The Boat House Restaurant

4.0
629 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Meet where the Rivers Meet

Bustling by day with a buoyant combination of city life and lush riverbank scenery, and dazzling by night with captivating views of the downtown skyline, the Boat House Restaurant offers unmatched views, inventive cuisine and that unmistakable breezy, boat club feel without the yacht club expense.

The Boat House Restaurant offers a fresh, inventive, seafood-driven menu that echoes the fun, vibrant feel of Columbus. Enjoy local Walleye, our fresh seafood dishes, gourmet burgers, and savory dishes like ribeye and gorgonzola sirloin steak.

Please contact the restaurant for reservations over 20 guests. We will do our best to accommodate your reservation.

Specials

Happy Hour with a view!

Happy Hour with the best views of Columbus - served at the bar Monday - Friday from 4PM until 7PM. $4 Domestic Beers, $5 Well Drinks, $6 House Wines and more!!

Terms and Conditions:

Valid For: 1 - 20 people

Starts: May 1, 2019

Ends: May 2, 2118

Availability: Mon-Fri 4:00PM-7:00PM

What 629 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
3.8
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Quiet
72% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall 1food 3service 1ambience 3

We went to boat house for restaurant week- it took 45 minutes for us to get drinks and then when the drinks were brought out some were missing, there was only 4 of us dining. The service was very poor which impacted the rest of the experience, the manager then came around to ask how everything was and we voiced our concern of very very slow service and he told us it was just because it’s the end of the night, our reservation was at 8:00. He basically ignored our concerns. The view is beautiful but not worth the bad service

Report
Helpful
OT
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Going there for 614 Restaurant Week and I am very pleased with the overall experience and ESPECIALLY the food. Oh dear goodness, the food was delicious - not one of us [of 4] had a negative thing to say about our dishes! Our primary server seemed very stressed [and with not that many people in the restaurant....maybe she was fresh out of orientation? I mean, who hasnt been in those shoes before?!?!] but our food was served hot and the manager, William, was attentive and engaging. I love it when people are proud of the foodx history of their restaurant, and are willing to share information! He told us about the history of the damning of the river and how now, there's a significant variety of wildlife because the dams were taken down along with the origins of the restaurant itself. All very satisfying and not just hype...while there, we saw a heron and a bald eagle!!! I have zero doubt we would have seen more if we hadn't been engrossed in conversation ;-)
Overall, this will be one of my go-to recommendations for people who want QUALITY food and a great environment!

Report
Helpful
PA
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Anniversary dinner with my husband celebrating 50 years!! View is spectacular!!

Report
Helpful
MD
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

My expectations might have been too high? It had a nice view but it was a weird experience for a dinner for two. Might go back for the view, but the food was just okay.

Report
Helpful
OT
Columbus
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

First time in and loved it! Our server Rayona (sp?) was fantastically fun and entertaining with such great recommendations, we chose every course she suggested! Food was great and you cannot beat that view.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. So glad that Rayona could make your visit so wonderful and share some of our great selections with you! You cant beat our view, and we hope we have you back to enjoy it soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
JM
Columbus
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Can be a little difficult to find the first time. The map shows an exit you cannot enter southbound on Route 315. You must go one more exit south, then go back north to Broadway/Route 40. It is very isolated. Once there, you will find a very large conference center. Our seating was in the bar which gave a very nice view of the river and downtown Columbus. I was expecting a nicer restaurant. The background music is very soft. The outdoor patio looked very inviting but it was too hot for us. Because we arrived at 4:30, we had the place to ourselves for almost 2 hours. Our server only had our table and spent a lot of time talking with us. The food was very good and the quantity was good. The fresh bread was excellent and our appetizer was even better.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded 18 hours ago

Dear JohnM., Thank you for the great review. Our restaurant is slightly off the beaten path, however, always well worth the trip. Our friendly servers, great menu and specialty cocktails make the perfect treat when you also consider they come with a great outdoor deck with amazing views of downtown. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
b
Indiana
17 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

We often take out-of-town guests to The Boat House...for the skyline and water! We do like the noise level (low) and Tammy always is a wonderful server. We recommend!

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded 18 hours ago

Dear btorm, So happy to be your go to space for your out of town guests. Tammy does a great job, and we are so glad to here that she makes every visit so wonderful! We love having you and can't wait until your next visit. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
VF
1 review
Dined on July 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

The food was delicious and a beautiful view right on the river to celebrate a birthday. Service was a little slow (not sure why because we were one of three parties there) but overall was great!

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded 6 days ago

Dear VictoriaF, So glad you joined us at the Boat House and thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed yourself so much. We will be following up with our team on why the service may have been slow during your visit, however, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
ET
New Orleans
1 review
Dined on July 7, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

Celebrated my 29 year anniversary there. Food was not the best. Did not meet my expectations.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded 6 days ago

Dear EricT, We are so sorry to read that our food did not meet your expectations. Our chef takes pride in his menu and our service team wants nothing more than to make our guests every visit enjoyable. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
O
San Diego
4 reviews
Dined on July 7, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 5

The bean relish and marbled potatoes were too salty.
Filet was undercooked.
Charged extra for bearnaise sauce that was broken.

Report
Helpful
L
Columbus
2 reviews
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 4

We went to Boathouse to celebrate 6th wedding anniversary. We actually got married on Boathouse patio 6 yrs ago! Server was not friendly. We did ask to move seats because a window seat opened up shortly after we were seated. Maybe she was not happy about that. Food was great and manager was great. Manager did talk to us and gave us free dessert for anniversary. We do love the restaurant. This is why we had our rehearsal dinner, wedding and reception here six years ago and continue to visit for celebrations.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded 6 days ago

Dear Loveboat, We so love your story! It is the guests like you who come back again and again to share these special moments with us that makes what we do so enjoyable. We are so happy to have had you on this special day and to help make it that much more special. Please know we will be following up regarding your concerns and hope to see you again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
MC
1 review
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Not for couple/romantic dining. Would recommend for events only.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on July 9, 2019

Dear MeganC, We so appreciate your review. Our restaurant does allow for a great venue for private events of all types from corporate affairs to beautiful weddings. Our restaurant space does have more of a fun feel. It is great for friends, cocktails, happy hour and the like to come enjoy some good food and great views out on our deck. We hope you come back to join us and try out a lot of the fun things we have to offer. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
SG
1 review
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 1

The food was good but it was so noisy it was hard to enjoy.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on July 9, 2019

Dear SteveG, Allow us to apologize for the noisy experience during your visit. We had a very energetic wedding group that day which brought great energy, however, we certainly understand how this would effect your experience. Please come join us again! You are always welcome to call ahead and see what we have going on for the evening. We do enjoy other lovely calm nights where you can enjoy great food, cocktails and views with a relaxing tone. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on July 5, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 2ambience 2

Nice setting, poor service, worse food. Lesson learned.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on July 8, 2019

Dear Guest, We so appreciate your feedback. We do hope you may consider giving us another chance. Our team takes pride in what we do, and wish for every guest to have the best experience possible. We hope you give us that chance and share with us your thoughts during yourvisit, as we only wish to make ourselves better to accommodate all our guests the best we can. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
JG
Columbus
1 review
Dined on June 29, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 2

Noise, frozen salad, fresh catch wasn't fresh...terrible pick for special night out

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on July 6, 2019

Dear JulieG, Allow us to apologize for the meal you received during your visit. We will be following up with our chef regarding your review, as he will want to look into how this could have happened. We hope you give us another chance. We receive many positive reviews regarding our food and want you to have come and enjoy the true experience here at the Boat House. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
RB
1 review
Dined on June 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We loved the food, atmosphere and view. We will definitely return.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on July 6, 2019

Dear RochelleB, Thank you for the lovely review. We so enjoy what we do and are so happy to share our great space with our guests! We look forward to having you back so we can do it all again! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
SH
1 review
Dined on June 28, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

I took a friend as a date..it was a really nice time. Food was great there calimari was on point..he and i really loved the view.. We would have went out side but it was way too hot. All in all turned out to be a very nice ending to the night and date. .

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on July 6, 2019

Dear ShannanH, We are so happy you joined us! We do have wonderful food to enjoy and glad you could experience it. Let's hope for a more temperate day on you next visit. Our deck is lovely and we want you to have that experience as well! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
JB
Columbus
2 reviews
Dined on June 26, 2019
Overall 4food 2service 4ambience 5

View and atmosphere are perfect. Place is a little run down. Apps were very good with drinks, I had a Ribeye for 30.00 but was the quality of a 20.00 Ribeye, not prime. The Filet my wife had was pretty good. One strange thing was that they would not substitute a vegetable for potato without a 3.00 charge. Did not make sense to us when your going to spend over a $100 at a restaurant you think getting vegetables as a sub would not be an issue. I would have apps and drinks with the view next time. Work on the Quality of your meat and give the customer the choice of a side .

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on June 29, 2019

Dear JoeB, Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to write your review as we only wish to make our restaurant the best we can for our guests. We will share your comments on the Ribeye with our chef, as well as those about the choice of sides. Hope to see you soon for those apps and drinks, and again for dinner sometime soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
B
1 review
Dined on June 22, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 4ambience 4

The view is awesome, but the food is not good at all. Drinks are overpriced and meh. We were so bummed, but enjoyed the patio and tried to make the best of our visit. Service was good and the staff was great, just disappointing food.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on June 25, 2019

Dear Bec0221, Thank you so much for your visit. We certainly hope for more for our guests and apologize you did not enjoy your meal. Are servers and our view are wonderful, however we want you to enjoy their entire experience. We so appreciate the feedback we can share with our team to ensure our guests can enjoy the full experience. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
JS
Los Angeles
41 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Go for the view. Stay for the service from Jeff at the bar. We intended to move to a table and never did. He’s a wonderful host.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on June 24, 2019

Dear JenniferinSaMo, Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. Jeff our bartender is a wonderful host! You come for the cocktails but stay for the conversation whenever Jeff is around. We are always so happy to hear about how our staff takes such good care of our guests. After all the is what we are here for! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
CG
Denver
2 reviews
Dined on June 15, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 1

The server was kind and attentive. But the food was absolutely horrible. As my mom put it, they charge 5 star prices for 1 Star food. I’ve never written a bad review in my life, as I’m not one to cause problems for businesses. But take my advice and go elsewhere. My $30 ribeye was more like a Salisbury steak you’d get in a frozen meal.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on June 18, 2019

Dear CarolynG, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, but allow us to apologize for the experience you had. We want our menu to show the value for what you pay which we can read you did not feel. Our chef takes pride in his food, and we will be sharing your feedback with him as he will want to ensure this does not happen in the future. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Columbus
2 reviews
Dined on June 14, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 4

The only reason I would go back to this establishment would be for the view. We waited over 20 minutes to get two mixed drinks and weren’t accommodated because of it. The food was good, but nothing to be remembered. Overall, the view of the city made the experience bearable.

Report
Helpful
TG
1 review
Dined on June 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

As expected, the view, service and meal were excellent! Watching two wedding parties take photographs reminded us of our nuptials and set the joyous mood. Then the salmon and chicken pasta arrived, very good! My wife ate every bit of her salmon and I all of my choice. Our thanks to the staff for another memorable meal at The Boat House!

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on June 13, 2019

Dear ThomasG, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy to make evenings such as yours possible. We are always here and happy to serve and can't wait until your next visit! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
SW
1 review
Dined on June 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great Service, Great food and fabulous view. Service was quick, music was enjoyable.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on June 8, 2019

Dear SavannahW, Thank you so much for the great review. Come back soon there is more to enjoy and we would love to have you! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
TW
Columbus
2 reviews
Dined on June 1, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

We'll be back. Sorry, I have no time to write a long review.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on June 4, 2019

Dear TaiW, We know that everyone's day can get busy. So happy to be a place you can come and relax! We look forward to having you back with us so you might enjoy all over again! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
LA
Los Angeles
8 reviews
Dined on May 28, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 5

Great venue for private events. We ate at the bar and the service was great! The Boat House Salad is a must!

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 31, 2019

Dear LAsavvy, We loved having you join us! Thank you so much for the great comments. We do have a wonderful salad. Come see us again soon. We have a lot of fun planned for our deck this summer and hope you come join us! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
JE
1 review
Dined on May 26, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 5

The ambiance was amazing! Very romantic. The food was average. The service was fantastic.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 29, 2019

Dear JoniE, Thank you for the nice review. We are so happy we could make your evening here at the Boat House! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to making your next visit even better. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
RZ
Columbus
5 reviews
Dined on May 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Beautiful scenery delicious dinner

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 26, 2019

Dear RobertZ, Such a pleasure to have you join us, and thank you so much for the great comments. We hope to have you back soon!There is plenty to enjoy here at the Boat House and many more great nights to have. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
NP
1 review
Dined on May 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

I request if they do anything for anniversary, and they said yes, but they didn't do anything special, I was waiting for anything but nop!

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 30, 2019

Dear NixonP, We are so sorry you did not receive the special attention during your anniversary dinner. We like to make sure every special occasion is that much more wonderful. We will be following up with our team on why this did not happen for you and what actions we need to take to make to help make this happen in the future. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
JK
1 review
Dined on May 24, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 2

Food was ok. Risotto was under cooked and scallops were ok. Service was meh. Lovely view and neat place to go to at least once.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 30, 2019

Dear JessicaK, Thank you for your feedback. We hope you join us again and let us know more about your experience. We want our guests to have the best dining possible, and always appreciate comments on how we can make an experience like yours turn into a five star review. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
AC
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 5ambience 3

Waitress was excellent. Calamari was way overdone and 40% bread bits. Paid $28 for the seafood and it was too salty and way overdone. The scallops were as tough as a well done steak. You don’t get much for what you pay for. Berry alcoholic beverage tasted terrible. Won’t be going back. Paid a fortune and got very little terrible tasting food. Very disappointed.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 28, 2019

Dear AaronC, We are so sorry for the experience you had dining with us. We take pride in the menu we want guests to enjoy, and are very disappointed to hear what you received. Please know we follow up regarding every review. We expect far more for our guests and do hope you consider joining us again. We have so much to offer and want you to come and experience what we truly enjoy as a Boat House dining evening. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Columbus
1 review
Dined on May 19, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had an amazing meal and a perfect birthday celebration!!

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 26, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy you joined us for your special day and that we could make it that special for you. We look forward to many more days with you and many more special occasions. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
MM
1 review
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 5

For regularly being voted most romantic in Columbus, I was not overly impressed. View was great but other than that I didn’t see what all the hype was about. You can great views at many restaurants in Columbus. Room was hot and humid. Food was meh although the spinach and artichoke dip was excellent. Service and staff were great. View was nice.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 28, 2019

Dear MichaelM, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are always here to help make your special romantic evening as enjoyable as possible. We do have a wonderful space with amazing views though we are sorry to read that it was both hot and humid on the night you dined and not completely what you expected. We have a lot to offer both with our menu and great staff and hope you come to join us again soon! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
MP
1 review
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 4ambience 3

My husband and I were there from Cleveland Ohio for our wedding anniversary. The food was good and the server was very friendly. The only downfall was the extreme heat conditions inside the restaurant to where we were not able to enjoy our outing which was a special night I planned for us to enjoy. The manager was also nice and served us some delicious raspberry cake which we didn't expect. Overall nice environment.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 26, 2019

Dear MarnetteP, We are so sorry that the heat conditions in the restaurant so poorly effected your special day. We will certainly be looking into this so we do not affect any part of our guests dining experience. We work very hard on our service to make every dinner special and apologize that this one aspect was able to take that away from you. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
WP
1 review
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food was great wait time was a little long but with all the other events going on it was reasonable 10.5/10

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 26, 2019

Dear WilliamP, Thank you for the wonderful review. We so appreciate your great rating. It is this kind of experience that we always strive for here at the Boat House. There are times when some items are our to our control, however this is when we strive to make that extra effort to make everything wonderful. Thank you again! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
R
San Diego
46 reviews
Dined on May 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Absolutely love this place. Beautiful location. Always great service (this time our server was the awesome Dizzy) and consistently delicious food. A definite stop whenever we are in town. BBQ sauce is the best!!!!

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 26, 2019

Dear Riddler51, Loved having you join us and thank you for the great review. Can't wait to have you back at your next visit so we can do it all over again! Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
DC
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

This experience at the Boat House was not as exceptional as last year. The food selection and quality was subpar to last years Mother’s Day brunch. The service and atmosphere was exceptional and we had an enjoyable time. We have been multiple times and have had great experiences in the past, this time was not. I am hoping that this was just a fluke.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 26, 2019

Dear DarrylC, Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding our Mother's Day buffet. We want every holiday to be an enjoyable one. We apologize you did not enjoy our selection for this holiday. We will certainly be reviewing our selections based on your comments. We want to keep you as a loyal guest and have you back year after year. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 2

We waited 20 minutes for a waiter and finally went up to the service station to ask for waters. Just a room with tables set up. No ambiance. No service. Food was poor. Mimosas were definately not flowing. Definately not worth the price. Best thing was the live band. Had to get your own juice and tea and coffee. Not the mothers day treat for which I was excited.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 26, 2019

Dear Guest, We do apologize we were unable to provide the treat you were looking for. Our servers are always here to make your dining experience great and are saddened to read this did not happen for you. We will be looking into these comments as well as those regarding the food. We strive to make all our experiences great and will as ever be working to make this what you and all our guests receive. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
TK
Columbus
2 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 3food 1service 4ambience 4

The experience review is based on three previous visits comparison. Found the service and attentiveness by the staff much improved from previous visits and as always, the atmosphere makes the whole event, however, the food selection not various, selection questionable of available food items. In previous visits found much wider selection of food items, wider selection of flavors. The $$$ spent not equal to the quality of food value received, will not be returning.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 26, 2019

Dear TheKaiser, Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy to hear how our service and atmosphere help to make the event enjoyable. We of course want everything to be amazing and appreciate your feedback as it only helps to make us better. Please know we review yours and all our guest comments to always improve on the service we provide. We appreciate your review and hope you come to join us again soon to see how your comments help make a difference. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
KW
Columbus
4 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 2ambience 5

We were very disappointed this year. Less food. Poor service. Will not be back for the Mother’s day event.

The Boat House Restaurant
Responded on May 26, 2019

Dear KatieW, We apologize to read your feedback on your Mother's Day experience. Please know we do review all our guests comments on how we can make your experience better. We hope you do consider joining us again the future. We are always making adjustments to meet our guests needs and want you to come enjoy what all your comments help to create. Corey Perham Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16

Tweets by The Boat House Restaurant