The Consulate

4.5
470 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Global, International
Travel with us nightly as we visit Morocco, Ethiopia, China, India and more on a culinary journey like no other. Our menu has a rotating country of inspiration that changes every 3 months! We spin our globe to select our next focus every 90 days.
Owner and Executive Chef - Mei Lin has again proven her ability to dance around the globe and deliver excellence.

Our beverage selection and spirits have been cherry picked by our resident, award winning Mixologist and Beverage director Christine Zammit.

Our space is a sleek Mid Century modern lair filled with noted works of art and iconic antiques, and is unlike anything in Atlanta. Works by Andy Warhol, Keith Haring, Radcliffe Bailey and Matisse all share court here.
Dine in our plush velvet booths, or have a cocktail on the Leather sofas in front of our fireplace in the Lounge.
The Interior design was handled by owner & HGTV designer, Doug Hines.

Join us, and leave your passport at home...
What 470 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.8
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OT
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Great food and great service in a casual, but elegant setting. Mariah was a great server, good recommendations and just made the meal a great experience!

The Consulate
Responded 2 days ago

We are glad you enjoyed!

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Excellent surroundings, service & food. Will be back.

The Consulate
Responded 2 days ago

We are glad you enjoyed!

Report
Helpful
JH
Atlanta
24 reviews
Dined on April 9, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 2ambience 4

Food and drinks were very good. Service was slow.

The Consulate
Responded on April 11, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed Jesse! Yes, our team has been stretched to the max. We are currently hunting for new talent to join the team so that we can keep up with our demand. We look forward to your next visit!

Report
Helpful
JH
Atlanta
2 reviews
Dined on April 3, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Awesome food and spectacular space!! Great bar. A special place for a really special occasion!!

The Consulate
Responded on April 5, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed! We hope to serve you again!

Report
Helpful
KE
Atlanta
2 reviews
Dined on April 3, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Granddaughter birthday
Good time

The Consulate
Responded on April 5, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed Ken!

Report
Helpful
B
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on April 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

They closed early because we were the only ones there. But that’s ok.

The Consulate
Responded on April 11, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed! We close at 11 each night. The kitchen closes at 10:30 nightly. We have never closed prior to that, so I am perplexd! We look forward to your next visit!!!!

Report
Helpful
MK
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on April 1, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful experience! Took my wife for our 1 year anniversary. Loved the delicacy, drinks and interior design. There was a lot to love about this restaurant!

The Consulate
Responded on April 4, 2019

Michael, we are glad you made us a part of your special day! We are honored.

Report
Helpful
M
Atlanta
59 reviews
Dined on April 1, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 5

Fabulous for cocktails, happy hour or a glass of wine. Don't bother going for the food. Very disappointing.

The Consulate
Responded on April 4, 2019

Monica, we glad glad you enjoyed your cocktail. Sorry you did not enjoy your choices with dinner, as so many others have. We find out Friday, what is our focus after Spain, and perhaps that will be more to your liking.

Report
Helpful
TT
1 review
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fist time experiencing The Consulate and it was AMAZING!!! The ambiance was remarkable!!! The food and service was outstanding!! One of the owners came over to insure our visit was going well!! The Consulate is on my top 3 of Atlanta list!!! We’ll be back soon!!!!
Can’t wait!!!
Tia T

The Consulate
Responded on April 2, 2019

Tia, thank you truly for your feedback and visit! We all are trying quite hard to be perfect! Spain is here!

Report
Helpful
KH
Atlanta
7 reviews
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

My husband and I went to celebrate our wedding anniversary this past weekend. Looking for somewhere new laid back. We were a few minutes late for our reservation because we could not find the parking garage. I phone the restaurant twice that we were coming and that we were a few minutes late due to our inability to find the parking lot. We were told not to worry and that our table would be waiting for us. When we arrived, the hostess had a nasty attitude - which was shocking - as she scolded us about being 12 minutes late. I mentioned that I'd called and spoken with someone at the restaurant twice so she decided to "find" us a table. The restaurant is very nice and the vibe is amazing. A friend had recommended it and we actually loved the Zambian menu choices. Our server was helpful and nice, for the most part, but honestly he seemed annoyed by our constant questions about various menu items that we weren't familiar with. The highlight of the evening happened when the owner came out and said hello. He was friendly and even offered to take our photo for us.

Overall, I would recommend this place as we simply CHOSE to overlook the condescending attitudes of those few staff so that we could enjoy our experience. Maybe they both weren't having a great evening...who knows!? The restaurant provides a cool vibe, nice drinks and tasty dishes!

The Consulate
Responded on April 1, 2019

I am so glad you enjoyed overall. Please feel free to let me know of any missteps or verbage that is not welcoming so we can correct it on the spot. We will read this and all reviews during line up so we can be even better than we were yesterday! Thank you truly. I hope the picture I took did not have my thumb across it, I'm all thumbs!

Report
Helpful
A
Richmond
1 review
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Sad to see the Nambia menu come to an end but am looking forward to tasting the food from Spain.

The Consulate
Responded on April 1, 2019

We hope to see you soon! Spain is here and AMAZING, but we are keeping the Zambian Oxtails and N'hima on the menu!

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food, vibe and experience

The Consulate
Responded on April 1, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed! Spain is here! ( April 1st- July 1st)

Report
Helpful
A
Atlanta
23 reviews
Dined on March 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This was our second visit this month. Only negative is that our friends couldn’t see the sign for the restaurant from the street and they didn’t know where to park. Better exterior signage, please!

Also, the email link on the website doesn’t work also.

Excellent servers and fun menu!

The Consulate
Responded on April 1, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed Allegro! Yes, we can be hard to find the first go around. But honestly, we intended our signage to be on the discreet side. A tad speakeasy-ish. We will double check the link on the website. Spain is here and we hope you will travel with us!

Report
Helpful
TO
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on March 26, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Great location and ambiance. The food was good. Very good flavors. Service was great as well.

The Consulate
Responded on March 29, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed! Spain is coming! Hopefully you will try us TWICE ! ( April 1st- July 1st)

Report
Helpful
SC
1 review
Dined on March 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food and service were very good. Particularly enjoyed the Zambian beef dish, Thai okra and Cuban egg role. Full of flavor and nice spice level

The Consulate
Responded on March 25, 2019

Steve, we are glad you enjoyed! Many Zambian dishes will be missed, but Chef Lin's versions of Spain is outstanding! We hope to see you then! ( April 1st- July 1st)

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on March 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food, awesome service!

The Consulate
Responded on March 24, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed! Spain is coming! ( April 1st- July 1st)

Report
Helpful
TF
New Orleans
1 review
Dined on March 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Office happy hour

The Consulate
Responded on March 24, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed! We hope to see you during Spain! ( April 1st- July 1st)

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on March 20, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 1ambience 5

Ambience was good, food was ok, but service was sooooo slow!

The Consulate
Responded on March 23, 2019

Yes, we are experiencing a growth spurt. We are quite selective with who we allow to join the team but we are fielding more talent to help speed service.

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
2 reviews
Dined on March 20, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great! Please come here.

The Consulate
Responded on April 1, 2019

We are happy to hear you enjoyed!

Report
Helpful
B
Atlanta
56 reviews
Dined on March 20, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 4

This was the first time we didn't have a stellar evening at The Consulate. The Zambian oxtail relied so heavily on an excessive amount of spices that it tasted chalky. The curry soup was very tasty but I'd say that the roasted cauliflower was the best bite of the evening.

The Consulate
Responded on March 25, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. Indian flavor profiles are very similar to Zambian, we agree. We hope you join us during Spain! Which starts April 2nd and is quite stellar.

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
12 reviews
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

Been to The Consulate twice and it was amazing both times. I love the vibe and the concept of the restaurant. The ingredients are fresh and menu items are unique. Can't wait to go back.

The Consulate
Responded on March 27, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed! Spain is coming! ( April 1st- July 1st) ...and we hope to serve you again!

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
6 reviews
Dined on March 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

What an awesome restaurant with a unique and innovative concept. They change their menu every few months to offer dishes from another part of the world. Creating a new experience for their dinning guests. The service is excellent and the food is even better. It is decorated in an eclectic modern way that offers more character than many restaurants in downtown Atlanta. Our waiter was spot on all night keeping the drinks coming And even offered to charge my phone when he heard me say my phone is about to die. They also have a part of the menu that doesn’t change so I suggest ordering from that as well as the non fixed menu so you can have favorites that aren’t going anywhere as well as sampling their offerings from across the globe. Great for a date or group outing.

Report
Helpful
JA
Austin
3 reviews
Dined on March 15, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 5

While I would recommend the restaurant, our experience was just average. I was scolded by the hostess for not answering her phone call one hour before our reservation to confirm (even though the restaurant had texted me to confirm--which I did). She told me that a result of not answering, our table wasn't ready. While having drinks at the bar the bartender was less than friendly or helpful when ordering. Our server was attentive and made some great suggestions. The ambiance is amazing and the food is decent and rotates quarterly--which is fun.

The Consulate
Responded on March 19, 2019

Hello Jonathan, I am sorry to hear your experience was less than stellar. That host is no longer with us. I will remind the bar team of the proper procedures of guiding guests since we do have many items that are not mainstream. Our deepest apologies. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and server!

Report
Helpful
JS
Atlanta
59 reviews
Dined on March 15, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

When another couple asked for a recommendation for new spot to go for dinner, we thought The Consulate would be a great choice. On our other visit we really liked the vibe, the food was delicious, plus sharing tapas would give us lots to choose from. The special country that half the menu would focus on was Zambia. I have never been, so I had no idea about the cuisine and was excited to try. We were a little concerned about the spiciness of the Zambian cuisine, but there was zero to worry about, it was more about flavors than spiciness.

The quality of the dishes ranged from very good / excellent for the Cucumber Mango Salad, the Sauteed Chinese Eggplant, the Piri Piri Roasted Cauliflower and The Korean Pulled Duck Confit. The OK dishes included the Zambezi Chicken Cutlet. Two dishes were not to my liking at all; the Char Siu BBQ Pork and the Pan Fried Shrimp Dumplings.

After reading on-line reviews we expected, found and accepted, and will confirm we experienced many during our visit. We were 20 minutes late getting seated and the hostess was not transparent in her assessments. The service during the meal was incredibly slow, with long pauses before we started and at several intervals. Our server, though, was very good, she knew the menu inside-out, made recommendations and checked in often, as did the manager.

We will definitely return to the Consulate, we loved the vibe and most of the food.

The Consulate
Responded on March 16, 2019

Jeff, we are glad you enjoyed your visit. And thank you for being understanding with your wait time. We try to gently remind guests that have dined for 3 + hours that other reservations are in the que. We also will continue trying to improve service speed without quality of our dishes. We look forward to your return! Spain will begin April 2nd!

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
5 reviews
Dined on March 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service. Rotating menu adds variety to many great everyday items.

The Consulate
Responded on March 24, 2019

The whole team thanks you! We all are trying very hard to be perfect for every visit. Thank YOU!

Report
Helpful
r
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on March 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The current menu was Zambia and the food was excellent, as well as the service, as always. Love dining at The Consulate!

The Consulate
Responded on March 15, 2019

We are happy to hear you enjoyed! We hope you can join us during Spain! Starting April 2nd!

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
8 reviews
Dined on March 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I LOVE this restaurant! I like new experiences and am always trying different places but I always come back to this one. Great food, wonderful atmosphere for a romantic date or a dinner with a group of friends.

The Consulate
Responded on March 14, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed! We hope to see you during Spain! ( April 1st- July 1st) Our "Spin Night" is Friday April 5th at 9:30pm And Chris will MC the Spin!

Report
Helpful
JM
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on March 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This was an amazing experience for us. We consider ourselves foodies :) We had an opportunity to talk to the one of the owners Douglas. To personal hear his (there) story was a pleasure to hear it from him. We had the pleasure of having Chris as our adviser...lol..I pick our small plates and entree along with the crafted drinks. Everyone who's a true foodie needs to visit this place.

The Consulate
Responded on March 15, 2019

Jacob, it was our pleasure to have you travel with us! We look forward to your next journey at The Consulate!

Report
Helpful
VM
Atlanta
4 reviews
Dined on March 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Love the vibe of this place! Highly recommend the Moroccan Sunset cocktail. They really took the customer experience to the next level on this one. Really great taste and it even has a port wine ice cube that slowly adds color to the drink and changes the taste experience as it does. The color fades to dark as a sunset would and my mind was blown.

The Consulate
Responded on March 11, 2019

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit Vanessa! Yes watching the sunset has never been more delicious!

Report
Helpful
DD
Atlanta
27 reviews
Dined on March 9, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 2ambience 5

I was introduced to The Consulate from a friend that works there. I went there for a few drinks with a friend, as a 'pregame' place before we met up with a group for a bday dinner. I was very impressed with the ambience. We sat in the lounge area and enjoyed our cocktails. I'm from DC and love these cool chic elegant places to dine or enjoy a few libations with friends. Having such a good experience that night, I decided to have my bday dinner there for 5 people and requested, and granted the private dining area.

Pros:
1. parking validated for free for 3 hours.
2. Great freshly made cocktails. No syrups!
3. Very good ambiance.
4. Great appetizers.

Cons:
1. The manager commented that "no beer or Hennessy served" as they cater to a 'certain' crowd! Didn't like that remark.
2. Service was extremely slow! Especially for a private area, my water glass should never be empty for minutes on end, before being refilled. My mom took the extra water that was placed for the guest that didn't attend.
3. Appetizers were great but the entrees were just OK! They change their menu every 90days so I'll give it another try in a few months!

Overall, a cool place to meet for a first date or a quick meet up with a friend where you can enjoy apps and cocktails at the bar or the lounge area.

Reminds me of a chic DC/ NYC vibe but the food is entrees, not the overall food, was okay.

Oh... they did have a bomb au natural brownie and sorbet dessert that's AMAZING!!

The Consulate
Responded on March 11, 2019

Yes -"We intentionally do NOT stock your typical beers and spirits such as Bud Lite and Hennessey. We offer GLOBAL options." And Our "certain crowd" are guests that appreciate craft cocktails and understand they take longer. All of our food items are meant to be shared as tapas. We are sorry you seemed to misunderstand. We look forward to your next visit, DeeDee, as we strive to be even better!

Report
Helpful
TT
Atlanta
6 reviews
Dined on March 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Every dish was excellent along with the service. Scallops were buttery and snapper had intense flavors that exploded in our mouths. Mango salad was perfect as well. Ambience made us feel even better than the food tasted! A must try in the city!!

The Consulate
Responded on March 8, 2019

Than you for the feedback! Yes, buttery they are! We look forward to your return!

Report
Helpful
LR
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on March 6, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

Great theme-- The consulate changes its menu every 90 days to reflect different regions in the world. I've visited on Wednesday, March 6 and the theme was Africa. I ordered the ox tails and they were very very small portions but we had tasty appetizers and the service was great along with the ambience but the portion size and the prices need to balance

The Consulate
Responded on March 9, 2019

Hello LaRina, our Zambian Oxtails are portioned out by our Chef. We use the finest grass fed beef from our meat purveyor. We have decided to deliver premium quality over quantity. As you know, nothing cheap is good. We are also a Tapas restaurant that executes dishes that are meant to be shared and passed. Our Zambian menu is here until April 1st, then we feature Spain!

Report
Helpful
c
Atlanta
48 reviews
Dined on March 6, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 5

What a fun atmosphere! I felt like I was among expats at some far away location. The food is very interesting and takes a few visits to figure out what you like. We will definitely go back to try other dishes.

The Consulate
Responded on March 9, 2019

We hope to see you during Spain! starting April 2nd! Thank you Caro!

Report
Helpful
KC
1 review
Dined on March 4, 2019
Overall 3food 1service 3ambience 4

The food was very overpriced and dissappointing. The vegetarian options were limited and bland. The cauliflower came in a huge chunk and barely had any sauce, spice, or taste. The peanut spinach dip was very bland. The best option was the okra which at least had a nice sauce. Thw drinks were not great either, but the moraccan sunset was ok. I spent over $100
and it was a huge disappointment.

The Consulate
Responded on March 6, 2019

Hello Kevin. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit. I am puzzled by the array of issues you have mentioned. The first being vegetarian options. Our Chef is a vegetarian, which is why we have FOURTEEN vegetarian options on our menu. This more more than ANY other restaurant in midtown. All of our dishes very laden with spices. The heavy usage of spice is part of our concept. Eater named us one of the cities best cocktail bars. However, we have always known, we are not for everyone.

Report
Helpful
JH
E. Tennessee
4 reviews
Dined on March 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Chris was a rock star again.

The Consulate
Responded on March 5, 2019

He thanks you dearly!

Report
Helpful
M
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

Really beautiful, unique dining and bar space. Food is creative and tasty. Service levels could improve some, though. On a busy weekend night, staff seemed a bit overwhelmed at times, lacking a bit of polish and professionalism, which can make for a stressful dining experience for guests.

The Consulate
Responded on March 4, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed and yes, we are hiring more team members so that each guest get the level of service we want to deliver. Duly noted!

Report
Helpful
c
Atlanta
10 reviews
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Fun concept of rotating some dishes through the year while maintaining the popular ones year long. Lots of vegetarian options. The ambience was very eclectic and inviting.

The Consulate
Responded on March 4, 2019

Thank you for your visit! Join us during Spain! April 2nd...

Report
Helpful
OT
Dallas
3 reviews
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

This is my second visit to The Consulate, and I can definitely see this trendy midtown spot making its way into my regular rotation. The rotating menu is refreshing and interesting, while the mainstays (specifically the octopus) are a nice foundation to a wonderful evening.

With regard to the food, some of the dishes were over-salted, but on the whole, the food is very good and the service is prompt, warm, and well-trained.

The Consulate
Responded on March 2, 2019

We are glad to hear you enjoyed. Please let us know which dishes you thought were salted, because we intentionally use very little salt on all dishes. Salt can be added but never taken away which is why we go lightly. The vivid spices sometimes read as salt, but it is quality, imported spice that is on the palette. We hope to see you during Spain! ( April 2nd- July1)

Report
Helpful
RN
Atlanta
2 reviews
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fabulous experience for out of town guests.

The Consulate
Responded on March 4, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed and hope to see you again!

Report
Helpful
LD
Atlanta
4 reviews
Dined on February 27, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Food and service great but can you get the check right please?😩

The Consulate
Responded on March 1, 2019

Our deepest apologies on the check mix up. Duly noted!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12