The Blackbird

4.4
2686 Reviews
$31 to $50
Contemporary American
The Blackbird Restaurant is a Chef Owed Restaurant serving local, fresh ingredients. The Blackbird’s goal is to delight guests with cooking grounded in the traditions and ingredients of the Carolinas creating an unique and vibrant menu – New American with Southern Flares

The menu features the seasonal best from local farmers, fresh catches from the coast of the Carolinas, incredible local micro-brews, specialty cocktails, and great wines from the around the world. Our menu changes seasonally to reflect the bounty of the area and the chef’s creativity. The Blackbird’s award-winning food, desserts and prompt service will impress you every time.

We are located in the heart of downtown Asheville, on Biltmore Ave. You can find us at the corner of The Aloft Hotel.

Parking Garage is located at the back on Lexington Ave. The first hour is free.

Support The Blackbird during COVID-19

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Mon - Wed 12:00PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM
Thu - Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM

What 2686 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
KD
KateD
Chicago
11 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Dinner was amazing!

Report
JK
JKES
Miami
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We really enjoyed the 6 course chef's menu with accompanying wine pairing.

AS
AndrewS
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was excellent. Food was wonderful and service was incredible.

MM
MarissaM
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful experience overall. The food was really well done and our server was AMAZING. We went here during our honeymoon and left very happy.

c
vipcala
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food3service4ambience2

This was just ok. Food and service were generally good, but not great.

AE
AlllisonE
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Both the trout and vegetable Wellington were delicious!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Try anything and everything. You will not be disappointed. The local trout and scallops were definitely a table favorite!

MS
MikeS
Western NC
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service was great and the food was amazing. Everyone was very friendly and attentive.

L
Leslie
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food3service5ambience2

This was a nice enough restaurant and the servers were very nice. Unfortunately, the restaurant is unreasonably loud. It is the loudest I have ever been in. It made it difficult to enjoy the experience.

G
Glorya
New York Area
22 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food2service4ambience2

Very limited menu. Good service. No ambiance. Pricy. Less than average food quality. Would not return..

JN
JulieN
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food1service1ambience2

Waited over an hour for our food, despite 5 tables in our area eating & leaving before we even got our food. Once received, the food was tasteless and bland.

SL
vipStevenL
Birmingham
39 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good location in downtown Asheville. Food was good, service great

NC
NancyC
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The service was great, friendly and expedient without being pushy.

MW
MaryW
Western NC
9 reviews
Dined on June 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I'm trying to lose weight so I order just the beet salad, it was delicious. I was there with 6 others, they all had different meals and they all said they were delicious.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had the chefs dinner with wine pairing which was very good. Great service and a nice evening while on vacation in Asheville.

i
vipirisheyes
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined on May 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great dinner - excellent meal and outstanding service. Look forward to returning to check out The Blackbird’s brunch menu the next time we’re in Asheville!

g
vipgalefb
Atlanta
138 reviews
Dined on May 30, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Backbird has creative fare, fresh and imaginative. We have dined there twice, once pre-pandemic, and yesterday. Loved it the first time, liked it this time. First time I had a lamb sous vide dish which blew me away. This time was impressed with the sea food starter and enjoyed the creative salad. Elected a vegetarian dish this time and was pleased, but not a repeat. My husband had the vegetable wellington. Also, ok, but next time will select otherwise. Our party included two others who ordered the pork chop to good reviews, but the trout dish won the day.
Our server, Penelope was pleasant, helpful and responsive. Also impressed that on the tip we were asked to remember the cooking staff. Good point. Good move.
Look forward to the fall menu and also a few more main dish choices that are not vegetarian. Meanwhile, best to all. Glad we can all assemble again to taste your fare!

The Blackbird
Responded on June 2, 2021

Thank you!! We are so glad you like the food and Penelope is so great we love having her on the team.

Report
L
Luis
Miami
4 reviews
Dined on May 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service!

CC
ChristineC
Indiana
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere! Food was perfect. Loved the pork chop.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Washington DC
13 reviews
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It’s been a few years but decided to return to this wonderful restaurant! The service was spot on and the food was spectacular! My husband and I both loved our meals. We ended with the blackberry cobbler a la mode! We won’t wait to return here soon and highly recommend it!

The Blackbird
Responded on June 2, 2021

Thank you so much!!

Report
M
Manny1
Orlando
6 reviews
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great options, $20 corkage fee which is great and service was spot on

The Blackbird
Responded on June 2, 2021

Awesome thank you so much.

Report
k
vipkerrplunks
San Francisco
23 reviews
Dined on May 27, 2021
Overall5food3service5ambience2

Our server, Madi was delightful and very helpful
The drinks and appetizers were excellent. The dinner was meh. Lamb pie was too legs for one serving and very very rich. Seafood/fish Risotto was cold. We’re from SF and it was expensive/over priced for the value even SF standards

LZ
LauraZ
Wilmington
1 review
Dined on May 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our food at the Blackbird was excellent, beautifully presented, and well-seasoned. Our waitress, Maddie, was exceptional -- friendly, very attentive, and knowledgeable -- she helped make our evening even more enjoyable.

The Blackbird
Responded on June 2, 2021

Thank you!! we love Maddie too!!!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Miami
4 reviews
Dined on May 26, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Poor experience. We were texted 15 minutes before our reservation that our table was ready. Hmm. Our request for one of two window tables was declined as they were “closing that station.” Huh? It is a very small restaurant. The trout and scallops were good, but the Lamb Cottage Pie was over cooked and lacked the seasonal vegetables that were supposed to be included. The manager sautéed some veggies for us when we pointed it out and they were good, but service was very slow which earned us an overcooked pecan pie dish that did not live up to what we had there last year. Either they are poorly managed or in need of better kitchen help. A disappointment.

The Blackbird
Responded on May 27, 2021

Thanks for your feedback. its unfortunate that you did not like your experience, we are human and make mistakes sometime. As a team it make us feel bad that you did not enjoy your night and I hope you give another try.

Report
E
Emma
1 review
Dined on May 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service our waitress was so sweet. All the food was delicious. The vegan cake was great and that can be hard to find sometimes.

The Blackbird
Responded on May 27, 2021

Thank you!!

Report
B
vipBucky
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on May 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The ribeye and the trout and scallop risotto were both outstanding. Our server Melissa was wonderful. She could teach classes in gracious service. I highly recommend The Blackbird

The Blackbird
Responded on June 2, 2021

Thank you!! Melissa is awesome!!!

Report
A
vipAshevillefoodie
Western NC
13 reviews
Dined on May 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time back post covid ... nice to be out !

The Blackbird
Responded on May 27, 2021

Thank you!!

Report
BI
BeerIsGood
Philadelphia
5 reviews
Dined on May 24, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Our first time, and definitely a place that will stay on our list when visiting Asheville. The menu is focused on seasonal offerings, so it is a bit abbreviated, but that's to be expected and we don't see that as a drawback.

We started with cocktails (tasty and well-crafted) and moved on to a small cheese board. The local cheeses were excellent and the accompaniments completed the presentation in a noteworthy manner. We couldn't resist trying the roasted beet salad, and we each ordered one and both plates went back as close to clean as we could manage without embarrassing ourselves. The combination of beets, spinach, pecans, goat cheese, and balsamic reduction was mind-blowing. I would have enjoyed just a >little< more cheese, but this is a minor nit on an otherwise fantastic dish. (I'm talking 15% more, your mileage may vary...)

For mains I had to try the "Southern Ramen" despite my aversion to pickled okra. I was not disappointed. Warning - the portion is quite generous! Building a bite with a bit of soft egg, spaghetti-squash noodles, cucumber, mushroom, and pork belly is a life-altering experience. The flavors and textures will send you reeling. Personally, I would have loved another egg and no okra, but by the end of the meal I was forced to abandon several bites for fear of eating to the point of misery, so I certainly didn't miss out. My wife ordered the cold-smoked pork chop with sweet potatoes and collards. Traditional, simple southern staples that were prepared to perfection. Her meal was far from simple and a fair distance from the traditional version Grandma might fix on Sunday. She was also forced to abandon a bit of hers due to the generous portion sizes.

We didn't look at dessert, instead choosing a glass of one of several Tokaji aszu wines offered on the list. Having only enjoyed this a few times in the past (it's notoriously difficult to find in the U.S.) it was a perfect finish to a fantastic evening.

P
Phyholt
New York Area
1 review
Dined on May 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was a little slow but we were in no hurry so didn’t mind. Food was delicious! Would have liked a little more air conditioning but wasn’t an uncomfortable warm.

The Blackbird
Responded on May 26, 2021

Thank you!!

Report
L
vipLiz2
Naples
29 reviews
Dined on May 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Just moved to area and wanted a new brunch location. Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Will return.

The Blackbird
Responded on May 26, 2021

Thank you!!

Report
EH
ErinH
1 review
Dined on May 23, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

We visited for Sunday brunch and were not disappointed! The food, mimosas and coffee were all amazing. Our service was quick and server was kind and attentive. The restaurant was clean and had a great vibe. If we come back to Asheville we’ll definitely be back!

The Blackbird
Responded on May 26, 2021

Thank you!! We love our brunch crew!!

Report
AK
AnnetteK
Richmond
9 reviews
Dined on May 22, 2021
Overall3food4service1ambience4

In general, just an OK experience. Hostess was downright rude. Slow to respond and get us seated. We had an 1115 RESERVATION and did not get seated until 1140. Then we had to ask for a server to come to our table. When she arrived, she was super sweet and apologized for the delay, but…. They were out of several items including basics like iced tea. I ordered the pulled pork Benedict, and they were out of pulled pork but did not ask me if substituting bacon was ok— just brought it. I gave the manager feedback, and he was very charming, and comped my meal which was nice, so they get points for recovery. But overall I would be slow to recommend it to someone else.

2
2travelers
1 review
Dined on May 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great for brunch! Highly recommend you give it a try.

The Blackbird
Responded on May 26, 2021

Thank you!!

Report
CB
CBRadio
Western NC
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The warm fruit and Brie salad was amazing!

The Blackbird
Responded on May 26, 2021

Thank you!!

Report
A
vipAnonymous
Charleston
15 reviews
Dined on May 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very clean and safe, good place for lunch with outstanding lunch cocktails. All cocktails are fresh squeezed juice and very creative.

GM
GMAN
Raleigh
3 reviews
Dined on May 19, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Good menu. Wine list could be better, and they were out of several of the wines on their list that we were interested in. Would dine here again.

The Blackbird
Responded on May 26, 2021

Thank you!!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
6 reviews
Dined on May 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful food and drinks. Order the chefs tasting and wine pairings and I promise you won’t be disappointed.

The Blackbird
Responded on May 26, 2021

Thank you so much!!

Report
JM
JMUAlum
Richmond
10 reviews
Dined on May 18, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Food was very good and ample portions. The Chef's choice appetizer was outstanding - a braised scallop on a bed of grits! Wine selection was limited for my choices but was okay.

The Blackbird
Responded on May 26, 2021

Thank you!!

Report
p
pips
1 review
Dined on May 18, 2021
Overall3food2service3ambience2

The service was slow. My husband ordered a mushroom melt (grilled cheese and mushrooms). They served it on a sub bun which was burned on one side. It was so hard to cut in half that it slid off of the plate.
My shrimp ad grits was good but not great.
Small place, tables close together.

P
Pocahontas
New York Area
7 reviews
Dined on May 17, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience3

Unfortunately the whole experience was very lackluster. Our server seem to be working with a shortage of brain cells and she moved slower than molasses. The food was hidden mess. Some dishes were excellent, others were over salted and overcooked.

The Blackbird
Responded on May 26, 2021

So First off it's  "hit-or-miss" not Hidden mess!! Secondly, how dare you make fun of someone on my staff in the way you did? It's unfortunate that you did not think you got service at the speed that you seem you deserved, and if this review is any judge of your character and your representation of what you like or dis-like I'll trust anyone elses review before this one. Please have some humanity and kindness when talking about people and their livelihoods. Have a nice day.  

Report

FAQs

The Blackbird is rated 4.4 stars by 2686 OpenTable diners.

The Blackbird does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://theblackbirdrestaurant.com/gift-cards/.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.