Skopelos at New World

4.4
536 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean
Skopelos opened its doors in 1959 and became a Pensacola tradition, known for fine dining and exceptional service. Helmed by Pensacola Celebrity Chef Gus Silivos, the restaurant has been the recipient of many prestigious awards and has held the honor of serving many well-known personalities, including former President and First Lady, George and Barbara Bush. Skopelos moved to its new home in downtown Pensacola in 2016. Situated on one of the 10 Best Streets in America, the restaurant's decor takes a nod to the history of Pensacola with a menu that utilizes local ingredients and the freshest flavors from the Gulf Coast. In addition to its coastal cuisine with a Mediterranean flair, the restaurant is also renowned for its USDA Certified Steaks, vegan & gluten free cuisine, extensive lunch menu, and all-encompassing Sunday brunch buffet. In addition to private dining, Skopelos at New World offers a grand event space, ideal for banquets, weddings, and events within the heart of the city.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Celebrate mom with Skopelos's famous Ballroom Brunch Buffet or a specialty brunch & dinner menu from Executive Chef Gus Silivos! For more information visit skopelosatnewworld.com. Reservations are available by phone at (850) 432-6565.

Sunday, May 12, 2019

What 536 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
JS
1 review
Dined on April 12, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Food was excellent except for steak.. it was cooked right but dry and no flavor at all not unless you add sauce. Appetizers, fish, dessert, wine, service is excellent.. chairs ate not comfortable and should add some booth for a couple to seat together.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on April 15, 2019

We really appreciate your feedback, Joan! I'm glad you enjoyed the apps, fish, dessert and wine but I'm sorry there was an issue with the steak. We'll pass that note along to the kitchen, and the seating note along to the owner. Thanks again!

Report
Helpful
OT
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on April 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had a great dinner!

Skopelos at New World
Responded on April 15, 2019

Hope we'll see you again!

Report
Helpful
BB
Tallahassee
1 review
Dined on April 5, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 3ambience 4

Very disappointed in the two pasta DeLuna entrees and mushroom ravioli our party ordered. One dish was cold and the other two were barely edible. There was an unpleasant odor to the seafood, the sauce was bland and the noodles tasted like they came out of a box. In addition, the table water is tap water so we ordered bottled water for the table. 4 bottles cost us $32, wow!I have eaten here before and thought it was ok but after this experience we will not be returning. Very disappointed!

Skopelos at New World
Responded on April 9, 2019

I'm sorry for the trouble with your food! We always want to ensure our guests are more than satisfied, and hope a manager was able to help you out while you were here. Thank you for letting us know on here -- we do hope to see you again!

Report
Helpful
RW
1 review
Dined on April 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is the first time we have been to Skopelos in many years. It was amazing! Everyone greeted us so friendly. Our table was ready right away. Our server, Luke, did a fabulous job. The first thing he asked was if we were celebrating an occasion. It was our anniversary dinner so he brought us two glasses of champagne. Luke was very knowledgeable of the menu and drinks. Our food was delicious and the wait was minimal. And creme brule for dessert. It could not have been any better. Thank you Skopelos and Luke for making our dining experience wonderful.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on April 9, 2019

We appreciate the compliments, and reading that Luke did a fabulous job! Thank you so much!

Report
Helpful
KA
Tallahassee
3 reviews
Dined on April 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Fabulous as always. Pensacola’s finest

Report
Helpful
N
Mobile
1 review
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 5

Drinks were a little slow. Also I ordered the chicken with potatoes and vegetable medley. It came out with spinach instead of the vegetable medley I asked for and the potatoes were burnt I had to send them back for fresh ones. There was no flavor on the vegetables nor the potatoes very Bland. The fried Banana Foster was gross so I'm glad it was free for my birthday. I will say the gumbo was good and the chicken. I would give it one more chance before not recommending it.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on April 8, 2019

We really appreciate your feedback, Nikki! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
MS
1 review
Dined on March 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

The food and service was great. Skopelos was the first restaurant I ate in when moving to Pensacola 16 years ago. I've dined there many times since and have never been disappointed. The food and service has been consistent, which is what is important . The location is easy to get to and usually plenty of parking unless there is a function in the banquet facility next door.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on April 1, 2019

Thank you for the compliments, Mark! We appreciate you!!

Report
Helpful
MS
Tallahassee
1 review
Dined on March 24, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 5ambience 5

While our elderly guests thoroughly enjoyed the stuffed French Toast, our Eggs Benedict were the worst we have ever had. One set of muffins was close to being burned, the Canadian Bacon was dry, over cooked and tough, the poached eggs were undercooked, and the Hollandaise Sauce was anything but. It looked like melted butter and was tasteless. When a small container of Sauce was brought, it looked right, but melted, did not taste lemony or buttery - tasteless! We ate the meal because we did not want to upset our elderly guests. We have eaten at Skopelos many times - lunch, brunch, dinner, and will return, but will closely look at other diners plates before ordering Eggs Benedict. I can only assume Gus was not in the kitchen yesterday.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on March 29, 2019

I'm really sorry for the problems with your Eggs Benedict! That's definitely not a normal comment about our benedict so I'm not sure what went wrong, but we've gotten your comments over to Chef Silivos so he can look into it. Thank you for letting us know -- and my sincerest apologies again!

Report
Helpful
JS
Tallahassee
1 review
Dined on March 21, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 2

The waitress had poor English and was not knowledgeble re menu or other. We were there at happy hour $3 drinksand asked for house drinks. She ordereed and charged for $10 aged scotch, etc. Bartender should have cauught this. Then food order wrong. We left . Had been becoming regulars. Not now! Wwe paid $3 for the drinkd after mgr argued.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on March 25, 2019

I'm sorry there was a problem with your service, Joe! We appreciate the feedback and will pass this along to our managers.

Report
Helpful
OT
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on March 20, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We took my granddaughter for her 8th birthday and everything was PERFECT! The food was outstanding and the staff was very attentive. They treated my granddaughter like a princess and we all enjoyed the evening very much!

Skopelos at New World
Responded on March 21, 2019

We're thrilled you celebrated with us, and that your granddaughter felt as special as she should. :) Thank you for the compliments! We hope to see you again.

Report
Helpful
HC
Tallahassee
1 review
Dined on March 17, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 5

Service was a bit slow. I ordered the shrimp and grits and the key lime pie both of which were very good. Tilt cam with a fruit plate that had been prepared do long that thefruit was dried out on top.
There was o e small slice each of honeydew, cantaloupe, kiwi and one strawberry cut in half. Even the lettuce garnish on the plate was wilted.
The ambiance was nice. Noise level pretty loud.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on March 20, 2019

We appreciate you dining with us, and for your feedback, Holly! Hope we'll see you again.

Report
Helpful
JB
1 review
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

As good or better as the original location. Very attentive staff and the food was amazing. A little pricey, but well worth it!!

Skopelos at New World
Responded on March 18, 2019

Thank you, Jake!

Report
Helpful
ES
1 review
Dined on March 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

One of the best dining experiences we have had in Pensacola.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on March 18, 2019

Thank you for the kind words! We're thrilled you enjoyed it and hope to see you again!

Report
Helpful
OT
Tallahassee
1 review
Dined on March 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Skopelos is fantastic for vegans start to finish even though it's not a vegan restaurant. Also every Wednesday is vegan and vino night.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on March 10, 2019

We're so glad you enjoyed the vegan options! Thank you for your review.

Report
Helpful
FA
Tallahassee
8 reviews
Dined on March 2, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

Unsatisfied returning customer..A $26 Cioppino dinner is a big plate of potatoes!Btw, they need to fix their ceiling, by the entrance , its moldy!

Skopelos at New World
Responded on March 14, 2019

I'm sorry there was a problem with your Cioppino, Ann! Our managers always work to ensure our guests are happy, so I hope you mentioned something when you were here? We also recently had a leak from heavy rains and are working with a team to correct that. Thanks for your input! We hope to see you again!

Report
Helpful
D
1 review
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

We would have given 5 stars in every category if it weren't for the following: The room was extremely noisy making it difficult to hold a normal conversation. The food was excellent with one exception, the polenta served with the Ossa Bucca was salty to the point of being inedible. When brought to the attention of our server the staff took care of the issue by providing a substitute for the polenta. Nigel, our server, was one of the best we have ever had and made the experience special. The food and the service was well worth the price of the dinner. We would highly recommend Skopelos to a friend.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on March 4, 2019

Thank you for detailing what you enjoyed and what would have made the experience a little better! We're currently working with an interior designer to alleviate/buffer the noisiness when we're busy. Expect that to be fixed soon! I'm sorry for the issue with the polenta but happy Nigel helped the problem, and that you found everything else to be excellent! Thank you again for your thoughtful feedback.

Report
Helpful
OT
Tallahassee
2 reviews
Dined on February 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Friends met to celebrate my husband’s birthday. Everyone was very pleased with their food and the service.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on March 1, 2019

Thank you!

Report
Helpful
HL
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on February 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Skopelos is easily one of my favorite local Pensacola restaurants. The vegan options are AMAZING! I highly recommend the country fried steak made with the impossible burger. The buffalo cauliflower bites on the Mezze menu are another just for ALL customers. Excellent!

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 26, 2019

We appreciate that. Thank you, Heather! If you haven't stopped by on Wednesday night yet, we do different Vegan + Vino specials every week -- a fun night to check out!

Report
Helpful
AB
Denver
2 reviews
Dined on February 17, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

It was good but nothing to write home about. I might even say mediocre food.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 18, 2019

We appreciate your feedback, Anna.

Report
Helpful
OT
Las Vegas
5 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Overall good experience.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 18, 2019

Thank you for dining with us!

Report
Helpful
OT
Denver
5 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wow. Just wow. Amazing food, ambiance and value. I’m vegan and the options here for vegans are so delicious! There are even vegan options on the dessert menu which in most restaurants is unheard of. Kudos to the owners and chefs for such a great job on making a loyal customer out of this girl! I’ll be back! Count on it! ❤️❤️❤️

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 18, 2019

Thank you!! We'll pass your compliments along to the chefs. :) We really appreciate it!

Report
Helpful
CB
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great dinner experience. Oysters Skopolos are excellent, entres and dessert never disappoint.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 26, 2019

Thank you, Cholla!

Report
Helpful
J
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our waiter was absolutely fantastic. The steak was cooked to order perfectly and the soup du jor was delicious. It was, however, a little loud

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 18, 2019

Thanks for the feedback, Jordan! We're currently working with an interior designer to help with the noise on busy Friday & Saturday nights -- we should have this taken care of very soon! Hope you'll stop in again to see the difference (and so we can cook you another delicious steak!) :)

Report
Helpful
TB
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My husband and I were married at New World Lannding almost three years ago, and we got to try the food. It was fantastic! Now that we live out of town, whenever we come back to Florida we always make sure to eat at Skopelos! I definitely recommend.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 18, 2019

Happy Anniversary! What a fun tradition to come back and visit the place you were married. We're honored to be a part of it! Safe travels home, and we look forward to seeing you again next time you're in town!

Report
Helpful
JF
Tallahassee
2 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

The food is very good. I had the Greek grouper and it was excellent. Wine choices are sufficient and not to expensive. Is the dining area dated or is that ambiance? I think it should be updated. My server was excellent. Parking is easy.
A good reasonable choice without a lot of the crowds.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 20, 2019

Thanks for your feedback, John!

Report
Helpful
DB
Jacksonville
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Awesome experience, Jerry was very attentive and his suggestions were spot on.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 18, 2019

Thank you, Donald! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report
Helpful
OT
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on February 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was great! Diana was an amazing server!

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 13, 2019

Thank you!

Report
Helpful
r
1 review
Dined on February 12, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

I know no chef likes to 'well done' a filet but if that's what is ordered that's the way it should come----'butterfly' and get rid of the red. However, the tastes of everything----great.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 14, 2019

Thank you for the comments! We're always happy to prepare a steak however our guest desires. I've shared your comment with our Executive Chef, and he agreed, our servers should definitely ask if our guest wants it butterflied with a well done request. We'll pass this along to managers as well so they can emphasize with our servers. Thank you again for the feedback!

Report
Helpful
JD
Tallahassee
2 reviews
Dined on February 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Skopelos is my favorite restaurant in Pensacola. The food is so consistently good. I love that there are vegan options. I’m a big fan of their special event wine pairings.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 12, 2019

Thank you, JDW418!

Report
Helpful
SM
New Orleans
2 reviews
Dined on February 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food and service was above excellent. Our first visit based on a local friend's suggestion. I can heartily recommend this restaurant for a romantic evening!

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 12, 2019

Thank you, Samuel! (And thanks to your friend for referring us!) We hope to see you again!

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on February 10, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 2

Good food but very loud. Tables are close together and it is hard to get around.

Report
Helpful
J
Tallahassee
3 reviews
Dined on February 10, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 4

I've had dinner here , and couldn't wait to have Brunch here. My first impression that morning of the manager unlocking the door and walking away was shocking instead of holding it open for the guests and greeting them , it's those small hospitality gestures that guests remember and sets you apart from others .Well brunch wasn't the same quality of food at all , I ordered Farmhouse which consisted of a omelet loaded with veggies and goat cheese . not only was is it greasy but the goat cheese {which i love} was overpowering and tasted bad and made it undesirable ,grits were just ok (Fish house is better) . The meal also came with a fruit plate to start ,fruit was room temperature , yuck warm fruit ? Not sure I would return for brunch server was polite nothing outstanding

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 12, 2019

We will definitely pass your feedback along to our managers, Jaime. Our hostess absolutely should have opened the door I'm very sorry they didn't! Thanks too for your feedback on your dishes, we'll pass that along to our kitchen team. Whether for dinner or brunch, we do hope to see you again!

Report
Helpful
JS
1 review
Dined on February 9, 2019
Overall 1food 5service 5ambience 4

We made a reservation for the Barsalona room for 630 . We arrived early and told the hostess we were going to be at the bar till our reservation time. At 630 I went to the hostess station to see if our table was ready and we were told we could not sit in our resserved room as others came and requested that room. This was a special evening we were celebrating and wanted the room we reserved. The two hosts were simply dismissive . Very disappointing and certainly not the evening we planned .

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 13, 2019

We're really sorry for the trouble with your reservation, Joe. I just looked back at your Open Table reservation and there wasn't a note for a dining preference -- I'm sorry that didn't go through, and that the Barcelona room was filled by the time you were ready to eat! I'm glad you enjoyed the food & service but definitely apologize that you didn't get the table you had hoped for.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2019
Overall 2food 4service 1ambience 1

The food was great but the waiters we had were rude and a bit snobby. We felt that we were being judged the whole time.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 11, 2019

Oh no! This doesn't sound like the service we're known for. I'm really sorry there was a problem! If you'd be willing to message us what name your reservation was under, we can determine who your server was and make sure our managers address the problem right away. Very happy to hear you enjoyed the food though. Thank you for your feedback!

Report
Helpful
OT
Tallahassee
2 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is our new favorite place. The food is absolutely perfect every time and it isn’t overpriced like some local spots serving similar food. The atmosphere is lovely and quiet and service is always great from all staff we’ve encountered. Glad they are back and downtown.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 12, 2019

We really appreciate the kind words! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
CT
Las Vegas
12 reviews
Dined on February 7, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

Service was quick and efficient. Baked oysters were excellent. Tried the Greek tiramisu but was disappointed in their interpretation as it lacked any coffee flavor and texture was off. I would recommend the restaurant and will probably go again.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 11, 2019

We appreciate the feedback across the board. Thank you! We'll pass this along to the kitchen. Hope to see you again!

Report
Helpful
OT
Orlando
4 reviews
Dined on February 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
PP
Atlanta
7 reviews
Dined on February 3, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Skopelos for Sunday brunch is a treat--especially now that there is a chef who knows how to make an omelette!

Skopelos at New World
Responded on February 6, 2019

Glad you enjoyed our Sunday brunch, Pierre! Hope we'll see you again.

Report
Helpful
n
New Orleans
421 reviews
Dined on January 29, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our first visit to Skopelos at its new location. The food was very good. Easy parking which is a plus for downtown Pensacola. Good selection of drinks and a wide variety of small plates, soups, appetizers and salads. The scamp is very good as was the lamb. Looks like they have several good steaks as well. Good service. Apparently the chef will make special desserts table side, we will try that next time. Good reasonable wine selection. Worth the drive from the beach.

Skopelos at New World
Responded on January 30, 2019

Thank you for coming downtown to visit us, and for the compliments! Yes, the tableside desserts are to die for -- bananas foster, crepes suzette, and strawberries romanoff, all created & cooked right next to your table. Look forward to hearing what you think when you try it!

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on January 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My friend and I ate brunch before the opera and it was delicious. I had the stuffed French toast and she had an omelette. Everything excellent. We sat in the glassed in room so pretty
Waitress was wonderful can’t wait to go back

Skopelos at New World
Responded on January 28, 2019

Thank you for joining us for brunch, and for the kind words! We hope you had an incredible time at the opera as well. :)

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14