFINITELY WON'T BE DISAPPEARED!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

GR is one of our go to eating spots. It has great food and drinks, the location is convenient for us and we love the people who work there. The owners are usually there and are friendly and want to know you’ve enjoyed being there

c
vipcajunpeggy
Little Rock
119 reviews
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience2

The tater tots with the 3 sauces - huge appetizer portion that's really meant for 2. The Caesar salad was tasteless and some of the lettuce was old. It was mainly Romaine stems. The blackened redfish had a sweet tomato gravy, which was not to my taste, but the fish + grits was a good combo. However, the redfish had a slughtly fishy taste. That really puts me off, because it indicates the fish isn't fresh. I know AR is an inland state, but other restaurants manage to do fish quite well without the fishy taste.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Las Vegas
10 reviews
Dined on July 11, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Delicious food.

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on July 15, 2021

Thank you for your kind words!

Report
CS
CaronS
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful food, atmosphere, and service!! The staff were super friendly.

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on July 15, 2021

Thank you, Caron! We are very proud of our staff, so we appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge them. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Tampa
4 reviews
Dined on July 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is a wonderful place for everything from a gathering of friends to a date night. Delicious food and drinks and great service!

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on July 15, 2021

Thank you so much for your five star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit, and we can't wait to have you back!

Report
B
Breanne
1 review
Dined on July 3, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Our second time to The Grumpy Rabbit was great. We made reservations since we weren't sure how busy it waould be on a Saturday morning (and holiday weekend), but it wasn't too crowded. The food was delish as always. So far we have only done brunch, but are making plans go for a dinner soon. Love the laid back yet upscale-ish atmosphere! Such a wonderful little gem of a place.

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on July 15, 2021

Thank you for the review, Breanne! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to The Grumpy Rabbit, and we hope to see you in for dinner soon.

Report
AH
AmandaH
1 review
Dined on July 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A quaint small town restaurant with classy decor and amazing food! The tater tots are Not your frozen tots. They’re freshly made and delicious. We had the BLT and the Sirloin and they were equally as delicious. Our waitress was very friendly and never rushed us. Highly recommend!

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on July 15, 2021

We appreciate your kind words, and are very happy to hear you had wonderful service and enjoyed your meal with us. We put a lot of love into those tater tots, so thank you for noticing! We hope you'll visit us again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience3

This was our first time at The Grumpy Rabbit. Overall our experience was fine. The food was good and the kitchen was quick to get it out. However, service was VERY slow.

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on June 29, 2021

We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us, but are very sorry you felt your service was slow! We have a fairly new staff, and are constantly looking for ways we can improve. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and I hope you will visit us again someday and that we can provide a better experience for you!

Report
TM
TammyM
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

The food was very good but disappointed that they were already out of the beef tenderloin at 5:00.

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on June 29, 2021

Hello Tammy! Thank you for your review of The Grumpy Rabbit, and we are glad you enjoyed your meal with us. We do not start serving our dinner entrees, including the beef tenderloin until 5 pm, so maybe this was miscommunicated to you. Whatever the case was, we are sorry you did not get to order what you wanted. We hope you will come see us again and get the opportunity to try the tenderloin. Take care!

Report
D
Diane
1 review
Dined on June 22, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

The food is excellent, and a great value. The upstairs covered patio with strung lights, a big TV and great music playing made the ambiance special on a perfect summer night. Everyone is friendly, personable and professional.

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on June 25, 2021

Diane, thank you for your wonderful feedback! Please keep an eye on our Facebook because we might be doing some live music on our lovely patio later this summer, and we would love it if you joined us!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Father’s Day brunch with my husband. Food was great … a bit slow because they had a large party, but no worries. Enjoyed our food and time together!

L
Luigi
Little Rock
10 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderfully prepared food in a nicely renovated old building

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on June 25, 2021

Thank you for your kind words! We are very proud of our menu as well as our building! We hope to see you back at The Grumpy Rabbit soon.

Report
RP
RobertP
Nashville
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The restaurant was lovely. It obviously had been redone with care and class.
Well chosen and beautiful walls, floors, fixtures, hardware, lighting and art created a very inviting atmosphere.

Our service was supurb. Our server was friendly, helpful, and prompt. The order was done exactly to our specifications. The swamp grits brunch entree was delicious.

All in all, it was well worth the drive and made a special outing for Father's Day.

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on June 25, 2021

We are so glad you were able to join us for Father's Day! Thank you so much for your kind words, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal as well as our wonderful staff. Hopefully you make the drive out to see us again soon!

Report
WL
WesL
Memphis/West TN
1 review
Dined on June 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We rove from Memphis for Saturday brunch. The restaurant is in a 100 year-old building that has been meticulously renovated and is clean and modern but with a nod to the age and history of the building. The food was delicious and the service excellent. The black eyed pea hummus has a spicy, garlicky kick and was very good. The Swamp Grits were divine, as was the wedge salad topped with salmon. They also have a nice wine list and cocktail menu.. They were out of tater tots, but that gives us a reason to go back. It was definitely worth the drive!

GT
GregT
1 review
Dined on June 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food! Wonderful menu of food and drinks!

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on June 25, 2021

Thank you for the compliments, Greg! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here, and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report
VA
VeronicaA
1 review
Dined on June 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the place, love de food
Thanks for the excelent service

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on June 15, 2021

Thank you for your kind words, Veronica! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to have you back again soon!

Report
KS
KennethS
1 review
Dined on June 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We thoroughly enjoyed brunch here at the Grumpy Rabbit. Our party of 9 was made welcome, served well, and everyone enjoyed their choices. We will be back!

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on June 15, 2021

Kenneth, thank you very much for your review! We are happy to hear that your large party was well taken care of. We appreciate your kind words as well as your business, and hope to have you back at the restaurant soon!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Little Rock
4 reviews
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always good service and good food.

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on June 15, 2021

Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy to hear that you have had multiple lovely experiences with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
SR
SherriR
Little Rock
1 review
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food!!!

TS
TracyS
Little Rock
2 reviews
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

My order was wrong but the food was great! Would definitely recommend!

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on June 15, 2021

Hi Tracy! We are so sorry that your order was wrong, but are very happy that you enjoyed it anyways! Thanks for recommending us, and we hope you give us the chance to get your order correct very soon!

Report
RR
RobinR
1 review
Dined on June 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved the food. Was extremely clean and comfortable. I will definitely make the effort to go anytime I am even remotely near Little Rock.

MP
vipMichaelP
Tampa
6 reviews
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

This was our family’s second visit to the Grumpy Rabbit. It is a fantastic little gem and in my opinion a great dining experience for a small town in Arkansas. The menu is limited in quantity of selections but the ones that I have tried have all been fantastic. The backstory of this business is fun to hear and it’s great to learn people love their home towns and want to invest in it. They put great effort in the decor and finishes in the building and gives a rich feeling to the meal. Many of the staff are local kids learning the ropes of an upscale restaurant so give some grace in the service area. To sum it up I highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the area or are looking for a little road trip.

The Grumpy Rabbit
Responded on June 15, 2021

Hi Michael! Thank you so much for visiting us twice, and also for your kind words about The Grumpy Rabbit. We are so lucky to be able to employee local folks, and it's been a really fun journey teaching and training them the ways of the restaurant world. We hope you make the trip to see us again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Little Rock
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Wait staff brought my salad after

AP
AnitaP
1 review
Dined on May 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My family and I visited for the first time for brunch. I had the swamp grits which were great! Everyone else had burgers and fries and al agreed that they were good. Portions were large. We also had tater tots( house made) for appetizer. Yum.
My son and I split the dessert of the day which was salted caramel gelato. It was just ok.
Service was excellent, and the atmosphere was wonderful. We will return for dinner some evening.

GW
GaryW
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service. The Broad appetizer was just right for 4. The cocktails were well made. The main courses were delicious.

KW
KeenaW
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service was great. The place was very clean with a bright atmosphere. The staff was friendly and personable.
I especially loved the fresh flowers on the tables.🌺🌻🌷

RB
ReneeB
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wasn’t sure what to expect but was very surprised. Loved the history behind the building. The board was a great way to share small bites and try several items. Waitress was very helpful and took care of us even splitting the ticket on things each couple shared! Will be going back soon !

DD
DonD
Little Rock
1 review
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great. We made our reservation through Open Table app and were seated immediately! Our waiter Darbonne was great - he recommended the signature carrot cake for dessert (which we shared) and it was wonderful!

AE
AndyE
1 review
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We enjoyed our first dinner at the Grumpy Rabbit and will definitely be back! Our server Mary Robin was so pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu and also describing the specials. The blackened redfish was delicious and the night's special, bourbon burger, did not disappoint. We can't wait to go back and try the other items on the menu!

JP
JeremyPeppas
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

The food was very good. Excellent vibe and atmosphere. Seems like the kind or restaurant you’d see in a much, much larger city or college town. The menu isn’t huge but has enough to appeal for most. The best thing was the savory cheesecake that came on the charcuterie board. The single layer carrot cake was also outstanding.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on May 15, 2021
Overall1food2service2ambience2

They were out of a lot of food. We drove 40 minutes and not sure we would return.

L
Luigi
Little Rock
11 reviews
Dined on May 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful restaurant in downtown Lonoke. A surprising find. Excellent food in a charming setting

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on May 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was very delicious. We will be going back ASAP!

KD
KamilleD
1 review
Dined on May 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and atmosphere. Gigi (the owner) checked on us repeatedly. Wonderful evening spent with old friends and we made new!

O
Overrated
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience2

The ambiance is "cold". There were at least 8 staff at the time and the service was slow. Prices are too high. Food is fair.

FAQs

The Grumpy Rabbit offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (501) 438-8005.

The Grumpy Rabbit is rated 4.6 stars by 88 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.