Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1399 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Jerry Regester's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details
What 1399 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
G
San Francisco
35 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great menu. Food was amazing!! My swordfish wrapped in prosciutto with artichokes was delicious. The signature Fisherman’s cioppino was full of fresh clams, mussels, calamari and shrimp and was huge. A crab and artichoke dip usually available only in the bar was made for us at our request and was so good.
The drink menu was divine!! Especially the Martime Manhattan!
Scooners will be our go-to place for dining in Monterey in the future!!

LD
San Francisco
24 reviews
Dined on November 29, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As a Monterey Peninsula native, I give Schooners an excellent review. It's expensive---but I have never not enjoyed my visits there. We now live in the Bay Area, and I recommend it to all my friends and family when they are visiting the Peninsula. What an enjoyable atmosphere--the food and drinks are outstanding, the service and attention given to patrons is exceptional--without being over-bearing---and the views from the Bar and Restaurant are spectacular. It was first recommended to me by a local friend, and we have never been disappointed. I was so happy to find out on our latest visit that valet parking is available to patrons of the restaurant--you do not have to be a guest at the hotel. This was a life-saver to us--since it was madly raining when we arrived for our reservations. Try it--you won't be disappointed !

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Dear LouisianaDeux, Thank you for sharing such a kind review and for recommending Schooners to your family and friends. We are happy to hear your comments regarding the food and service and look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
KM
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on November 23, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Drinks were great food was good service was very good great place on the water to have a drink or go for dinner on a special occasion. It is expensive

OT
1 review
Dined on November 17, 2019
Overall2food1service3ambience2

We reserved a table at Schooners because of the accolade from Wine Spectator. The food was so disappointing. We ordered Crab cake and Wood roasted oysters for our first course. It took forever. The crab cake was cold, it had slipped to the side of the plate. We returned it. The oysters were not roasted but steamed . Presentation was dismal . Our server and supervisor apologized for everything and brought us our main course: Cioppino and Prosciutto wrapped swordfish. The swordfish was floating in an artichoke broth . The prosciutto was boiled. Boiled prosciutto?? Again presentation was lacking. Cioppino was well served. Crab, fish, mussels were in good quantity, the broth was tasteless tomato sauce. No spices, No herbs, no seasoning whatsoever. Desserts were offered as well as the oysters. Serving staff were very nice about it, but the kitchen staff and chef in particular do not create and serve food to deserve a mention next to the wine list. The description on the menu have nothing to do with the servings. We will not be back of course, so many good places in Monterey. Thank you for your time.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Dear OpenTable Diner, Thank you for sharing your feedback and we are very disappointed to hear of your dining experience. We will share your comments with our Executive Chef to ensure proper preparations are being followed. If you have any additional feedback, please contact me directly at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. We would like the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to restore your confidence. Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
d
San Francisco
8 reviews
Dined on November 9, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience5

First... Good luck finding the restaurant. We had to ask. You have to take stairs, an elevator, and we had to ask to get this infornation after we wandered around in the cold looking for the place where the signage was at.

Our service was just sub-par. We were actually served soup with teaspoons, when our food was delivered, our server never came to check on us. I ordered a glass of wine, and the server dropped cracked pepper in my glass and never replaced the wine. Our shaved Brussel Sprout salad was mayonaisy, bitter, over dressed and tasteless. The heirloom tomatoe salad had of the smallest slices of tomatoes, way too many green beans, arugula, and over saturated with cheese. Very disportionate serving. Very disappointed. Our entrees were not worth the extremely high prices. My pan seared bass was dry and overcooked. My husbands Tuna was good, cooked well, but not great. Lacked taste. We wondered why the restaurant was so empty on a Saturday night... This is why. 180.00 for dinner, for a dinner I never want to have again.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on November 11, 2019

Dear dawn, Thank you for your feedback. We are very disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations with both service and meal selections. We will review your comments with the team to ensure proper training standards are being met. If you have additional information you would like to share, please contact me directly. We hope you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
AL
1 review
Dined on November 8, 2019
Overall2food1service5ambience3

Ordered two meals of specialty pork chop at 40.00 per plate. Pork chop was half fat. Manager was made aware. Should have comped one meal instead just took only 15% off the bill despite half the meal was a waste. Our server Courtney was great, The manager needs to step up to the plate and listen to his customers. Too much competition to settle for this place.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on November 12, 2019

Dear AngieL, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the pork chops and how the manager resolved this matter. We will share this feedback with the team and if you have additional comments, I invite you to reach out to me directly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
PW
San Francisco
9 reviews
Dined on November 8, 2019
Overall2food4service4ambience1

We were covering a quite dinner. We didn’t know it was in a hotel. Children running and screaming throughout restaurant.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on November 11, 2019

Dear PenelopeW, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your experience and for the noise you encountered. If you have any additional feedback, please contact me directly at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
DO
Orange County
4 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Super pretty atmosphere on the water. Indoor or outdoor seating. I found the prices to be high for what we got.

NR
Central Coast
16 reviews
Dined on November 2, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was out of this world. Great experience on our fun weekend away.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on November 5, 2019

Dear NancyRemling, Thank you for your comments! Our culinary team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed their creations and we hope to see you again soon for another fun weekend getaway! Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
A
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on November 1, 2019
Overall1food1service5ambience3

What a disappointment! Food quality was so poor! No flavor to the oysters! Seafood soup was lukewarm, octopus ceviche tasted like it had been sitting around for days! Tourist trap! Shrimp was sooo average! For the prices, absolutely not worth it, they need to very much make some improvements! My boyfriend and I love to travel and explore new places. It is not easy to leave a bad review, but this place was very bad and we feel robbed.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on November 5, 2019

Dear Agne, Thank you for sharing your review. We are very disappointed to hear your feedback about your dining experience and we will share your comments with our Executive Chef to ensure proper standards are being followed. If you have additional information you would like to share, I invite you to reach out to me directly and I will send you my contact information separately. Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on November 1, 2019
Overall2food2service4ambience4

Expected better

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on November 5, 2019

Dear OpenTable Diner, Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations! If possible, can you reach out to me directly at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to share more details regarding your experience? Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
R
Chicago
18 reviews
Dined on October 25, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was amazing. Masha and Roberto were terrific. Surf and turf amazing.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 28, 2019

Dear Regularlettucediner, Thank you for your feedback and we will share your comments with Masha and Roberto. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the Monterey area. Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
GM
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on October 20, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience5

Limited menu

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 24, 2019

Dear 0000000000000000000000GMD, Thank you for your feedback. If possible I would like more detail and invite you to contact me directly. I will send you my contact information separately. Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
DS
1 review
Dined on October 19, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely delicious dinner right on the water. Definitely would go back. Excellent service!

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 22, 2019

Dear DianeS, Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
RB
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on October 18, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Food taste was disappointing. Great view and service was good

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 21, 2019

Dear 381RB, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I invite you to contact me directly as we would like to hear more details regarding your meals. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
D
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We saw whales while having breakfast! Priceless. And the food was amazing. Try the croissant French toast.

OT
Denver
3 reviews
Dined on October 15, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food is very good. Only complaint would be that we ordered the 4 crab legs addition and it was 2 legs cut up in 4 pieces. My salmon was very good. Cooked perfect. Service was very good. I picked this restaurant because it said great sunset views. Even though we had a window table we were not facing the West. You can see the glow of the sunset but not what I pictured.

F
Miami
6 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

The restaurant was so cold that we ate as fast as we could and got out. It was cool outside but they had AC blowing strongly on us at our window seat. Food was okay.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 15, 2019

Dear Fitz, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you found the temperature uncomfortable and we will share your comments with our team to ensure temperature controls are being followed. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Monterey area. Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on October 11, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and ambiance.

C
Kent
7 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great, food service environment it was brilliant and Megan the waitress just made it. So good we booked to go back on our last day. Great quality and great food. Give it a try you won’t be disappointed 😀👍

OT
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on October 6, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Romantic Getaway

L
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food and view was great.

RB
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Special request was not done or communicated that it couldn't be done.

I
Tampa
5 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful place!!!

Report
BK
Los Angeles
4 reviews
Dined on September 29, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

My grilled oysters were mediocre. Broccoli was bad-salty and poorly spiced! Chowder was average. Liked the mixed calamari. Bread was good!

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 3, 2019

Dear BaraK, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent dinner. We were disappointed to hear you were underwhelmed with your meal and we will share your feedback with our Executive Chef to ensure proper preparations are being followed. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
B
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience2

Food ok but service was too rushed and too busy. We weren’t left alone for 5 mins to enjoy our food as too many waiting staff were coming to our table asking if everything was ok. It would have been ok if they hadn’t had done this! Good restaurant service should be unobtrusive, quite the opposite at Schooners!
Also very expensive!

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 3, 2019

Dear Barney, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to Schooners. We were disappointed to hear that you found the service to be intrusive and we will share your comments with our team. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
OT
Seattle
2 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our Birthdays just spending time with family!

FF
Orange County
6 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Late lunch on the patio overlooking the bay. Great view and good food, wonderful server. One of our best meals while vacationing.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 15, 2019

Dear FoodandFun, Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the food, views and service provided. We hope to see you again on your next vacation to the Monterey area. Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
CM
Sacramento
19 reviews
Dined on September 22, 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience5

We had 4 in our party for dinner. Between the 4 of us, we had the ravioli, ribeye, swordfish & tuna & calamari appetizer.The food was good but not great. Our service was really slow. I’m not sure if our waitress had too many tables or if it was the kitchen? We had a nice experience but not what you’d expect for the caliber of the restaurant or our past experiences.

DE
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on September 21, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Perfect ending to a perfect vacation! Excellent food, excellent service amazing views of Monterey.

OT
Richmond
3 reviews
Dined on September 16, 2019
Overall4food4service2ambience4

Staff was very accommodating in an unfortunate situation. Food was good (but the entire place needs a quality check for the price)

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on September 24, 2019

Dear OpenTable Diner, Thank you for sharing your review. If possible, please contact me at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa so that I can learn more details regarding your experience. Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
AS
1 review
Dined on September 14, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great ambiance and view of the pacific. The food was amazing, we had angry prawns and salmon, and both were very good.

KH
1 review
Dined on September 14, 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Very romantic, excellent service. The tables are a bit close to each other so it's hard not to overhear close by conversations especially if the patrons have been drinking and are loud(the table next to us had a tipsy and loud gentleman). Food was good but the Crab Bisque we ordered as an appetizer was AMAZING and we wished we had that for the main course.

RJ
Seattle
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food and view were exceptional. Service, including our waiter, Steven, was the best!

PB
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2019
Overall3food2service4ambience4

Overcooked octopus. Entrees took 50 mins and not too good. 8 very small gorgonzola and walnut raviolis for $26 and kale was undercooked. Locals and won't be back

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
Responded on September 24, 2019

Dear PaulB, Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit to Schooners. We will share your comments with our culinary team for review and hope to welcome you back to give us another chance to exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Chris Sommers Managing Director Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report
DO
Dallas
14 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2019
Overall5food4service4ambience5

The Food and Service was great. The view is excellent. Very nice wine list.

R
Cincinnati
4 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2019
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Great evening dining experience.

SD
Phoenix
10 reviews
Dined on September 10, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was our anniversary.

H
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience4

The menu selection was just ok, I was looking for more local fish on the menu. The view is great.

OT
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on September 3, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great food and excellent service they gave us a window table for our anniversary dinner so the view was great.