Steampunk - Surfers Paradise

4.3
182 Reviews
$40 and under
Modern Australian
A VIBRANT ATMOSPHERE FOR ANY OCCASION


If you’re looking for a venue with delectable food, one-of-a-kind drinks and live entertainment, you’ve found the right place. Offering a wide range of local and imported beverages, Steampunk Surfers Paradise offers a vibrant atmosphere for a mid-week pick-me-up or a weekend finale.


Lunch & Dinner 7 days from 12 PM.
What 182 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Energetic
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
B
Brados
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Beer lines might need a clean, the 150 tasted a bit funny, but other then that, everything was great!

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded a day ago

Hi Brados, Our beer lines are cleaned and maintained by a professional company who specialize in this area. I will pass on your feed back as we like to make sure our lines are kept to the highest possible standard. Thanks for the 4 stars.

Report
KC
KristenC
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I loved the covid plans in place the QR code’s at the tables make it so much easier- don’t have these in Victoria

RG
RachaelG
Sydney / NSW
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service, drinks and food as always, with the ability to order either at your table or with a waiter. My only concern was the fees associated with table ordering.

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded a day ago

Hi RachaelG, Thanks for the 5 stars will really appreciate your support. Yes their is a small fee when ordering through the app which is why we also offer table service.

Report
SW
SeanW
1 review
Dined on April 6, 2021
Overall4food2service5ambience3

Great service from staff, nice cocktails, and good value. Just ordinary food

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded 5 days ago

Hi SeanW, Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your cocktails and great service. I will pass your feedback onto the kitchen

Report
SB
SusanB
1 review
Dined on April 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We loved it! Great atmosphere and food was delicious!

R
Rhiannon123
1 review
Dined on April 3, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience2

For the price of the food everything was so bland , it was fine but nothing to rave about.

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Rhiannon123, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your food, we're always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your feedback.

Report
JS
JustineS
Gold Coast
1 review
Dined on April 3, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience2

If you like basic food and don't mind paying extra for it, and eating in a restaurant where you can't hold a conversation without raising your voice, then Steampunk is the perfect venue for you.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Melbourne
2 reviews
Dined on April 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Family together for Easter

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded 5 days ago

Dear Anonymous, Thanks for the awesome 5 stars and yes family is the best :)

Report
NS
NickyS
1 review
Dined on April 2, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience1

Very disappointed. We’ve been before and loved it but nothing about our last visit will have me wanting to come back.

NR
NathanR
1 review
Dined on March 28, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

The service at steam punk was great, and everyone was so friendly and willing to help. The food was very good, same with the cocktails.

The live musician they had there was also awesome. I will defiantly be coming back when I’m back in surfers

GO
GregorOneleg
1 review
Dined on March 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a brilliant place. I don't go out often because of rowdy crowds, this place was super relaxed.

Oh and the waitress (Paige) was amazing

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 30, 2021

Hi GregorOneleg, Thanks for the 5 stars and hope to see you out again soon.

Report
K
Keel
1 review
Dined on March 27, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience3

ordered food and a cocktail then never recieved it or our money back

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 30, 2021

Hi Keel, I'm really sorry to hear this happened. Please email our venue with further details as I'd love to get to the bottom of what happened and resolve this issue.

Report
J
Jojo
1 review
Dined on March 26, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience3

Items don’t appear the same as they are on the menu. It specifically says bundaberg gingerbeer on the menu and cascade ginger beer was bought out. I was told by the server that’s what I ordered even though I had the email receipt with a picture of bundaberg apparently I was wrong. There is a difference between the two cascade is foul. The eye fillet was near impossible to cut with a steak knife. Parts of it were ok to chew but I think the knives are either blunt or it was over seared. The fact we left with half the food we ordered still on the table sums it up. So unfortunate we had been looking forward to coming here so long because it looked great.

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 30, 2021

Hi jojo, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us. In relation to the Ginger Beer we usually stock Bundaberg but our supplier was out of stock. We are always happy to exchange or re-make any food or drink if guests are unsatisfied. I will be passing on your feedback to the front of house staff for further training. Thank you for your honest feedback and review.

Report
JB
JasmineB
Sydney / NSW
2 reviews
Dined on March 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was fantastic and served very quick. I always come here when i visit the Gold Coast

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 30, 2021

Hi JamineB, Thanks for the 5 stars and hope to see you back on the Gold Coast soon :)

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on March 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

15/10 would come again

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 30, 2021

Wow thanks Anonymous we really appreciate your support!

Report
LM
LiamM
1 review
Dined on March 18, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Very fun place for a drink and something to eat. Interesting cocktail range with some ‘lollie’ based drinks.

Good food range and generous sized kids meals.

Really funky decor with a brass Bourbon bar feel inside.

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 24, 2021

Hi LiamM, Thanks for the 5 stars we really appreciate your support.

Report
DW
DeidreW
Brisbane
3 reviews
Dined on March 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time at Steampunk - great night - we will be back

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 16, 2021

Hi DeidreW, Thanks for the 5 Stars!

Report
BL
BillyL
1 review
Dined on March 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was good value. Got the Steak and Mash, the meal was fairly cheap considering the large size of the meal. The live music was awesome, thought it was from their pipeline music and the staff was friendly and the ordering via the app was simple and quick.

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 16, 2021

Hi BillyL. Thanks for the 5 Stars! Glad you enjoyed the live music and yes we're famous for our large portion sizes :)

Report
MP
MichaelP
1 review
Dined on March 6, 2021
Overall2food4service4ambience1

Not steampunk at all I’m afraid, areas are very disconnected , food was very good, prices were a bit high but the service was top notch.
Was disappointed at the very least at how little steampunk it was , stickers on the wall do not maketh the PUNK

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 11, 2021

Hi MichaelP, Glad you enjoyed the food & service. I'm sorry to hear the venue wasn't steampunk enough. We do have a number of Steampunk sculptures, statues and art pieces throughout the venue. All of our furniture and fittings are in the theme of Steampunk. We use the Steampunk theme as inspiration for a lot of our food & cocktails by using vintage & copper glassware and incorporating elements like dry ice to create a Steam powered aesthetic which is heavily associated with Steampunk.

Report
AB
AlisonB
1 review
Dined on March 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fun place to eat out with family and friends. Good variety of choices on the menu, something for everyone. Staff were friendly and attentive so of course the service was fast. Our pizza was delicious and the drinks menu is fun!

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 11, 2021

Hi AlisonB, Thank you for the awesome 5 Star review. Hope to se you back in the venue soon :)

Report
MH
MaryH
1 review
Dined on March 5, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience3

Wonderful night staff were great music is awesome lots of really nice people

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 11, 2021

Hi MaryH, Thanks for the lovely review.

Report
E
Emmah
1 review
Dined on March 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Never been before and will absolutely return! Watermelon fishbowl was amazing & great friday special. Food was absolutely delicious and didn’t take too long to be brought out even when busy. Trainee looking after our table did a great job.

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 11, 2021

Hi Emmah, This review made our day :) Thanks for the 5 stars and looking forward to seeing you back in the venue soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on March 5, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Forgot one of our meals. By the time we asked about it and told they were just making it, the rest of our meals were getting cold. Food was ok, but expensive. $200 for 5 meals and a soft drink each, including an entertainment club discount. In no hurry to go back, that’s for sure.

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 11, 2021

Hi Anonymous, I'm sorry to hear one of your meals was forgotten, we always strive for perfect service by unfortunately sometimes mistakes are made. All our prices are clearly marked on the menu, it's true we have some premium items but we also offer lot's of great deals & specials every day of the week for our frugal guests.

Report
P
Pleased
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

For the most part, we enjoyed Steampunk. We specifically requested an outside table but they gave it away to someone else whilst we were standing there & they very obviously acknowledged that. We were seated inside - our food & drinks came quickly. The cocktails were AMAZING! The live music was unreal.

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on March 11, 2021

Hi Pleased, Thanks for the lovely review and glad you enjoyed our cocktails:) I'm sorry you didn't get the table you requested, we do our best to accommodate all requests but can't always guarantee an outside table due to such high demand.

Report
EL
EdithL
1 review
Dined on February 27, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

First time diners at Steampunk and we had a great time. Food was great, cocktails were amazing and the staff were lovely.

SW
SallyW
1 review
Dined on February 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and friendly service. Meals came out perfect. Didn't have to wait long for meals to come out.

m
mattz
1 review
Dined on February 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

great food friendly staff nothing is a bother for them Great night out
10 out of 10 well done guys

LF
LeisaF
1 review
Dined on February 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a fabulous time meals were excellent and great value will be returned

KB
KatherineB
1 review
Dined on February 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great night. Really friendly staff, great food and drinks and I would come back.

T
Taylah
1 review
Dined on February 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

amazing food and vibe at this place. the fish bowls in particular was incredible and on fridays with 1/2 price bowls. the watermelon one in particular was incredible would absolutely go back!!

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on February 22, 2021

Hi Taylah, Thanks for the 5 stars! Hope to see you back soon :)

Report
TE
TimE
1 review
Dined on February 19, 2021
Overall3food5service2ambience5

been here a few time, like the place because its a good food/cool bar environment with alot of staff always. only complaint is i usually come here for dinner and when you book a table they don't seem to reserve a spot as such. so last time i got stuck at a tiny little table with stalls with barely enough room for two plates and getting shoved from the table behind us and then all the people walking past

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on February 22, 2021

Hi TimE, Thanks for the review. I can assure you we do reserve tables for our dinner bookings. Friday & Saturday are our busiest nights and we do our best to accommodate everyone. Next time you make a booking please make a note on where you would like to sit or let our friendly wait staff know if you need to move tables. We do our best to oblige all request.

Report
J
Jill
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall3food5service2ambience3

Food arrived 50mins after ordering. Good thing we weren't starving to begin with.

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on February 22, 2021

Hi Jill, Thanks' for the review, I see you visited us on Valentine's Day which is one of the busiest day's of the year for us. I'm sorry there was a delay on food and hope to see you back in the venue soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on February 12, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Great cocktails and attentive staff

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on February 15, 2021

Dear Anonymous, Thanks for this awesome review!

Report
CE
ChloeE
1 review
Dined on February 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Can’t fault anything. Loved everything - fast food, quality and tasty food and loved being able to order and pay for everything at the table without waiting for anyone to come to us! Awesome all round

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on February 15, 2021

Hi ChloeE, Thanks for this lovely review. Hope to see you back in the venue soon :)

Report
S
Sammid
1 review
Dined on February 6, 2021
Overall3food2service2ambience4

My main review is due to the booking itself, I was extremely annoyed, I booked two weeks in advance for a bday dinner for 12 people and we arrived to being separated to two tables, then I complained (because why would I be happy about being separated I booked for 12 together for a reason!) we were then squashed onto those two tables pushed together.

There were lovely bench seat tables at the back plus a few other long tables available that we could all see.

This was very frustrating considering how long in advance I booked.

As for the food, four people in our group ordered ribs and they were all warm close to cold, we did get offered a free round of drinks but for some reason they only took 2 of those drink orders.
It was hard to get the attention of the staff to ask why so we just left it.

The staff were not particularly friendly only one of the male staff whom took our order did however seem friendly and helpful.

I would recommend this place to others for drinks perhaps, but for food I would try again just to give the place a second chance.

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on February 15, 2021

Hi Sammid, Thank you for your feedback we will definitely take it on board and use it to improve. I see you visited our venue on the 6th of Feb which was an extremely busy night for us & we had been fully booked for a number of weeks in advance. I know it's frustrating when you see larger tables empty but I can assure you they were booked and waiting for their groups to arrive.

Report
EN
ErinN
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Definitely a place to go for a great meal and great cocktails loved it there

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on February 8, 2021

Hi Erin, Thanks for the lovely 5 stars! Hope to see you back in the venue soon :)

Report
SP
SunP
1 review
Dined on January 30, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Food was great. Ordered the ribs and calamari salad which were so nice. Bit noisy but understandable for Sat night. Bit frustrated that servers missed the drinks orders waited until food came out and needed to remind the staff about the drinks orders. However she apologised and served straight away which made up their mistake. Overall nice and will definitely visit again.

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on February 8, 2021

Hi SunP, Thanks for the review. We're not perfect here at Steampunk but when mistakes are made we do our best to make up for them. Glad you enjoyed your meals, hope to see you back in the venue soon :)

Report
J
Julz
1 review
Dined on January 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and atmosphere.
Staff were really lovely and the place is next level.

SE
StaceyE
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2021
Overall2food2service4ambience4

Food was really ordinary, we were quite disappointed.

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise
Responded on February 1, 2021

Hi StaceyE, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal here at Steampunk. We do our best to offer delicious, high quality meals at competitive prices and usually get great feedback. If you are ever dissatisfied with your food here at Steampunk please notify one of our friendly team members and we'll do everything within our power to rectify the situation.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Gold Coast
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome time!

FAQs

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo.

Steampunk - Surfers Paradise is rated 4.3 stars by 182 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.