Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro

4.3
82 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Stratford Proper is a neighborhood Cafe and Bistro serving American Bistro fare made from scratch.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Join us for Mother's Day Brunch! We will have brunch specials as well as our full brunch menu. Don't forget about $3 mimosas and bloody Mary's!

Sunday, May 12, 2019

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Join us for Father's Day Brunch! We will have brunch specials as well as our full brunch menu. Don't forget about $3 mimosas and bloody Mary's!

Sunday, June 16, 2019

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Join us for Easter Brunch! We will have brunch specials as well as our full brunch menu. Don't forget about $3 mimosas and bloody Mary's!

Sunday, April 21, 2019

What 82 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.1
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
PM
Salt Lake City
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

The food was great as well as the service.

Report
Helpful
DS
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Great menu, friendly staff, great beers. My new favorite "neighborhood" drop-in place. Comfort!

Report
Helpful
SL
1 review
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 3

Ordered the fettuccine carbonara and it was not good. Not anything like the carbonara I’ve had. The pancetta was way too salty and whatever they drizzled on to was not good. My husbands hamburger was raw. Couldn’t wave down a waitress to show her until the end. They did take it off our bill. The beet salad was chewy. Not good at all! Will not recommend to others.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on April 9, 2019

Hi ShellyL, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I'm sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us recently, and I would like to do everything I can to address the issue. If you have a moment, please send me a quick email so I can get a little more information about your visit and make it right. Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager Nikko@StratfordProper.c om

Report
Helpful
M
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This was our first dinner at Stratford Proper. Everything from the appetizers to the entrees were outstanding. The pear martini is to die for... Karen C. was our waitress - she's so knowledgeable, personable, and effortlessly gracious! She elevated what was already a great evening! Our party of four sampled many items from the menu, as well as a couple of beer recommendations, and of course the martini.
We will definitely be back!!

Report
Helpful
OT
Salt Lake City
1 review
Dined on April 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

Excellent food. Wait staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. Great value as well.

Report
Helpful
KB
Salt Lake City
12 reviews
Dined on April 5, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

A great successor to Per Noi in this welcomed neighborhood eatery space. Small and away from busy venues, this is a delightful small haven for great food at a good value. Mussels in a fennel cream sauce are uniquely delicious, Truffle fries a not common variation on pomme frites and the Carbonara pleases the palate. Hooray for this addition to the Proper family with its great microbrews.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on April 9, 2019

Hi KennyB, Thank you for leaving us some feedback! We are extremely excited to be in this new spot and to join the community. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you back in soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager

Report
Helpful
T
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

First time there, we will definitely be back. Great food, Great service, looking forward to eating outside.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on April 4, 2019

Hi Tlee, Thanks for letting us know about your recent dining experience. We will hopefully be open for patio season next week - fingers crossed. See you again soon!

Report
Helpful
K
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
Dined on March 18, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Meal was wonderful! Love the neighborhood vibe. Our waiter was very attentive and had good suggestions. Loved the meatballs with raisons and pine nuts.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on March 21, 2019

Hi Kristan, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the food, the neighborhood vibe, and the attentiveness of your server. Our meatball special was truly a hit and I'm glad you got to try it. We hope to see you back in soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager

Report
Helpful
FW
Salt Lake City
5 reviews
Dined on March 17, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Really good food with healthy options. Can’t wait to go and sit out in the patio space next time. Great find!

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on March 19, 2019

Hi FranchescaW, We are all excited for patio season - fingers crossed no more snow for the season. We will see you back in soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager

Report
Helpful
h
Nashville
8 reviews
Dined on March 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Had a delicious meal with family and friends. Waitress was so conscientious

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on March 21, 2019

Hi Hepc, Thank you for letting us know about your recent dining experience. I'm happy to hear you had an enjoyable time and that the service was good. I hope to see you back in soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager

Report
Helpful
N
New England
11 reviews
Dined on March 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

Good food, great service. Wish they had more Proper beer on tap. Not a romantic place, but a fun hangout with friends

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on March 18, 2019

Hi Nick, Thanks for letting us know about your recent dining experience. We are working on production and possibly being able to have a wider variety on tap. Thanks again for the feedback! See you again soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager

Report
Helpful
BH
Salt Lake City
1 review
Dined on March 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Nice neighborhood spot for an upscale meal. Great beverage options and an interesting menu. The atmosphere is very simple, it could use a bit more decoration to warm it up a bit.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on March 16, 2019

Hi BrookeH, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent dining experience! We are currently in the process on making final decisions on our spring/summer decor and will have those up shortly. Thanks again for the feedback and I look forward to seeing you in again soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager

Report
Helpful
3
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on March 9, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

Was excited to try the new location. I had heard reviews. I can understand why they are mixed. Location is great. They’ve done a nice job with the space. Our server was obviously new. She was a little frazzled. No problem with our reservation. Walked right in and seated. The food is unimaginative. Pretty basic stuff. There were 6 of us. Dishes were carbonara - bland, dry and served lukewarm. Sirloin with funeral potatoes - served very rare and everything was lukewarm and had been under heat lamp.
House salad with trout - generous serving and friend liked it. Bolognese - mediocre tons of mushrooms. Which if you like them, great. Started with the charcuterie board which was pretty much a couple slices of pepperoni and some
Rolled deli meat. No cheese. No bread. Not good and between the 6 of us didn’t even come close to finishing it. The grilled vegetables were okay. The men didn’t care for them but that may be because they are men and anything green probably isn’t good. The women liked the veggies. The baked Brie was the best of everything we ordered. But 5 slices of water thin apple is not enough to compliment the large serving of Brie. And when you have 6 diners why bring 5 slices of apples. Oversight on the servers part.
We didn’t order desert. Prices are fair. We brought our own wine so I can’t comment on the wine list. We probably won’t be going back. Just didn’t wow enough to justify another trip.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on March 16, 2019

Hi, Thank you for the thoughtful, thorough details regarding your recent experience. I'm sorry to hear we missed the mark with both the service and food. I'm sorry for the lukewarm food that was served to you and your guests. With the charcuterie board, our take on bread is with our house-made black pepper lavash. We do have various cheeses available to order to accompany dish if desired. Thank you again for the feedback! I look forward to seeing you in again soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman GM

Report
Helpful
N
1 review
Dined on March 3, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great place to have in the neighborhood. The food was delicious and beautiful. Great service. They gave us a complimentary pickle plate when one of the entrees was late. I like that you can also get a 12 oz. glass of beer instead of a whole bomber. Looking forward to al fresco dining the summer!

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on March 7, 2019

Hi Nighthawkswoman, Thanks for giving us feedback on your recent dining experience. We are so excited and grateful to be here! I'm happy to hear the food was delicious and service was great! I'm equally excited for patio season and warm weather! See you again soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager

Report
Helpful
k
Salt Lake City
3 reviews
Dined on March 3, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 2

They need to do something about the noise level. It was so loud my friend and I just wanted to get out of there. Food is good and employees seem very nice and helpful. Food is very good. I hope the correct the noise issue because I want them to stay around.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on March 7, 2019

Hi Katherinec, Thank you for letting us know about your recent dining experience. I'm happy to announce that our solution for sound reduction is currently being shipped! Hopefully we will have it installed before you come in again. Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Salt Lake City
1 review
Dined on March 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Definitely worth going back. We will put this on our regular dining rotation.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on March 7, 2019

Hi, Thanks for letting us know about your recent dining experience. We couldn't be happier to be a part of your regular dining rotation. See you back in again soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Salt Lake City
1 review
Dined on March 2, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

Very nice! The waiter was excellent and the atmosphere was very welcoming. My mushroom ravioli dish had a soy sauce that was very salty! There was a lot of the sauce so it was hard not to notice. Other than this we enjoyed the warm beet salad and pasta carbonara. We will go back!

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on March 7, 2019

Hi, Thank you for letting us know about your recent dining experience. I'm happy to hear the service was excellent and atmosphere welcoming! The warm beet salad is one of my favorites on the menu. I look forward to having you in again soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager

Report
Helpful
5
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

The service started out excellent but then diminished once our meal was served. It seemed that our server was taking one whole side of the restaurant. We ended up getting dessert to go at the front desk. The food was really good. Very noisy on a Friday night at 8 pm. Reservations are a must! I saw people waiting at least an hour for a table.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on March 11, 2019

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent dining experience. I'm happy to let you know that our sound reduction product is currently in shipment, so the noise level will soon be a thing of the past! We hope to see you in again soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager

Report
Helpful
CF
Salt Lake City
1 review
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 2

It seems the restaurant is looking for an identity. The menu items were all over the place. It was an ok experience but I'm not quite into spending over $60 for an OK experience. The desert that we had, brownie w/ice cream & raspberry sauce, was disappointing. The brown was stale and there wasn't much ice cream on top to make it a little more tastier.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on March 4, 2019

Hi Chris, Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent dining experience. I'm sorry to hear that the dessert wasn't moist and delicious - as it should be! If you have a moment, I would like to hear more about your dining experience and where we fell short. Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager Nikko@StratfordProper.co m

Report
Helpful
BB
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing food combos. Very fresh. Great service and ambiance. I want to go back!

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on March 3, 2019

Hi Bradley, I'm happy to hear everything was great! We can't wait to see you in again soon!! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager

Report
Helpful
l
Los Angeles
84 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Hamburger that was supposed to be rare, was very well done, small patty. Food just really very so-so.
Arugula salad was the best thing.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on February 28, 2019

Hi Lu2dine, Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent dining experience. I want to apologize about cooking the incorrect temperature of your burger. If you have a moment, please send me a quick email so I can gather more information. Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager Nikko@StratfordProper.c om

Report
Helpful
TV
Salt Lake City
4 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

My husband and I had an early dinner this past Saturday. Atmosphere and ambiance calm and soothing. Noise level very minimal. Granted we were one of several customers due to early hour. I would describe decor as minimalist and clean, kind of industrial blank slate feel. We were waited on promptly and all wait staff were very attentive with taking our order and keeping glasses filled. My husband had the Bistro burger which he said was very good and enjoyed a great ale with it. I had the trout with fingerling potatoes. The trout was exquisitely cooked! Melt in the mouth tender with an amazing saltiness and slight crispiness to the skin! Well done chef! Possibly the best trout I have ever had and I like trout. Enjoyed a sparkling Spanish wine which was a good contrast with the fish. Focaccia and olive oil appetizer was excellent. Light, flavorful airy bread went well with the olive oil and balsamic. Overall very nice experience.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on February 28, 2019

Hi TamaraV, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent dining experience. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere, ambiance, service, and food. I've had the burger almost everyday since we have been open and each time I love it more. Look forward to having you in again soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager Nikko@StratfordProper.co m

Report
Helpful
DN
1 review
Dined on February 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This place is amazing. It is a neighbor Cafe with a quiet charm. The wait staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. The manage, Billy, could not have been nicer and attentive. The food was fantastic. The mussels were the best I have ever eaten. The Hush Puppies were also amazing. I had the Bistro Burger, fantastic and very filling. The deserts are to die for. I would highly recommend Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro for any reason that you might have to enjoy a great night out.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on February 28, 2019

Hi DavidN, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent dining experience. I'm happy to hear the staff was friendly and food fantastic. We enjoy having Billy on the team and his attentiveness. I look forward to seeing you in again soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager

Report
Helpful
BM
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

We loved our experience at Stratford Proper. The service was fast and friendly. The food and drinks were fantastic. My boyfriend had the burger with brie cheese and candied bacon (highly recommend adding it) and it was moist and perfectly cooked. The french fries are some of the best we've ever had. I had the beet salad and added steak. Great portion size and my steak was cooked exactly as I asked. Try the Rolls Royce cocktail for dessert. So delicious! So happy this gem is in our neighborhood. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
8
Salt Lake City
4 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food, cocktails, and service were all exceptional. Will definitely be returning.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Valentine’s Day date with reservations. Had a great time, good service and drink. I would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
KB
Salt Lake City
12 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Stratford Proper ably fills the void left by Per Noi’s success and departure. This remains a very good restaurant offering in a low traffic neighborhood, honoring both the Per Noi and Italiano legacy and the growing Proper reputation. The rather simple menu is well executed and the value is outstanding (Park City chefs take note). The eatery is new so they’re forgiven for a too dry Carbonara (generous with Pancetta) but their mussels in a fennel cream are arguably the most interesting and delectable preparation along the Wasatch Front. This place can only get better.

Report
Helpful
JM
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very cool place with great food. We went there on Valentine's Day, the service was fantastic, the food was amazing and we will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
OT
Salt Lake City
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 4ambience 2

The food was inedible, we are not exactly picky eaters and like dives as well as fine dining like Valter's. The pizza was burnt and had no good flavor the carbonara had a terrible taste. I'm not talking bland, I'm talking about something so bad that I was starving and still didn't want to eat it. The staff was very kind but I don't think we'll be back.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on February 28, 2019

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I'm sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us recently, and I would like to do everything I can to address the issue. If you have a moment, please send me a quick email so I can get a little more information about your visit and what happened and what we can do to make it right. Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager Nikko@StratfordProper.c om

Report
Helpful
OT
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Love to have such a cool place in our neighborhood

Report
Helpful
OT
Salt Lake City
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great dining experience. We were seated promptly upon arrival. Our waitress, Laura, was wonderful. She was very friendly and gave excellent recommendations. The food and drinks were excellent.

Report
Helpful
BA
Salt Lake City
3 reviews
Dined on February 11, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

The menu was interesting and varied. . The pesto pizza was very tasty and more than enough for one person. The flavor of the gnocchi was lovely but the gnocchi was a bit mushy.

It would be a nice addition to have some artwork on the walls.

I will definitely return in the future.

Report
Helpful
R
Salt Lake City
15 reviews
Dined on February 9, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 3

I’m glad to have Proper in my neighborhood - the food is good and reasonably priced. However, the atmosphere is pretty austere and the noise level is ridiculous. It was a Saturday night and the place was full. We could not hear a word our server said and had to ask her to repeat herself several times. If the place is not crowded, then it’s pleasant enough, but I doubt I go back on a Friday or Saturday evening.

Report
Helpful
AH
Salt Lake City
3 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 3

I thought the food was only fair. And not cheap. The noise is so bad you have to shout at your guests.

Stratford Proper Cafe & Bistro
Responded on February 11, 2019

Hi Alyson, Thank you for giving us feedback on your dining experience. I'm sorry to hear we missed the mark on our food. If you have a moment, I would be interested in hearing more about it. We are working on improving the noise level and hope to see you in again soon! Cheers, Nikko Fuhriman General Manager Nikko@StratfordProper.co m

Report
Helpful
KL
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Nice, quaint restaurant, but the noise level was extremely high. You had to shout across the table so your dinner guests could hear you.

Report
Helpful
OT
Miami
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Second time in a week that we ate there. First time, on a Tuesday, it was serene, little noise, food was perfectly cooked. We had a long talk with our waitress. Second time, Thursday night was sheer bedlam. Waited for table even though we had a reservation, waitstaff practically running to service everyone, food was over prepared, etc.
Great place. They just need to be ready for crowds.

Report
Helpful
ET
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is a must visit. Outstanding food and service. Great patery chef

Report
Helpful
P
Salt Lake City
3 reviews
Dined on January 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food, service and atmosphere was fabulous. Fun to have a neighborhood spot to gather

Report
Helpful
OT
Miami
2 reviews
Dined on January 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I’m still dreaming about the food! Service people warm and helpful. Loved it!

Report
Helpful
T
Salt Lake City
4 reviews
Dined on January 26, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 3

We had reservations but were placed in the back corner table next to the bathrooms while the folks seated after us were given better tables without reservations. We had a beet salad as a shared appetizer which was very tasty. Our mains were a hamburger which had very dry buns, the fries were great, and then the other main was the squash gnocchi. The gnocchi was mushy, overcooked and the squash very under cooked, the flavor was very nice. Overall quite disappointing as we live close by and walked there. We were hoping to have a local eatery to enjoy but with the very limited menu and experience this first try I don't think we'll go back again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3