Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant

4.4
1018 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Skull Creek Dockside is SERG Restaurant Group's newest waterfront dining destination. The restaurant resembles an old style riverhouse, full of authentic architecture, reclaimed wood and nautical accents. The covered patio dining area, and outdoor Sharkbar, have amazing sunset views over Skull Creek. Located next door to The Skull Creek Boathouse, another SERG Landmark Seafood restaurant, Dockside will provide a family recreation area between the two restaurants, a stage overlooking the water for live music, an adult space with games and a shrimp boat playground for kids.
SERG Corporate Chef Nick Unangst says his culinary team designed the menu that ranges in a wide variety of tastes. The restaurant features an array of seafood, steak and house smoked barbecue. Dockside also has a second story banquet room with magnificent water and sunset views. Follow #docksidehhi and visit www.docksidehhi.com for complete information.
What 1018 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OT
1 review
Dined 17 hours ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great! Loved the food!

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined 17 hours ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Nicole was great! We got 2 complimentary glasses of champagne for our anniversary. Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
1 review
Dined 21 hours ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food great... just recd email saying we were no show...now a survey on how the meal was... open table messed up somewhere..

We did eat there today

Report
Helpful
OT
New England
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

amazing! Very good food and drinks!

Report
Helpful
BG
Cincinnati
56 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Don't let the menu scared you i.e. it looks like one from the dinner - cheap plastic. But the food was great. Give it a go!

Report
Helpful
GF
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 3

Parking is VERY LIMITED
give yourself 30 minutes to wait if going for dinner at prime time

Report
Helpful
OT
Indiana
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The best calamari appetizer. Very good soups. Quality and quantity of food is very good. Very comfortable surroundings. Would rate it a 4.8/5 overall.

Report
Helpful
RP
Charleston
7 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 1food 1service 4ambience 3

Had a reservation for 2 for 6:30 p.m. parking was a nightmare. Luckily we left early enough to make our time. We were seated promptly after we made it to the hostess station with several other people before us in line. Our server suggested the shrimp and calamari which was o.k. We tried the she crab soup. It was tasty, but way too thick, like really thick paste. The server also suggested the swordfish special to my husband and I ordered the twin lobster tails. The server also talked my husband into getting a larger beer which ended up being $12. Big mistake. Our food was awful. My lobster was slimy and chewy, the mashed potatoes had no taste, accompanied by frozen vegetable blend. Huge disappointment for the price. My husband's very tiny swordfish was incredibly dry and he hated the succotash that was served with it. Besides being disappointed in the horrible food, there was a screaming kid that didn't stop for the entire hour we were there which was no fault of the restaurant, but wish they had a section for people with infants. Seems like this place is just a tourist trap and food is very low quality. Live and learn I guess. We will never return!

Report
Helpful
OT
Raleigh
10 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and service!

Report
Helpful
OT
Richmond
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food was so good! Do yourself a favor-order the baked grouper! Had the shrimp and calamari appetizer which was great too. Oysters were a bit overpriced, but that seems average for most of the restaurants here. Great views and large outdoor waiting area with playground for kids.

Report
Helpful
JC
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Amazing food at a reasonable price. Enjoy the indoor or outdoor seating depending on the weather. Wait area can be a little tight if weather is bad but the wait and food make it all worthwhile. Have only tried traditional seafood but sushi options look tasty. Drink choices with souvenir cups are a nice touch.

Report
Helpful
OT
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very good meal and service was top notch. Great view outside.

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review!

Report
Helpful
CN
Hamburg Area
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

The wonderful service made the dinner. Alexandra was a fantastic server.

Report
Helpful
E
New England
7 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great waiter Anthony..made recommendation, speed and quality of service, food and drink...great wedding anniversary!

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Happy Anniversary!!! Thank you for celebrating your special day with us! We will be sure to recognize Anthony for his great service. Remember to ask for him on your next visit!

Report
Helpful
RG
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Delicious meals. Everyone enjoyed the food. scallops, crispy bass, seafood alfredo Server Myriam was so helpful and friendly. Beautiful view.

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for the review, Robert! We will be sure to recognize Myriam for her great service! Remember to ask for her on your next visit!

Report
Helpful
KW
Charleston
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 3service 2ambience 5

Our server made several mistakes with our order, but a manager took care of the issues promptly. The view out to Broad Creek is outstanding and the food was quite good. We'll definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
J
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Great views, great service, good food. Worth the visit

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for the 5 star review, Jerry!

Report
Helpful
OT
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 5

The service was only fair due to new waitress first time. Food was fair due to spinach being warm/dry in salad and sauce for shrimp and grits being less than desired as compared to previous experience. Thus fatal expenditure of $170 seemed not a great value.

Report
Helpful
BR
New England
5 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Hart took care of 14 of us and everything was perfect. Food was excellent and so was the ambiance. First time to Hilton head but hopefully not the last!

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for the 5 star review, Brian! We will be sure to recognize Hart for his Coastal Hospitality and service. Be sure you ask for him on your next visit!

Report
Helpful
AM
San Francisco
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Some of the best seafood I have have had in awhile. The calamari was excellent. Lovely view of the marina. Great waitress , made this a perfect dining experience

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Alisa, Thank you for the 5 star review! We hope to see you back in soon!

Report
Helpful
OT
Savannah
12 reviews
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Delicious!!

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded on May 18, 2019

Thank you for the 5 star review!

Report
Helpful
NY
Charleston
151 reviews
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

This was our first time here and probably won’t return. The food was average and one of the entrees had to be sent back, food was very cold.
The service was good and eating outside was very nice ambience. Hopefully, they will solve the food challenges, they have a lot of potential.

Report
Helpful
MK
New England
4 reviews
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 5

Great location and fun to eat there. But as a person who can’t eat fish I give my filet mignon with seafood topping a big thumbs down. Cold and tasteless medallions.

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal! We will share your feedback with our culinary team. Be sure to try any of our House-Smoked Meat Entrees on your next visit!

Report
Helpful
E
Orlando
41 reviews
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Nice restaurant with a great view of Skull Creek from almost any table. Indoor and outdoor seating. One of the few places on the water that takes reservations so they get our vote. The food was good and the service was pretty good as well. Bacon hushpuppies are a must try, The fish and chips was crunchy and delicious but I did not care for the Cole Slaw. Ribs were very good with a nice selection of barbecue sauces. We will definitely go back.

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for dining with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
Helpful
MG
Raleigh
6 reviews
Dined on May 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had a table outside and were able to enjoy the amazing sunset! The waitstaff was friendly and courteous. Food was delicious - risotto made of farro, sautéed veggies and grilled shrimp was so flavorful; fried shrimp and oysters were cooked perfectly (not too bready or oily); pimento cheese grits were, well yummy!
Not a cheap restaurant but glad we went!

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for the 5 star review, Mimi! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed everything!

Report
Helpful
MS
1 review
Dined on May 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Best meal, service, ambience on the island. Can’t wait to come back.

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for the 5 star review, Margaret!!

Report
Helpful
d
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on May 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great good
Great service
Great atmosphere
I would highly recommend dining here. The short ribs are delicious!
The sunset is gorgeous. So if the weather permits, dine outside.

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded on May 18, 2019

Thank you for the great review, Denise!

Report
Helpful
D
Cleveland
46 reviews
Dined on May 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Wonderful views and good food. Service was good except the entree that my husband ordered was VERY SPICY and although it wasn’t a deal breaker, it might have been a good idea if the server had cautioned him about that (especially since he did ask about the dish specifically before ordering it). Otherwise a great evening and meal.

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded on May 18, 2019

Thank you, Diane! If you don't mind us asking, which dish did he order? That way we can ensure the dish is being made correctly and better educate our staff on describing the dish and spice level.

Report
Helpful
MM
Salt Lake City
47 reviews
Dined on May 15, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Fun evening with good food in a great atmosphere. We would have liked to have dined outside, but window table was a nice compromise. Great service.

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded on May 18, 2019

Thank you for dining with us!

Report
Helpful
H
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined on May 14, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

To be quite honest I have been to the Dockside a week ago and was not pleased with my selection. However, the other three people dining with me , had food that not only look delicious but according to them was. I understand that a restaurant can have a bad night or serve a dish that isn’t up to par and I felt that was what I received. After writing a review on OpenTable I was invited back. It was a totally different experience. However, I did not order the same thing that I ordered in the past and I understand the chef is reviewing my selection. This time my food was delicious. Our waiter Justin, was pleasant and professional. We sat outside and there is no better view of the water on Hilton Head. Not only was I pleased with my meal but even more so I am pleased with a restaurant that values its clients and goes out of the way to make a situation right. Because of the delicious meal and the attitude towards its consumers I will definitely frequent this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
P
Cleveland
46 reviews
Dined on May 13, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Mike was a great server. Dockside platter was outstanding! Fish very fresh and perfectly prepared

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded on May 18, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We will be sure to recognize Michael for his outstanding service!

Report
Helpful
KH
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined on May 13, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 3ambience 4

The only complaint was that my husband told the hostess that someone in our party was having a bd and that message never got to the server.

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded on May 18, 2019

Kathy, We are terribly sorry to hear this! We appreciate you choosing Dockside to celebrate a birthday! Do you know if the birthday had a "special occasion tag" or noted in the reservation on Open Table? We have features in Open Table to print occasion notes so I want to be sure we are training our staff correctly to ensure every guest has the best experience possible! Again, we do thank you for dining with us!

Report
Helpful
B
Memphis
23 reviews
Dined on May 13, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 3

The reservation allowed us to eat on the patio while people with no reservation had an hour wait. Food was great although our waitress failed to serve our appetizer
Other than that we were pleased. Standard seafood menu but that’s what most people want when they come to Hilton Head!

Report
Helpful
j
Western NC
2 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food, great views, good service....great place for a romantic waterfront evening..

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded on May 14, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
Helpful
CW
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our favorite place to eat on the island.....wonderful food, wonderful views and great waiters/waitresses.....we have never had a bad experience here.

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded on May 18, 2019

Thank you so much for the review, Cindy!

Report
Helpful
MM
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Brunch was fantastic. Everyone at our table loved their food, friendly service even on a busy Sunday. Took us right at our reservation time.

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded on May 14, 2019

Thank you for the 5 star review, Molly!

Report
Helpful
S
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 3

The food was a disappointment in fact my husband got sick on his. Very noisy and menu choices not like a seafood restaurant.

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded on May 14, 2019

We do have a more extensive menu that offers items for both seafood fans and land lovers, ranging from fresh, local seafood to our house smoked BBQ dishes. If you would like to contact us directly here at the restaurant, we would love to hear from you. (843)785-3625. Warm Regards, Meggie Thompson Assistant General Manager

Report
Helpful
JP
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
G
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

I expected fresh seafood, but that’s not what we got. It was Mother’s Day, so busy, but salads took 45 minutes to arrive; the meals were just a few minutes behind them.

Skull Creek Dockside Restaurant
Responded on May 14, 2019

Gigi, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal. We receive fresh seafood daily so hope you brought any dissatisfaction to management's attention so we were given the opportunity to replace your dish with something to your liking. Do you have any feedback on the specific dishes you ordered so we can share that with our culinary team?

Report
Helpful
IC
Cincinnati
18 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

I am no longer recommending the restaurant until I have a meeting or a call from the general manager of the operation to talk about the service and the food that I’ve been getting there for over the last six months. The restaurant already owes me one free mail and I also put in a complaint on Saturday night when I took guests there .

Visit I had planned already was for Mother’s Day and took my wife out to brunch. Everything was pretty good until they surprised us with a scoop of ice cream with a note written and chocolate that said happy anniversary. Unfortunately I had asked the restaurant on a request for Saturday night when my friends were here who had not been to Hilton head for over 30 years were with us and both parties were celebrating an anniversary. Nothing showed up, our seats were indoors instead of outdoors which is what I requested and there was no attention given at that time.

Restaurant seems extremely disorganized, understaffed, and I know that business can be tough especially with young people and many part-time people working there.

Things must get better.

Thank you

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
26