The Grayson

4.2
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
219 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€31 to €50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
International
No. 41 St. Stephen’s Green was built in 1745 as a residential home for Mrs Ruth Croker. Since her days, this beautiful building has hosted many fabulous parties, seen many eminent figures pass through its doorway, and witnessed episodes of turbulent Irish history unfolding on its doorstep.

The building itself is extraordinary and we have set out to highlight its original features, protect its structure, whilst adding a fresh, bright and comfortable feel. Each nook and cranny of The Grayson is waiting to be discovered, and we can’t wait for you to explore.

From casual mid week lunches and post office tipples, dinner and drinks with friends, late night dancing, to long and lazy weekend lunches, The Grayson is a place to enjoy whatever way is for you.

We look forward to welcoming you all, continuing on the tradition of great hospitality since 1745!

Specials

Celebrate New Year's Eve with a fantastic meal!

Celebrate New Year's Eve in the stunning surroundings of The Grayson. Enjoy a 3 course seasonal menu and ring in the New Year under the stars with DJ & Dancing in our Atrium & Winter Terrace. Now taking Dinner Bookings.

Tuesday, December 31, 2019

What 219 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
MM
Dublin
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food4service4ambience3

Our meal was very nice. Our table however was near the door and everytime it opened/closed we felt the cold.

JO
Dublin
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Fab meal, fab atmosphere, fab service I
f a little slow given how busy they were. Loved it!

MR
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Really enjoyed our food. My trout main course was excellent but there was more accompaniment than fish. All the veg and garnish was superb but the piece of trout was very small in my opinion. Service was a bit slow between starters and mains but we are at the busiest season of the year so I guess it’s to be expected. Overall good experience and we shall return.

OS
1 review
Dined on November 23, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a lovely lunch in the Grayson the food was gorgeous and the service was great. We were able to stay and have a leisurely afternoon with no rush for our table which was great.

BR
1 review
Dined on November 22, 2019
Overall3food4service4ambience4

Lovely place, staff and food but the 4 of us each ordered a steak which came with chips and salad. There was about 15 skinny fries and a bit of shredded lettuce. We we’re all still hungry after. The food was lovely, just not enough.
Brian

S
London
3 reviews
Dined on November 21, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Had a lovely dinner with colleagues and clients - great venue.

CB
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on November 16, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Fabulous night,lovely staff & lovely food.

The Grayson
Responded on November 17, 2019

Hi CBlaire, Thank you for rating us. We are delighted you had a lovely experience with us. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Wishes, Eugen

Report
LB
Dublin
1 review
Dined on November 14, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

An excellent night, we’ll certainly be back. Staff, ambience and food were all incredible

M
London
3 reviews
Dined on November 8, 2019
Overall3food1service4ambience4

Beautiful venue great location poor food despite menu revamp

Report
R
Dublin
1 review
Dined on November 8, 2019
Overall2food4service3ambience3

Disappointing to find out that there was a private event on in the bar downstairs as we wanted to have a drink there before / after dinner. If we knew this, we would have booked elsewhere. It’s hit or miss where your table is, we were crammed upstairs on a table for 4 when we were 5 and were meant to be delighted in the attic. Had an older guest who then found all the stairs tricky and chairs uncomfortable. Food good but the whole experience is not cheap. Won’t be back for dinner unfort but definitely drinks provided an event isn’t on!

PC
Dublin
1 review
Dined on November 4, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really enjoyed our dinner at The Grayson. Food was delicious and service attentive. Ambience and surroundings are elegant.

b
1 review
Dined on November 2, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience3

I thought the music was a bit generic and the chocolate dessert wasn't great- it was too sweet. Other than that the food came fast and the service was good.

LM
1 review
Dined on October 15, 2019
Overall2food2service4ambience4

I loved the location and interior and staff were very friendly but the food was average. The vegetarian options werent great and between myself and my husband we didnt eat the dessert!

The Grayson
Responded on October 20, 2019

Hi Laura, I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your food with us. I would greatly appreciate if you email me on elaine@thegrayson.ie with further information. We are currently in the process of changing over to our Christmas menu so would love to hear your feedback and hopefully have you back in with us again. Lovely to read that you enjoyed the service and ambiance. Best Wishes, Elaine

Report
C
Dublin
1 review
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Such a lovely experience at the Grayson. Our server was so attentive and really made our visit to the Grayson a pleasure. We came here for a Sunday roast and The food was amazing! One of the best meals I’ve had in a while. Will definitely be back!

AO
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall4food4service2ambience5

Was dissapointed with service expect better with the prices. Here are some examples we think could have been improved. We arrived at our table and it had the seal from the previous diner's wine. We were not given a bread knife with our bread and butter. The waiter placed our bread dish in front of us rather than to our left. This was an issue when the waiter later arrived with the starters and had our bread dish in the way. There was no go her bowl with the muscles or no extra napkins. We had to request spoons for the sauce. Our water was not regularly topped up. My wife left to go to the restroom between the starter and main. When our cutlery was replaced the waiter placed the knife and fork on top of her napkin instead of simply moving it. When we asked for the dessert menu we were given the diner menu. As a whole these are small dissapointments but accumulated together they had a negative impact on our experience as it was amature mistakes. Would still give recommendation to a friend but would tell them to manage expectation on the service.

The Grayson
Responded on October 14, 2019

Hello Andrew, I am so disappointed to read about your experience with us. I can only deeply apologise that the ball was dropped and I totally appreciate all the points you have brought up. We strive to provide a 5 star standard of service which you did not receive. Can you please email the General Manager James on james@thegrayson.ie as he personally would like to rectify this you. Best Wishes, Elaine

Report
OT
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on October 6, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely amazing!

MO
Dublin
4 reviews
Dined on October 6, 2019
Overall3food2service4ambience4

The greyson is a very nice venue. Staff were polite and friendly. The option we went for was the fizz and chips for 99€. It was expensive but we assumed it would be a lovely treat. It was very disappointing. The chips came out very plain with just a small dip with each one. With all the fancy versions of chips there are these days what we got was very underwhelming and disappointing. Nothing special about it at all which you would expect for the price and the advertising around it!

The Grayson
Responded on October 8, 2019

Hi Miriam, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so grateful to receive it. I am so disappointed that you didn't enjoy your Fizz and Chips experience with us and I would be most grateful if you could get in touch with me on katedc@pressup.ie. We take your feedback most seriously and will address the information that you have given us immediately. Thank you so much once again, Kate

Report
CF
Dublin
5 reviews
Dined on September 30, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love this venue. Amazing food, wine, location, staff.... Love it

The Grayson
Responded on October 3, 2019

Hi Caroline, Thank you for taking the time to review us and I am delighted to see you received a 5 star service. We look forward to seeing you again sometime! Best Wishes, Elaine

Report
OT
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food good. Good fun restaurant. Service was ok. Decent vslue

The Grayson
Responded on September 30, 2019

Hi there, Thank you so much for your kind feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you back again very soon, Kindest regards, Kate de C

Report
LC
1 review
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had dinner at this location for my 5th Wedding Anniversary. Staff were friendly and attentive and the food was great quality and presentation 5*. Can’t wait to return.

The Grayson
Responded on September 30, 2019

Hi Lindsay, Thank you so much for you lovely feedback. It makes us so happy to hear! We really hope to see you back again soon! Kind regards, Kate

Report
F
1 review
Dined on September 13, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Disappointing. The area we were in was small and without atmosphere. It was also cold. The staff were very nice but the food was average at most.

The Grayson
Responded on September 17, 2019

Hi Fiammo, Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Please be assured I will pass all of your comments to the relevant departments and we will work to improve on all your points. We hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards, Kate de C

Report
LH
1 review
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Staff were so nice and the nicest Lamp I've ever had!

OO
1 review
Dined on August 13, 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Service was dissapointing but ambience and food were good

JC
1 review
Dined on August 10, 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience4

With its reputation you expecting excellence. Some of the food was cool. I had a steak and its was very cool and no better than your average restaurant. The potatoes was also cold.

JO
1 review
Dined on August 10, 2019
Overall3food1service3ambience3

Poor vegetarian options . Great views of Dublin. Better for a drink than food

BW
Dublin
1 review
Dined on August 9, 2019
Overall3food3service2ambience2

Over priced with a bad ambience.
Particularly disliked the salt canisters, no table linen, sugar in sachets. At this price level this would be expected.
Wine list not great

OT
London
1 review
Dined on August 8, 2019
Overall2food1service3ambience1

Very small portions at a heavy price.

AM
1 review
Dined on August 8, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Had lunch with a friend for a special occasion and it was the perfect venue. The food was delicious and plenty of it. The house wine was also very nice. Service was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend it and will certainly be back again.

OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on August 2, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing! Great menu, delicious food, nice cocktails and outstanding service

SS
Dublin
1 review
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall2food2service1ambience1

Dinner for two. Food was only average. Open ravioli starter was raw (not al dente; just under done). Only highlight was good bearnaise sauce with steak. Music was turned on very loudly when we were almost finished second course. More like nightclub than restaurant. Very disappointed.

The Grayson
Responded on July 29, 2019

Hi Simon, I am so sorry to read of your poor experience with us. I can only apologise profusely for the uncomfortable vibe that you experienced and assure you we will address all of these issues immediately. If you would like to contact me about this further please do not hesitate to get in touch with me on katedc@pressup.ie Many thanks, Kate

Report
SL
5 reviews
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was absolutely incredible, and there was a great range for people with differing food tolerances. The atmosphere was lovely, staff were incredibly helpful, and I will definitely be visiting again in future.

The Grayson
Responded on July 30, 2019

Hi SineadL, I am delighted to read your gorgeous review. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team! I am thrilled you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to welcoming you back here very soon! Warmest regards, Kate de C

Report
GC
4 reviews
Dined on July 26, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Consistently professional service and good food. Love the place.

The Grayson
Responded on July 30, 2019

Hi GrinningCat, I am delighted to read your gorgeous review! I am thrilled you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to welcoming you back here very soon! Warmest regards, Kate de C

Report
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on July 22, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great ambience ! Lovely space!

A
Dublin
7 reviews
Dined on July 20, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great meal in beautiful surroundings

The Grayson
Responded on August 1, 2019

Hi Angelgirl100, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. I am delighted you had a great experience with us and hopefully will welcome you back to The Grayson soon. Best Wishes, Elaine

Report
HR
New York Area
1 review
Dined on July 20, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We hired the Grayson for a private event and we were incredibly well looked after. The barmen and staff were so kind and accommodating. I couldn't recommend the Grayson more for dinner, or any special occasion you are celebrating.

The Grayson
Responded on July 22, 2019

Hi Hannah, I am delighted to read your gorgeous review. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team! I am thrilled you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to welcoming you back here very soon! Best Wishes, Elaine

Report
JV
New York Area
1 review
Dined on July 18, 2019
Overall2food2service1ambience4

Not serious about being a serious restaurant. Service falls apart over the course of the dinner. Waitress disappeared. Some plates arrived missing items as described on the menu. No one checked back until waved down. Dishes were slow to clear between courses. Wines were not topped after being poured. Desserts arrived haphazardly by a staff that seemed to have checked out before the check was dropped.

The Grayson
Responded on July 22, 2019

Hello JonV, I am so disappointed to hear about your experience in The Grayson. I can only profusely apologize and say we definitely dropped the ball and I would greatly appreciate if you could email me direcly on elaine@thegrayson.ie so I can look into this further. I look forward to hearing from you. Best Wishes, Elaine

Report
OT
Dublin
6 reviews
Dined on July 13, 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience3

General building condition outside of dining areas such as the stairway etc. require renovations. Birthday parties and groups also detract from the atmosphere.

JR
New York Area
1 review
Dined on July 13, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Hidden gem with a small but high quality menu and great wine selection

MW
1 review
Dined on July 13, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Unfortunately we got a terrible uncomfortable table / seats. Also my husband couldn't eat his steak even though he requested medium it was raw in the middle. The staff we welcoming, attentive and professional. The place itself is old so lots of steep, unsafe stairs but nicely decorated.

KF
1 review
Dined on July 9, 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience5

Gorgeous Decor, friendly staff, good set menu choices.

We had a business dinner for 6 we were in a room on our own and enjoyed the set menu & wine selection avaiable. We also enjoyed the cocktails at the end of the night.

For me the goats cheese mousse starter had too much mousse to fruit ratio & but my guests loved it.
Also when i highlighted that my sea bass was slightly under done the server was so apologetic & rectified the mistake immediately which showed great customer service.
Only thing was due to the day of the week there were tables spread out throughout the restuarant which meant servers were stretched and weren't as attentive as the last time i was there. (not their fault & they were all extreamly helpful & friendly)