The Boat House Restaurant
Bustling by day with a buoyant combination of city life and lush riverbank scenery, and dazzling by night with captivating views of the downtown skyline, the Boat House Restaurant offers unmatched views, inventive cuisine and that unmistakable breezy, boat club feel without the yacht club expense.
The Boat House Restaurant offers a fresh, inventive, seafood-driven menu that echoes the fun, vibrant feel of Columbus. Enjoy local Walleye, our fresh seafood dishes, gourmet burgers, and savory dishes like rib eye and Gorgonzola sirloin steak.
Please contact the restaurant for reservations over 20 guests. We will do our best to accommodate your reservation.
Host your special events, wedding or corporate meeting in our ballroom/indoor/outdoor event spaces/private patio/gazebo with breathtaking views of the downtown skyline. We can accommodate groups of 20 to 500 guests. Contact an event specialist at 614.469.0000 today!
Happy Hour with a view!
Happy Hour with the best views of Columbus - served at the bar Monday - Friday from 4PM until 7PM. $4 Domestic Beers, $5 Well Drinks, $6 House Wines and more!!
Terms and Conditions:
Valid For: 1 - 20 people
Starts: May 1, 2019
Ends: May 2, 2118
Availability: Mon-Fri 4:00PM-7:00PM
We had a large group and they were very accommodating. It was a weekday night and we had a reservation. Everyone enjoyed the evening and our food. Very nice restaurant
Dear DeeK, Thank you so much for joining us. We loved having you and your group in for dinner and look forward to seeing you again. Whether in a large group or just a couple we are always happy to have you! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
For the most part, it was a quiet Sunday evening (except for an unsupervised child with a staring problem) with a nice view from the patio. The food wasn't as good as I had hoped (pasta served just above room temperature, bread appetizer seemed like frozen rolls thrown in the oven and sprinkled with grated parmesan) but the Pineapple Express drink was delicious. Service was fine, but probably not a restaurant I'll return to.
Dear AmateurReviewer, Thank you for leaving us your feedback about your recent visit. We appreciate all the comments from our guests as it only helps us improve how to serve you. We do hope you consider joining us again to see how your comments help make a difference. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The Boathouse has a great view. The food is delicious.
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate you leaving your comments and hope to have you back with us again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Wonderful location and view. Only drawback was HIGH noise level.
Dear LanceJ, Thank you so much for joining us. We do apologize for the noise level during your last visit. We have a variety of spaces and can often have many events going on throughout our restaurant. Please come back and join us again. We do have many nights where the space has a relaxing and calm feel as well. You are always welcome to call ahead and see what we have going on for the night. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Had a great dinner at the boat house, the food was great and the restaurant has one of the best views of downtown Columbus in the city. Also had really great service by Tammy!
Dear JacksonM, So glad to have you join us and we so appreciate the great review. Our staff is always here to make you night with us as enjoyable as possible. Please come back to see us again soon! We have so much to offer and enjoy! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Good service portions were small but great food!
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself during your visit and we hope to see you again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Was so disappointed after choosing The Boat House based on it's overall 4 star review. I can't believe that anybody could give a 4-5 star rating because we certainly could not. Very misleading in my opinion. The inside really needs to be refurbished but we sat out on the deck which was very nice - actually the only thing that we really liked was the view. The staff that we interacted with didn't seem to be very happy to be there. Our waitress was not very welcoming and the service was poor. When our dishes arrived we asked for ketchup and salt/pepper and it never arrived until the manager came by later and asked if we needed anything. My husband asked for another beer with his dinner and it never arrived until after he was finished eating. The 3 of us ordered different entrees (seafood, steak and chicken) and all of us felt the food was mediocre at best - not world class like many of the other restaurants in Columbus. It is such a shame because the restaurant is in such a great location and could be really great with great food and friendly and efficient wait staff. I rarely write reviews but felt that I really needed to this time. We won't be back but it's so unfortunate when I can see such potential there.
Dear DonD, We are so sorry to read you did not enjoy your experience at the Boat House. Please know that we expect so much more for your experience with us and so appreciate your feedback. Comments like yours help us to identify what our guests are best looking for, and how we can best serve them. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Our waitress was great, enjoyed our meal and the patio.
Dear MariaJ, Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Great view, good food and excellent service. Underused, it would appear. Strong recommendation for dining.
Dear Wmorganist, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so glad to read how much you enjoyed our restaurant. Come join us again. We have a great menu and wonderful cocktails for you to enjoy! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
It has been a little while since we have eaten here. The food was great. Calamari appetizer was perfectly prepared. I had the scallops and they were perfect as well - melted in my mouth. Service, however, was very disappointing. The server only had 3 or 4 tables (with 1-3 people at each table) so they were not overly burdened. She was more interested in leaning on the bar and talking to the bartender. I don't think that she could have cared less about serving the table. She did not bring the bread until AFTER the entrees were on the table. The manager was actually waiting the tables, getting drinks, etc. He kept the evening from being a disaster.
Dear MarkMiller, Thank you so much for leaving your review. We do apologize for the service you received at your visit and will be looking into this with our team. We hope you come and join us again. We would like the opportunity to give you the kind of experience we expect. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Staff was friendly, views of the city spectacular, food was excellent.
Dear PursueExcellence, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you so enjoyed our space. We have so much great food and many great beverages to enjoy to go along with our wonderful views. Come back soon and enjoy again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Excellent food and service it was nice to catch up and not feel rushed.
Dear shejac, Thank you for the nice review. So happy you were able to enjoy our space. We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
We can't here on our anniversary and had a beautiful spot in the deck. The waitress was very knowledgeable and recommended fabulous entrees. The price was great for the food that we had. We had the chicken parmesan and the shrimp scampi. It came with warm bread that was delightful and they even have us a surprise piece of cake in honor of our anniversary. We will definitely be back!
Dear MariaJ, Thank you so much for your review. We love sharing these special moments with you and hope to have many more in the future! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The food was definitely not up to par for the price we payed. The flavor was poor along with the timeframe of cooking.
The drinks were great along with the outside dining experience. The inside restaurant was outdated & sparse of furniture, decor & people. Definitely needs a facelift & a musician for entertaining outside to accompany the beautiful view of downtown.
Our server was great & always timely.
Dear LoriL, Thank you for taking the time to write you review. We so appreciate your comments as we only want to serve our guests as best we can. You feedback helps in this process so thank you so much. Come back to enjoy our deck again soon. We would love to hear how we might make your experience better. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
We had an amazing time at the Boat House. The food, the service and especially the atmosphere were first class. The view of the city is unparalleled. The entire staff went above and beyond. Especially Autumn, Edward and William, for lighting the fire beside our table. This was our first time there in many years but we’ll definitely be back soon!
Dear Guest, We are so happy you joined us for dinner after so long. We love when guests can come and experience our great space and all we have to offer. Let's not make it so long between visits and we can do it all over again! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The outside dining experience was beautiful, beautiful view. The food was average. My scallops were exactly as advertised-pan seared. No seasoning-nothing. My husband’s steak was undercooked. The server recommended a Riesling as their driest wine. The meal was overpriced.
Dear StephanieD, Thank you so much for leaving your review. We apologize your meal was not to your liking, and will be sharing with our chef. We want to ensure you enjoy your meal as much as you do the views. We appreciate your feedback. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Very nice view of rivers. Server was busy elsewhere for a time. Restaurant decorations and layout were nothing special but sufficient. Food was very good.
Dear Randall, Thank you for your kind review. We love our space and and glad you enjoyed it. We are saddened to read about the slight lack of service you received as our team is usually always there and happy to serve our guests. Come back to visit soon! I know our servers will want to give you that perfect service on your next visit. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Excellent bar and cocktails
Good French onion soup, filet mignon was disappointing and had a precooked waterlogged consistency.
Side dishes were tasty.
Service was very good and view was nice but much water in it.
Dear steven, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your feedback on the filet mignon. We are so glad you enjoyed the rest of your experience and know we will be sharing your comments so we can give you the perfect experience at your next visit. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
They do not accept reservations or are in any way utilize this app. Go at risk of waiting on a wait list basis.
Dear Guest, We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding your last visit. We do accept reservations both over the phone and through the Open Table app. There is the possibility we may reach a wait list during a busy Friday or Saturday night, however, we do accommodate all our guests as quickly as possible. Please feel free to contact us when looking for your next visit and we would be happy to assist with your reservation. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The restaurant also houses a party/ Banquet hall. We were created by children from a wedding party dragging each other on the floor across the lobby into the main/shared bathroom. The dining room is between a party room and the restroom therefore the door to the party was open non stop with loud music emitting into the dining room. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. I ordered a ribeye medium that was over cooked, my wife ordered a Filet medium that was served rare. The waitress took the steak back and it was obviously placed in the microwave as it returned steaming for several minutes and was unevenly cooked. The restaurant offered stunning views of the downtown but the facility was in desperate need of updates with a dirty windows drab flooring in the dining room and a curtain separating the kitchen from the dining room. We typically dine at $$$ restaurants several times a year. They charge the same prices as Mitchell’s or Hyde park but serve the quality of a bad night at Logan’s Roadhouse. I enjoyed the different location but will not return, spend the same money and visit many other great restaurants in the Columbus area, open table should cut ties with this outdated place. Boathouse-make a decision what you are, banquet hall or upscale restaurant.
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so sorry to read you did not enjoy your visit with us. We do appreciate all your comments as they do help us identify how best we might serve our guests. We hope you consider giving us the opportunity in the future to show you how much your comments matter and make a difference. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
As you walked into the facility it smelled musty. While that scared us a little we still went in. Service was mediocre at best. Cesar salad looked like a wedge salad with drizzled bottled/canned dressing. When we asked for more dressing we literally waited ten minutes until one of us got up and asked for it again. The sirloin steak had an interesting caramelized flavor, while it looked to be cooked to perfection, it was tough. The scampi pasta was cooked very well and was in fact tasty. We ordered a bottle of wine and unfortunately the server served it with the aluminum ridge still on top. We removed it and proceeded to enjoy our wine. The view was very lovely. This facility is probably better used for weddings than for dinner service. Not likely to be coming back especially since we live out of state and only come in 3-5 times a year.
Dear Delicious, We are so sorry to read you did not enjoy your visit. We appreciate all you feedback and do hope you consider giving us a chance when you are in town again. We would love the chance show you how much your feedback matters and makes a difference. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
This was the hidden gem on Columbus and the best view hands down. Great meal (scallops).
Dear PaulaB, Thank you so much for the great review. Come back to see us soon! Our views are always amazing and we have so much more to enjoy on our menu. Corey Perham Assistant General Manger
Great experience in a kitschy environment, great service & good food. The pretty little cocktail was unique & delicious
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for dining with us and taking the time to write you review. We so love to read that you enjoyed our space and hope to have you back with us again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Great place. Incredible views of the river and downtown. Manager made you feel like family. Food was amazing . Scallops Dinner was one of the best meals I have had anywhere.
Dear IanK, Thank you for the great review. We always like to make our guests feel like family, and are so happy you enjoyed our scallops so much. We hope to see you soon and do it all over again! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The Boat House is a lovely banquet facility, but regarding restaurant dining, the food is very overpriced for the quality. Our appetizer appeared as if it was microwaved instead of fresh, and though my scallops were done perfectly, the risotto was a gross, mushy glob.
The drinks are well crafted, and the bar space is pretty cool, so if you were to visit and have a drink or two on the patio, that would the only reason to try this place.
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and your feedback. We will be sharing your comments with our chef. We always want our guests to feel the value of our menu, we will want to address to do just that! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The Boathouse affords a fine view of the outdoors, and the setting is gorgeous inside and out. However, the food has to be the main thing, and my meal on Friday 8/9 was disappointing with all items I was served. My steak was charred to the point that the entire piece was bitter. My salad contained a big clump of melted lettuce. And the black bean-and-bacon side was way too salty. These are rookie mistakes. Someone is not checking the food going out, not to mention the errors having been made in the first place by, presumably, more than one of the cooking staff.
Dear MaddyO, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. We are disappointed to read your feedback, as we expect much more for the dinning experience our guests receive. Please know we will be following up with our team regarding your concerns. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The view was beautiful, clean and low noise. Was able to enjoy the evening on their patio. We had a potato appetizer which was delicious however our main dishes were far from good. I had the Sirloin that I couldn’t eat due to the bitter flavor, also was ordered to be medium, came out medium well-well done. My spouses Ribeye had decent flavor but was a bad cut and very chewy. I’d rate the steaks at a 0 out of 10.
Dear Abfilio1, Please allow us to apologize for the steaks you received during your visit. There is nothing better than sitting down to a wonderful steak, and it appears as though that is not what you received. We take our reviews very seriously and will be looking into your concerns as to why this would have happened. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Calamari was blah, Brussel sprouts were bland, up-charge to substitute potatoes for veggie. Was supposed to get happy hour prices on wine. Server was rude and argued with me about the wine I was ordering, cab sauv is not the same as sav Blanch btw. Love the view and this used to be a fav restaurant of mine but has gone severely down him in last few years
Dear PatrickE, We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to read about the experience when dining with us. We will be following up regarding your concerns with service as this is far less than what we expect. We hope you do consider joining us again. Our restaurant is a more fun, casual concept than what we have been in the past, so if you are looking for a space with great cocktails, wonderful views an contemporary America menu come and join us. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Only negative was there was a wedding Reception across multiple rooms increasing foot traffic and noise. Obviously can't blame anyone for it, just a bit of bad luck
Dear ChrisR, We so appreciate your review. We are fortunate that our space gets many wonderful events, but also understand how that can affect your restaurant dining. Let us tell you there are nights that we have a wonderfully serene evening for you to enjoy, so we hope you come back to take advantage of that. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Staff didn’t act like they wanted to be there. Food was pretty boring, definitely not $30/plate worthy. The setting was nice.
Dear Foodie26, We are so sorry for the way you felt during your visit. Our staff enjoys taking care of guests and giving them an enjoyable evening. We hope you give us another opportunity and join us again. We would love to show you the kind of wonderful night we enjoy providing here at the Boat House. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Everything was nice expect the waitress. She hardly checked on us and I had to ask 3 times for the check. I noticed other waitresses attentive to their tables. It's a little pricey but it was a special occasion and wanted something little nicer.
Dear Vels, Allow us to apologize for the experience you had with your service. Please know this is not what we expect. We will be following up regarding this as we want all of our guests to receive the best service possible. We hope you give us another chance to show you a great evening as that is what we do! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
This was our first time dining here and we will definitely return. The restaurant was not busy for a Saturday. Price was very reasonable for what we ordered, calamari appetizer, seafood platter entree, scallops entree, and honey sriracha brussel sprouts. We opted to dine inside but the patio area was very nice and you can’t beat the view of downtown.
Dear CRP74, We appreciate the great review. We see you were able to enjoy a lot of the wonderful seafood items we offer here at the Boat House. Come back soon and join us on our patio. Nothing better to accompany a meal then fresh air and a great view! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
very nice place. Beautiful view while we ate. Loved it.
Dear LarryR, Thank you for dining with us and for the wonderful review! Our views are beautiful and we have a wonderful selection of items to enjoy with it. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The view of the cityscape is amazing. The interior of the restaurant is severely outdated. I commented to my wife that it was a shame that it felt like the restaurant was barely hanging on.
Dear RobandCandieT, We are sorry you did not enjoy our space. We do appreciate the candid feedback though. It is receiving your feedback that helps us know best what our guests are looking for and how best we might provide for you. Thank you. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Birthday celebration! Really wanted to sit on the patio, we did but they were having an event put on by the restaurant, regular menu not avail.
Women at the front door was insolent as was our waiter. It wasn’t that busy so not sure why she was so put out.
Two busses were delightfull women and helped make the evening not so ridiculous. We tipped generously to these two.
It’s a fabulous venue, large patio overlooking the confluence and downtown skyline.
Wait-staff in need of training.
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback. Allow us to apologize for the greeting you seem to have received from hostess and server. We appreciate you letting us know and will be following up on this. The service you received from our bussers is always what we expect and want to ensure this is all you receive. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The staff was wonderful, the food was fantastic, the view was amazing. We did show up to a biker convention, which caused the noise outside, but once seated there were no issues. The meal was slightly expensive but didn't feel robbed by any means. Definitely would go back.
Dear johnh, Thank you for the nice review. Come back to visit us soon. We have lots to enjoy. Our environment does change throughout the week depending on what we have going. Some nights are full of energy and others can be calm and quiet so there are both for you to enjoy. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
My husband and I were in town for a conference and wanted to get out of the city, but not too far. I found The Boat House on Open Table and how can you go wrong with a boat house on the river?!! From the moment you walk up there is a beautiful wooden walkway with water flowing down from above you. We waited briefly at the bar for out table by the window and enjoyed the views. The GM and the restaurant manager were both super friendly and very accomadating. Our waitress was great too and the hostess. Definitely a must place to visit!
Dear MeredithH, So lovely to have you join us. Thank you for the wonderful review. So happy you could come and enjoy our space. Our entire team is here to make sure you have a wonderful experience and enjoy your time with us. Let's have you back again soon so we can do it again! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Great food, service and view!!
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review. We have so much to enjoy at our restaurant! Please come back to see us again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Great view; great food; great server Autumn; the hostess could be more friendly though.
Dear tnt383, Thank you for the great review and your feedback regarding the hostess. We want to be sure our guests enjoy every moment of our visit and will be following up with them about your comments. Hope to see you soon; this time to make it the perfect night. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Just wanted to thank our waiter Autumn for the great evening.
Dear Athony S., Thanks for the great shout out to Autumn. We will be sure to share this with her. We so enjoy hearing the feedback when what our servers do so well is appreciated, and the servers also appreciate hearing it! Thank you again. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager