The Boat House Restaurant
Bustling by day with a buoyant combination of city life and lush riverbank scenery, and dazzling by night with captivating views of the downtown skyline, the Boat House Restaurant offers unmatched views, inventive cuisine and that unmistakable breezy, boat club feel without the yacht club expense.
The Boat House Restaurant offers a fresh, inventive, seafood-driven menu that echoes the fun, vibrant feel of Columbus. Enjoy local Walleye, our fresh seafood dishes, gourmet burgers, and savory dishes like rib eye and Gorgonzola sirloin steak.
Please contact the restaurant for reservations over 20 guests. We will do our best to accommodate your reservation.
Host your special events, wedding or corporate meeting in our ballroom/indoor/outdoor event spaces/private patio/gazebo with breathtaking views of the downtown skyline. We can accommodate groups of 20 to 500 guests. Contact an event specialist at 614.469.0000 today!
Happy Hour with a view!
Happy Hour with the best views of Columbus - served at the bar Monday - Friday from 4PM until 7PM. $4 Domestic Beers, $5 Well Drinks, $6 House Wines and more!!
Terms and Conditions:
Valid For: 1 - 20 people
Starts: May 1, 2019
Ends: May 2, 2118
Availability: Mon-Fri 4:00PM-7:00PM
Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers
Join us for our Thanksgiving Buffet! Details coming soon
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers
Christmas Day Champagne Buffet! Details coming soon.
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Great food and the staff was incredibly attentive. A bit pricey but worth the money especially when you consider the view of downtown! Definitely recomend the spinach artichoke dip!
Our waitress wasn't good at all. I had to repeatedly ask for a glass of ice and butter for our bread. Finally I gave up on the ice and went to the bar for my own ice. The food was just average and I felt the menu was limited with no dessert menu offered.
My husband and I went to the boathouse on a Thursday night to celebrate my birthday. To start, he ordered a beer that was completely forgotten about. We reminded our server 30 min later who said “I wondered why there was a beer sitting on the bar this whole time.” Second, we were not served our food for over and hour and a half after ordering without any apology or communication from the restaurant. When the food finally came out, it was horrible. The bread was stale and the meat undercooked. Beautiful ambiance, but we will not be returning.
Waited over an hour and 15 minutes for our food to come out - or at least even be given refills before finally getting up and going to the hostess stand for our check for just the drinks. Never even got to eat. Every table that sat after us got their food and checks and still no food for us.
My husband and I went for the Burger and Beer Week special. Service was great! Burger was alright. We love the view of downtown Columbus at this restaurant!
The chicken parm had zero taste. We went at 8pm and there is no one there and the service was beyond slow. Our waitress never checked on our food after it was served. For the price and poor quality all around we will never be back or recommend. The deck had spiderwebs all over making the ambiance feel gross.
The ambiance and view on the patio was absolutely great! That night the inside area was missing a lot of tables and didn’t look like it had the same atmosphere. Most of the food was very good, but my husband (who’s birthday we were celebrating) ordered a medium filet and it came out medium rare and I (8 months pregnant) ordered a medium well filet and it came out medium rare. Our server was great all night until the food came out and she never asked how our filets were. We would’ve sent them back to be cooked a little longer.
Had a great view of the city skyline and it was a perfect night. Food was excellent and the drinks were spectacular. We'll be back!
Dear Guest, We are so happy to have had you join us. Thank you so much for the wonderful review, and we look forward to your next visit! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Excellent food and service!! Drinks were a bit expensive but other than that, we loved the place.
Dear BrittanyB, Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed our menu. We do appreciate your feedback about the drinks as we want to best serve our guests. Please come back soon as we have much more to enjoy! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Everything was great, but 4 medium scallops for $25 was a stretch for value.
Dear Outatowner, Thank you so much for your feedback and leaving your review. We value all our guests feedback as it only helps us to provide you with better service. We will be sharing your comments with our team. Thank you again! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Excellent setting on the deck. Waitress was phenomenal. I think her name was Melissa. She is having a big birthday this week. Saw an eagle fly over twice.
Dear Guest, So happy to have you join us. We love to hear about the great experiences our guests have and the wonderful time our staff helps to bring them. We hope to have you back again soon to do it all over again! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
We had a large group and they were very accommodating. It was a weekday night and we had a reservation. Everyone enjoyed the evening and our food. Very nice restaurant
Dear DeeK, Thank you so much for joining us. We loved having you and your group in for dinner and look forward to seeing you again. Whether in a large group or just a couple we are always happy to have you! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
For the most part, it was a quiet Sunday evening (except for an unsupervised child with a staring problem) with a nice view from the patio. The food wasn't as good as I had hoped (pasta served just above room temperature, bread appetizer seemed like frozen rolls thrown in the oven and sprinkled with grated parmesan) but the Pineapple Express drink was delicious. Service was fine, but probably not a restaurant I'll return to.
Dear AmateurReviewer, Thank you for leaving us your feedback about your recent visit. We appreciate all the comments from our guests as it only helps us improve how to serve you. We do hope you consider joining us again to see how your comments help make a difference. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The Boathouse has a great view. The food is delicious.
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate you leaving your comments and hope to have you back with us again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Wonderful location and view. Only drawback was HIGH noise level.
Dear LanceJ, Thank you so much for joining us. We do apologize for the noise level during your last visit. We have a variety of spaces and can often have many events going on throughout our restaurant. Please come back and join us again. We do have many nights where the space has a relaxing and calm feel as well. You are always welcome to call ahead and see what we have going on for the night. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Had a great dinner at the boat house, the food was great and the restaurant has one of the best views of downtown Columbus in the city. Also had really great service by Tammy!
Dear JacksonM, So glad to have you join us and we so appreciate the great review. Our staff is always here to make you night with us as enjoyable as possible. Please come back to see us again soon! We have so much to offer and enjoy! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Good service portions were small but great food!
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself during your visit and we hope to see you again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Was so disappointed after choosing The Boat House based on it's overall 4 star review. I can't believe that anybody could give a 4-5 star rating because we certainly could not. Very misleading in my opinion. The inside really needs to be refurbished but we sat out on the deck which was very nice - actually the only thing that we really liked was the view. The staff that we interacted with didn't seem to be very happy to be there. Our waitress was not very welcoming and the service was poor. When our dishes arrived we asked for ketchup and salt/pepper and it never arrived until the manager came by later and asked if we needed anything. My husband asked for another beer with his dinner and it never arrived until after he was finished eating. The 3 of us ordered different entrees (seafood, steak and chicken) and all of us felt the food was mediocre at best - not world class like many of the other restaurants in Columbus. It is such a shame because the restaurant is in such a great location and could be really great with great food and friendly and efficient wait staff. I rarely write reviews but felt that I really needed to this time. We won't be back but it's so unfortunate when I can see such potential there.
Dear DonD, We are so sorry to read you did not enjoy your experience at the Boat House. Please know that we expect so much more for your experience with us and so appreciate your feedback. Comments like yours help us to identify what our guests are best looking for, and how we can best serve them. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Our waitress was great, enjoyed our meal and the patio.
Dear MariaJ, Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Great view, good food and excellent service. Underused, it would appear. Strong recommendation for dining.
Dear Wmorganist, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so glad to read how much you enjoyed our restaurant. Come join us again. We have a great menu and wonderful cocktails for you to enjoy! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
It has been a little while since we have eaten here. The food was great. Calamari appetizer was perfectly prepared. I had the scallops and they were perfect as well - melted in my mouth. Service, however, was very disappointing. The server only had 3 or 4 tables (with 1-3 people at each table) so they were not overly burdened. She was more interested in leaning on the bar and talking to the bartender. I don't think that she could have cared less about serving the table. She did not bring the bread until AFTER the entrees were on the table. The manager was actually waiting the tables, getting drinks, etc. He kept the evening from being a disaster.
Dear MarkMiller, Thank you so much for leaving your review. We do apologize for the service you received at your visit and will be looking into this with our team. We hope you come and join us again. We would like the opportunity to give you the kind of experience we expect. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Staff was friendly, views of the city spectacular, food was excellent.
Dear PursueExcellence, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you so enjoyed our space. We have so much great food and many great beverages to enjoy to go along with our wonderful views. Come back soon and enjoy again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Excellent food and service it was nice to catch up and not feel rushed.
Dear shejac, Thank you for the nice review. So happy you were able to enjoy our space. We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
We can't here on our anniversary and had a beautiful spot in the deck. The waitress was very knowledgeable and recommended fabulous entrees. The price was great for the food that we had. We had the chicken parmesan and the shrimp scampi. It came with warm bread that was delightful and they even have us a surprise piece of cake in honor of our anniversary. We will definitely be back!
Dear MariaJ, Thank you so much for your review. We love sharing these special moments with you and hope to have many more in the future! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
We had an amazing time at the Boat House. The food, the service and especially the atmosphere were first class. The view of the city is unparalleled. The entire staff went above and beyond. Especially Autumn, Edward and William, for lighting the fire beside our table. This was our first time there in many years but we’ll definitely be back soon!
Dear Guest, We are so happy you joined us for dinner after so long. We love when guests can come and experience our great space and all we have to offer. Let's not make it so long between visits and we can do it all over again! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The food was definitely not up to par for the price we payed. The flavor was poor along with the timeframe of cooking.
The drinks were great along with the outside dining experience. The inside restaurant was outdated & sparse of furniture, decor & people. Definitely needs a facelift & a musician for entertaining outside to accompany the beautiful view of downtown.
Our server was great & always timely.
Dear LoriL, Thank you for taking the time to write you review. We so appreciate your comments as we only want to serve our guests as best we can. You feedback helps in this process so thank you so much. Come back to enjoy our deck again soon. We would love to hear how we might make your experience better. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The outside dining experience was beautiful, beautiful view. The food was average. My scallops were exactly as advertised-pan seared. No seasoning-nothing. My husband’s steak was undercooked. The server recommended a Riesling as their driest wine. The meal was overpriced.
Dear StephanieD, Thank you so much for leaving your review. We apologize your meal was not to your liking, and will be sharing with our chef. We want to ensure you enjoy your meal as much as you do the views. We appreciate your feedback. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Very nice view of rivers. Server was busy elsewhere for a time. Restaurant decorations and layout were nothing special but sufficient. Food was very good.
Dear Randall, Thank you for your kind review. We love our space and and glad you enjoyed it. We are saddened to read about the slight lack of service you received as our team is usually always there and happy to serve our guests. Come back to visit soon! I know our servers will want to give you that perfect service on your next visit. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Excellent bar and cocktails
Good French onion soup, filet mignon was disappointing and had a precooked waterlogged consistency.
Side dishes were tasty.
Service was very good and view was nice but much water in it.
Dear steven, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your feedback on the filet mignon. We are so glad you enjoyed the rest of your experience and know we will be sharing your comments so we can give you the perfect experience at your next visit. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
They do not accept reservations or are in any way utilize this app. Go at risk of waiting on a wait list basis.
Dear Guest, We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding your last visit. We do accept reservations both over the phone and through the Open Table app. There is the possibility we may reach a wait list during a busy Friday or Saturday night, however, we do accommodate all our guests as quickly as possible. Please feel free to contact us when looking for your next visit and we would be happy to assist with your reservation. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The restaurant also houses a party/ Banquet hall. We were created by children from a wedding party dragging each other on the floor across the lobby into the main/shared bathroom. The dining room is between a party room and the restroom therefore the door to the party was open non stop with loud music emitting into the dining room. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. I ordered a ribeye medium that was over cooked, my wife ordered a Filet medium that was served rare. The waitress took the steak back and it was obviously placed in the microwave as it returned steaming for several minutes and was unevenly cooked. The restaurant offered stunning views of the downtown but the facility was in desperate need of updates with a dirty windows drab flooring in the dining room and a curtain separating the kitchen from the dining room. We typically dine at $$$ restaurants several times a year. They charge the same prices as Mitchell’s or Hyde park but serve the quality of a bad night at Logan’s Roadhouse. I enjoyed the different location but will not return, spend the same money and visit many other great restaurants in the Columbus area, open table should cut ties with this outdated place. Boathouse-make a decision what you are, banquet hall or upscale restaurant.
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so sorry to read you did not enjoy your visit with us. We do appreciate all your comments as they do help us identify how best we might serve our guests. We hope you consider giving us the opportunity in the future to show you how much your comments matter and make a difference. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
As you walked into the facility it smelled musty. While that scared us a little we still went in. Service was mediocre at best. Cesar salad looked like a wedge salad with drizzled bottled/canned dressing. When we asked for more dressing we literally waited ten minutes until one of us got up and asked for it again. The sirloin steak had an interesting caramelized flavor, while it looked to be cooked to perfection, it was tough. The scampi pasta was cooked very well and was in fact tasty. We ordered a bottle of wine and unfortunately the server served it with the aluminum ridge still on top. We removed it and proceeded to enjoy our wine. The view was very lovely. This facility is probably better used for weddings than for dinner service. Not likely to be coming back especially since we live out of state and only come in 3-5 times a year.
Dear Delicious, We are so sorry to read you did not enjoy your visit. We appreciate all you feedback and do hope you consider giving us a chance when you are in town again. We would love the chance show you how much your feedback matters and makes a difference. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
This was the hidden gem on Columbus and the best view hands down. Great meal (scallops).
Dear PaulaB, Thank you so much for the great review. Come back to see us soon! Our views are always amazing and we have so much more to enjoy on our menu. Corey Perham Assistant General Manger
Great experience in a kitschy environment, great service & good food. The pretty little cocktail was unique & delicious
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for dining with us and taking the time to write you review. We so love to read that you enjoyed our space and hope to have you back with us again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Great place. Incredible views of the river and downtown. Manager made you feel like family. Food was amazing . Scallops Dinner was one of the best meals I have had anywhere.
Dear IanK, Thank you for the great review. We always like to make our guests feel like family, and are so happy you enjoyed our scallops so much. We hope to see you soon and do it all over again! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The Boat House is a lovely banquet facility, but regarding restaurant dining, the food is very overpriced for the quality. Our appetizer appeared as if it was microwaved instead of fresh, and though my scallops were done perfectly, the risotto was a gross, mushy glob.
The drinks are well crafted, and the bar space is pretty cool, so if you were to visit and have a drink or two on the patio, that would the only reason to try this place.
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and your feedback. We will be sharing your comments with our chef. We always want our guests to feel the value of our menu, we will want to address to do just that! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The Boathouse affords a fine view of the outdoors, and the setting is gorgeous inside and out. However, the food has to be the main thing, and my meal on Friday 8/9 was disappointing with all items I was served. My steak was charred to the point that the entire piece was bitter. My salad contained a big clump of melted lettuce. And the black bean-and-bacon side was way too salty. These are rookie mistakes. Someone is not checking the food going out, not to mention the errors having been made in the first place by, presumably, more than one of the cooking staff.
Dear MaddyO, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. We are disappointed to read your feedback, as we expect much more for the dinning experience our guests receive. Please know we will be following up with our team regarding your concerns. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
The view was beautiful, clean and low noise. Was able to enjoy the evening on their patio. We had a potato appetizer which was delicious however our main dishes were far from good. I had the Sirloin that I couldn’t eat due to the bitter flavor, also was ordered to be medium, came out medium well-well done. My spouses Ribeye had decent flavor but was a bad cut and very chewy. I’d rate the steaks at a 0 out of 10.
Dear Abfilio1, Please allow us to apologize for the steaks you received during your visit. There is nothing better than sitting down to a wonderful steak, and it appears as though that is not what you received. We take our reviews very seriously and will be looking into your concerns as to why this would have happened. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Calamari was blah, Brussel sprouts were bland, up-charge to substitute potatoes for veggie. Was supposed to get happy hour prices on wine. Server was rude and argued with me about the wine I was ordering, cab sauv is not the same as sav Blanch btw. Love the view and this used to be a fav restaurant of mine but has gone severely down him in last few years
Dear PatrickE, We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to read about the experience when dining with us. We will be following up regarding your concerns with service as this is far less than what we expect. We hope you do consider joining us again. Our restaurant is a more fun, casual concept than what we have been in the past, so if you are looking for a space with great cocktails, wonderful views an contemporary America menu come and join us. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager
Only negative was there was a wedding Reception across multiple rooms increasing foot traffic and noise. Obviously can't blame anyone for it, just a bit of bad luck
Dear ChrisR, We so appreciate your review. We are fortunate that our space gets many wonderful events, but also understand how that can affect your restaurant dining. Let us tell you there are nights that we have a wonderfully serene evening for you to enjoy, so we hope you come back to take advantage of that. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager