Taverna Rossa

4.4
60 Reviews
$30 and under
Mediterranean
Taverna Rossa is a casual restaurant Mediterranean wine bar in the heart of downtown Saugatuck. The casual style of a Mediterranean wine bar fits so perfectly in a town whose identity is defined by the water surrounding it.
What 60 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
3.9
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
G
vipGary460
Chicago
42 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Treasured find in saugatuck. Love the sweet Mediterranean menu. Excellent octopus, hummus, trout and super Tuscan wine.

NN
vipNoName
Indiana
32 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Very friendly staff. Started noisy but got calmer. Good food

RA
RebeccaA
Chicago
10 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Had a lovely visit. Food was tasty (get the artichokes) and service was good. We ordered tapas for 2 before the theater and we really enjoyed ourselves. Recommended and will be going back.

Z
Zorro
Chicago
6 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience2

Our food for 6 people was delicious. When the room was near capacity, it was very loud.
Personally I think the ambiance could be greatly improved by a professional.
Looking from our table through the windows was parked cars. Some sort of window treatments would help.

c
vipcharlie
St. Louis
44 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

They keep getting better each visit - staff is really hit their stride

t
vipthunder
Detroit
25 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely fabulous!! Our second time for dinner. Had the mezzanine appetizer delish. Also spinach pie, octopus. All wonderful. Our meals were the rainbow trout and the veal chop. Again spot on with flavor tenderness and presentation. If you felt you have waited too long the food is made to order and comes prepared to you for you. We had our entire meal and wine within - hour snd 15 mins. That is more than expected. A wonderful restaurant that I will come back again and again. Our service was wonderful!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious Mediterranean food. Cameron was a wonderful friendly server. We had the piri piri calamari - no sauce needed and fried artichokes. To die for!!!
We will definitely be back

DM
vipDannyM
Grand Rapids
14 reviews
Dined on July 24, 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience3

Small new place for tappas, so its a bit noisy and you cant fit more than 2 at a table unless your outside, we sat at the bar and there were three of us.
Lots of good choices, calamari was great for appetizer fresh and light crispy, crab cake was delicious. I had the Veal Chop for main course, and you cant get veal in west michigan because no one orders it. This was amazing thick and cooked medium rare with Mediterranean seasoning. Wonderful , wine list is very good. I was surprised we loved the entire experience and will be back.

Taverna Rossa
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for your feedback! We are currently working on controlling the noise levels to ensure a better atmosphere for our guests choosing to dine with us in the future. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. We do offer tables that can accommodate more than two people, so we welcome you to join us again with friends and family next time! Hope to see you back! - Taverna Team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined on July 23, 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience3

Food was very good. They could’ve used more service help. The price is a little more expensive, but I think comes with being in a resort town.

SP
SamuelP
Detroit
1 review
Dined on July 23, 2021
Overall1food1service5ambience4

There was not any mention of a table time limit when we made our reservation, nor when we called to confirm. After waiting for 75 minutes for our food, a server came over and told us we had to leave and we had exceeded our 90 minutes. We spent over 300.00 and we’re basically kicked out. Terrible. No help from the manager.

GR
vipGReatFood
Grand Rapids
26 reviews
Dined on July 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A welcomed addition to Saugatuck. The food, service and drinks were excellent. Definitely recommend this place!

DR
vipDRNO
Grand Rapids
107 reviews
Dined on July 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing dishes representing countries in the Mediterranean! My favorite dish is the shrimp with orzo, feta, green beans and spicy tomato sauce! Delicious - great wine list as well as excellent antipasto. Highly recommend.

K
Kate
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on July 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great find in Saugatuck. Good and service were amazing.

AC
AmbCher
Grand Rapids
3 reviews
Dined on July 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

hands down. the best lentils I have ever had! The trout almondine was fantastic and the scallops were cooked perfectly. very talented chef and a great wait staff. very loud, though.

LM
LMayNev
Chicago
6 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Taverna Rossa definitely lives up to their Mediterranean name. Great food menu and wine list plus some interesting cocktails. My husband and I both ordered the Ouzo lemonade, which was outstanding. Order it only if you like Ouzo. It's very refreshing.
We started with an antipasti which was a perfect appetizer that did not fill us up before dinner. We split a Greek salad, which they split for us in the kitchen so we had separate plates. For dinner my husband had the house made rigatoni with an amazing pork ragu sauce. A very hardy and delicious meal. I had they gnocchi with fungi and chicken in broth. It was a less hardy meal but filling too. It tasted like the gnocchi had a pinch of nutmeg in them.
If you are really lucky, you will have Heather as your server. She was very professional and friendly.
We look forward to going back!

k
karenw
1 review
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome crab cake appetizer (and I lived in crab country for many years, so I’m picky about crab and shrimp). Love the Mediterranean basin menu : coastal Italian Greek, and French. Service was quite good in this Covid short labor environment. They were out of a couple of items but heck it’s a made to order restaurant so 86s happen on occasion.

FG
vipFredG
Tampa
7 reviews
Dined on July 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything as awesome as usual! The hanger steak was amazing.

CH
CharlesH
San Francisco
14 reviews
Dined on July 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was fabulous. The octopus was wonderful. The artichokes were tremendous. Fresh pasta was our entree and it was excellent. The only downside was the red wine which was served too warm. I mentioned this to our server as and she said she would pass along the information. Other than this very minor issue, we had a wonderful experience.

TK
TomK
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and great service.

KW
KarineW
1 review
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful new restaurant, their food was amazing! Definitely try the duck appetizer, it was unlike any duck I have ever tried, delicious!

GA
GabrielA
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food was terrific. Great time!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
1 review
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience2

A very overpriced restaurant, with below average food. Our salad had no cheese and a little dressing and even less flavor. The entrée wasn’t bad. But was the most expensive thing on the menu and the lamb still had quite a bit of fat on it. Our server was quite polite, and did a decent job. Wasn’t a fan of him kneeling down to be eye level with us. I find it unsettling. After dinner we walked around the city and I looked at each restaurant longingly wishing I had eaten there instead of at this restaurant. I picked the wrong one.

WC
WindyCity
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on July 8, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience2

It was unfortunately not ready for business. Food, service, ambiance were all sub par. We were not expecting to be wowed but did expect food to be edible…… Ordered the cheese plate and the charcuterie plate., asked for them separately as you can order them as such and we had one vegetarian. Instead of the two plates, meats were served in a small cereal bowl, the the cheeses on a plate. The cheese plate the had feta, yet the feta had been crumbled into tiny bits so you could not slice it for a piece of bread. (Who serves crumbled feta on a cheese plate?) Neice ordered a chicken dish which was so under cooked she would not eat it. Server at one point came by and said “did you get your second drinks or did you already finish them”…. As the bartender was chatting with friends the latter was true. It’s a super small place and our table was next to the bar so 20 minutes of watching her talk was painful. There are much better options in Saugatuck/Douglas. Explore your options

T
debraT
Naples
2 reviews
Dined on July 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This restaurant was SO good that I am going back again this week. Delicious and different than a typical Mediterranean menu. Loved it!

LR
vipLosRobles
Chicago
50 reviews
Dined on July 8, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience2

The food, particularly the small plates, is outstanding and the menu is wonderful. The service is friendly and professional but can seem rushed. The kitchen can get backed up with occasional delays. There are not enough moderately priced wines. It's a great addition to Saugatuck dining, but I wish it were not so loud.

N
Norm
Miami
3 reviews
Dined on July 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

This restaurant is a great new asset to the Saugatuck community! Our group of 7 really enjoyed the food and our waiter Cameron was great. The only issue we thought could use improvement was the acoustics, as it was a bit loud and hard to hear each other.

DR
vipDRNO
Grand Rapids
108 reviews
Dined on July 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time here and it is now my favorite restaurant in . Outstanding wine list with variety. The food is amazing - had the Greek salad - delicious. I had the shrimp with orzo and spicy tomato sauce which was fantastic! Everything was perfect - Heather is an exceptional server who is friendly, helpful and efficient. It was an excellent dining experience- highly recommend.

H
vipHuge
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined on July 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Very enjoyable, good crew working hard.

NY
NYCFoodie
Chicago
22 reviews
Dined on July 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It’s always great to see a new place thrive. Tonight was my second time at the restaurant and it just keeps getting better. We split the crispy artichoke and the lamb chops. Yum and Yummier! Great wine list, nice selection of shareable dishes and mains. Service is outstanding! Johnny at the front of house is amazing. Keeps things moving, incredibly accommodating and just super nice. They all are working really hard and aim to please. Kudos to the entire staff! Really some of the best service I’ve had anywhere in a very long time. This restaurant is a welcome addition to Saugatuck and I’m looking forward to enjoying many meals here for years to come (and off season when it won’t be so crowded!).

MC
MattC
Detroit
3 reviews
Dined on July 6, 2021
Overall4food5service2ambience4

Food was excellent but service needs a lot of work. Waited over 15 minutes for server to come to table for the first time. Service improved but overall subpar for similar type restaurants. Food was fantastic however.

Taverna Rossa
Responded on July 10, 2021

MattC, Thank you for your feedback. As it is always tough to read we didn't hit the mark, let me assure you the team is committed to continuous improvement. The service team is made up of some very fine individuals and I know we will all jell better as a team as time moves forward. We hope youy will give us another try so we can WOW you with our service and our Food. Chef Perkey

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience2

Who dined on the appetizers and small plates. Everything was delicious, but it was so noisy that we had to Yell at each other to be able to hear our conversation..

Taverna Rossa
Responded on July 10, 2021

Anonymous, We are in the process of remediating the noise level. We want the environment to compliment the food. Thank you for the feedback and your support. Chef Perkey

Report
T
Talleyho2
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We visited Taverna Rossa this past weekend. Our friends were in town and the menu looked great. We made a reservation, arrived and our table was ready. Our server was excellent throughout our entire meal, a true professional. The cocktails were wonderful. I ordered a Manhattan which was perfect but our friends tried some of their signature cocktails and were very pleased with their choices as well. Our friends loved the Ouzo Lemonade & the Roman. The appetizers were scrumptious. We had the antipasti and dolmades as appetizers which were awesome. And our tables entrees consisted of the Lamb Paidakia, Gnocchi Fungi, Steak Frites & the Rigatoni Bolognese, all were fabulous. I especially enjoyed the fresh made rigatoni pasta. I would definitely recommend this new restaurant. We will definitely come back! What a great addition to the Saugatuck dining scene.

Taverna Rossa
Responded on July 10, 2021

Talleyho2, WOW...you made the team's day with this review. We will continue to work hard and deliver the best dining experience we can. We know you have many choices and consider it an honor you selected us. Hope to see you again, Chef Perkey

Report
t
vipthunder
Detroit
25 reviews
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience2

We had the octopus appetizer and thought it excellent. We both ordered the rainbow trout and it was perfectly prepared and seasoned. Grilled artichokes accompaniment and lentils. We were both really pleased and will definitely return to try something else or repeat the meal we enjoyed so much. My only complaint is the atmosphere which doesn’t meet the quality of the food. Put some white tablecloths on the tables and some candle lighting. I felt like I was eating in a cafeteria. This has always been the problem with this location. Your food is great, just put some charm into the place.

Taverna Rossa
Responded on July 6, 2021

thunder, thank you for the feedback and compliments. We are working to address the ambience concerns you have shared. We will do our best to improve in this area. Thank you again for spending time with us....I know you have many choices. Chef Perkey

Report
MC
vipMichelleC
Indiana
5 reviews
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience3

To be fair, this place is very new but we were disappointed. The smallest wine pour I think we have ever seen. Food is very average and somewhat tasteless…ok to miss this one for now.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Fun new restaurant but still a few things to figure out. Give it another month or two and this will be a good spot

OT
OpenTable Diner
Key West
3 reviews
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was our 2nd visit in the past week…it’s THAT good! We all tried something different and enjoyed it all. Heather, our server, was kind and attentive. We can’t wait to come back!

Taverna Rossa
Responded on July 6, 2021

Anonymous, Thanks for kind words about the food and the shout out for Heather. We understand that the dining experience is a team effort that encompasses food, service and environment. Thank you, Chef Perkey

Report
B
vipBill
Chicago
103 reviews
Dined on July 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Although the menu is limited, there is a good variety of options. The humus was outstanding, and the pasta is house made. We loved it all and book a party of 12 next week. A great find in Saugatuck.

Taverna Rossa
Responded on July 6, 2021

Bill, WOW...thank you. AND we will be ready to bring a great experience to your group of 12. Make sure to stop by the kitchen window and say hi to either myself or my right hand man...Chef Frank. It's a pleasure to serve you. Chef Perkey

Report
d
vipdeannbb
Miami
20 reviews
Dined on July 1, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

it is very loud in the east dining room. we had 4 people and it was hard/impossible to talk as a group.

JD
JamieD
Chicago
1 review
Dined on July 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our new favorite place in Saugatuck! The staff is wonderful. We had a party of 4. We are from Chicago. High quality food and presentation. We ordered 11 items from the menu. They were all wonderful. The dolmades and the Bolognese were the table favorites.

Taverna Rossa
Responded on July 6, 2021

JamieD, Welcome to SAGUATUCK. I also am from Chicago where I was a mentored by some of the best Chef's in the city in my early years. I brought my recipes and flavors to West Michigan and hopefully you can taste the influence Chicago has had on my culinary career. I am so happy you enjoyed your meal with us. Next time you are in the area, stop by and let's chat. Thank you, Chef Perkey.

Report
JA
JAMESM
1 review
Dined on July 1, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience3

I loved the food except the desserts - not authentic or well-prepared. Nice wine list. The server was very helpful and competent. The noise level was way, way toooo loud! There is nothing in the restaurant to absorb the noise and the American public does not know how to talk quietly (they need some lessons from the French).

Taverna Rossa
Responded on July 6, 2021

JAMESM, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. When I meet with the team this week I will share your comments about the food and how we can be even better. As it relates to sound, we are working on effective solution. Thank you, Chef Perkey

Report

FAQs

Taverna Rossa is rated 4.4 stars by 60 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.