Samuel Slater's Restaurant

4.3
562 Reviews
$30 and under
American
Samuel Slater's Restaurant will be hibernating for the winter but will be returning in the spring of 2021. We are looking forward to celebrating Indian Ranch's 75th anniversary with you next season and have many new events planned for 2021 in Samuel Slaters Hall. Please stay in touch. We will continue to hold special events like our wine and comedy dinners and are available for private parties and functions that comply with local and state guidelines. If you are interested in holding your special event at Samuel Slater's, call us at 508-943-1639 or email functions@samuelslaters.com. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Named after the former Webster, MA resident and “Father of the American Industrial Revolution,” Samuel Slater’s Restaurant is Indian Ranch’s flagship restaurant sitting on the shores of Lake Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg. Our menu includes a variety of steaks, chops, and seafood all prepared using only the best quality ingredients available.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 562 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
P
Paralegal
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on October 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience2

Beautiful view of the lake.

CM
CathyM
1 review
Dined on October 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Enjoyed dining experience from beginning to end. Fun, comfortable and delicious food!

HG
HeatherG
New England
1 review
Dined on October 24, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Wonderful seafood selection; great outdoor seating; friendly service!

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 28, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Our team strives to deliver the best food and service possible and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit. We would welcome any further feedback and encourage you to reach out to us at feedback@samuelslaters.c om with any additional comments or suggestions for improvement. We hope you will dine with us again.

Report
PM
PMAEsq
1 review
Dined on October 23, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

The food was excellent. Great table, just inside the patio doors, but still had the view.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 28, 2020

Thanks for leaving a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent lakeside dining experience with us! We appreciate your support and hope you will visit us again when we reopen in the spring.

Report
P
Paralegal
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on October 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was delicious!

C
Cyn775
New England
1 review
Dined on October 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I wish that I could give this place a 10 for ambiance.
My husband and I wanted to eat on the deck and when we first got there all the seats were full and we were seated inside next to the open walls. But our server was nice enough to bus a table immediately for us that emptied after we sat.
We got there in time to see the sunset over the water while enjoying our cocktails. It was amazing.
And the food was just as good. We will be back as soon as they reopen for the season. But we wish that they weren't closing .

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 28, 2020

Thank you for your review. We aim to provide top notch service and the freshest food possible and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us. Our team appreciates your support and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
WH
WendyH
New England
1 review
Dined on October 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was good the food service and environment make us keep coming back

Y
Yarddawg
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, good atmosphere would recommend. They also added flash fried brussel sprouts with onions and bacon to apps menu. Nice

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 21, 2020

Thanks for the five stars. We are so glad you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us and hope you'll return again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great meal and top notch service.

5
vip57loboy
New York Area
20 reviews
Dined on October 14, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Food was salty overall, uninspired.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 21, 2020

Thank you for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear that your meal was not to your liking and we will make sure to pass on your feedback to our kitchen. Our staff always aim to provide the best dining experience possible and use fresh and flavorful ingredients, but we regret that you were not satisfied with your meal. Please feel free to reach out with any additional comments at feedback@samuelslaters.co m. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Report
SG
SaraG
1 review
Dined on October 11, 2020
Overall3food5service2ambience5

Our waiter wasn't great, he came to our table every 20 to 30 minutes to check to see if we needed anything. It wasnt that busy the day I was there. He needed more training.
The place was great, food was great our overall experience was good, the waiter lacked in our service. We will go back again for sure.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 21, 2020

We appreciate your feedback. Our staff works hard to provide the best possible service for our guests, and we are sorry to hear that the service you experienced was not as attentive as we aim to be. The feedback from our guests is important to us and we will certainly pass your comments on. We encourage you to send us an email at feedback@samuelslaters.co m with additional suggestions for improvement. We aim to make your next visit with us is worthy of five stars.

Report
d
denises
1 review
Dined on October 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is the first time that we have been and we all agreed that the food and service was top notch. we will be back .

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 14, 2020

We are so happy you decided to dine with us and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Our team works hard to provide the best food and service possible and always appreciate hearing from guests afterwards. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
N
Nancy
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Everything was great except I think it’s time to close the outdoors. I understand your wanting to provide social distancing and extra seating, but if you choose to sit inside, as we did, it was still uncomfortable because the doors were open and the inside was cold.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 14, 2020

Thanks for leaving your feedback. We've closed beachside dining but are keeping our patio dining open for anyone who prefers to sit outside. Since Saturday was such a nice day, we tried to keep the doors open as long as possible to help increase airflow. We understand that it is getting cooler earlier in the evening and apologize that you were uncomfortable. We will pay closer attention to the temperature moving forward. Please email us at feedback@samuelslaters.co m with any further comments.

Report
RS
RichardS
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Food was great- scallops in squash risotto and steak cooked perfectly. Haddock wasn’t fully cooked, but replaced with another dish. Ice cream was soupy.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 14, 2020

Thanks for leaving us your honest review. We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy one of the entrees but also glad to hear our team to care of you. Your comments have been forwarded along to the staff. We encourage you to email us at feedback@samuelslaters.co m with any additional comments or suggestions. Our team is always looking for ways to improve, and we aim to make your next visit with us worthy of five stars.

Report
MZ
MichelleZ
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic time! Absolutely perfect setup on the beach and totally accommodating for Covid. Great band played and we had the fortune of watching a beautiful wedding! Server Ben was Awesome! Food was great too, and a great drink menu.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 14, 2020

Thank you for the leaving us such a glowing review. Our team aims to provide a safe and comfortable dining experience for guests of all comfort levels and we loved being able to offer beachside dining with live music over the summer. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and greatly appreciate your support. We hope you'll dine with us again soon.

Report
CJ
ChrisJ
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

This was our first time there. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will be back!

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 13, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a review. We look forward to having you back and encourage you to reach out to us directly at feedback@samuelslaters.co m with any additional comments or suggestions for improvement.

Report
J
Jenn
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful spot overlooking Webster lake. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive. We had the mediterranean chicken and filet mignon, both were cooked to perfection and tasted amazing!! Prices are very reasonable. We’ll be back soon!!

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 13, 2020

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you decided to dine with us and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
N
Nancy
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Filet melted in my mouth and the brown sugar ice cream was to die for!!!!

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 7, 2020

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report
IS
IreneS
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, drinks and atmosphere. Great staff.. Danae and Tori were fabulous checking in on us frequently.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 7, 2020

Thank you for leaving us a review. Our staff always aims to provide a friendly and welcoming dining experience and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We will be sure to pass along your comments to the staff and we hope you'll dine with us again soon.

Report
MO
MichelleO
New England
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A fabulous meal as usual! We had a party of 6 to celebrate an anniversary. The staff was very accomodating in keeping it a surprise! 4 people from our group had never been here before. They were very impressed with EVERYTHING. The food, the staff, the view....even the bathrooms were spotless and pretty. Wonderful time was had by all.
Thank you!

L
Lauraleigh
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience4

It was great to sit out by the water and enjoy live music. The wait staff was awesome, very friendly. I only wish the menu contained at least one vegan option, other than a garden salad.

JF
JodyF
New England
3 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our servers were amazing and the food was delicious!

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 13, 2020

Thank you for the five stars! We are so happy you chose to dine with us and hope you will come back again soon.

Report
k
karlag
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Definitely recommend it. Staff very friendly, and the views!

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 7, 2020

Thank you for leaving us a five star review. Our staff works hard to give guests the best dining experience possible and we love being able to offer amazing views of Webster Lake. We appreciate your support and hope you'll dine with us again soon.

Report
AH
AlanH
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great meal! Great service! Great location!! Highly recommend it!

JD
JenniferD
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My son is attending Nichols College in Dudley, Ma, We wanted to take him out to dinner- I came across Samuel Slater's Restaurant when searching for restaurants that were close by. I would highly recommend this restaurant, the staff was amazing & we all LOVED our dinners ! - The view of the lake at night was wonderful., We will definitely be back !

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 13, 2020

Thank you for your review, Jennifer. We are so glad you chose to dine with us and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
MD
MarcyD
New England
1 review
Dined on September 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great! We'll definitely return. Wonderful experience.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 7, 2020

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Samuel Slater's and hope you'll dine with us again soon.

Report
LM
LindsayM
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

My husband and I got married here a year ago (09/27/19) we had our anniversary lunch here and it was just as good as the day of our wedding! The drinks and food were amazing! Our waitress Jordan was GREAT! We will continue to celebrate our anniversary here every year!

BF
BillF
New England
3 reviews
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Nice atmosphere. The waitstaff was attentive and nice people. All of our entrees were very good. Quality over quantity. the desserts were different and well done. Overall a nice evening out.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 6, 2020

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. We hope you will dine with us again soon.

Report
LP
LizP
New England
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always super! Love how they change up the menu but keep the main stays available. Service (new waitress) and food - five stars for our experience!

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on October 6, 2020

Thanks for the five stars, Liz. Our team works hard to offer the best food and dining experience possible. We appreciate your kind words and support and hope you will dine with us again soon!

Report
K
Kevin
1 review
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall1food3service4ambience3

Was there earlier in quarantine and had excellent food and service. Food this time was subpar- portion and taste. No plates given for apps. Bread was given but no butter provided. Asked for butter and got one packet for four rolls. Waitress was very apologetic but did a great job.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 29, 2020

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive the level of service that our staff is capable of during your recent visit. We always aim to deliver you the freshest and most flavorful food possible, but we apologize if your meal was not to your liking. We will certainly pass your comments along to the team; also, we hope you will provide additional feedback to us at feedback@samuelslaters.co m. We value your opinions and aim to make your next visit worthy of 5 stars.

Report
M
Mae1
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic setting, food and entertainment. We will definitely be returning

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 28, 2020

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to having you back.

Report
LB
LisaB
1 review
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Our first time at Samuel Slater's was very nice. The service was friendly, accommodating and very efficient. We were not rushed or limited timewise to make room for other parties. The deck was lovely, and the entire restaurant was open to the outdoors and the lake, giving it an ocean-beach restaurant vibe. The drink menu was extensive and the wine selection was great. The food was just okay, which was a bit disappointing. Our overall experience was good. Would I return again? Sure, maybe in the summer when the lake view makes it more enticing to dine there.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 28, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Would you be willing to reach out to us directly at feedback@samuelslaters.c om to elaborate on how we might be able to improve? We value your opinions and would love to hear from you.

Report
WH
WendyH
New England
2 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service, food and atmosphere were all wonderful. I highly recommend and will be back soon

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 28, 2020

Thank you for the five stars, Wendy. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
JA
JANE
1 review
Dined on September 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

On our first visit to Samuel Slater's we had the opportunity to be seated on the deck on a beautiful and clear evening; thereby having a scenic view. Service was prompt and very courteous. Social distancing was much appreciated. Food was perfectly cooked as requested and delicious. THUMBS UP!

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 28, 2020

Thank you for your review, Jane. Our team works hard to give our guests the safest and best dining experience possible and we are vary happy to hear that you had a great evening. Please feel free to reach out to us at feedback@samuelslaters.c om with any additional comments. We look forward to having you back.

Report
MI
MarkI
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We thought it best to make a reservation because it was Saturday. We arrived about 10 minutes early and we were greeted and seated right away. Our waitress was attentive and courteous. Our food was brought to us in a timely manner and all 4 of our meals were hot when served. All 4 of us enjoyed our meals which isn't always the case when we eat out. It was nice to find local restaurant that pleased all 4 of us. We will be dining there again!

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 28, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a review. We aim to offer a menu with options for everyone and are happy to hear that everyone in your party enjoyed their meals. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Outdoor for live music. Food was delish but thought it weird to spend good money to eat with plastic ware in a takeout container. It was on the beach so I guess it makes a little sense.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 29, 2020

Thanks for your note and you are correct. We use takeout containers and single-use utensils on the beach to keep glassware off the beach. It also helps us handle and deliver meals more safely and keep them warm. Normal dinnerware is used inside. Please feel tree to reach out to us at feedback@samuelslaters.co m with any additional comments, suggestions or questions. We are always looking for ways to improve and bring you the best dining experience possible. We hope you will dine with us again.

Report
JO
JohnO
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great view of the lake. Sat outside on the deck under heaters.

LR
LoriR
1 review
Dined on September 17, 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Samuel Slaters offers perfect set-up for dining during the pandemic.
The view is spectacular, food and service were good and comfortable outdoor dining provided for worry-free experience.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 21, 2020

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! Our team works hard to ensure guests feel safe and comfortable when they dine with us, and we try to provide dining options for every comfort level. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us and hope you'll stop by again soon.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New England
3 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Staff are friendly, cocktails fabulous, food delicious, comfortable vibe with great view and fantastic live musician.

My new favorite local place after work.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 21, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a review. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report
AW
AdamW
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on September 16, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Service was outstanding. Would go back for apps and drinks. Entrees are a hard pass. Salmon was flavorless and undercooked. Filet tasted like it was recently thawed out. Oysters were excellent

Samuel Slater's Restaurant
Responded on September 21, 2020

Thank you for your review. Our kitchen aims to prepare the freshest and best food possible to every guest and we are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your meal. We will be sure to pass your comments along to the kitchen and encourage you to reach out to us at feedback@samuelslaters.c om with additional comments and suggestions. We are always looking for ways to improve and would appreciate hearing from you. We would like to make your next visit worthy of five stars!

Report

FAQs

Samuel Slater's Restaurant offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (508) 943-1639.

Samuel Slater's Restaurant is rated 4.3 stars by 562 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.