Solomon's Restaurant and Bar

4.2
131 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Solomon's: Tetherow's fine dining experience
Solomon's highlights vibrant offerings from the Pacific Northwest. Premium steaks and seafood are thoughtfully prepared alongside vegetarian creations and decadent desserts. With representations from the finest west coast regions, the extensive wine collection will perfectly accent any meal. We are inspired daily by the stunning sunsets over the Cascades and you will be, too! Solomon's is open Wednesday - Sunday, 5:00 pm - close. Reservations are encouraged.
What 131 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
65% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
HA
Portland
8 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Solomon has improved it's kitchen. Still why should the portions be so big. Make them smaller and improve on the taste quality, rather than the size of the meals. Service was excellent and the views and atmosphere are special.

Report
Helpful
WJ
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 4

Entree food was tasteless. No amount of seasoning could improve it. I had a glass of wine with dinner. The wine was flat. Tasted like it had been in an uncorked bottle in a refrigerator for several days.

On the positive side, the appetizer was good and the atmosphere and noise level in the restaurant was excellent.

Chef needs to start seasoning the food.

Report
Helpful
c
Portland
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

ambiance was very cozy, service was exceptional, food was great. Great experience and perfect setting for what we were looking for.

thank you
Chamie

Report
Helpful
S
Portland
13 reviews
Dined on July 5, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 5

Braden makes the best Old Fashion and provides unsurpassed service to the table. Our food both steak and seafood were good, the view great. Thanks again Braden.

Report
Helpful
c
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on July 3, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent meal in beautiful, quiet spot. Great service. One of
Bend’s best-kept secrets. Would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
SD
1 review
Dined on June 30, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 3

The Salmon was not throughly cooked...my burger was burnt as was my Brussels sprouts. Food was very disappointing. Server was really nice though.

Report
Helpful
h
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on June 28, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 5

Yes, but with a qualification re service and menu items; avoid Cyndi as your waitress as well as seafood cocktail (defrosted and flavorless shrimp and crab claws, sauce from a bottle) and Bouillabaisse (mediocre and very salty broth).

Report
Helpful
l
Portland
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 5

Maybe...........one out of our 3 dinners was good. Others just marginal.

Report
Helpful
c
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was our 49th anniversary and I had just be released from hospital and put on very restrictive low sodium diet. Called the chef
The day before and he prepared special salt-free polenta for me plus made sure the other things we ordered were low sodium. View was beautiful and noise level very good. Delightful evening. Wish he had been the chef at the hospital cuz his food (Ben) was ever so much better than their low sodium offerings!

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on June 25, 2019

Happy Anniversary to you, and thank you for celebrating such a special day with us! We are so glad our chef took such special care of you to craft a meal that worked for your new restrictive diet. We hope this message finds you recovering quickly and fully from your hospital stay, and we look forward to hosting you again when you're ready for your next evening with us. Take care!

Report
Helpful
LH
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Very enjoyable evening. The menu offered a wide variety of entrees; good food; the staff was professional; the atmosphere was very appealing and we would return.

Report
Helpful
MA
1 review
Dined on June 8, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 2ambience 5

Duck over cooked. Used canes onions to top pork.

We live in a place that has 36 brewery’s. And they didn’t have 1 wheAt beer.

Waiter if we we were “full enough”. Didn’t even offer desert or coffee.

Just wanted to get us out even thought only 4 tables were occupied.

Not worth it!

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on June 8, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 5

The service and views from Solomons were excellent. The waitstaff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The food was OK but not memorable. If the quality of the food was better, we would be more tempted to come back.

Report
Helpful
KG
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 5ambience 4

The ambiance was lovely with a great view. The old fashioned was the best cocktail I’ve ever had! The food was just ok, not bad but also not great. I could make the same thing at home but better. Would definitely come back for the view and a cocktail, just wouldn’t waste my money on subpar cuisine.

Report
Helpful
OT
Portland
15 reviews
Dined on May 29, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our meal was absolutely superb. Everyone in our party of four was delighted with what they ordered. And best of all, our server Cindy was top-notch -don't let her go!!!

Report
Helpful
OT
Portland
1 review
Dined on May 26, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Meeting up with friends we hadn’t seen for a long time. Delightful venue, beautiful view, attentive waiter, delicious food, lovely evening!

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 28, 2019

We're delighted to hear that Solomon's provided such a nice atmosphere for your friend reunion! We hope you had a wonderful time catching up with one another.

Report
Helpful
s
Portland
1 review
Dined on May 23, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

For the quality of the food, we felt that it was way, way overpriced. And the wine list and choice was not so great

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 28, 2019

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review Solomon's! While the prices were beyond what you were expecting to pay, we still hope you enjoyed a wonderful meal in a beautiful setting. Our wine collection is extensive and carefully curated. If there was something on the list you'd love to see next time, please let us know. Thank you for dining with us! We hope to see you at Solomon's again soon.

Report
Helpful
CL
1 review
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful efficient service. It was our 45th anniversary and the waiter was especially (we felt) kind and attentive. The food was delicious and presented in a beautiful way. Fresh greens were amazing. We will be back. This was our first visit.

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 22, 2019

Dear Chris, thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review. Knowing we were able to provide you with an excellent meal and service for such a special day in your lives means the world to us. Congratulations on 45 years of marriage! We hope you had a wonderful time celebrating. Cheers to many more!

Report
Helpful
S
1 review
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

Steak was served Luke warm, sauce for steak did not arrive until well after steak was served. Drinks and wine over priced

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 22, 2019

Dear Sheila, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize you did not have a better experience at Solomon's. We will be sure to pass along your note to the chef so that we may provide you with a better experience in the future. We would love for you to consider giving Solomon's another try!

Report
Helpful
SH
1 review
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Everything was great but i felt that the service was a little slow as there were not that many people at the time we were seated.

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 17, 2019

Thank you for the positive review, Sharan! We are sorry you felt service was a little slow, but are appreciative of the feedback as we are constantly seeking to improve. We sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Solomon's! Thank you for dining with us!

Report
Helpful
KC
Portland
1 review
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 1ambience 4

Very disappointed with food and service. Seriously understaffed. The review in Go Magazine was seriously flawed.

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 17, 2019

Dear Ken, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review for your recent dining experience at Solomon's. We are disappointed to hear you weren't happy with the food or service. If you have any specific feedback you can share with us, we would be very grateful so that we can work to improve our guest experience. Please contact us if you are willing to share more about your evening. We sincerely hope we have another opportunity to earn your business.

Report
Helpful
OT
Portland
1 review
Dined on May 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This has been a favorite restaurant of ours for several years. However, it hit a rough spot late in 2018, and we had not been back since then. Following positive reports from friends and a good review in the Bend Bulletin, we returned last week. We were not disappointed. As usual the service was excellent and the view across the golf course to the Cascades spectacular. All items on the new menu appealed to us.
The food was superb. I had the pork chop and my wife the steak. Both were cooked perfectly.

Solomon's is back on our list of top Bend restaurants

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 17, 2019

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your latest dining experience with our new incredible head chef. We thank you for your willingness to give us another try after your meals with our last chef team had disappointed you. We are grateful for your continued patronage, and look forward to welcoming you back to Solomon's when you're ready for your next visit. Kindly, Tetherow Management

Report
Helpful
RB
Portland
4 reviews
Dined on May 4, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 3

Prom night? Maybe that was the problem. Very slow service. Small dinning room. Beautiful views, but you can hear virtually everyone's conversations. Good steaks. Might try here again, but will want to sit outside or come early, before they "fill up". Nose was a big issue for us.

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 17, 2019

Dear Richard, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're very sorry that a prom night group interrupted your experience, as Solomon's is otherwise known as a very peaceful, relaxing and intimate dining experience. We hope you'll be willing to come back and give us another try. We feel confident you will be very pleased! Thank you for dining with us. We would love to host you again.

Report
Helpful
M
Hawaii
28 reviews
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall 4food 2service 5ambience 4

The atmosphere is quiet which makes it easy to talk. You can spend 2 hours easily. We ordered gin and tonics and discussed the local Bend gins. He described the two and we tried one of each. They were both great but quite different. We then shared the crab cakes which were awesome. We should have stopped there!! We ordered 2 of the steaks described on the menu. One ribeye and what they described as Australian wagyu sirloin. They came out with no color and closer to raw than rare. If you are going to have a steak menu complete with sauces and sides then you need a chef who knows how to prepare steak. They should take the whole steak section off the menu or find someone who knows how to steak. I don’t think I can go back.

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 17, 2019

Dear Melelina, thank you for taking the time to leave us a thorough review of your recent dining experience at Solomon's. While it makes us incredibly happy to hear how much you enjoyed most of your evening, we're very disappointed to hear that you weren't pleased with the second half of it. We will be sure to pass along your feedback to our kitchen staff. While we have not received this feedback before, we do take all comments seriously. We sincerely hope you'll give us another try.

Report
Helpful
BO
1 review
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

The view is great. I love Bend and seeing it from Solomon's is a great treat. The only downfall was that my boyfriend had asked for no cheese on his burger due to an allergy, they quickly corrected the problem and brought out another burger. They gave us free dessert for the inconvenience and discounted the burger. Very kind. Servers were extremely personable and friendly.

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 17, 2019

Thank you for the 5 star review! Despite the order correction, we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your meal and service. We take great pride in taking excellent care of our guests. Thank you for dining with us! We hope to see you back at Solomon's soon.

Report
Helpful
RG
Portland
1 review
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

Solomon's Restaurant is one of our favorites in Bend for my wife and I. But I liked the old menu better. I had the fettuccine. It had an unexpected flavor, nevertheless was OK. But later it left a very bad aftertaste.

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 17, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, Ron! We change our menu seasonally, and hope the soon-to-be-released summer menu will be more to your liking. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Solomon's in the future!

Report
Helpful
SB
1 review
Dined on April 18, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 3

Service was awful, we were left unattended for long periods of time. Food was disappointing, as well. I would not recommend dining at this restaurant.

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 17, 2019

Dear Stephanie, we're so sorry to hear how much you disliked your experience dining with us. We'll be sure to let management know your feedback regarding the wait staff and investigate what happened that evening, as we have wonderfully attentive and knowledgeable servers. If there is any specific feedback you can share about the food, we would love to hear from you so we can work to correct that as well. We sincerely hope we have an opportunity to regain your business in the future.

Report
Helpful
CD
Portland
11 reviews
Dined on April 13, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 5ambience 5

I had the halibut on quinoa with carrots and supposed beurre blanc sauce. The quinoa soaked up what little of the "sauce" was on the plate. I asked for some sauce on the side and it turned out to be burnt oil with some lemon flavoring, not beurre blanc. The quality of the halibut was good though, so it was a shame the chef couldn't come up with a legitimate sauce. The crab cakes were pretty tasty. The waiter did a wonderful job.

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 17, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thorough review, Cindy! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the sauce for your halibut dish, but are otherwise happy to know you enjoyed your dining experience. We'll be sure to pass along the feedback to the chef to look into. Meanwhile, we sincerely hope we have the opportunity to host you again at Solomon's in the future. Thank you for dining with us!

Report
Helpful
S
Hawaii
2 reviews
Dined on April 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Solomon's new menu is excellent! The chef came out and introduced himself and asked how our meal was. We had one fish dish and one steak dish between the two of us and both were prepared beautifully and to our temperature specifications. Nice changes to the menu. Dessert was excellent as well. Beautiful view as always!!

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 17, 2019

Sherylita, your review made our day! We are so excited about our new chef and his brilliant spring menu, and are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed it. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Solomon's when you're ready for your next visit. Thank you for your patronage!

Report
Helpful
TB
Portland
1 review
Dined on April 3, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food at Solomon's was tasty and beautifully presented. Katie, our bartender and server, was a delight throughout the evening.

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 17, 2019

Thank you for the wonderful review, Tracy! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the food and service. We hope to see you at Solomon's again soon!

Report
Helpful
R
Portland
11 reviews
Dined on March 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great view! Friendly service and excellent food. What more would you ask for?

Solomon's Restaurant and Bar
Responded on May 17, 2019

Thank you for the fantastic 5 star review! So glad to hear how much you enjoyed the food and service. We are sincerely grateful for your patronage!

Report
Helpful
T
1 review
Dined on March 24, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

The food delivered to the table was not what the menu described and the lamb was over cooked. They did replace the overcooked lamb. For the price I expected more. Doubt we'll go back.

Report
Helpful
TM
1 review
Dined on March 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My husband and I went to Solomon's for dinner and had a great experience. Our waiter Heath was exceptional and very informative. He was friendly and provided great service. We will be coming back again!
Thanks,
Tammy Martin

Report
Helpful
CA
1 review
Dined on February 21, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Only one other couple in the entire restaurant, delicious food, amazing service, highly recommend reasonable price for also.

Report
Helpful
NM
Montana
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had a romantic dinner with great food and superb service!

Report
Helpful
N
Portland
2 reviews
Dined on February 9, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 4

The ambience was very nice and intimate. It wasn’t full as we had a storm that day and they had a few cancellations so the noise level was pleasant. We were a party of four and we ordered 3 duck dishes and a gnudi dish. They were unable to prepare my gnudi dish, so I added an additional duck dish to our order. They had probably fired up the duck, while trying to make the gnudi and tried to keep it warm without overlooking the duck. However, all the duck dishes came out to the table lukewarm and not crispy, including the duck dish I substituted for my gnudi dish. There was a lull of at least a half hour between the salad and entree. It would have been nice to have been informed of the delay from the kitchen. We had high hopes for this restaurant. We most likely won’t return as it was an expensive meal.

Report
Helpful
RB
San Antonio
3 reviews
Dined on February 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had an excellent evening at Solomon’s. The oysters and house made bread were delicious, both our mains (salmon and the Gnudi) were perfect, as were the desserts (house made icecream and a choc mousse, with house made lollipop). Great wine list, amazing server - highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
K
Seattle
19 reviews
Dined on December 29, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Personalized service since there were two waiters and only one other couple for the first half of our dining evening. Great view during daylight and willing bartender to make whatever beverage you might desire! Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
J
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2018
Overall 1food 1service 4ambience 4

Service was fine. Terrible food, tiny portions, over priced. It's our second time there and we were disappointed both times

Report
Helpful
OT
Seattle
41 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

we had our quiet Christmas dinner here, a price fixed meal. Great service and food in a spectacular location, with a view of the entire area. Can't wait to return after the holidays!

Report
Helpful
OT
Portland
2 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2018
Overall 2food 4service 2ambience 3

We were looking forward to a New Year’s Eve dinner there after looking at their menu. Lots of choices for 4 people . We are Bendite’s and have dined nearly everywhere in Bend. We hadn’t been to Solomon’s in a while. We had our 2 daughters join us. On their website, nor when confirming our reservation were we informed it was a set menu. Too late to leave at that point. The few choices for food was good, however, not what we were hoping for. Now as for our server was very nice, but completely inadequate as a server. She could not explain the dishes and she mixed up one of the dishes. She also was not attentive or professional, considering what the bill was. So.... we had fine dining for the food, Breakfast dining for service and only a few choices for dinner. I rarely write negative reviews, however, in Bend we have so many excellent restaurants.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4