Delicious everything. Great visit. Started w yummy pork rinds. Several sandwiches and presses. Fantastic!
This was my second visit to The Blackbird. Great food and service.
Went there for brunch. Food was excellent! Ordered the Spinach and Goat Cheese omelet. Probably the best grits and bacon I have ever had. French press is the only coffee option. Two people will need a large @ $8 and a side biscuit will add another $2.50 but I would go back and order the same thing again!
Thank you so much!
Great service... Aaron was awesome... food was unique and outstanding!
Great place . Food and service very good . A bit noisy. A bit tight . Tables to close together. Will be back when chance
Thank you! We look forward to taking care of you again!
My chicken was cold and my pasta was hot. Sent it back and got shrimp instead and some were cooked, some raw and my risotto was hard. Very noisy. Had a two top table and it just seemed to be in the way in front of a servers station. Not worth the money.
We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Blackbird. The food was excellent; our waiter was extremely helpful with wine pairings. The service was friendly and efficient.
Thank you! So happy to hear of your experience.
Our dinner at Blackbird was by far our most memorable meal in Asheville. The ambiance is perfect, the food was outstanding, the drinks are amazing, and Jerri, our waitress, was superb. We are absolutely going back on our next Asheville trip!
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We saw your multiple reviews about it and we're taking them seriously. We did try to correct the mishaps and the manager even brought your food out to make sure you were happy. We do appreciate your business and will consider your analysis. We're grateful for your feedback. We hope we are given another chance to serve you better next time. We'd love to discuss this more. Please email us, our contact can be found online.
The food was excellent but for the price you should get larger portions. I ordered the seafood risotto and the piece of fish was about 2 inches long, 1 inch wide and it was priced at $36.
The taste of the food was excellent and the server was great. With dessert I had a coffee and it may have been the best coffee I’ve ever tasted. I had the vegan chocolate cake for dessert and it too was excellent.
So overall it the food tasted great but you may leave still hungry.
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your portions, that definitely doesn't sound like it was enough fish. We're happy to hear that you were well cared for though and that the other things you ordered were satisfactory. We hope to see you again.
Anniversary. Worst seat in the house staring at a wall!
The menu reads well and seems very appetizing but the plates just weren’t prepared well. My friends salmon was raw and sent back, the soup was warm and (3) steaks were cooked incorrectly. We also saw someone send back a whole trout. Prices are a bit steep for the quality of food from the kitchen. The waitress was friendly and attentive.
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. It's unfortunate that your salmon and steak we're not up to our standards. The fish that you're referencing from another table was sent back because it was a whole fish and the customer did not know that. We strive to create an amazing experience for every customer, so we're sorry that we failed with you. We do hope that you'll try us again sometime.
Kitchen was out of spinach for one of the signature brunch dishes on Saturday morning at 10:30am so I settled for for other that was better than average, but not outstanding. Coffee was good, service was average. Probably won't return.
Hi Valerie. We apologize for the missing spinach. We are a scratch kitchen and we get our produce daily from a local provider that was running late that day. We're sadden that you may not return, but if you change your mind, we'll be here to take care of you.
The drinks were great; however, that’s about it. We both originally ordered the lamb and then were told it was no longer available. We proceeded to order the steak (the chefs top choice being a New York strip), and the roasted chicken leg. The steak was cooked perfectly, but contained tendons through out the cut and was like chewing a rubber band. The chicken tasted great but was not worth 27 dollars.
The restaurant comes across as wanting to be high end dining but the food simply is not there. The attached photo actually shows what remained from the steak.
Our waiter never questioned us about how things were or why so much was left on the plate.
Hello Chad. Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We apologize about the lamb. The lamb takes two days to make and was very popular that day, but that is no excuse. It sounds like we did not live up to our own standards. Again, we're sorry for your experience. Hopefully you can give us another try some day.
A group of us tried several different options from their dinner menu, the only thing we would recommend was the lamb and cheese plate. Everything else was bland and mediocre.
Hello. We're sorry that you feel that way, but thank your for your time.
This place was actually our 3rd option to try for the night and should've been our first. The meal was delicious; thoughtfully prepared and creative. I was not disappointed with the shishito pepper with pork belly app, brussels sprouts app (never thought feta would go but so good!), the pork belly ramen with a southern twist, and the carrot cake with a light cream cheese icing with a hint of maple. Our server was really nice and helpful as well. I asked about a wine pairing and she went to the director right away to make sure she gave to best recommendations.
Ambiance was pretty good until the very large group of young gals (probably a bachelorette) started "wooing" every few minutes.
Thank you for your lovely thoughts. We're happy to hear of your experience.
We have stayed in Asheville several times and walked past The Blackbird and it looked interesting. This trip we checked the menu online, my wife saw grilled salmon, so we gave it a try only to find out that they have changed to their Fall menu and the salmon was not available. The dish that I chose had muscles in it and they did not seem fresh at all. My wife had another fish dish and it did not seem very fresh either. For the price the food was just not very good. Our server was very good.
Hello. We're sorry to hear of your experience with us and the mess up with the menus. We had our new menu up the day before we rolled it out, so we're unsure what happened, but we apologize for that. We get seafood deliveries every single day, so we're shocked that the fish was not fresh tasting. We're glad that our server took care of you, we just wish that the rest of your visit had been as pleasant.
The salmon was raw on the inside despite being asked that it be cooked well done. The vegetable wellington was stuffed with dry sweet potatoes and served on white potatoes. These was no sauce or spices causing it to be very bland. The server was quite nice, but the food was not worth the price.
Hello Rose. Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We will be discussing the salmon and wellington issues with the Chef's. That's certainly not how the dishes are supposed to be prepared.
Was really excited to try this place. Had Sunday brunch there. The food was delicious. The service was acceptable, but our servers weren't very friendly. A bit of a disappointment really. Perhaps more enjoyable at another time or for another meal. Would be willing to give it another try, but wouldn't go out of my way to return there in the midst of so many other places with great food and friendly service. The noise level was pretty loud too. It was difficult at times to carry on conversations in there. Just not the easy Sunday morning vibe I was hoping for.
Hello Kristen. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're happy to hear that the food was great, we just wish that the service had met the same standards. We plan on talking with our staff about the issues at hand. We do hope that you will try us again. The noise level is something we are working on and we plan on installing some more sound boards soon.
Service was excellent, and food was absolutely outstanding. Our group of 8 was comfortably seated and served promptly at our reservation time. Will definitely return!
Thank you so much!
The food was off the chain and my family has been in restaurant industry over 35 years. My lamb was one of the best I’ve had and the accompaniments were great too. The device was spot on too. My hubbys dessert was great too. Altogether a very positive experience!
Hello Robin! Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear of your experience. Coming from someone else in the industry means a lot to us!
Always a place to stop in for either a great glass of wine, excellent appetizers or a full meal. Service and food are always excellent.
So good we ate there 2 out of 3 nights in Asheville!! The shiitake Swiss bisque was to die for. The tenderloin trio melted in my mouth and not the cobbler and the brownie sundae were to be dreamed about!
Thank you so much! We appreciate your business!
Great fine dining in Asheville! We were there early on a Sunday day, but had a really great experience!
We are so happy to hear! Thank you!
Super nice brunch menu
I had eaten in the restaurant before, that is why I returned. The service was slow as the bartender was our server. I do not understand why the bartender would be the server unless I was sitting at the bar.
Got to restaurant before reservation time to enjoy a cocktail. Bar not very inviting. Could have used some cleaning & clutter removal. We ordered chicken dish which was dry & very minimal mushrooms in vegetables. Second dish was a little better. Pork chop a little chewy but decent flavor. Asparagus & potatoes fine. Not an awful experience but not great for $.
This was my first time visiting The Blackbird and I was not disappointed. We arrived and were seated promptly and immediately served water. Our server came to the table, introduced himself and the went over several menu offering. He gave commentary on a few different items and then left us decide. Upon returning we told him we were both impressed by several items but wanted an appetizer while we spent more time deciding. The cheese board we received was full of lovely cheeses and crackers that I could have eaten for days. This gave my husband and I time to weigh pros and cons about what our main dish would be. I ended up with a mushroom risotto and my husband ordered the beef tenderloin. Upon hearing my order, our server confirmed that my dish was rather light and if I would be okay with that. I appreciated him warning me and it was indeed a light dish. But I wanted dessert so it worked out well. I had a taste of the beef tenderloin and it was excellent. Coconut cake and a bottle of Argentinian Malbec and dinner was complete. We loved the ambiance, the service and the food. Would recommend to friends and would return again.
Thank you so much for your thoughts. We are thrilled that you had a great time. Cheers!
Food was good. Server we had was quite inattentive seemed very over whelmed. . We had dirty plates piled on table. Food was served warm not hot. Very noisy place to eat a very expensive meal would not recommend. Very dissenting
Hi Linda. Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We are saddened to hear of your lackluster experience. We'd love to make it up to you and discuss further. We do hope that you'll give us another try sometime.
Great ! Dishes and service were outstanding !!!!
A bit pretentious. We asked to be seated by a window with plenty of options available but were seated by a post and wall. We were told that a large group was coming in and would occupy the tables requested, though an hour into our dinner, another couple were seated where we had requested. The wine, beer, and cocktail selection is decent, though the server could provide no recommendations. I’m a lover of cheese boards, trying different cheeses and having a little snack pre meal, but the cheeseboard here had two bleu cheese varietals included with no option to substitute when a food allergy was discussed. My boyfriend got the tenderloin trio, which was cooked to perfection and a decent amount of food, though likely still overpriced at mid-$30 range. I opted for the goat cheese and berry salad, which was maybe the best salad I’ve had in Asheville, and the scallop small plate. Small plate was right - it was two small scallops, though seared to perfection, and two small pieces of pork belly (basically a strip of fancy bacon cut in half) for $17! Overall, the food was decent but overpriced, the service was lacking, and the ambience was just okay. If I return, I’ll sit at the bar and repeat that salad!
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience. We apologize about the table misunderstanding. We had a large party with reservations that we were holding the table for, but they ended up canceling. We're happy that you found enjoyment out of our food and we hope that you'll return.
Wonderful dinner. Been there several times. Travel to Asheville for business often and frequently eat at Blackbird. Staff is very accomodating. Had one of the best meals i've ever had on my last trip.
Great atmosphere. Cozy and casual and very quiet. Our server was great and so friendly. We loved everything we got and I was impressed with the amount and quality of food for the price. We went for brunch and got the French toast and the spinach and goat cheese omelet. Highly recommend
Thank you for your nice review! We're so happy that you enjoyed it.
We chose Blackbird for brunch out of lots of other options based on reviews from people. Sadly, they must’ve been having an “off” day because none of the waitstaff seemed like they wanted to be there. The atmosphere was very unwelcoming — no music (and if there was it was too quiet to notice), the bar had lots of dirty glasses all over it (it was not very busy), our waitress didn’t smile or seem engaged at all. When we finished she didn’t even ask if we wanted dessert (even though we expressed interest in dessert to her when we first sat down), she just brought us the bill. The food was decent. I enjoyed mine — spinach and goat cheese omelet with delicious grits. My boyfriend got steak and eggs and wasn’t thrilled with his. He didn’t even eat it all, which he always does. Overall it was a subpar experience and I regret choosing to eat here over all of the other options for our last meal in Asheville.
Hello Erika. Thank you for your feedback, we know that your time and money are valuable. It doesn't sound like you got the best from us, which is sad to hear. As a restaurant, we do have "off" days, but we try not to let that effect our customers. I can't speak for your server, but we can and will speak to her about this. We strive to make every experience something special and we apologize that we failed you.
Our service was outstanding! She was very attentive and was helpful with the wine selection. Our food was subpar for the price. It wasn’t bad, but not worth what we paid. I am more than willing to pay for a higher than average meal as long as it’s not something I know I can cook better at home.
Food was excellent. Even the appetizers were unique and tasty. We had a party of 7 and were slightly early, but the host set us at our table promptly.
The only thing was our server was not very attentive once we had gotten our appetizers and remained that way the rest of our time there.
Great place in downtown Asheville. Menu is imaginative and delicious. Wait staff was excellent. Good wine selections. We had the Mediterranean croquettes and corn cake pie which were both excellent. Peach cobbler dessert was to die for.
The restaurant is a reincarnation of a prior edition that was out in Black Mountain. The new location is a nice on in downtown Asheville and the restaurant is well appointed. There is reasonably priced parking in the hotel bldg. garage where the restaurant is located. The food was very good and especially the soup was delicious. The dessert was overpriced and too big. Cut down the size by half and the price by half. The Coconut cake was a bit dry.
Fantastic food, sublime service made it a perfect dinner out in Asheville.
a bit pricey but good food perhaps service a little too attentive for us
Anniversary Dinner...It was great!
This was our 2nd visit to Asheville and our 2nd time dining at Blackbird.
The staff was awesome...food, wine, excellent.
Thank you so much for coming to see us again!