SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar

4.6
144 Reviews
CAN$31 to CAN$50
Seafood
It’s obvious we’re all about oysters (they’re chilling on ice as soon as you walk in), but one look at our menu and you’ll see that Shuck is so much more.

Our raw bar features the freshest fish and shellfish with inventive flavors designed to complement, never cover up. Our snacks, sides, and starters are perfect for sharing, and our mains elevate favourite classics from down home to down right delicious.

Warm wood paneling and eclectic glasswork create an atmosphere that captures the spirit of Maritime living. There’s no red carpet here, but we have laid out the best in paper over our tablecloths so you can get to slurping, sharing, and savoring. Join us for lunch in a jiffy, or hang around for a while over dinner for an experience that’s modern, authentic, and unabashedly East Coast.

Support SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 144 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
AR
ARDENTTRAVELER
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall2food2service3ambience2

Was our second time as first time was for a celebration and not stellar experience. A year later and not much has changed. Food was ok, service was ok and we sat on the patio so likely service would be better if we sat inside.

AN
ANmaco
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Service wasn’t great. Not the waitresses fault she just had too many tables I think. She was running around like crazy. Seafood tower was disappointing. The had lobster was tiny and virtually empty. It was 3 bites. I’m not sure why they hollowed out the body before serving?? The food is always good here and I’ll go back but hire more waiters and give more value to this tower.

L
Lill
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food
Amazing service
Worth the experience

PP
vipPaulP
Vancouver
21 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Incredible Food & Maritime experience, absolutely loved it

m
martin
Charlotte
1 review
Dined on July 27, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

If you are interested n the mood to partake in some delicious seafood, you would be hard pressed to find a better venue.

SC
ShellyC
Birmingham
9 reviews
Dined on July 27, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great oysters and halibut!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service and great food!

JM
JeffM
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on July 24, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience4

Really nice patio but service was very slow. Food was good but not worth the price. There was also a couple beside us who were both extremely drunk (even for halifax), yelling at cars passing by, and none of the staff said anything. I wouldn't recommend based on our experience.

SL
SharleneL
Atlantic Canada
4 reviews
Dined on July 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best happy hour downtown

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outstanding Happy Hour!

SC
ShellyC
Birmingham
10 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Great patio, server was a bit slow around happy hour but otherwise a great experience.

G
Grazer
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined on July 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, service, value and ambience! Classiest patio in the city!

AJ
AJay
1 review
Dined on July 11, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

It was my first time at Shuck, and I loved the variety of fresh seafood! The oysters were incredible - Very fresh and clean tasting, and the seasoning options were nice too. I got the seafood boil, and I would have loved there to be more seasoning or flavour to the sauce/liquid that the boil came in. Maybe even a dipping sauce? My partner had the fish and chips, and it was very well cooked and a generous serving.

SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar
Responded on July 13, 2021

Hello Ajay, Thank you so much for your feedback. We're so happy you enjoyed your experience with us and we will pass your notes on to our chefs regarding your meals. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
B
Brian
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Service was excellent
Food was average. Wine selection was poor
For the money not worth the experience

CY
CYRILJ
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Wonderful meal. Say outside so a little noisy near the street but was nice to be part of a lively atmosphere

H
Halieats
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really nice people watching patio

f
foodie
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great selection of oysters. Friendly staff. Nice ambiance

ME
MaryEM
1 review
Dined on June 21, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Great place to go for date night on a nice summer evening! Great ambiance and fresh seafood! We had a great evening there last night celebrating my birthday!

SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar
Responded on June 26, 2021

Hi Mary, Thank you so much for you feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
TF
TrevorF
1 review
Dined on June 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As always, the food and service are incredible! My favorite place to eat in Halifax.

AC
AnikaC
1 review
Dined on June 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The staff at shuck are so kind, the food was great, and this place has the best happy hour!

G
Grazer
Atlantic Canada
2 reviews
Dined on June 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful day on the patio, Happy Hour great value! Terrific food, well curated wine list! Excellent service!

s
slightlyunsatisfactory
1 review
Dined on June 9, 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience5

The oysters were amazing. The mussels did not taste fresh. The black ink squid pasta, great. The fish and chips also great. Halibut steak overcooked and dry.

Overall, the outdoor patio venue was great. Our waitress was very sweet. Just disappointed in some of the food, for the price.

H
vipH2trips
New England
2 reviews
Dined on June 6, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Perfect patio with shade from the trees. Great service and awesome cocktails. Can’t wait to return

RD
vipRobertD
Ottawa
4 reviews
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great patio

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on June 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Dylan was an unreal server and the drinks were amazing. Get the margarita!

JH
JHennessy
1 review
Dined on June 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, service. Always a great place to visit.

R
Robin
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined on April 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What an amazing experience we had at Shuck! Jenna and Rebecca took such great care of us all evening with their genuine and knowledgeable hospitality. We definitely will be back for more oysters!

SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar
Responded on April 17, 2021

Hello Robin, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are really proud of our team here and happy they were able to make your visit with us a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
B
Bjaucoin
Atlantic Canada
3 reviews
Dined on April 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a wonderful first experience at Shucks. The Raw appetizers were delicious and the fish and chips were tasty. Service was excellent. Definitely will return this restaurant and share with friends how wonderful it is.

SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar
Responded on April 17, 2021

Hello Betty Jean & Raymond, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us and can't wait to see you again!!

Report
ST
vipSaraT
Calgary
8 reviews
Dined on April 1, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience3

We were looking forward to eating at Shuck for a long time. We ended up only sharing the Petit Tower and then decided we would prefer any other place. The snow crab was soggy, the oysters were tiny and the the rest of the food was okay. The food did not reflect the price or what we expected. The biggest disappointment we’ve had in a long time.

SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar
Responded on April 6, 2021

Hello Sara, I'm very sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you it is taken very seriously. Please feel free to contact me directly at aaron@rcr.ca and hopefully we can find a way to make it up to you.

Report
G
Ginger
Atlantic Canada
2 reviews
Dined on March 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for the Dine Around Dinner.
Totally enjoyed the meal.
Looking forward to returning for another great dining experience.

EM
EMac
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined on March 20, 2021
Overall1food2service2ambience1

I had really high expectations for shuck and was pretty disappointed, as were the 8 others I was with. Our server was so nice and sweet but was probably overwhelmed with a table of 9 and what was going on behind the scenes. 3 of our gnocchi’s tasted like mold but we were told it was an aged cheddar, but that wasn’t listed on the menu, nor did it taste anything like an aged cheese. Mistakes happen and that was totally ok but I felt more could have been done to make things better. I’m sure there was miscommunication on both ends but pretty disappointed I picked this spot for my birthday!

SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar
Responded on March 22, 2021

Hello, We're very sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. We understand you did not enjoy the gnocchi so we removed them from your bill and offered to replace them with something else. We didn't want anyone to leave hungry and we tried to offer whatever dishes we could to fix your meal. We removed additional items from your bill to apologize for any inconvenience. Please email me at aaron@rcr.ca if there is anything I can do to fix your experience.

Report
F
Fran
Atlantic Canada
2 reviews
Dined on March 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good food, service and ambience. For happy hour we had the shucked oysters, calamari and seafood chowder .

G
Gabriela
Atlantic Canada
2 reviews
Dined on March 18, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

We had a lovely time at Shuck. We had our 2 year old son with us and everyone was very patient and kind with us considering we had the little one.
Food was good and the service was great!

JR
JaneR
Atlantic Canada
2 reviews
Dined on March 18, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience4

Who does not Love Happy Hour?? Half price oysters. So yummy So Fresh.
support Local

MR
MaddisonR
Atlantic Canada
2 reviews
Dined on March 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing oysters and great wine! I will definitely be back for a happy hour again soon!

SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar
Responded on March 17, 2021

Hi Maddison, Thank you so much for your kind words. We're so happy you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
AR
ARDENTTRAVELER
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on February 27, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience4

The menu didn't seem to match the experience - overall the three of us found this to be one of our least favourite dining experiences. Service was rushed - although a bit understandable given the restrictions. But overall not enjoyable.

Food was ok - drinks and ambiance were nice. One guest had dine around and the dessert was returned as it wasn't set and crust way over cooked. Would have thought for a seafood restaurant there would have been more seafood entree versus burgers and deep fried fish and chips.

A
Andrew
Atlantic Canada
8 reviews
Dined on February 27, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

We had a lovely meal with great service. We split the small seafood tower as our appetizer and it was great.

Shuck is good food and surprisingly good value - especially given the comparison to its sister restaurant Cut, which is expensive and unspectacular.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined on February 21, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

We were very disappointed in this place! We ate here a couple years ago and had such a great time so we decided to try it for the dine around and what a completely different experience! The food was not great at all, they served a haddock that was suppose to have goat cheese and I never tasted a lick of any goat cheese which is what sold our table on it! The portion sizes were severely skimpy, Glass of wine was more like a shot in a glass, it just all-around felt like we were being gypped on every thing we ordered! And they only had one option for their dessert which I would recommend them changing and completely taking it off the menu their lemon tart not only was hard as rocks but for dessert it definitely was not tasty! I’m used to fine dining enjoy a nice meal but this was far from enjoyable! This is the first time in life I wrote a review on a restaurant so this has to tell you something! The service, Well the waitress did say she was new but her mentor or the other lady she ran to didn’t seem to have much of a personality or helpful!
So I’ll leave it at that! Unfortunately we took another couple with us which made it even worse because there expectation‘s we delivered to them we’re not met, Im sorry to say that we will not be returning here!

DG
DanG
Atlantic Canada
5 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was amazing. Food was quick and hot and very well presented. We enjoyed the food very much. Would recommend.

SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar
Responded on February 16, 2021

Hello Dan, Thank you so much for your positive review. We are so happy you enjoyed your experience on Valentine's Day and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Owen was a great server, very friendly & enthusiastic. Oysters were delicious & extremely fresh. We had the Valentine’s set menu, everything was cooked perfectly, hot, and delicious.

FAQs

SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (902) 429-5120.

SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar is rated 4.6 stars by 144 OpenTable diners.

SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.rcrgiftcard.ca.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.