The Grandview Restaurant

4.5
1304 Reviews
$50 and over
American
At The Grandview Restaurant, we are famous for our expansive lakefront view, summertime outdoor patio, stunning wine cellar and classic cuisine inspired by the season. We use modern cooking techniques and playful plating to bring every ingredient to life. Our menu features traditional Wisconsin favorites, seafood, steaks and comforting classics. Our waterfront restaurant also offers an extensive wine list, small plates and incredible desserts. Come for the view, savor the rest. Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and for group events.

Other Features
- Bar
- Family-friendly
- Live entertainment
- Friday Fish Fry
- Children's menu
- Vegetarian options
- Weekly Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Specials
- Group Events

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
Physical Distancing
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
What 1304 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
BH
BillH
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Enjoyed our meal. Great window table. Service was good. One suggestion is that the dessert menu gets updated. The plain brownie dessert could have used a scoop of ice cream. The other choices were uninspiring. Overall, we were happy with the meal and hope to be back.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded 2 days ago

BillH, thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience. We will discuss the dessert issue with the kitchen. Thank you for your time and we value your opinion. We look forward to serving you again. Thank you!

Report
G
vipGriffin
Chicago
17 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food2service3ambience5

Hostess, bartender and wait staff are very attentive, polite and courteous. Our issue was my pasta and meatball dish.. pasta was overcooked, meatballs were very dry, contained too much fennel and the tomato sauce was lacking in taste and quantity.. the manager did comp the meal, but, this should not happen..

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded 2 days ago

Hello Griffin, thank you for your review! We are sorry you were not satisfied with your meatball pasta dish. We will discuss this issue with the kitchen. Thank you and we hope to serve you again. Take care.

Report
SM
vipSueM
Milwaukee
54 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Perfect place to start our Lake Geneva weekend. It is actually ON the Lake side of the street and we had a beautiful window seat where we enjoyed our lunch. We both had turkey wraps. I also had a salad and my daughter had fries. All delicious and we toasted with a yummy mimosa. Excellent, professional and nice server. Definitely recommend.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Chicago
6 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food3service2ambience4

We orders the frittata which was placed as a seafood pasta and when we got our order it ended up being scrambled eggs and not a frittata. Then the wrong order and the frittata where both charged in the check. Service was just ok. Food wasn’t speculated for the price. The view tho was gorgeous but not worth the price of the food.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded 2 days ago

Hello and thank you for your review. We are sorry for missing the mark during your visit. We will discuss these issues with the kitchen, We appreciate your time and value your opinion. Thank you, and we look forward to serving you again. Take care!

Report
A
Allin
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful location overlooking Geneva Lake. Attentive service and delicious food with house made desserts. Great coffee and espresso selections. Limited lunch menu but varied so something for everyone. Price point good for the amount of food. We will go again.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded 2 days ago

Hello Allin, thank you for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us! We truly look forward to serving you again, take care!

Report
P
Porschephile
Chicago
1 review
Dined on May 2, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Salmon very tasty.
Filet tender but not as much flavor as expected.

ML
MuktownLisa
Milwaukee
4 reviews
Dined on May 2, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Very nice atmosphere. Food was very good, however, ordered crispy bacon and it was not crispy.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded 7 days ago

Hello MuktownLisa, and thank you for your review. We are sorry your bacon was not crispy enough. We hope to succeed next time. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again! Take care.

Report
KC
KrisC
1 review
Dined on May 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Five star for atmosphere alone! Gorgeous view of the Geneva Lake! We had breakfast and the diverse menu was great! Prices for breakfast reasonable. Servers awesome! I will be back!

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded 5 days ago

Hello KrisC, thank you for your 5 star review! We appreciate all those kind words about your dining experience! We look forward to serving you again. Thank you and take care!

Report
d
danielj
Milwaukee
1 review
Dined on April 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service at bar, appetizers excellent. Salad and dessert fantastic, main course excellent but portion size could be smaller. Great view of Lake Geneva!

CW
CarolW
Milwaukee
14 reviews
Dined on April 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Was a lovely setting, food was great and serve was very good.
Great place to celebrate out anniversary!

KJ
KJ21
Chicago
19 reviews
Dined on April 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went here for our Anniversary. Wonderful seat, great waitress. Food was very good. The chef accommodated my GF need. Beautiful view ! We got a window seat a free sparkling wine toast and a little card from the GI. We will be back!

TF
TerryF
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Dined on April 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outstanding food, service and view of Geneva Lake.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on May 2, 2021

Hello TerryF and thank you for your 5 star review! We are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience with us! We look forward to serving you again! Take care!

Report
GN
GraceN
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Dined on April 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had brunch the other day. The smoked salmon benedict was delicious! So many perfectly paired flavors! Got me a rum runner drink, too. We felt like we were on vacation for an hour and a half! Our server was speedy and asked a lot of questions to help us order something we would like. The palini sprits drink was really good too, very refreshing. Husband's steak and eggs were cooked just right, he asked for medium rare steak and he got medium rare and fluffy scrambled eggs. Two thumbs up! Can't beat the view. Looking forward to the patio being finished and having brunch out there. We've been here quite a few times now, we love this place. 10/10 would recommend.

M
Marie
1 review
Dined on April 25, 2021
Overall3food2service3ambience3

We had reservations and not only had to wait quite a while to be seated, which can sometimes be expected, but we also had quite a wait to receive our food. The wait became apparent when a couple of tables seated after we ordered our food actually received their food before us. The drinks were priced about what you would expect from a restaurant with the Grandview reputation. However, they came in glasses full of ice and therefore considerably watered down when they arrived at our table. The food also was priced about what one would expect; however, it was apparent at the first bite that the restaurant gave more attention to the menu descriptions and plating than the actual quality and taste of the food itself. The server, although sweet, definitely could have benefitted from some help in the restaurant that day. I had made additional reservations for a larger party to enjoy brunch at the Grandview at a later date but, after actually having dined there, I cancelled them. The view, although beautiful, was not compelling enough for us to return. We are sadly disappointed.

MC
MarieC
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on April 25, 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience4

Have dined her many times and been happy; this time everything went south. Took 50 minutes to get breakfast/lunch, omelette came with visible uncooked egg running over the plate, bacon soggy, my son would not touch his scrambled eggs. My dad had a half sandwich and soup and it was deli turkey and nothing special for his sandwich. Very disappointing considering I picked it for my Aunt's birthday, have enjoyed this venue before and clearly things changed while they were closed for a few weeks recently.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 29, 2021

Hello & thank you for another review. As we discussed on the phone, your opinion is valuable to us & discussions will be had between departments. We apologize again for missing the mark for your dining experience. Sunday brunch is one of our busiest days & we encourage staff to inform guests of any delays there may be due to heavy volume of orders, which he did. Once your order was placed in the system, it left the kitchen 30 minutes later, which was the average waiting time for that peak time.

Report
FC
FrankC
Chicago
1 review
Dined on April 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, excellent service, great view of the lake!

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 27, 2021

Hello FrankC and thank you for your 5 star review! Thank you for mentioning your food and service! The view is always spectacular, we are glad you enjoyed it too! We are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon! Thank you for your time and patronage! Take care!

Report
t
thomasg
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Dined on April 24, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience5

FRENCH TOAST A BIT SOGGY. ASKED FOR TEA, SORRY ONLY GREEN OR CHAMOMILE. HOW ABOUT A SPOT OF EARL GREY, OR ENGLISH BREAKFAST TEA?NEXT TIME I'LL BRING MY OWN BAG....

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 27, 2021

Hello and thank you for your review. Your opinions are valuable to us and we appreciate your input. We apologize for your slightly soggy French toast, we will discuss ways to improve this with the kitchen. We have been waiting on back order for our black tea, we apologize for the limited selection. We do also carry green , peppermint, Chamomile, Green Tea, Ginger Citrus and Hibiscus. Thank you again for your time! We look forward to serving you again! Take care.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Las Vegas
4 reviews
Dined on April 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service from the moment we entered until we finished.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 27, 2021

Hello and thank you for your 5 star review! Would it be possible for you to copy and paste your comments from the Private note to the public, please? We are SO glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your server, Anthony. He truly is spectacular! Thank you so much, we look forward to serving you again! Take care!

Report
AU
AUNG7890
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Dined on April 19, 2021
Overall3food5service2ambience4

Monday breakfast, seated immediately as it was empty only one other table. Our waiter was nice and friendly but was very preoccupied with other tasks, took over 20min for an orange juice and a Diet Coke, he poured them (we watched) and left them sitting on the bar and my friend got up from the table and walked over to grab them and he apologized stating sorry we don’t have a bartender this afternoon so I was getting other stuff ready. (Didn’t come to refill waters etc) Food was great smoked salmon Benedict was outstanding! 10/10 recommend. Service not so much. Might be better when restaurant is busier?

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello AUNG7890, and thank you for your review. We appreciate your time and value your opinion. We are sorry you didn't receive speedier service, and we will absolutely discuss this issue with our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your food selections! We truly appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon! Take care!

Report
D
vipDuke19371
Milwaukee
94 reviews
Dined on April 18, 2021
Overall2food4service1ambience5

I have written several reviews about this wonderful restaurant and usually rate it with five stars. Always great food and great service. I have not visited for some weeks because their remodeling schedules didn’t match my free time. It was extremely busy Sunday and my sense was management was not ready for the crowd And some of the staff poorly trained.. I had to ask a second server to get my food from the kitchen and then I had to wait more than 20 minutes more to have someone bring me a cup of coffee, I finally asked the hostess How to get a couple coffee. I would attribute these difficulties to growing pains after being closed recently for so many services. I shall definitely return because one strike out of dozens of wonderful visits does not make a failure.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello Duke19371 and thank you for your review. We appreciate your thought and value your opinions. We were very busy last Sunday, in fact, it was the busiest day we have had in a very long time. No, we did not anticipate a such a busy day, but we did our best and will continue to improve and work hard to provide each and every guest with the best service and food possible. We hope to serve you again soon, as we have just rolled out with our new menus! Thank you and please take care!

Report
s
sueb
Milwaukee
6 reviews
Dined on April 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is by far one of my favorite places to meet friends for brunch. The location means you're not trying to find parking, but rewarded with an amazing view! The staff are super attentive and helpful. We never feel rushed! Everything I have ordered has been delicious.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello sueb and thank you for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us! We truly appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon! Take care!

Report
C
Charisse
Milwaukee
1 review
Dined on April 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

All of the bar staff were friendly and attentive, and made an amazing old fashioned. The restaurant itself was clean and had a great atmosphere, including a beautiful view. Our waitress was great and very personable. It was our anniversary and they brought us out a nice card and offered us free champagne or dessert. Overall such a great experience! I would definitely go back.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello Charisse, thank you so much for the 5 star review! Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary! We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us! We truly appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon! Take care!

Report
DZ
DianeZ
Milwaukee
1 review
Dined on April 17, 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience1

For all of the multiple inquiries from Open Table checking on our compliance with the reservations, the restaurant was completely overbooked and overwhelmed.
The Grandview Restaurant published a back page ad in the local paper touting their Greek five course menu special for the month of April; no where was it stated that two days notice was required to participate. I was completely disappointed to not be permitted to dine from that menu.
The worst part was the noise level. A table with eighteen people celebrating a birthday made it impossible to hear the server or the other couple at our table.
We’re delighted to support local businesses, but The Grandview could have accommodated the large party in the swanky private room and allowed the smaller groups to enjoy gathering as well.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello DianeZ, thank you for your review. We do our best to accommodate all our guests and their requests. That party of 16 requested the table that were sat at, and we cannot control their noise level, even though we did ask for them to kindly take it down a notch, however, it was a birthday party. We apologize you were unable to have the Taste of Greece menu. We hope to serve you again. Thank you.

Report
B
Buzz
Chicago
1 review
Dined on April 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Grandview is a great restaurant with terrific service.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello Buzz and thank you for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us! We truly appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon! Take care!

Report
B
Bryan
Chicago
9 reviews
Dined on April 16, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience5

The view from anywhere in the restaurant is fantastic. The service was very good. The food was good but not on a par with the scenery.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello Bryan, thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us! We have just rolled out a new menu today and would love for you to try all the new flavors we have prepared for our guests! We truly appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon! Take care!

Report
CC
CharlesC
Orange County
1 review
Dined on April 16, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

The pasta was over cooked not al dente. The Wiener schnitzel was not veal. It was tough beef

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello CharlesC, thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear of the over cooked pasta. We do our best to perfect it. Our wiener schnitzel has never been beef, and will never be beef. Your review is appreciated and will be discussed with our Chef. Thank you and we hope to serve you again! We have rolled out with a brand new menu today, too! Take Care!

Report
JM
JenniferM
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined on April 16, 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience5

Beautiful setting and excellent service but the food lacked any flavor and was extremely overpriced. I ordered the vegan pasta dish and it was so lemony it wasn’t edible. She gladly took it away and I tried the seafood linguine. No flavor. I hate to say that it reminded me of the sauce my boys used to eat spaghetti-O’s. My husband had the special of linguini and meatballs. It said it was just OK. We shared the Brie appetizer. It was good but nothing to write home about. I would have rather spent $80 on a meal that had flavor. The view is beautiful but it is possible to have both.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello Jennifer, thank you for review. We are sorry that you feel our dishes were lacking flavor. We of course strive to please every palette. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We have just rolled out with a brand new menu today, we do hope you return to give us another try! Take Care!

Report
RK
vipRogerK
Chicago
88 reviews
Dined on April 11, 2021
Overall4food3service3ambience5

Best view of the lake. Food does not live up to the atmosphere. Still worth a visit every once in a while.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello and thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us! We apologize you feel the food did not meet your expectations. We invite you to return to try our brand new menu! We truly appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon! Take care!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Milwaukee
3 reviews
Dined on April 10, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience4

The view is beautiful and our server was wonderful. But admittedly, the flavors of our dishes were fairly average. It seems that they were afraid of seasoning.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello, thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your service and our amazing view, but sorry to hear of your lack of flavor. We have just rolled out a brand new menu today and would love for you to try it! We thank you for your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Take care!

Report
M
vipMillie
Chicago
74 reviews
Dined on April 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely view, good service, and the steaks were perfectly cooked!

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello Millie, thank you for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us! We truly appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon! Take care!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on April 9, 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience5

Anniversary, service was slow and she forgot our drinks. Asked to have seat by window although at least three tables were available we didn’t get a seat by the window.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello and thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us! We truly appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon! Take care!

Report
MJ
MaryJaneS
Milwaukee
1 review
Dined on April 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great view, great staff and food was awesome.. a must try

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hello MaryJaneS, thank you for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us! We truly appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon! Take care!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Dined on April 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Came in to celebrate my granddaughters 3rd birthday. This was my first time here. Everything exceeded my expectations. Everyone enjoyed the food. Great job by all.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 7, 2021

Hello, thank you for your five star review! Thank you for all your kind words! We are delighted to enjoyed your dining experience with us and like the food and the view so much! We look forward to serving you again! Take care!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Milwaukee
1 review
Dined on April 3, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service and great meals. The right proportion to satisfy you. I will be returning this summer. I will be bringing guest.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 7, 2021

Hello, thank you for your five star review! Thank you for mentioning our great service and great meals! Who was your server, I would love to pass on the compliment! We are delighted to enjoyed your dining experience with us and like the food and the view so much! We look forward to serving you again! Take care!

Report
JB
JessicaB
Chicago
6 reviews
Dined on April 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great views and delicious food! We will definitely be returning!

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 3, 2021

Hello JessicaB, thank you for your five star review! We are delighted to enjoyed your dining experience with us and like the food and the view so much! We look forward to serving you again! Take care!

Report
KC
vipKarenCLW
Orange County
26 reviews
Dined on April 2, 2021
Overall2food3service3ambience5

We were disappointed with our meal. We are allergic to dairy and for whatever reason, whether if was the server and/or the chef, they seemed to lack creativity in accommodating dairy allergies. Also, my husband was not pleased with the portion of salmon on his meal. Finally our server was a bit "over the top" with exuberance and she did not keep her mask over her nose. It made us very uncomfortable. The spacing between tables if the best all around Lake Geneva!

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 7, 2021

Hello Karen, & thank you for your review. We apologize that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. Were you able to discuss your issues with the manager on duty? We are sorry about the server's mask falling below her nose, we will be sure to address this with your server. However, we are delighted to hear that she was full of life & energy to serve you better! She truly is a company favorite! We want all our guests to feel safe, & are glad you found our spacing appropriate!

Report
N
Nobuko
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined on April 2, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Great view overlooking the lake! Food was fantastic too. Suitable for occasions.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 7, 2021

Hello Nobuko, thank you for your review. Thank you for your kind words! We are curious, with such kind words, why only 4 stars instead of 5? What could we have done better so we may get a 5 star review from you next time? Thank you for your time, we look forward to serving you again! Take care!

Report
l
vipluv2dine
Chicago
253 reviews
Dined on April 2, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience5

Lunch at the Grandview was nice but they have a limited menu. Service was kinda slow , for a non busy restaurant. Would I return YES as they have a great lake view.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 7, 2021

Hello luv2dine, thank you for your review! We do love the view from the restaurant. Our menu we provide our guests is our full menu. We pride ourselves on quality, as all of our ingredients for our dishes are specially selected to ensure each guest receives a flavorful meal. We try to encourage a slower paced meal so you and your guests can enjoy the view and your company for a little longer. We value your opinions, and would like to know how to get 5 stars from you! Thank you, take care!

Report
FM
vipFinMo
Chicago
41 reviews
Dined on April 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a fantastic experience for my wife's Birthday dinner. Fabulous views, excellent attentive service, well prepared tasty food and fairly priced.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 3, 2021

WOW! Thank you FinMo! We appreciate your 5 star review! We do our absolute best to make each dining experience feel like a special occasion. Thank you for choosing the Grandview to celebrate your wife's birthday! All your kind words mean so much to us. We value your opinion and look forward to serving you again! Take care!

Report
DM
DennisM
Milwaukee
1 review
Dined on April 1, 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience4

Nice place, wait staff was decent. Ordered a steak medium and it was but on the outside. Tasted like chewing on charcoal.

The Grandview Restaurant
Responded on April 7, 2021

Hello DennisM, thank you for your review. We apologize that you did not enjoy your steak. Was your server made aware of the situation? We would have liked to fix the problem for you. Thank you for complimenting our staff and the restaurant! We truly appreciate your opinions and value your input. Thank you, and we hope to serve you again in the future! Take care!

Report

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from The Grandview Restaurant using the Order Online button.

The Grandview Restaurant is rated 4.5 stars by 1304 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.