This restaurant now offers Takeout

Bring the restaurant to you. Order and pay for food directly on OpenTable.

View Takeout menu

The Cove

4.2
519 Reviews
$31 to $50
American
The Cove Restaurant and Oyster Bar is a perfect place for a romantic dinner, business lunch, office party, or just a fun night out. Open all year round with a beautiful indoor setting.

Located next to Brewer's marina, this chic, elegant and comfortable restaurant charms guests with its perfectly balanced menu, professional and friendly service, and it's lovely ambiance.

The menu features some signature items such as: Lemon Chicken, Whole Mediterranean fish, Oysters on the half shell, and seafood pastas!


What 519 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.0
service
4.4
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
S
Shorty
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food3service2ambience4

Our reservation was for 12:00 and the kitchen opened late. Also, we couldn't order items from the "All Day" menu. What gives???

G
vipGourmant
New York Area
355 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great weather great service great sushi

The Cove
Responded 4 days ago

We're thrilled you had such a great time with us! Come back soon!

Report
M
vipMarty
New York Area
21 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food3service1ambience4

Service was poor top say the least. Long Waite. Despite several complaints, bread not served until almost dessert time and I am still awaiting the butter to go with it that never came after three requests.

Notwithstanding such poor service, no offer was made by management to atone for the poor service.

Will not be returning!!!!

The Cove
Responded 4 days ago

Marty, we regret to hear about this experience you had. This is unacceptable and never the way we want anyone to feel while they're here. We will be addressing this with our entire staff so they know that this will not be tolerated.

Report
DD
vipDoctorDad
New York Area
252 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience5

Great location for summer ! Always relaxing with very good food. Service is a bit strained like may restaurants during the pandemic. Aside from the iffy service , it is always a nice meal

The Cove
Responded on September 16, 2021

Thank you for letting us know about this experience! We appreciate you letting us know about your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report
H
Hubie
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2021
Overall4food5service1ambience5

Waited 20 minutes for cocktails. At the beginning of dinner order wine to go with meal; and we received it when the meal was finished.
When you asked another waiter, about what happened to our drinks: he replied I am not your waiter.
Disappointing...Good service is an integral part of a dining experience.

b
vipbettyd
New York Area
21 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience4

We weren't seated immediately with a reservation and there were many open tables. The service was horrible, lunch took over 30 min to arrive, and the food was also below average quality compared to many other times that I have been there

L
vipLocal
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall1food3service3ambience2

Today’s dining experience was very poor. I’ve visited The Cove many times, but today was much worse than usual. The plates and glasses on the table were noticeably unclean, with lipstick marks on two of the glasses and un-rinsed food still stuck to all the plates. We asked for everything at the table to be replaced, but the new plates and glasses were still unclean. All of us started to lose our appetites but we thought maybe the food would makeup for the unsavory experience. Unfortunately, the food did not live up to our expectations or the quality of food we have enjoyed before at The Cove. The vegetables in the Greek salad were all over-ripe and soggy/mushy and the margarita pizza was overloaded with cheese, lacking tomato sauce, and in much need of an extra few minutes in the oven. Our waiter was also much less attentive than usual (we’ve been waited on by him several times). He only approached our table to take our order and to get us the check. All in all, the experience was disappointing. Unfortunately, I don’t think I will be returning any time soon.

p
vippollytiap
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great fresh fish! Great ambiance outside !

MK
MargaretK
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall4food4service1ambience4

The restaurant is beautiful and located in amazing scenery. Everything we've ever tried on the menu is outstanding. Good size portions and reasonably priced. The wait service is horrible. Not the employees that seat you or bring you water but the waiters and waitresses weren't friendly and we waited over 25 minutes to be asked for a drink order even after we mentioned it to the hosted 10 minutes before that. Then we waited over 10 more minutes to actually get our drinks. The rest of the process was the same. It was a shame because it was an excellent meal but it kind of got ruined by the service. They were appropriately staffed so that is not what caused the delays we experienced.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and service

The Cove
Responded on September 10, 2021

So happy you had a five star time!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience5

Mussels were tasteless. Shrimp sushi pieces were large.
Waiter Carlos was very good.

The Cove
Responded on September 7, 2021

Thank you for stopping by! We wish you would have let us know about your issues with your meals during your visit so we could have made this right for you. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
MC
vipMarcelaConti
London
5 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was great as usua

The Cove
Responded on September 10, 2021

Couldn't be happier to hear this!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Cleveland
4 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere, service and food!!!

The Cove
Responded on September 7, 2021

Thanks a bunch! Come back again soon for another visit!

Report
TB
TBOT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall2food1service2ambience3

Good was bland and uninspired. Expensive for the quality. Location nice. Ambience nice.

The Cove
Responded on September 7, 2021

Thank you for stopping by - we regret to hear that you didn't enjoy your meals! We wish you would have let us know about this while you were here so we could have made things right for you during your visit. We would love to see you again for a better experience!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food, great ambiance. Wonderful experience.

The Cove
Responded on September 7, 2021

Thank you so much for this wonderful review!

Report
J
Joe68foodie
New York Area
19 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time dining at the Cove. Pleasantly surprised. We will return.

The Cove
Responded on August 30, 2021

Welcome to The Cove family, Joe! We're so happy you had such a great time with us!

Report
F
Fanny
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Anniversary of when my husband and I first met.

p
pdiddy
1 review
Dined on August 29, 2021
Overall3food2service3ambience3

Very average food for the price. Tastes were bland. Cocktails were similar. Service was fair.

The Cove
Responded on September 2, 2021

We regret to hear that you didn't enjoy yourself while you were here. We wish you would have let us know about this while you were here so we could have made things right for you during the visit!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic Evening!! Carlos was our waiter and he was fantastic along with the rest of the wait staff!! On the money with everything food amazing!!

The Cove
Responded on August 30, 2021

Thank you so much!!

Report
i
ilsem
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delightful setting but when many tables occupied noise level not great, even outdoors. Loud music blasting doesn't;t help situation.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Food and service excellent.

The Cove
Responded on August 30, 2021

We're so happy you had such a great time with us!

Report
JF
vipJonF
New York Area
31 reviews
Dined on August 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great outdoor spot. Great cocktails, friendly staff, good food and views.

F
vipFreudianslip70
New York Area
13 reviews
Dined on August 21, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience2

They had a dj in the dining room. Music and noise loud. They did move us in from the rain. Waiter didnt get us things we asked for like a side of brocolli ordered and paper napkins. Never introduced himself or checked on table. Had to ask for water. Acted like he was bothered. Had to get him after some time to pay bill. Had to go to bar to get the paper napkin. Meals and drinks over priced for what was provided (e.g., a small fleeting amount of spinach in a dish that said comes with spinach mostly grape tomatos). Perhaps it was an off night, but very disappointed.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great management and great food. Savvas is a true gentleman and a great personality. Will definitely be back soon.

m
vipmrmanli
New York Area
18 reviews
Dined on August 20, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Seated promptly
Good service
Food was very good
Nice atmosphere

OT
OpenTable Diner
Denver
2 reviews
Dined on August 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent all round.

The Cove
Responded on August 19, 2021

So happy to hear this! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 17, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience4

I took my family here to celebrate a birthday because I had been in the past and had a great experience! I don’t know what happened but the service was awful and the food was definitely not what I remembered! Many dishes came out dry. The salmon which I ordered medium was well done and dry, the chicken was actually inedible, it was so dry and when I told our waitress she actually just laughed! I though she was kidding but she never asked if my husband wanted something else or anything and of course she didn’t take it off the bill either. I will say the Mediterranean dips were delicious and so was the octopus but the experience as a whole was so disappointing!

DD
DirtyglassesDirtyspoonsx
1 review
Dined on August 16, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience1

Mediocre food, service is inconsistent, view of harbor is nothing to write home about.

The Cove
Responded on August 19, 2021

We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your experience with us. This is never the way we want our guests to feel when they’re visiting and we wish you would have said something so we could have made this right for you during your visit

Report
JG
vipJerryG
New York Area
38 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience2

Had to wait 15 minutes despite a reservation. Food was uneven. One appetizer was excellent, the other so—so.
The same for two main courses. Service was relatively inattentive. It’s a pricey place with a pretty setting.
Despite signage about masks to be worn when not seated,
there seemed to be little concern about safety on the parts of staff and customers.

The Cove
Responded on August 19, 2021

We do our best to keep reservation times as accurate as possible without pushing other tables out. We apologize for the wait and regret to hear that your food wasn’t great. We Never want anyone to feel this way while they’re here and will use this to create a better experience for all of our guests in the future.

Report
S
vipStace
New York Area
10 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great food and ambiance on the water. Service was good

R
vipRockn
New York Area
26 reviews
Dined on August 13, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Good food . Great atmosphere.
I have been there several times and always enjoyed my meals.

The Cove
Responded on August 16, 2021

Thank you so much!

Report
BR
BarbaraR
1 review
Dined on August 11, 2021
Overall3food2service3ambience3

Nice location but limited meal options. Better for drinks and appetizers.

JF
vipJimmyF
New York Area
15 reviews
Dined on August 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As always, the Cove never fails. Service, food and atmosphere was outstanding.

The Cove
Responded on August 12, 2021

Thank you so much, Jimmy!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on August 7, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience3

It was ok, good food, good service and nice setting but we expected a lot more than just “good” for the prices and reputation

The Cove
Responded on August 9, 2021

Thank you for your review and this feedback. We appreciate knowing about our guests experiences so we can sue them to grow and become better. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
PQ
vipPatQ
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on August 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food and service was great! Ambiance was nice.

The Cove
Responded on August 9, 2021

We're so happy you had a great time with us, Pat! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 4, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Save your money! This was probably the worst dining experience I’ve ever had. We ordered two drinks and two appetizers before leaving. My drink must have been made with the cheapest, most disgusting vodka I’ve ever had, the edamame was hard, and the calamari was chewy. We will not be returning!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on August 3, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience5

Beautiful view on the water, outside dining. The food was mediocre, and quite pricey for what was served. $18 for 5 meduim sized shrimp appetizers is a bit much. The meatballs had no consistency, and the truffle fries were soggy. We received I small piece of octopus which also was overpriced. The sushi was good, but again overpriced. The service was not so good and the waiter had a bit of an attitude which made my guests uncomfortable. We even still eating and the girl kept coming over to take our plates which made us feel rushed.

H
Hellbanian1
1 review
Dined on July 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The staff was attentive. The ambiance was great. The location is pretty cool, in a marina setting. The food was very good. However, be prepared for the fact that this is a very expensive place. We are talking high end Manhattan prices. It sits in a very wealthy part of the island, so it's to be expected. As long as you are prepared for that fact, you'll have a great time. If you are looking for a "Gyro place around the corner" price range, keep on looking. We enjoyed ourselves.

S
Silviebear
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on July 31, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience5

We selected the restaurant due to it being on the water. The drink was fantastic. The food was mediocre but definately loved the ambiance.
Brunch was displayed beautufully. The eggs were dry, and the fries were ok.

The Cove
Responded on August 2, 2021

Thanks so much for stopping by and for letting us know about your experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
S
Salud
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on July 30, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Lovely outdoor dining experience. Service was responsive and attentive. Look forward to returning!

The Cove
Responded on August 2, 2021

Thank you so much! We hope to see you again soon!

Report

FAQs

The Cove offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (516) 676-1211.

The Cove is rated 4.2 stars by 519 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.