Samuel Slater's Restaurant

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
534 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Now offering outdoor dining on the beach or patio, indoor dining, and curbside or dockside pickup!

Named after the former Webster, MA resident and “Father of the American Industrial Revolution,” Samuel Slater’s Restaurant is Indian Ranch’s flagship restaurant sitting on the shores of Lake Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg. Our menu includes a variety of steaks, chops, and seafood all prepared using only the best quality ingredients available.
What 534 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
LM
LindsayM
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

My husband and I got married here a year ago (09/27/19) we had our anniversary lunch here and it was just as good as the day of our wedding! The drinks and food were amazing! Our waitress Jordan was GREAT! We will continue to celebrate our anniversary here every year!

BF
BillF
New England
3 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Nice atmosphere. The waitstaff was attentive and nice people. All of our entrees were very good. Quality over quantity. the desserts were different and well done. Overall a nice evening out.

LP
LizP
New England
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always super! Love how they change up the menu but keep the main stays available. Service (new waitress) and food - five stars for our experience!

K
Kevin
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall1food3service4ambience3

Was there earlier in quarantine and had excellent food and service. Food this time was subpar- portion and taste. No plates given for apps. Bread was given but no butter provided. Asked for butter and got one packet for four rolls. Waitress was very apologetic but did a great job.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded a day ago

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive the level of service that our staff is capable of during your recent visit. We always aim to deliver you the freshest and most flavorful food possible, but we apologize if your meal was not to your liking. We will certainly pass your comments along to the team; also, we hope you will provide additional feedback to us at feedback@samuelslaters.co m. We value your opinions and aim to make your next visit worthy of 5 stars.

Report
M
Mae1
New York Area
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic setting, food and entertainment. We will definitely be returning

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to having you back.

Report
LB
LisaB
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Our first time at Samuel Slater's was very nice. The service was friendly, accommodating and very efficient. We were not rushed or limited timewise to make room for other parties. The deck was lovely, and the entire restaurant was open to the outdoors and the lake, giving it an ocean-beach restaurant vibe. The drink menu was extensive and the wine selection was great. The food was just okay, which was a bit disappointing. Our overall experience was good. Would I return again? Sure, maybe in the summer when the lake view makes it more enticing to dine there.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded 2 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Would you be willing to reach out to us directly at feedback@samuelslaters.c om to elaborate on how we might be able to improve? We value your opinions and would love to hear from you.

Report
WH
WendyH
New England
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service, food and atmosphere were all wonderful. I highly recommend and will be back soon

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the five stars, Wendy. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
JA
JANE
1 review
Dined on September 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

On our first visit to Samuel Slater's we had the opportunity to be seated on the deck on a beautiful and clear evening; thereby having a scenic view. Service was prompt and very courteous. Social distancing was much appreciated. Food was perfectly cooked as requested and delicious. THUMBS UP!

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review, Jane. Our team works hard to give our guests the safest and best dining experience possible and we are vary happy to hear that you had a great evening. Please feel free to reach out to us at feedback@samuelslaters.c om with any additional comments. We look forward to having you back.

Report
MI
MarkI
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We thought it best to make a reservation because it was Saturday. We arrived about 10 minutes early and we were greeted and seated right away. Our waitress was attentive and courteous. Our food was brought to us in a timely manner and all 4 of our meals were hot when served. All 4 of us enjoyed our meals which isn't always the case when we eat out. It was nice to find local restaurant that pleased all 4 of us. We will be dining there again!

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded 2 days ago

Thanks for leaving us a review. We aim to offer a menu with options for everyone and are happy to hear that everyone in your party enjoyed their meals. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Outdoor for live music. Food was delish but thought it weird to spend good money to eat with plastic ware in a takeout container. It was on the beach so I guess it makes a little sense.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded a day ago

Thanks for your note and you are correct. We use takeout containers and single-use utensils on the beach to keep glassware off the beach. It also helps us handle and deliver meals more safely and keep them warm. Normal dinnerware is used inside. Please feel tree to reach out to us at feedback@samuelslaters.co m with any additional comments, suggestions or questions. We are always looking for ways to improve and bring you the best dining experience possible. We hope you will dine with us again.

Report
JO
JohnO
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great view of the lake. Sat outside on the deck under heaters.

LR
LoriR
1 review
Dined on September 17, 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Samuel Slaters offers perfect set-up for dining during the pandemic.
The view is spectacular, food and service were good and comfortable outdoor dining provided for worry-free experience.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 21, 2020

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! Our team works hard to ensure guests feel safe and comfortable when they dine with us, and we try to provide dining options for every comfort level. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us and hope you'll stop by again soon.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New England
3 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Staff are friendly, cocktails fabulous, food delicious, comfortable vibe with great view and fantastic live musician.

My new favorite local place after work.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 21, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a review. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report
AW
AdamW
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on September 16, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Service was outstanding. Would go back for apps and drinks. Entrees are a hard pass. Salmon was flavorless and undercooked. Filet tasted like it was recently thawed out. Oysters were excellent

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 21, 2020

Thank you for your review. Our kitchen aims to prepare the freshest and best food possible to every guest and we are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your meal. We will be sure to pass your comments along to the kitchen and encourage you to reach out to us at feedback@samuelslaters.c om with additional comments and suggestions. We are always looking for ways to improve and would appreciate hearing from you. We would like to make your next visit worthy of five stars!

Report
JB
JeanniferB
1 review
Dined on September 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was great, food delicious, love all the drink specials too. Can't beat the view or that lake front breeze. Very clean and all tables are nicely spread out. We started coming here in June and it seems to have become a regular weekly spot for us.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 17, 2020

Thanks so much for your review and continued support. Our team works hard to provide the safest and most comfortable dining experience possible, and we are so glad that you have continued to visit us throughout the summer. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

First time dining here. It was good, just difficult with the Covid to eat such a lovely meal out of takeout containers. Food could of been hotter. Service was excellent. Paige was our server.
Next time we will sit on the deck or inside!

MM
MariaM
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience3

It was okay, but they should definitely have more offerings....

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 21, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a review. We take pride in the menu our kitchen has put together and try to offer a balanced menu with choices that appeal to a variety of diners. On the weekends, we supplement the menu with specials. We feel that we still offer a rather diverse menu compared to other restaurants in the area. We encourage you to reach out to us at feedback@samuelslaters.c om with additional details about your visit and other suggestions for improvement and hope you will dine with us again.

Report
LG
LeslieG
New England
6 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Perfect place for a relaxing afternoon of great music, food & drink.

MD
MattD
New England
2 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great outdoor dining by the water with live music from 2:00 to 5:00. Prices are reasonable, the food was great and the service was excellent. This was our third time there on a Saturday.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 16, 2020

Thanks for the five stars! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report
e
emh1960
Baltimore
12 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Server was fabulous- polite and efficient and just plain nice. This restaurant is located along the driveway for a campground and overlooking the lake and a concert venue. It was very quiet and we had outside dining on the patio. The restaurant is definitely updated and clean. Comfortable seats. Cloth napkins. Good prices. Happened upon it by being unexpectedly delayed with an errand in central Massachusetts and we got hungry and decided to give it a try. Again the food was good and the server was hard working, super organized, and with a confident and friendly demeanor that made us welcome.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 16, 2020

Thank you for your review. Our staff works hard to give guests the best dining experience possible and appreciates you taking the time to leave feedback. We hope you will dine with us again soon!

Report
MV
MelodieV
New England
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great Cocktails. Yummy food. Friendly service. THE VIEW ! 100% recommend

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 16, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a review. We hope you'll dine with us again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We sat beachside and it was great. Live music, good food, felt “socially-distant” enough.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2020
Overall3food5service3ambience2

The food was delicious, service was fine. We were absolutely freezing with all the doors open on a 60 degree night. We requested to be moved and were relocated only one table further in. Many patrons were visibly uncomfortable inside.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 21, 2020

Thanks for your comments. In an effort to increase ventilation throughout the restaurant, we have been trying to keep the doors open as much as possible and close the doors as it cools off in the evening. We apologize that this made for an uncomfortable experience; as we head out of summer season, we will certainly be more mindful of the temperature in the restaurant. We encourage you reach out to us at feedback@samuelslaters.c om with any additional comments or suggestions.

Report
LM
LorieM
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

We went to see the outside entertainment. Jediah was excellent. My only complaint was that the food could have been hotter. French fries were actually cold. Beside that, service was good and we had a great time.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 21, 2020

Thanks for your review. We’re very sorry that your food came out cold. This is certainly not acceptable. With the cooler weather, meals served outside sometimes cool off quickly from the time they leave the kitchen to the time you start eating. We will bring this issue up with the kitchen and wait staff so we can prevent it from happening in the future. Please email us at feedback@samuelslaters.c om with additional feedback on your recent experience with us. We hope you’ll dine with us again.

Report
GD
GerryD
New England
1 review
Dined on September 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent food, service. Value and atmosphere.
Thank uou

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 16, 2020

Thank you for your review. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food,service and atmosphere..outdoor seating on the deck at sunset was perfect

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 9, 2020

Thanks for your review. We hope you will dine with us again soon!

Report
JT
JackieT
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was terrific from the host/wait staff to the food! Loved the music!!

F
Friends
New England
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience5

Beautiful holiday week-end late lunch. The service was friendly and helpful, although the waiter forgot a couple of things, but no big deal. Music was great along with the view. We’ll go vack for sure.

TG
ThomasG
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great and the service was very good. Nice patio area and great music to listen to. Musical group was very good. Just a perfect day, weather nice. Had a great time.

c
carolines
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

sat on deck enjoyed the view. and had a great meal. staff was great

B
vipBarb
New England
3 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience3

Our waitress was very good with attention at all times as needed. The salmon was a little fishy and dry. The chopped salad was very good and my husband said the Mac and cheese was very good! Was wishing they would’ve closed the doors to the outside Or used a heat source as it got cooler/darker, so we shivered through the last 1/2 hour. Good social distancing. Would recommend giving it a try.

LB
LoriB
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We ate on the beach. The atmosphere was fun and relaxing. The service was attentive and friendly. We were given plastic utensils and I asked for real silver ware as I was eating steak. The waitress was very happy to accommodate my request. The food was delicious. I had steak tips and my husband had haddock. We were both pleased with our meals. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a relaxing place to eat.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 9, 2020

We appreciate you leaving us a review. Our staff works hard to bring you the best dining experience possible and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit. We hope you will dine with us again soon!

Report
L
Lisa
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience5

This was a great dining experience. We loved the view. Our food was really good and moderate in price. We originally had a reservation for a beach table but when we saw the view from the deck, we asked to be seated up there and they were very accommodating as there were tables available on the deck. Would highly recommend this spot for outdoor dining on a nice day.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 9, 2020

Thanks for your review, Lisa. We encourage you to send any additional comments or suggestions for improvement along to us a feedback@samuelslaters.c om. We value your opinion and look forward to having you back!

Report
TS
TrudyS
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Our waiter was Ben and he was great. We sat outside and found it to be very enjoyable. They had some acoustic music playing which was nice to listen to while we ate. Food came out hot and was very good. It was a nice afternoon with good views. We would definitely come back again.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 9, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We look forward to having you back and encourage you to reach out to us at feedback@samuelslaters.c om with any additional comments or suggestions for improvement.

Report
m
melissa
New England
1 review
Dined on September 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a perfect evening seated right by the beach. Our waitress was amazing!
The food was delicious.

JG
JaneG
Denver
3 reviews
Dined on August 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Such an enjoyable meal. The food was great, the atmosphere perfect but what made our evening the most enjoyable was our server, Sam. She was great. We’ll definitely be back. Thanks!

KC
KimC
New England
1 review
Dined on August 30, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Great time as always, the entire staff is friendly and hard working !! Jared was our waiter and did an amazing job.
Highly recommend this restaurant, their Covid 19 procedures are spot on

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 2, 2020

Thanks for the review. Our staff works hard to bring you the safest and best dining experience possible, and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit. We'll certainly pass your comments along. We hope you'll dine with us again soon and encourage you to reach out to us at feedback@samuelslaters.c om with any additional comments or suggestions for improvement.

Report
DB
DaveB
1 review
Dined on August 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for apps and drinks between lunch and dinner time. Outdoor dining by the water, acoustic music, service was great, tables well spaced, food was very good. Overall very happy. Will definitely be back.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 2, 2020

Thanks for the review, Dave. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to having you back.

Report
KP
KerriP
1 review
Dined on August 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was amazing wait staff was excellent. Excellent service

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 9, 2020

Thanks for the five stars! We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Report
JF
JoeF
1 review
Dined on August 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Samuel Slaters always a great meal- and good variety! 4 diners had soup to nuts and all was delicious!!!

FAQs

Samuel Slater's Restaurant offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (508) 943-1639.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant is rated 4.3 stars by 534 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.